Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure Ayr Hotel, Ayr

Dalblair Road, Ayr, KA7 1UG, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

78%

William McKenna said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th October 2021

Hotel is close to shops etc. Staff are very nice. Hotel is always spotless and abide with covid rules. Just returned from a third visit and will be going back again.

A guest said...

64%
90%
60%
40%

Stayed 13th October 2021

Hotel was lovely...pool was great...breakfast was great... evening meal wasn't good.. so will definitely return but only on a bed and breakfast basis

Lynn Screen said...

50%
60%
50%
40%

Stayed 2nd October 2021

Having checked in and arrived at our room, we had been allocated a compact double and our voucher clearly stated a Classic double.I have stayed at The Mercure many times and know the difference in room sizes and also the bed location. I went to reception and we were allocated another room, but I felt that a new visitor to the hotel wouldn't know to do this. There was a bottle of wine included in the voucher and we were asked if we would like this in our room or at dinner. We said in our room and as it didn't arrive after some time, I had to call to reception to ask for it. When the waiter brought it, it was actually a bottle with only 1 glass of wine left in it !!!!. This clearly wasn't ours. A fresh bottle was brought but I was really perplexed as to why the first bottle was brought. Breakfast in the morning was quite chaotic and although I appreciate it was busy ( golfers) the queuing system was very haphazard i.e the queue for the cereals was hampered by the hot food queue. Well I say hot food...yes the plate was hot but by the time I sat down and was eating my food it was going cold.I asked for scrambled egg and this was brought to the table just as I was finishing. There were no tongs to handle bread or indeed to access pastries which were in a hot cabinet. I have been to other hotels during the pandemic and the tongs are changed over frequently or there are gloves available to handle to tongs. All in all we will not be returning to The Mercure which is sad as we have been frequent visitors for many years pre Covid. I appreciate the hotel is going through a refurb but it is definitely sad and dated. I was in a refurbished room but to be honest it was a new carpet, chair, lampshade and throw. My review has no negativity towards My Hotel Break and I will continue to use your site.

Derek Hunter said...

47%
20%
60%
60%

Stayed 13th September 2021

This hotel was not worth the money the room was not cleaned properly,the carpets stained,marks in the bath,the leisure facilities is not fit for use at all,I wont be using this hotel again.

angela day said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 11th September 2021

We had a mix up with rooms that reception staff sorted out quickly. Room was spotlessly clean

May Patience said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 8th September 2021

Hi just back from a 2 night stay at the mercure was a bit unsure when reading the comments we had been here a few years ago and the room was not great but this time we had a lovely room ,the dinner was exelant as was the bottle of wine !!! breakfast was a bit of a shambles but as there was staff shortages every one there was doing there best and we appriciated that the staff were all very nice and helpful all in all we enjoyed our break here and would come again if we got the same room thank you

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd September 2021

Very good stay at the Mercure room and bathroom needs upgraded

Linda Johnsoin said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th August 2021

Great service all round. Super dinner and breakfasts

Maria Allan said...

57%
40%
50%
80%

Stayed 29th August 2021

When went to check in was told to wait in reception by member of staff till 3pm while other staff member carried on checking people in on arrival at room it was more like a single room than a double disgrace to state that wee room is a double for 2 adults at evening meal had to ask a member of staff to take my order they just kept walking past our table do not think I will go back to this hotel on your deal will try elsewhere in future

Carole Larkin said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 25th July 2021

Stayed at this hotel a few times and you cant fault it the place is spotless and the staff are very friendly

Linda Crawford said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th August 2021

Had two nights at the hotel with the deal which included dinner on the first night and bottle of wine per room. It is great value for money the rooms were clean,beds comfortable and shower hot. The dinner was 3 courses with lots of choice and each thing we had was delicious washed down with the free wine. The hotel is located right in middle of Ayr so handy for shops and bars and beach is at bottom of road. OK maybe hotel could be doing with a wee update but for the price we paid it was great value for money and we will be back. Staff were helpful and friendly.

les BALMER said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 23rd August 2021

A slightly dated hotel well located close to centre of Ayr and near to beach. Room was fine , bathroom a little small but adequate. Meals in the restaurant , dinner and breakfast, were most enjoyable. (offer inc btle of wine) Good choice from daily 3 course special and breakfast buffet. All staff were pleasant. We had an enjoyable 2 night stay!

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 20th August 2021

Car park was full , waited around for a space but I overheard others guests having to park elsewhere. When she informed the man on reception his reply “impossible “ referring to her saying there was no spaces

A guest said...

