Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Holiday Inn Hotel Dumfries, Dumfries

The Crichton, Dumfries, DG1 4UQ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

Fiona McDowall said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 27th July 2021

Lovely large room though bed very soft ,but this is of course a personal preference. All staff were very friendly polite and helpful throughout our stay, which was appreciated. We ate dinner in the hotel one evening as part of the deal, it was very average .

A guest said...

84%
100%
100%
50%

Stayed 13th July 2021

A great stay Food not so great

bryan mann said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 16th July 2021

Great hotel fantastic grounds great staff breakfast beautifully cooked nice wak into Dumfries thru the park and along the river stayed on the 2 nite special offer fantastic value even got free upgrade to executive room

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th July 2021

Great hotel in lovely location. Staff very friendly and helpful

Duncan Shaw said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th July 2021

Had a lovely time , would definitely stay again, special mention for the guy on reception, I think his name was Alan he was so helpful

A guest said...

60%
80%
40%
60%

Stayed 13th July 2021

Nice base. Lovely clean large room which was really cool on arrival. Good friendly checkin at reception and lots of hand sanitiser stations. Good value for money. The restaurant is what lets this hotel down. We arrived for dinner at our booked time and stood at the please wait here sign - several staff ignored us before we were taken to our table and given menus. 20 minutes later we were still trying to order drinks and food. A couple of other groups of guests arrived after us and got instantly asked what they wanted to drink and then got their food orders taken when their drinks arrived. If we didn’t have dinner as part of our deal we would have walked out. Our table was very hot as the heater was pumping out hot air on one of the warmest days of the year. Food was quite basic. Lots of people coming in from garden area to the bar in the restaurant to purchase drinks and then waiting to take their own drinks outside. Needless to say we ate elsewhere the 2nd night. As far as we were concerned breakfast service wasn't very covid safe. Apart from the cooked breakfast which was served to you and was very tasty everything else was self service. Multiple people accessing food items from shared containers, using shared tongs to get toast and making your own tea and coffee at a machine are all things that every other hotel we have stayed at recently have strived to avoid to keep guests safe. Rarely saw anyone sanitising their hands. On the 2nd day after a long tiring day we found our room key was disabled so we had to make the long trek back to reception to get it fixed. Make sure you also check your bill thoroughly before paying it as they tried to charge us £16 for the 2 glasses of wine that were included in our deal. Great location for what we wanted but not a hotel we would return to.

Janette Faulkner said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th July 2021

We had a lovely couple of days at this beautiful hotel. Staff were all very attentive and friendly made us feel welcome. The rooms had been refurbished and were very comfortable. Set on the Crichton university campus the grounds were vast and the gardens were beautiful. We had a great deal through My Hotel Breaks and will definitely use them again.

Margaret Saxton said...

80%
90%
100%
50%

Stayed 7th July 2021

Hotel fine but didn’t read our request nor respond to our telephone conversation. As my husband has difficulty walking we alerted the hotel and requested a room within short walking distance of reception and breakfast. I phone 2 days prior to arrival and the receptionist said it was no problem we could have a ground floor room. On arrival I reminded the receptionist who had no knowledge of the request and as the hotel was full couldn’t do anything about it. We were given room 224 …. Extreme opposite to reception, furthest away from the lift and top floor….. how did they get it so wrong? Staff very pleasant both in hotel and restaurant. Food just average.

Margaret Saxton said...

80%
90%
100%
50%

Stayed 7th July 2021

Hotel fine but didn’t read our request nor respond to our telephone conversation. As my husband has difficulty walking we alerted the hotel and requested a room within short walking distance of reception and breakfast. I phone 2 days prior to arrival and the receptionist said it was no problem we could have a ground floor room. On arrival I reminded the receptionist who had no knowledge of the request and as the hotel was full couldn’t do anything about it. We were given room 224 …. Extreme opposite to reception, furthest away from the lift and top floor….. how did they get it so wrong? Staff very pleasant both in hotel and restaurant. Food just average.

A guest said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 3rd July 2021

Lovely place and friendly staff

A guest said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 3rd July 2021

Lovely place and friendly staff

A guest said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 3rd July 2021

Lovely place and friendly staff

E Rigby said...

37%
20%
50%
40%

Stayed 3rd July 2021

Bed was a disgrace ,old and saggy matress,lumps left an indent in my skin. Duvet was like thick wadding,so heavy I couldnt move. Sheet was hard and rough. We only stayed 0ne night out of our 2. The arm chair in the room was dirty and worn and there was a large coffee? stain on the carpet. The food was overpriced and I asked for lemon posset but was given a lemon tart,no apology when I questioned it only that they didn't have lemon posset. This tart was so stale it was shrinking and cracked.,and not presentable at all. A very disappointng stay i Would not recommend .

Ann Odonnell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd July 2021

Great hotel loved the location. The staff are a credit to this hotel will be back

Paul Brown said...

77%
80%
90%
60%

Stayed 1st July 2021

Hotel and staff very good, food was disappointing as prices v portion wasn't realistic or VFM. Amazing grounds and good location.

Paul Brown said...

77%
80%
90%
60%

Stayed 1st July 2021

Hotel and staff very good, food was disappointing as prices v portion wasn't realistic or VFM. Amazing grounds and good location.

A guest said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st July 2021

Excellently situated hotel to allow you to explore Dumfries & Galloway. Quiet hotel on the outskirts of town with excellent surroundings for a stroll at the end of a day. Excellent evening meal and breakfasts. Can’t fault the room.

James Hill said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th June 2021

The hotel and grounds were stunning our room was beautiful with a great shower that had even had a seat built into it the staff were exceptional and the food was very good we will be returning in a couple of months for a longer stay

Sylvia Berry said...

77%
90%
90%
50%

Stayed 28th June 2021

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. All staff very capable and pleasant. Room very well appointed. Very disappointed with steak meal in restaurant, no salad or vegetables or onion rings for £25.00

archie crawford said...

84%
100%
100%
50%

Stayed 28th June 2021

Lovely hotel pleasant and helpful staff, lovely grounds for walking, not a great menu for dinner and quite expensive for eating here,luckily we had dinner included on first night, second night we went into Dumfries and found a great place with extensive menu at great prices and great portions for the price.

david stoddart said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 28th June 2021

Good friendly people very pleasant lovely grounds

Mary Saunders said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th June 2021

Could not fault our stay , beautiful location , peaceful , clean , staff wonderful and friendly, food delicious. We have stayed in many hotels and I would give this one a 10 /10

irene blue said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th June 2021

Two day break here first time and it won’t be the last. Really enjoyed stay and all staff were excellent. Upgraded room was excellent. All food first class.

Stewart Warburton said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 22nd June 2021

Lovely large room. Really accessible for my wheelchair and lots of room in bathroom. Shower accessible and had sufficient grab rails and a seat. Spotlessly clean. very helpful staff. Breakfast was first rate but choice for dinner was limited for the offers £15 allowance and we were dissapointed with our meal on the night. The hotel is in the University grounds which are wonderful to walk round. The given post code for the sat nav is incorrect. Look up the hotel in Google maps and a different code appears which takes you straight to the hotel.(DG1 4UQ).

Brian Fletcher said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 23rd June 2021

Lovely hotel. Staff very welcoming. Food good.