Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Holiday Inn Hotel Dumfries, Dumfries

The Crichton, Dumfries, DG1 4UQ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

A guest said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 10th October 2021

Overall experience very good, except dinner on the first night. Young, as we understand recently trained ,staff trying to train new staff, on an extremely busy service. No managers apparent to coordinate staffing. Friendly staff, clean rooms, good breakfasts and good CoVid measures. Problems with door key cards not responding.. Lovely surroundings enjoyed in the good weather. Would return.

irene blue said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 14th October 2021

Second visit this year and it was excellent. Staff extremely friendly

A guest said...

70%
90%
40%
80%

Stayed 10th October 2021

Very enjoyable stay in an excellent room with lovely view over to the church standing on the grounds, which are very well kept throughout. Only criticism was the standard of service in the dining room, this relevant to dinner in the evening, very pleasant staff, but long delays between each course and the overall impression was a lack of cohesion in delivering orders in a timely manner to your table. Apologies were made by staff concerned, but the delays experienced were really unacceptable.

A guest said...

64%
80%
30%
80%

Stayed 10th October 2021

We have been to the holiday inn Dumfries many times we always enjoy it but this time the service at dinner wasn’t good not enough staff on .Staff at breakfast where a lot better.It won’t stop us going but hopefully they can fix dinner I don’t think they change there menu .

A guest said...

64%
80%
30%
80%

Stayed 10th October 2021

We have been to the holiday inn Dumfries many times we always enjoy it but this time the service at dinner wasn’t good not enough staff on .Staff at breakfast where a lot better.It won’t stop us going but hopefully they can fix dinner I don’t think they change there menu .

Janette Faulkner said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 10th October 2021

We had a lovely couple of days at this hotel. We went with some friends who hadn’t been before myself and my husband had been in July. All was well until check out when the manager tried to charge £119 per night for each couple instead of for two nights at £119 per couple. The transaction has not cleared the bank yet so we are keeping an eye on the amount taken. Apart from that it is excellent value for money with beautiful rooms and surrounding grounds.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th October 2021

Excellent stay in the lovely Holiday Inn at Dumfries. So much so we stayed an extra night? The staff, food and rooms were first class. Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. Well done Holiday Inn Dumfries

Mary Aitken said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 5th October 2021

The hotel was very clean and staff very friendly

Stuart Macdonald said...

60%
80%
30%
70%

Stayed 25th September 2021

Hotel ref:369660 I thought that I would bring details of our break at the above hotel to your attention. My wife's birthday was on the 25th so basically, a special treat. Positive feedback: Nice quite room tidy hotel, lovely grounds, good value for money. Negative feedback: TV remote not working reported it right away maintenance guy attended and tried another remote, appeared to be working OK then it reverted to first situation. I eventually managed to work the channels from the TV itself, but I did report it to the cleaner in case next guest had a similar experience. Key card for room failed on a few occasions to open the door and had to get it reinstated at reception around 4 times between ourselves. On attending breakfast you were served hot food in plastic containers,(photo attached) but they had a cold buffet in paper bags as an optional choice. Then, horror when my wife was half way through the hot breakfast when she found a dead wasp in amongst the food, she immediately spoke to the waitress then the server, I also informed reception, but all she could advise that she would have a word with chef. There is a strong need for training the staff here especially the young ones.

A guest said...

64%
60%
70%
60%

Stayed 24th September 2021

The room was spacious but it had a fusty smell. The staff were very friendly, especially the handyman. The restaurant staff were also friendly. Dinner was ok but breakfast was a huge disappointment. We were looking forward to a nice breakfast but instead we had breakfast rolls in takeaway boxes. There wasn’t even any toast or cereal available. The coffee was nice!

Melanie Bardsley said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 3rd September 2021

Lovely hotel, lovely staff. Would stay again.

A guest said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 18th August 2021

Lovely staff. Room spotless as were the floors etc. Plenty of hand sanitisers. We felt that the menu prices had increased since last year. To keep inside the £15 budget for the deal we had didn't include many things. The relaxation of the covid rules meant that many people were touching juice, coffee machines, bread, croissants... which I wasn't comfortable with. Again, a year ago this didn't happen. Possibly just me but you can't be too careful.

Lorna Beaumont said...

