Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, Manchester

Portland Street, Manchester, M1 4PH, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

79%

david gorrell said...

34%
90%
10%
0%

Stayed 19th August 2021

Mercure, usually a name that is recognised for quality in the hotel industry. Not this one! On arrival the receptionist did not take our payment saying "the company you booked with will take it" WRONG! Then we were kept waiting 20mins to be served in the restaurant, on getting the attention of the waitress she said "Wait one moment" then left us to go clearing tables! At this point we left to dine elsewhere. We then reported incident to receptionist, to be told "restaurant manger will contact you" (never happened). Final straw was when asking for our "bottle of prosecco" (part of our offer) to be delivered to our room, it NEVER appeared.! We left after two nights (and three requests for the prosecco) and will NEVER return.??

A guest said...

17%
50%
0%
0%

Stayed 4th August 2021

Our stay was average but the thing that made us decide we wouldn’t be back was that we were told last orders for dinner was 9.30 at the reception and we went for dinner around 8pm and ordered our mains then we went to order dessert at 8.45 to then be told that the kitchen shut at 8.30! When I then said we were told it was 9.30 the guy said aw you must have heard them wrong cause it’s 8.30 so you can’t have dessert! When we were leaving in the morning I found the sheet of paper with all details and contact numbers which clearly stated last orders were 9.30 so we were lied to by what looked like a manager!

Dawn Dunn said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 25th June 2021

I would say hotel is looking a bit dated but we had a lovely weekend the hotel as great staff and lovely views over Piccadilly gardens.

Nicola Langhorn said...

90%
80%
N/A
100%

Stayed 14th March 2020

We arrived sat 14th march and was welcomed by a lovely man who had all info we needed. We checked in at the reception without any hassle by another lovely man. Room was nice and clean had everything we needed, only problem we had was tv not working but we didnch it anyway. Windows need updating as they are mouldy or maybe just need a good clean but they only open so far as it as a barrier window on them which needs cleaning as well. Bed was comfy, plenty of towels and shampoo n shower gel. We was given a complimentry bottle off wine but only wine they had was red which wasnt very good for it being such a large hotel. Breakfast was amazing though. Plenty to choose from and was hot. Didnt even need to move off seat if u didnt want to as waitress came round and asked what she could get for us. We didnt use the hotel as it would of cost us £20 but a short 2 minute walk is a carpark on major street only cost us £3.60 for the full 24hrs. So we definitely saved. We will definitely book again at this hotel. Thanks for a pleasant stay guys

Jenny Alison Davies said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th February 2020

Excellent location. Staff warm and welcoming especially Martin at breakfast looking forward to returning

paul bray said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd February 2020

Slow check in but worth it great views from high floor rooms and excellent breakfast

Amy Gordon said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 22nd February 2020

We'd booked the bed, breakfast and bottle of wine offer. Wasn't clear that the wine wouldn't be in the room and had to be consumed in the hotel bar. Aside from that, stay was lovely, room was clean and tidy and breakfast was full of options.

David Bradley said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 18th January 2020

Staff were very friendly and efficient...especially the restaurant staff who were superb.

Judy Prince said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th December 2019

Lovely overnight stay and very good value. All I would say is that the bedrooms/bathrooms are a bit tired looking, but did the job.

Christine Pattison said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 30th November 2019

Bargain break away, central hotel for the christmas markets. No issues, at a push could say the only downside was having to wait for a lift

Leanne Keerie said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 26th November 2019

Very quick check in, room was way better than we expected with a very good view across Manchester.breakfast was very nice and all tasted fresh. Would recommend this hotel if your looking for somewhere central

Eva Duncan said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd November 2019

Very enjoyable stay, hotel was very convenient to city centre, clean and staff were very friendly

Elizabeth Robertson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th November 2019

Enjoyed our stay,just what we needed.thank you

Tracy Jones-Lacy said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 15th November 2019

Great location. Rooms are basic but clean and great views of Central Manchester

Kenneth Muir said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 7th November 2019

The hotel is in a great central location, easily accessible from Manchester Piccadilly Station, so, obviously, from the airport too. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Best thing about the hotel is the staff; from the Receptionist at check-in, the bar/restaurant staff, the concierge, everybody was very friendly, helpful and totally professional.

julie Hamer said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th October 2019

We had a fantastic weekend at this hotel in Manchester. There is so much to do in Manchester from sightseeing to shopping to eating out and lots of other things. We will certainly be booking up again.

Julie Payet said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th October 2019

Great stay from start to finish Concierge Paul was fantastic Check in was a pleasure

Lee Midgley said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th September 2019

Food was very good ,good location,

Patricia Fenwick said...

65%
50%
80%
N/A

Stayed 8th September 2019

The hotel upgraded us to a superior room which was lovely. However overall the room was rather 'tired'. Bed was comfortable and toilet clean and well stocked. Staff were helpful but the 2 hours spent ordering and waiting to be served our dinner on Sunday was quite unacceptable - the food was fine when it did come. Breakfast was ok too. Location of hotel was excellent for siteseeing

Nathaniel Ameyaw said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 16th August 2019

Great location, friendly staff, nice environment.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st August 2019

Great city center location with easy access to all around Manchester. One common truth about Mercure hotels seems to be that buildings are built in ther 60's and 70's and are products of their era. Fortunately interior of the hotel was a positive surprise and I was pleased with my room. Breakfast was served in a spacious restaurant with a nice view to city.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 4th August 2019

Excellent location, staff were helpful, rooms were clean & bed was comfy. Ideal for a last minute weekend break in Manchester.

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th August 2019

Location was good and breakfast was great

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th July 2019

This hotel is definitely a place to stay if travelling to Manchester. The location is perfect if going to the Arena, and being in Piccadilly Gardens, is just right for sightseeing and shopping within the city. It is exceptionally clean, and the breakfast was amazing.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 31st July 2019

This is good hotel for someone wanting to stay centrally and benefit from all that Manchester has to offer. It is clean and comfortable and has everything you need. The staff are very helpful, the breakfast was good and the view over the city is excellent. The car park, if expensive was also very handy.