Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, Manchester

Portland Street, Manchester, M1 4PH, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

Nicola Langhorn said...

90%
80%
N/A
100%

Stayed 14th March 2020

We arrived sat 14th march and was welcomed by a lovely man who had all info we needed. We checked in at the reception without any hassle by another lovely man. Room was nice and clean had everything we needed, only problem we had was tv not working but we didnch it anyway. Windows need updating as they are mouldy or maybe just need a good clean but they only open so far as it as a barrier window on them which needs cleaning as well. Bed was comfy, plenty of towels and shampoo n shower gel. We was given a complimentry bottle off wine but only wine they had was red which wasnt very good for it being such a large hotel. Breakfast was amazing though. Plenty to choose from and was hot. Didnt even need to move off seat if u didnt want to as waitress came round and asked what she could get for us. We didnt use the hotel as it would of cost us £20 but a short 2 minute walk is a carpark on major street only cost us £3.60 for the full 24hrs. So we definitely saved. We will definitely book again at this hotel. Thanks for a pleasant stay guys

Jenny Alison Davies said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th February 2020

Excellent location. Staff warm and welcoming especially Martin at breakfast looking forward to returning

paul bray said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd February 2020

Slow check in but worth it great views from high floor rooms and excellent breakfast

Amy Gordon said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 22nd February 2020

We'd booked the bed, breakfast and bottle of wine offer. Wasn't clear that the wine wouldn't be in the room and had to be consumed in the hotel bar. Aside from that, stay was lovely, room was clean and tidy and breakfast was full of options.

Janice Vickers said...

65%
N/A
50%
80%

Stayed 15th February 2020

Room very basic and very tired and not very clean

Robert Burrows said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 25th January 2020

Room and bathroom especially were looking rather tired, the shower was weak, where the shower curtain had been the wall plugs and holes were still on show. On the positive side the breakfast was excellent and the view we had was great but a little noisy, would stay again.

David Bradley said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 18th January 2020

Staff were very friendly and efficient...especially the restaurant staff who were superb.

Judy Prince said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th December 2019

Lovely overnight stay and very good value. All I would say is that the bedrooms/bathrooms are a bit tired looking, but did the job.

Christine Pattison said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 30th November 2019

Bargain break away, central hotel for the christmas markets. No issues, at a push could say the only downside was having to wait for a lift

Leanne Keerie said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 26th November 2019

Very quick check in, room was way better than we expected with a very good view across Manchester.breakfast was very nice and all tasted fresh. Would recommend this hotel if your looking for somewhere central

Eva Duncan said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd November 2019

Very enjoyable stay, hotel was very convenient to city centre, clean and staff were very friendly

Elizabeth Robertson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th November 2019

Enjoyed our stay,just what we needed.thank you

Tracy Jones-Lacy said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 15th November 2019

Great location. Rooms are basic but clean and great views of Central Manchester

Fraser Strathearn said...

50%
60%
40%
N/A

Stayed 7th November 2019

Rooms were clean and tidy. Basic but for price paid more than adequate. Rooms could do modernising but happy enough with them. Service at reception was very warm and friendly and shortly after booking in we booked dinner at the hotel restaurant. Upon attending at the restaurant that evening there was no one greeting us on the way in so we were unsure if we were just to sit down at a table which we eventually did. We had sat down a couple of minutes when I observed a member of what appeared to be waiting staff simply standing looking into space. I walked up just to advise that we had booked in for dinner and that we had obviously just taken our seats at a table. The staff member stared at me blankly and then told me to speak to staff at the bar. I believe she was new to the job. I then saw another member of staff come over (Jemma) who I advised of the booking and if we were just to sit and she said yeah that's fine. My wife and I then sat down for approximately 10 minutes without being seen to whilst both members of staff on the restaurant floor stood chatting to each other no more than about 15 metres away from us. At this point we left the restaurant and my wife made it known that she was unhappy with the service. We ordered a drink at the bar as we got a bottle of wine with the offer we booked. Whilst we were having this I made reservations at another restaurant. At this time Jemma apologised believing that we were only in for drinks and offered us a plate of chips as some form of apology. We were civil to her but advised that we would not be dining at the hotel after that experience of such poor service. Overall experience of hotel was OK but badly let down by quality of service in the restaurant.