60%
0%
80%
100%

Stayed 18th August 2021

Booked a classic double room and was given the most miserable room ever ! Didn’t even resemble anything what was shown on website. Towel in room seen better days , cracked and broken tile in bathroom Food was lovely and breakfast good choice . Hotel defo needing some TLC as a lot of the other mecure hotels are better decorated. Younger staff needing a bit guidance. Won’t be back at this hotel but looking forward to another staycation with MyHotelBreak as their member of staff Vicki Simpson sorted a few things out for us and was so apologetic regarding our room

Mel McDonald said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th August 2021

The hotel is in a convenient location and there are some great views of the town and the sea if you get a high floor facing the right way. The staff were all helpful and friendly which was nice. The room was functional - what you would expect - although it was quite small with not a lot of room to move around. Toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a hairdryer. We had an evening meal in the hotel too - service was very good and the food was really nice. My only real criticism is that to get to the car park you have to walk along a narrow alley which is also used by smokers. It's a nasty experience and perhaps the hotel might consider getting smokers to locate somewhere else in the grounds, or provide somewhere for them, rather than hanging about outside the back door. To be fair I would certainly consider staying here again. Good service and nice staff.

Mel McDonald said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th August 2021

The hotel is in a convenient location and there are some great views of the town and the sea if you get a high floor facing the right way. The staff were all helpful and friendly which was nice. The room was functional - what you would expect - although it was quite small with not a lot of room to move around. Toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a hairdryer. We had an evening meal in the hotel too - service was very good and the food was really nice. My only real criticism is that to get to the car park you have to walk along a narrow alley which is also used by smokers. It's a nasty experience and perhaps the hotel might consider getting smokers to locate somewhere else in the grounds, or provide somewhere for them, rather than hanging about outside the back door. To be fair I would certainly consider staying here again. Good service and nice staff.

jim Montgomery said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th August 2021

Excellent holiday

A guest said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 5th August 2021

This hotel was indeed 3 star, a bit past its best, needing a complete re-furb especially in the bedroom and bathroom a couple of tiles on our bathroom floor were broken. But our bed was clean and comfortable. We both enjoyed our evening meal. The staff in the reception were very helpful.

lorna boyce said...

70%
70%
80%
60%

Stayed 7th August 2021

Was disappointed overall, Hardly slept due to noise of other guests, Food wasn't great, Was just OK at both dinner and breakfast, Profiteroles were still a bit frozen in the middle! Staff were friendly, Sadly won't return though.

Carole Larkin said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th July 2021

The hotel was beautiful,stayed here before pandemic and what a difference the staff, decor and food was brilliant cant wait to go back.

christine mcginty said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th July 2021

We had a great stay at the Mercure hotel in Ayr the dinner was lovely and great quality the breakfast was great with lots of choices staff were pleasant overall a great hotel and i would go back

Jean Stevenson said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 22nd July 2021

Hi very disappointed when we first arrived I had booked two rooms hotel and they said they only had been told about one and they only had one room but thanks to myhotelbreak who got it sorted for us and we are very grateful. But after that could not fault the hotel rooms and food were very good and very nice staff

john jack said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 16th July 2021

Enjoyed our stay good value for money. Hotel could be doing with a lick of paint especially in bedroom and dining area and hallways in our opinion as we noticed, although our room was clean and tidy. Paying for parking ,we didn’t mind but others may? Enjoyed free bottle of wine in our room so much we ordered another with our dinner. When paying bar bill on leaving was shocked to be charged £24 for it. Would definitely stay again on same deal but won’t be ordering another bottle of wine! Scored service 7 as on the second morning for breakfast the maitre de told us we only had 30 minute slot then there was queuing for hot breakfast.

john jack said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 16th July 2021

Enjoyed our stay good value for money. Hotel could be doing with a lick of paint especially in bedroom and dining area and hallways in our opinion as we noticed, although our room was clean and tidy. Paying for parking ,we didn’t mind but others may? Enjoyed free bottle of wine in our room so much we ordered another with our dinner. When paying bar bill on leaving was shocked to be charged £24 for it. Would definitely stay again on same deal but won’t be ordering another bottle of wine! Scored service 7 as on the second morning for breakfast the maitre de told us we only had 30 minute slot then there was queuing for hot breakfast.

Richard Stewart said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 17th July 2021

We encountered a few issue's. Room was not ready for almost an hour after checkin. Room door lock was broken as soon as we arrived, was fixed about 30 mins later, we agreed time dot for breakfast both days, but when we arrived we were told that wasn't our slot, but it was, as we agreed 09:30 when checking in. Breakfast on the Monday has less cold juice options, no pastries, and the continental option was very poor.