Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Morar Hotel, Morar

Columba Road, Morar, PH404PA, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

Gilbert Parkes said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th November 2022

Location: Heavenly. Gorgeous scenery all around, and our room had a "sea view" Just a pity we were there at the tail end of autumn. Hotel: Beautiful old building, and the current owner is in the process of improving some of the interior. Our room was a little plain, but comfortable and spotlessly clean, and the toilet/shower room was like something out of a show house. Staff: A special mention to Tuan and Akram, but all of the staff were excellent, and very welcoming. Food too was very good. I hope to go back to this hotel again either in spring or summer, when I expect the scenery will look considerably different due to the season, and the longer days.

Gillian Hutton said...

70%
50%
60%
100%

Stayed 26th November 2022

Hotel is in a lovely location. Room was adequate. We used a DBB voucher that gifted to us for this hotel. On arrival we were given a time for dinner, however, restaurant was not open when we came down for dinner. Dinner was served in the bar area. Food was faultless, great taste and good portions. We did have to ask for the bottle of wine that was included in the voucher. They may have been short staffed on the night we were there as last orders at the bar was around 8.30pm. Breakfast was good, no option though it was a full cooked breakfast 5 mins after we arrived for breakfast.

Margaret Johnston said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th November 2022

Spent two nights in Morar hotel and loved it.. third time here and this hotel only gets better. Rooms spacious and spotlessly clean.. showers amazing.. We were on a bed and breakfast with dinner first night... food is out of this world...would highly recommend this hotel . The staff were very helpful and friendly Tuan and Akram ( hope the spelling is right) thanks for eveything ..hopefully see you again sometime next year...

A guest said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 29th October 2022

Lovely overnight stay. Room was clean and comfortable with a fabulous view over the silver sands. Staff were friendly and attentive and food was nice with good choices on offer.

Patrick Divers said...

80%
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th October 2022

Hotel a little run Dow but staff and quality of good more than make up for this especially akran and toulon

Maureen Toye said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 26th November 2021

We took the dog in quiet November and understood that our room/view would be of the hills looking inland but were delighted to be given a west-facing room with an absolutely stunning bay and seaview. Our twin room was spacious and fairly basic (the norm with a dog in tow). The breakfast was good as were the dinners and the waitress was warm and friendly.

Michelle Meek said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th November 2021

Lovely stay, staff very warm and welcoming. Unfortunately due to ferry time and breakfast time I missed breakfast but the sea view from the room made up for this.

Frank Higgins said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th November 2021

Great hotel for a get away from it all break food magnificent staff very friendly

Margaret Johnston said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th November 2020

Due to holiday to Iceland being cancelled we decided to tour Scotland..in total we visited 4 hotels...Morar being the furthest north ..we arrived about 5.00pm due to us spending lots of time at Glenfinnan Via Duct. We were greeted by a lovely young man who spoke us through all the last covid rules...we booked dinner at 7.00...OMG it was amazing!!! Haggis bon bons and fish and chips to follow..fish was so fresh. Breakfast was plentiful and freshly made to order..Dinner again was delicious..venison just perfect....The young couple who run the hotel were very attentive and helpful. Love this hotel and the scenery from dining room over to the Silver Sands was awesome. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone..plenty walks hill climbing or just to relax.

A guest said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th September 2020

We’ve just spent 5 days at the Morar Hotel and we loved every minute. The setting is absolutely spectacular, with beautiful views out to Skye. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotless and the food in the restaurant was great, and reasonably priced. Finally, the breakfast was more than enough to set you up for the day.

A guest said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th October 2020

We stayed here overnight on our way to Skye and booked a room with a sea view. The view didn’t disappoint, it was stunning. The hotel was very clean and we felt safe with all the coronavirus protection in place. The hotel is in a great location, you can see the Jacobite steam train going by as the line is across the road and explore Loch Morar as well as Mallaig. Will definitely come back here in the future.

A guest said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 6th December 2015

So, the B&B I booked was on the Isle of Skye and it took WAY longer than expected to get there. Before I fell asleep at the wheel, I came upon the Morar Hotel. It was ~11pm and everything around seemed closed up as it was Winter. Thank God they were open and had a room. The people could not have been kinder and more gracious. In the morning, they helped me with directions. The views from the breakfast room are very pretty. Even with rain, it was still pretty. And for a small hotel, the breakfast was fresh, hot and really nice. The rooms are a little old, but the room I had (which was a single - single bed) was all I needed for the night and the bed and comforter made it cozy. Nice food, nice bar, great people!

