Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Solberge Hall Hotel, Northallerton

Newby Wiske, Northallerton, DL7 9ER, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

Renny England said...

80 %
80%
70%
90%

Stayed 17th November 2023

We had a lovely 3 night long weekend break at Solberge Hall. The bedroom was enormous with a very comfortable bed and a nice big bathroom, the only down side was they a problem with the central heating and the room was quite cold. The staff were very friendly and attentive buy the highlight of the stay was the excellent food.

Graeme Curry said...

80 %
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th November 2023

We visited with two other couples and stayed two nights. All staff were pleasant, courteous and friendly. Some areas of the hotel are looking tired and in need of some refurbishment. Our rooms were clean and tidy but just a tad cool.The lounge wasn't particularly inviting and there was ody manning the bar. The dining room could have been a little warmer. However, the food we had was excellent and served hot. There was a slight issue with timing of serving main courses at dinner on our first night but this was not continued for the rest of the stay. We understand that the hotel has recently been taken over so this may have caused some issues with staffing levels etc. Overall, we made the best of our stay and enjoyed most of it.

A guest said...

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th September 2023

My stay at The Solberge hotel was wonderful. From the accommodation to the food to the staff, all was first class.

Ronald Hollinshead said... Hotel has replied

84 %
100%
70%
80%

Stayed 11th September 2023

Hotel very niçe with wonderful extensive views over farmland. Warm welcome from Reception. We had booked a superior room and were pleasantly surprised to have been upgraded to a suite (room 2) which was lovely. Breakfasts good. Evening meal fine but spoilt by lengthy gaps between courses. I think it may have been a shortage in staff. It was certainly an irritation for guests on Monday night. Perhaps something the management cold work on. Would we go back- absolutey!!

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback. Apologies that our service was not up to our usual standards, but delighted to hear that you will return.

A guest said... Hotel has replied

90 %
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 23rd August 2023

Beautiful hotel & very friendly staff

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback!

James Scott said... Hotel has replied

84 %
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th August 2023

Lovely hotel set in beautiful countryside. Good deal, excellent value for money.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback!

Samantha Taylor said... Hotel has replied

94 %
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st July 2023

We had a lovely break. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The meals we had during our stay were some of the best we have had, and we like our food! We travelled with a dog, and the hotel was truly dog friendly. He was spoilt with sausages and tummy rubs. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future!

Allan Brown said... Hotel has replied

80 %
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 19th July 2023

Lovely break

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback!

Anthony Butler said... Hotel has replied

64 %
80%
30%
80%

Stayed 11th July 2023

The room did not have the facilities we were told it had ie there was no DVD player-no I pod docking station, when we went down to eat the staff were polite but the service was disorganised and slow there was no system at all the staff didn't know who they were bringing food in to and were serving people who had come down after others it needs table numbers and a proper system put in place the food was fine ,when you got it .

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback. We update our room technology to keep up with current trends, hence the lack of DVD player and ipod docking station. Apologies that our service was not up to our usual standards during your stay. Your feedback is appreciated.

A guest said... Hotel has replied

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd November 2022

Very good hotel,enjoyed our stay and food was excellant and staff very efficient

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback!

John Teahan said... Hotel has replied

77 %
80%
60%
90%

Stayed 22nd September 2022

We stayed here for 2 nights on DBB package we were in a deluxe room which was spacious with 2 windows but both had a roof view There was a large reel extension lead in the room for some of the electric plugs which wasnt ideal either The bathroom was modern and large but the extractor fan did not work However the food at dinner was very good both evenings although the full english breakfast on the first morning was overcooked the second mornings scrambled eggs were very very good We were prepared to overlook the niggles until on the checkout we were presented with a bil including a service charge placed in the middle of the bill of over £16 On enquiry the receptionist said this was for staff gratuities but that she could take it off We said to take it off We had it take off of course This left a bitter taste in the mouth Sneaking a service charge onto a bill is not on. Attitude then became very frosty No queries as to whether we enjoyed our stay Nothing This charge should be mentioned at booking It should be more prominently signed It should be made perfectly clear that this is optional as I feel people will assume they have to pay it This would prevent us staying in the future

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback. Our booking confirmation does clearly mention that a discretionary gratuity is automatically applied to all overnight stays. Apologies that you were unaware of this prior to your stay.