Kenneth Muir said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 7th November 2019

The hotel is in a great central location, easily accessible from Manchester Piccadilly Station, so, obviously, from the airport too. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Best thing about the hotel is the staff; from the Receptionist at check-in, the bar/restaurant staff, the concierge, everybody was very friendly, helpful and totally professional.

Lauren McElhatton said...

60%
10%
100%
70%

Stayed 25th October 2019

lovely stay reception staff very helpful & cheerful! room & bathroom very clean room service good, plenty of choices from menu, however breakfast was unfortunately cold :( bar was great, I needed a few wine glasses & jug of ice for the room, this was no problem at all with the bar staff both friday & saturday night only complaint I have is there are a LOT of homeless people hanging around the hotel & surrounding areas which is quite off-putting, majority of them are on the e which is awful to see, so not a nice view when you come out of the hotel and they should be moved along. All-in-all a nice stay & the bottle of wine & 2 nights breakfast included for £125 was a great deal with myhotelbreak.com!! :)

joanna taylor said...

75%
70%
80%
N/A

Stayed 25th October 2019

Really great value. The bar on level 3 is where we spent most of our break as it never stopped raining. It overlooks the city and it’s a very comfortable place to relax with a drink. Great location with shops in 5 minutes walk and about 3 minutes walk to station. It’s actually right by a huge Primark. Only issue was that we had a terrible nights sleep as the walls are so thin and we could hear absolutely everything from the rooms on either side.

julie Hamer said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th October 2019

We had a fantastic weekend at this hotel in Manchester. There is so much to do in Manchester from sightseeing to shopping to eating out and lots of other things. We will certainly be booking up again.

KAREN PEAKE said...

50%
40%
60%
50%

Stayed 14th October 2019

Hotel was convenient with free parking for blue badge holders. Breakfast was ok but not kept stocked on two days the fruit was empty and bread all gone waited foe new but didn’t arrive. Hot food was Luke warm and plates cold. Rooms were very tired more like a premier inn room not a 4 star hotel . Cleaning not good mess in bathroom from previous occupants and only bed made for us no cleaning of the room, put towels for wash but were put on bath again wet as no where to dry also phone was broke.

Julie Payet said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th October 2019

Great stay from start to finish Concierge Paul was fantastic Check in was a pleasure

Lee Midgley said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th September 2019

Food was very good ,good location,

Patricia Fenwick said...

65%
50%
80%
N/A

Stayed 8th September 2019

The hotel upgraded us to a superior room which was lovely. However overall the room was rather 'tired'. Bed was comfortable and toilet clean and well stocked. Staff were helpful but the 2 hours spent ordering and waiting to be served our dinner on Sunday was quite unacceptable - the food was fine when it did come. Breakfast was ok too. Location of hotel was excellent for siteseeing

Barbara Lee said...

55%
40%
N/A
70%

Stayed 31st August 2019

Last minute overnight stay - easy check in - We were given a bottle of wine for the room which was very nice. Our room on the 11th floor - nice views but could hear from the room above quite clearly a woman's voice - Said woman returned back at 3am in the morning and continued to screech and shout until 3.45am so disturbed sleep. Breakfast was very nice with a great view. Would recommend for a last minute break.

Nathaniel Ameyaw said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 16th August 2019

Great location, friendly staff, nice environment.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st August 2019

Great city center location with easy access to all around Manchester. One common truth about Mercure hotels seems to be that buildings are built in ther 60's and 70's and are products of their era. Fortunately interior of the hotel was a positive surprise and I was pleased with my room. Breakfast was served in a spacious restaurant with a nice view to city.