A guest said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th December 2015

It may not be 5 star but it is comfortable, friendly, has good food, and amazing views. You can watch the sun set on Rum from a lovely light and airy dining room, or sit in a comfy chair by a cosy fire nursing a drink from the bar. Across the water is one of the best beaches on the west coast, the white sands of Morar. There's a lot of great beaches around here, my favourite is Traigh, just a short drive down the coast, by the golf course. If you're a train enthusiast the Jacobite steam train runs from Fort William to Mallaig and back from about March to September, and you can pick it up right across the road from the hotel. I love this area and would definitely stay here again.

A guest said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 4th April 2016

Room was lovely, beautiful view, hotel is straight across the road from the train station, after taking the long but STUNNING train journey to Mallaig reaching your hotel with ease is exactly what you need! Stuart is an amazing host and is super helpful. The food was AMAZING! the chef is from the Philippines and made us an amazingly y curry from his home style cooking!! It wasn't on the menu we asked for it specially when we learned the origin of the chef.. The traditional fare was fantastic also. Theres a pool table in the bar so if the weather's not so good (it is Scotland after all) you can prop up the bar and get competitive! There are no bars in Morar so if you want a wee bit more action there are a few bars in Mallaig which is about 8 minutes away in a taxi, Stuart will sort that for you!!!

Ian Peattie said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 19th September 2012

Friendly staff and superb view from dining room.

ronald farquhar said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th September 2012

made very welcome and staff and food was excellant reccomd staying here .and the views and walks are stunning .

Karen Bruce said...

64%
30%
90%
70%

Stayed 14th September 2012

the room was good, but a bit disappointed in the bathroom there was no curtain on window and the shower was a rubber hose attached to the taps with no where to hang shower when trying to wash hair

H Hamilton said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 17th August 2012

Hotel staff friendly and helpfull. Hotel itself could benefit from decor upgrading.

catriona Innes said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 27th July 2012

The Morar hotel is in a lovely position overlooking the sands, the staff are all very pleasant but unfortunately the hotel itself is in desperate need on some TLC. We paid extra for a seaview but there was only one chair to sit on and that was too low to sit on and see the view. The corridor light shone through a panel at the top of the door, the bed was quite uncomfortable and if you opened the window you could hear the traffic so we did not get a very good sleep. The huge bath was great. The food was quite good and the drinks a reasonable price so we enjoyed our stay and it is worth it just for the scenery.

Elizabeth Jones said...

67%
40%
100%
60%

Stayed 26th July 2012

Very pleasant stay. Bedroom/ensuite just ok. Stunning views & friendly staff compensated for the areas in the hotel that require a bit of attention.

Alister Geddes said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th July 2012

All the staff were welcoming and friendly. Our bedroom was spacious and clean. We weren't lucky enough to get a sea view but didn't expect a view of a whitewashed wall instead. The bathroom although clean and functionable is in need of a major refurbishment. Also with the absence of a lift it should be made clear that bedrooms are up two flights of stairs. All in all we had a relaxed and enjoyable stay at an excellent location.

Helen Dolan said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th May 2012

Just had a two night stay at the Morar Hotel and a very pleasant experience it was. The view from the room was superb, stunning actually! The staff were very friendly and they really made our stay great. The manager Andy was particularly chatty and attentive! The food was very tasty! The room was clean and fit for purpose. For the price it was a bargain.

Ann Armstrong said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th May 2012

The hotel is in an excellent position with excellent sea views, the room was warm, very clean and comfortable, the staff were excellent,very friendly, excellent table service and very good scottish food. It was an excellent two night dinner, bed and breakfast offer. Loved it all, excellent weather and will return myself but highly recommend the Morar Hotel.

Colin Sutherland said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th April 2012

A lovely break in a magnificent location. Hotel great and staff could not have been more helpful. Excellent value

Gordon Keltie said...

77%
50%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th April 2012

Outstanding location.Very friendly and helpful staff. Food was was three star standard. Hotel needs a bit of TLC. Would recommend new carpets to provide contrast to magnolia everywhere. Windows are all past it. Double glazing units have broken seals in every room.Would go again for location and staff.