Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Solberge Hall Hotel, Northallerton

Newby Wiske, Northallerton, DL7 9ER, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

89%

John Teahan said...

77%
80%
60%
90%

Stayed 22nd September 2022

We stayed here for 2 nights on DBB package we were in a deluxe room which was spacious with 2 windows but both had a roof view There was a large reel extension lead in the room for some of the electric plugs which wasnt ideal either The bathroom was modern and large but the extractor fan did not work However the food at dinner was very good both evenings although the full english breakfast on the first morning was overcooked the second mornings scrambled eggs were very very good We were prepared to overlook the niggles until on the checkout we were presented with a bil including a service charge placed in the middle of the bill of over £16 On enquiry the receptionist said this was for staff gratuities but that she could take it off We said to take it off We had it take off of course This left a bitter taste in the mouth Sneaking a service charge onto a bill is not on. Attitude then became very frosty No queries as to whether we enjoyed our stay Nothing This charge should be mentioned at booking It should be more prominently signed It should be made perfectly clear that this is optional as I feel people will assume they have to pay it This would prevent us staying in the future

Vicky Jones said...

54%
90%
20%
50%

Stayed 14th September 2022

We had a 2 night autumn offer booked at this hotel and we were contacted when nearly there to inform us that the chef could not provide an evening meal on the second night due to a funeral party attending! This had been booked in August! Not very happy with £39 and a bottle of wine offered instead. The lady on reception when we arrived seemed to be doing everything! A bottle of wine in our room would have been a nice gesture after our inconvenience. Could not believe that a £13 service charge had been added to our bill, which I refused to pay. Lovely property let down by staffing issues. Could put you off booking with myhotelbreak.com again.

Susan Holland said...

90%
100%
70%
100%

Stayed 11th August 2022

Lovely Hotel, got an upgrade which made our stay extra special. Food was amazing and nicely presented.

Karen Middleton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th July 2022

Lovely stay, room was gorgeous, and staff were a credit to the hotel. Will be back again!

Rachel White said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th July 2022

Beautiful hotel set in amazing countryside. Staff go above and beyond to make it the best stay possible. We got upgraded to a beautiful suite as it was our anniversary. Food was fantastic

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 7th May 2018

Good food, clean spacious room, very helpful friendly staff,lovely location, not your normal modern build hotel which just added to a very pleasant stay

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th May 2018

We liked how the hotel looked and had a nice feel to it. The room was clean. The decorations suited the style of the hotel and breakfast was good. Location was good for where we were going.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st April 2018

This stay was passed onto us due to our friend falling ill with flu and had a Xmas gift special which was expiring on this date. We arrived to a very friendly greeting and shown to our suite. The hotel is old with loads of charm and character and our room was very comfortable. The special we got was room, dinner with bottle of wine included and breakfast. Dinner was absolutely superb and seriously worth 5 star. The wine was really good and staff were lovely. We sat in the lounge and had a Bailey coffee which was so tasty, we did laugh as two chairs have such big holes in. Breakfast you can have a choice from a buffet and have a cooked breakfast which was delicious. We did somehow get overlooked and after 15 min my husband discreetly managed to ask if we could be served which Jan was so apologetic and very sorry about . The stay was just perfect to recharge our batteries due to hectic new business venture . Had a super night.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th April 2018

Another fantastic stay at Solberge Hall, this time in a four-poster suite (room 1). We just love the solitude of this place. The hotel's in a lovely quiet location where you truly feel like you can get away from everything and completely relax and unwind. The hotel is so quaint and tastefully decorated throughout, and really feels like you're living in a period drama! Can't wait to return

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th April 2018

Stayed one night with friends and found the accommodation, staff and food excellent. The hotel was busy during our stay as there was a wedding taking place however the staff went above and beyond to accommodate us. We had a cream tea on arrival, served in the dining room which was delicious. We were planning to eat dinner in the bar area however as this was very busy with wedding guests at the time we wanted to eat we were seated in the dining room but able to choose from the bar menu. The food was delicious. Our rooms were clean and well equipped. We were upgraded to a suite which was very large and comfortable. Breakfast was also very good the following morning. All staff were very friendly and accommodating. We would definitely stay again.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th May 2018

We have just spent a wonderful weekend at this hotel as a group of 11 for a brothers and sisters celebration, the hotel staff are amazing they couldn't not do enough for us, they allowed us to use a private dining room just for us for all our meals which was an extra bonus and was very much appreciated. The hotel is in the most marvellous country setting and the food was really good, a good Yorkshire breakfast. Thank you again to the wonderful staff you are all amazing people and should be proud of the level of service you give. We may be back next year.