Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Manor of Groves Hotel, Sawbridgeworth

High Wych, Sawbridgeworth, CM21 0JU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

Allan Thompson said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 30th August 2020

Good value deal Dinner was good but roast potatos were cooked from frozen. Buffet breakfast not hot enough and eggs rubbery

Graham Woodhouse said...

44%
60%
20%
50%

Stayed 23rd August 2020

Service was very poor, staff in reception were hopeless and at breakfast on day 1 of our stay it was a shambles three times we had to ask for coffee, no instructions on how things worked and when we eventually ordered a cooked breakfast we waited a long time for it arrive. Day 2 there was a Buffett style breakfast which I think are banned during Covid ? But was at least better organised. Staff were wearing masks under their noses and removing them to speak to customers?? Food was average by hotel standards. Room was ok but not as Covid clean as we expected. Swimming pool was well run and very good. The golf course was very good. The set up for bar meals and drinks from the bar is just in the reception area and not really very comfortable or inviting. We ate there and the staff couldn’t even remember to bring drinks for both us after we had ordered them so had to ask for the send to brought over.The corridors were full of empty room service dishes etc which never moved in 3 days, the corridor floors haven’t seen a vacuum cleaner in some time. Overall the place is in a lovely setting but run very poorly. Some effort should be made to provide a separate bar away from the reception.

Graham Woodhouse said...

44%
60%
20%
50%

Stayed 23rd August 2020

Service was very poor, staff in reception were hopeless and at breakfast on day 1 of our stay it was a shambles three times we had to ask for coffee, no instructions on how things worked and when we eventually ordered a cooked breakfast we waited a long time for it arrive. Day 2 there was a Buffett style breakfast which I think are banned during Covid ? But was at least better organised. Staff were wearing masks under their noses and removing them to speak to customers?? Food was average by hotel standards. Room was ok but not as Covid clean as we expected. Swimming pool was well run and very good. The golf course was very good. The set up for bar meals and drinks from the bar is just in the reception area and not really very comfortable or inviting. We ate there and the staff couldn’t even remember to bring drinks for both us after we had ordered them so had to ask for the send to brought over.The corridors were full of empty room service dishes etc which never moved in 3 days, the corridor floors haven’t seen a vacuum cleaner in some time. Overall the place is in a lovely setting but run very poorly. Some effort should be made to provide a separate bar away from the reception.

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 26th July 2020

Fantastic staff and service rooms spotlessly clean, good social distancing would definitely be back

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 16th July 2019

Location and surroundings, and availability of facilities. Food incl breakfasts was very good, room of good size. Generally, the staff were helpful and friendly.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 22nd July 2019

Large spa/golf hotel in expansive grounds, with a smart-casual relaxed feel. Room was comfortable, breakfast was good, and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 26th July 2019

Beautiful building, lovely setting. Spa and pool looked nice but didn’t have chance to try them.

A guest said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 1st July 2019

We have stayed 3 times in total at this hotel and the room we had this time was amazing! It had a very large bathroom with a big bath and separate shower. Our sleeping area was down a couple of steps and the bed was also large and comfortable. The view from the room was lovely. The staff were friendly helpful and we are looking forward to staying here again next year!

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 22nd June 2019

I went here with a friend. The staff were all very nice and helpful. The room and the hotel was clean and well kept. It had everything we needed for our short stay. There was some confusion with our reservation but it was sorted very swiftly and a bottle of wine was delivered to our room as an apology (which really wasn’t necessary) we didn’t eat an evening meal there but the breakfast was very good with a large selection on offer. We will definitely be returning.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 31st May 2019

This is the third time we have stayed overnight here. We upgraded to a superior room this time and the room was spacious and clean. We had everything we needed. We used the leisure area. Pool and jacuzzi were nice. The staff were friendly and evening meal was great. Breakfast had a good choice. Overall a comfortable stay. Will definitely return.