Vicky Jones said...

54 %
90%
20%
50%

Stayed 14th September 2022

We had a 2 night autumn offer booked at this hotel and we were contacted when nearly there to inform us that the chef could not provide an evening meal on the second night due to a funeral party attending! This had been booked in August! Not very happy with £39 and a bottle of wine offered instead. The lady on reception when we arrived seemed to be doing everything! A bottle of wine in our room would have been a nice gesture after our inconvenience. Could not believe that a £13 service charge had been added to our bill, which I refused to pay. Lovely property let down by staffing issues. Could put you off booking with myhotelbreak.com again.

Susan Holland said... Hotel has replied

90 %
100%
70%
100%

Stayed 11th August 2022

Lovely Hotel, got an upgrade which made our stay extra special. Food was amazing and nicely presented.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback!

Karen Middleton said... Hotel has replied

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th July 2022

Lovely stay, room was gorgeous, and staff were a credit to the hotel. Will be back again!

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback!

Rachel White said... Hotel has replied

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th July 2022

Beautiful hotel set in amazing countryside. Staff go above and beyond to make it the best stay possible. We got upgraded to a beautiful suite as it was our anniversary. Food was fantastic

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback!

A guest said... Hotel has replied

87 %
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 7th May 2018

Good food, clean spacious room, very helpful friendly staff,lovely location, not your normal modern build hotel which just added to a very pleasant stay

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback!

A guest said... Hotel has replied

87 %
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th May 2018

We liked how the hotel looked and had a nice feel to it. The room was clean. The decorations suited the style of the hotel and breakfast was good. Location was good for where we were going.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback!

A guest said... Hotel has replied

90 %
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st April 2018

This stay was passed onto us due to our friend falling ill with flu and had a Xmas gift special which was expiring on this date. We arrived to a very friendly greeting and shown to our suite. The hotel is old with loads of charm and character and our room was very comfortable. The special we got was room, dinner with bottle of wine included and breakfast. Dinner was absolutely superb and seriously worth 5 star. The wine was really good and staff were lovely. We sat in the lounge and had a Bailey coffee which was so tasty, we did laugh as two chairs have such big holes in. Breakfast you can have a choice from a buffet and have a cooked breakfast which was delicious. We did somehow get overlooked and after 15 min my husband discreetly managed to ask if we could be served which Jan was so apologetic and very sorry about . The stay was just perfect to recharge our batteries due to hectic new business venture . Had a super night.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback!

A guest said... Hotel has replied

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th April 2018

Another fantastic stay at Solberge Hall, this time in a four-poster suite (room 1). We just love the solitude of this place. The hotel's in a lovely quiet location where you truly feel like you can get away from everything and completely relax and unwind. The hotel is so quaint and tastefully decorated throughout, and really feels like you're living in a period drama! Can't wait to return

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback!

A guest said... Hotel has replied

100 %
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th April 2018

Stayed one night with friends and found the accommodation, staff and food excellent. The hotel was busy during our stay as there was a wedding taking place however the staff went above and beyond to accommodate us. We had a cream tea on arrival, served in the dining room which was delicious. We were planning to eat dinner in the bar area however as this was very busy with wedding guests at the time we wanted to eat we were seated in the dining room but able to choose from the bar menu. The food was delicious. Our rooms were clean and well equipped. We were upgraded to a suite which was very large and comfortable. Breakfast was also very good the following morning. All staff were very friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay again.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback!

A guest said... Hotel has replied

94 %
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th May 2018

We have just spent a wonderful weekend at this hotel as a group of 11 for a brothers and sisters celebration, the hotel staff are amazing they couldn't not do enough for us, they allowed us to use a private dining room just for us for all our meals which was an extra bonus and was very much appreciated. The hotel is in the most marvellous country setting and the food was really good, a good Yorkshire breakfast. Thank you again to the wonderful staff you are all amazing people and should be proud of the level of service you give. We may be back next year.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback!