Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Holiday Inn Hotel Dumfries, Dumfries

The Crichton, Dumfries, DG14ZZ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

A guest said...

84%
100%
80%
70%

Stayed 8th August 2020

Had a lovely stay ,hotel lovely and staff very attentive ,only negative we returned after a walk after our breakfast half a hour before checkout to find the door to our room jamed open and no one there ,the member of house keeping arrived a few mins later ,when we aked why the door was left open she said she was only away a couple of mins ,but in that couple of mis someone could have stollen my husbands car keys or my hand bag

daniel reilly said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 26th July 2020

Friendly staff, very clean, plenty of evidence taking COVID-19 seriously. Good but C19 limited breakfast. Stunning setting in Crichton Campsus.

Carol Flynn said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th March 2020

Lovely friendly hotel. Beautifully clean and in a lovely location

Frances Russell said...

90%
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 6th March 2020

Lovely hotel very comfortable. Food very good.

A guest said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 6th March 2020

Clean, stylish, lovely grounds pity about the weather 25 mins from town, everyone we spoke to said wine far too expensive checked internet wine given at hotel you can purchase for £10-15

Derek Bailey said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th March 2020

The Hotel is set in amazing grounds and not a typical Holiday Inn though high standards are. The staff were all very efficient and friendly particularly the gentleman in charge of the bar. He went out his way to fit us in for earlier meal and could not do enough. Very proactive and exceptional service. All staff were great. The room was first class with terrific views. Food was faultless both dinner and breakfast. Beers were all special but could do with a basic beer on tap like tennents, carling or carlsberg, the only thing that was not perfect, some of us like simple beers. All in all this was a fantastic value for money trip and far exceeded expectations. The walks around the grounds next day fantastic as was the Church and history.

A guest said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 1st March 2020

Nice location, clean and easy check in. Dinner and breakfast were good. Haggis for breakfast looked like it was leftover from the day before. Disappointed with the double bed as it was 2 single put together and therefore not comfortable. Toilet door handle could have been wiped or sanitised properly especially this time, corona virus could be anywhere.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd February 2020

Stayed here for the week while on a business trip. Really friendly staff who were very attentive. Was a bit early for check in but the front desk was more than happy to hold my suitcase and bags while I went out for some shopping.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd January 2020

We recently stayed at this hotel for New Year. Beautiful surroundings, lovely clean room and the staff were amazing. They couldn't do enough for you. There aren't any shops nearby so you do need a car but it's nice to be away from everything. Thank you for looking after us, especially Simon the manager who seemed to be there morning, noon and night.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd January 2020

Relaxed winter break not to far from home, staff were all very pleasant and very obliging, we were in a standard very clean and comfortable room meals were excellent from breakfast to dinner, 20 minute walk into town, bar prices were quite expensive £24.00 for a bottle of house wine which put us of drinking their, where you could go into town and get a nice bottle for £8.00 as we done, we had the use of the swimming pool and spa facilities again could not fault it, all in all a lovely restful weekend well done All the staff at the holiday inn. We definitely would come back in the near future

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th January 2020

Great value for money. The breakfast was really fantastic

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 31st January 2020

Set in lovely grounds and part of a historic building. We had a very comfortable stay.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th January 2020

Some of the property is a little tired but there are ongoing renovations & updates. The staff were all fantastic, so friendly and helpful.

David Sneddon said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 30th June 2014

This hotel changed ownership after we booked it on Classic Britian to the Holiday Inn but it apparently made no difference as the hotel was as per the ratings we already had, very good. The general manager Mel leads from the front and as a relative newcomer to the hotel had already made her mark. The hotel runs well and the advantage, some would say of having a Marco Pierre White restaurant as part of the hotel, did indeed help. Dony go looking for Marco Pierre or fine dinning but the choice was excellent and the quality of a high standard. The wine list also had some nice choices at reasonable rates. the rooms were quite spacious and well appointed. The aircon did not work and we had a small problem with the shower drain but all in all a great standard for a reasonable outlay

Tracey Culbert said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 25th April 2014

Comfortable stay with delightful staff. Location is good, business or leisure and ideal if you are attending a function or wedding in the neighbouring facilities.

Mr Millar said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd April 2014

Clean modern hotel with excellent food and friendly staff. Could consider providing biscuits with hospitality tray as an added touch.

R Archibald said...

44%
80%
0%
50%

Stayed 30th March 2014

Poor service in the restaurant spoiled our evening meal. Staff appeared to be unsure on how to treat customers leaving us for unacceptable long periods between courses. Even at breakfast the following morning we had to find staff and ask for tea and coffee with our breakfast as no one appeared interested in asking what we would like. Would not stay at this hotel again and would definitely not recommend it

John Edwards said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 20th March 2014

Return visit after recent alterations.Staff exceptionally helpful although they appeared short staffed in the restaurant.They are dealing with more diners with less staff.There is also a lack of vegetables with main courses on table d'hote menu.No criticism of food quality at dinner.

J Finnell said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 18th March 2014

This hotel is very good value for the money paid. I have been on a few occasions and will return again in the future

David Russell said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 4th January 2014

Excellent break -- but a few things which shouldn't have happened -- like running out of beef main course early on Saturday evening!!

Wilson Couper said...

84%
100%
60%
90%

Stayed 31st December 2013

Disappointed break was not as advertised There was no casino night or any entertainment on New Year's Day .

Alistair Inness said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 24th November 2013

Stayed for bed and breakfast. Again as in previous visits hotel extremely clean,staff very smart,helpful and attentive.Restaurant has been refurbished as has the bar although I wasn't in it.Breakfast was adequate buffet style although one change since last visit is you make your own toast with a pretty advanced machine also the addition of some fresh pastries would be appreciated rather than pre packaged muffins.What I really like about this hotel is the peaceful nature and on every stay I have had a very quiet room which has meant a peaceful sleep which is far from guaranteed in other hotels. This was the first visit that we were not in a superior room however the room was still sizeable with a massive bed and great shower.This is the best hotel in Dumfries and the deal we had at

Mrs Lyttle said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th November 2013

Stayed in Room 122. There was a creaky floor in room above which disturbed our sleep. When I went to the toilet when awoken during the night the lights tripped when I put on bathroom light. TV also froze, maybe handset.

L McBeth said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th November 2013

Excellent hotel and food. Big bed and spotless rooms. Had problems actually finding Hotel even with sat nav

katherine hall said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th November 2013

When we stayed at this hotel when it was named the Aston. Had a great time and dined in the Marco Pierre restaurant which had just been opened, it was excellent. The service and rooms were good. The hotel is within lovely grounds which we explored and were fascinated with, great history to the hotel building as well. A good walk into town and perfect bus service for the return back to the hotel as it is up a steep hill.