74%
90%
40%
90%

Stayed 24th August 2021

Rooms were lovely fresh & clean, housekeeping staff lovely. Food was excellent in the evening. Breakfast food really good however there is an issue with flies at breakfast on both mornings we were there wewitnessed flies on the bread & pastries, on the fruit salad & fruit compote. Fly zapper in needed urgently. Waiting staff need training re hygiene. Not cleaning hands between guests or touching utensils. Cleaning the seats then the table tops with the same cloth is not good practise. Handling of cutlery & touching tip end is very poor especially during a pandemic. Cutlery should be placed on a tray, (not carried between waitess fingers) placed on tables not by tip. Staff were clearing tables over checking products & not repleneshing goods, so guests were constantly asking for milk, butter, juice, cups & plates. I gave 2 glasses in that were cracked. Barman didnt know what a white wine spritzer was. When asked if he could make tails he said no only if I told him the ingrediants. This is constuctive critisism & having worked in the industry you notice these things.

A guest said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 20th August 2021

My husband and I had a great 2 night break.Room was very nice and clean.The breakfast and dinner at night was good and also all staff we came in contact with were very nice .And what a lovely setting, we,ll be back.

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd August 2021

A bit out of the centre, but in beautiful grounds, a bit tired, but very clean, staff go beyond to ensure u enjoy your stay. The restaurant is good for a hotel, great carbonara. Overall a great place to stop over if you are touring the region

Glynis Gibbs said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 20th August 2021

Beautiful setting, good food and accommodation and very friendly and helpful staff.Excellent value for money Only problem was actually finding the hotel- poorly signposted, especially if you do not enter the correct gate. Signage at the correct gate still refers to the hotel's previous name!

Leslie Hutchison said...

55%
40%
N/A
70%

Stayed 19th August 2021

Robyn was extremely helpful and friendly and nothing was too much bother. The room was ok but the bed was extremely uncomfortable and the hotel was well out of the town centre. We were also overcharged for our food and only got a small glass of wine when we should have had a large glass for our dinner on the first night. It would have been better if the deal we were on was also given to the restaurant and then we would have got what we were meant to. The room was not cleaned after first day and no clean towels until we came back and phoned reception then they sent someone up to bring clean towels and clean the room. On the whole would probably not stay here again. Sandra I

Brian Johnston said...

90%
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 13th August 2021

Great location albeit a bit out of town, the location has many interesting buildings and walking areas nearby. The hotel deal was excellent and standard rooms were very nice, spacious and warm. There was a coach party in during our stay so service was slow for dinner, but food was good. Breakfast was very good and so was morning service(coach party had left).

Janice Black said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 13th August 2021

Transferred here after Holiday Inn double booked booking in time was 2pm however we were advised they were running behind it wasn't a problem as we walked up to town and had something to eat room ready when we returned were allocated a family room on second floor very spacious and looked like a new bathroom had been installed usual tea, coffee , biscuits provided evening meal was very enjoyable although not a extensive menu staff were lovely and service was great again breakfast staff lovely toast is made for you cereal etc you help yourself and they serve you at the hot bar all in all enjoyed our stay handy for town and all covid restrictions in place so felt safe would return

Brian Laird said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 4th August 2021

Great stay in this lovely hotel

Gordon McLellan said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 31st July 2021

We both enjoyed our 2 night stay here. Staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfasts and evening meal were enjoyable. The weather was great and the grounds where the hotel is situated are massive and good for a pre breakfast walkabout or a pre evening stroll or drink outside, weather permitti G. Would stay here again and a good base for touring in z Dumfries and Galloway.

Rosemary Newlands said...

100%
100%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 18th August 2021

We arrived at the hotel to book in to be informed the bar and dining room staff had been sent home because of COVID result. However they allowed us to stay that night free of charge which was really nice. We have now rebooked again for August as we loved the Hotel and surroundings. Hopefully we will have no problems this time. We are looking forward to going back.

Fiona McDowall said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 27th July 2021

Lovely large room though bed very soft ,but this is of course a personal preference. All staff were very friendly polite and helpful throughout our stay, which was appreciated. We ate dinner in the hotel one evening as part of the deal, it was very average .

A guest said...

84%
100%
100%
50%

Stayed 13th July 2021

A great stay Food not so great

bryan mann said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 16th July 2021

Great hotel fantastic grounds great staff breakfast beautifully cooked nice wak into Dumfries thru the park and along the river stayed on the 2 nite special offer fantastic value even got free upgrade to executive room