Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Mercure Inverness Hotel, Inverness

33 Church Street, Inverness, IV1 1DX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

christine mailley said...

64%
60%
50%
80%

Stayed 15th October 2021

The hotel was well located but parking was a public car park and very limited spaces . We had booked the two night B&B dinner on the first night . I telephoned on the Tuesday before our stay to book our meals as suggested by your email . the reception explaineeed it was not necessary as bookings would be taken when we arrived . We arrived and were told that there was no tables left ! We had travelled over 100 miles straight from work and had to start looking for somewhere to have a meal . I raised this with the staff but they said they had had people booking in since this morning and they would accommodate our meal on the second evening .( for which we already had a restaurant booked ) Our plans had to be all changed at the last minute . The bedrooms were not cleaned to the high standard they published . We had the previous guests pajama trousers and used towel hanging behind the bathroom door and I had to ask twice for it to be removed . Our friend room also had a lot of dust on the furniture . The staff in the bar and restaurants were helpful and mannerly . Our room overlooked the main street and was very noisy due to people coming in and out of the public house opposite the hotel .

Stephen Conway said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th May 2021

Friendly helpful staff George in restaurant first class this guy looks after you Girls at breakfast superb service always helpful and smiling Good car park just oect to paying when locals freely use it and just walk away

Ian Rennie said...

90%
90%
N/A
90%

Stayed 12th December 2020

The Hotel is very very well placed in the city centre with half of the rooms overlooking the river Ness The room a good size and nice

Ian Rennie said...

90%
90%
N/A
90%

Stayed 12th December 2020

The Hotel is very very well placed in the city centre with half of the rooms overlooking the river Ness The room a good size and nice

Stewart Townsley said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st October 2020

Rooms had label on door showing it had been thoroughly cleaned and no one had entered since it had been done, hotel also had plenty of sanitizing stations through out the building. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. It was in a great position for visiting the city centre etc.

Janet adamson said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 24th October 2020

Had a lovely stay at this hotel our room was fantastic staff were great out of the three hotels we have stayed at recently this is the only one we have said we would go back to

A guest said...

64%
40%
90%
60%

Stayed 14th October 2020

Poor WiFi, room was freezing and very noisy even with the outside vent being shut resulting in a poor sleep wouldn’t recommend

Maureen Mullin said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 1st October 2020

Enjoyable stay Staff are the heart of this hotel friendly cheery working in difficult times. All govt guidelines in place to keep everyone safe Dining room for breakfast well organised cold buffet trolley brought to table for choice and hot food order taken at table no need for guests to move around Brilliant coordinated breakfast restaurant team Our room overlooked the River which was nice. Would def like to return and explore the area as its a great base for this

Craig Dunn said...

54%
80%
80%
0%

Stayed 26th September 2020

More miss than hit with this hotel. Tired exterior, which is not being maintained. Clean room, upgraded toilet but it’s incredibly small, there is no bath just a shower. You can hear everything in the room the air vents which don’t close bring the outside in permanently, it’s just like you hav an open window onto the street below where the bars are, so if your looking for a good nights sleep, forget it. You can also hear the conversations in adjacent rooms, not just the sound of talking, but the actual conversation, I felt like I could have joined in, there is no sound insulation in the walls or ceilings at all. We got a knock at the door and told to turn our tv down at 9.30 and it was at volume 6 out of 100. Made us feel like most unwelcome. The WiFi was rubbish, we couldn’t connect for any length of time before cutting out. I couldn’t even stream a low quality Netflix tv show. The allowance for food (£22) which seemed adequate only covers a very basic starter and a main, approximately 80% of the menu choices would have required you to pay extra (I assume this is the reason for the unusually high prices) and it was probably the worst meal I’ve had. The duck parfait at £7.25 was not parfait, it was cheap liver pate and was foul. And the Caesar’s salad was, for £13.00 a joke. I could have gone around the corner to M&S food and picked up a better and bigger one for £3.50. This is a complete rip off. They do give you a bottle of complimentary wine which, while on the budget side went well with the olives we ordered. Funnily, and to our surprise the breakfast was good, particularly the serving staff who were on the ball, attentive, and couldn’t do enough for you. There are hand sanitisers dotted around but the automatic one at the front door never had sanitiser in it. This is not a 4 star hotel. You even have to pay for the privilege of parking in their car park. My wife and I were at a 3 star Hilton only a few weeks before and the quality of service, room WiFi, Sound proofing Was streets ahead of this place. Everything was better. I’ve no idea who rated this place but it’s Not 4 star, and there are much better hotels with 3 star ratings. Would not recommend. Not even at the bargain price we got it for.the next time we go away we will be sticking to the hotels where we get a good nights sleep in a sound proofed room with decent WiFi with decent breakfast. These no frills, no fuss cheaper 3 star hotel chains who know what customers want and provide much better value for money.

Duncan Matheson said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th September 2020

Had Avery enjoyable break service excellent as was dinner place very clean and regs followed for COVID have rebooked for Feb2021

A guest said...

74%
50%
90%
80%

Stayed 22nd September 2020

Very narrow doors into room , feel it good do with new decor. Reception area wasn’t very welcoming, Location was good. Overall six out of ten.

A guest said...

74%
50%
90%
80%

Stayed 22nd September 2020

Very narrow doors into room , feel it good do with new decor. Reception area wasn’t very welcoming, Location was good. Overall six out of ten.

Colin Mauchlen said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 11th September 2020

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Mercury. All staff were excellent. Very friendly and informative. COVID controls were in place and easy to follow. Room was very spacious,clean and well laid out. Only noise we heard was when pubs rolled out and we could hear muted voices but this didn’t interfere with a good nights sleep. Breakfast was delicious and the waitress was fantastic (wish I had gotten her name) she was very friendly, attentive and provided 1st class service. Hotel in perfect location for city centre. And frontage onto river was lovely. I will definitely use this hotel again.

YVONNE HALAS said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th September 2020

We enjoyed our stay, the staff were very friendly and helpful. They've adapted very well to the necessary procedures that are currently in place. The room was small, as was the bathroom, but functional. It was fine for a couple nights, but possibly not suitable if you are staying for longer. We did enjoy our stay there, as it was very central.

isabell gault said...

74%
90%
90%
40%

Stayed 5th September 2020

We had no cups in our room hardly any milk tea and coffee....we did ask for more and was delivered to our room very quickly but we did not notice we had no cups to drink with Breakfast was the poorest we ever had we appreciate there is a pandemic but there was very limited choice very small portions not the usual standard of our stays

Donna Morrison said...

100%
100%
100%
N/A

Stayed 16th August 2020

Lovely hotel, perfect location, car parking great! Complimentary upgrade was a real bonus. The room was large, the bed and pillows were so comfortable!

Julie Cassidy Julie Cassidy said...

90%
80%
100%
N/A

Stayed 30th July 2020

Hotel is very centrally located. Staff were warm and welcoming and the bed was super comfy. Only downside was the car parking. There is a car park to the rear but spaces are very limited

Norma Houston said...

80%
90%
80%
70%

Stayed 3rd March 2020

Very nice room, all staff very friendly and helpful, would recommend to anyone who wants a hotel central to Inverness.

S Davidson said...

84%
90%
70%
90%

Stayed 21st February 2020

Lovely hotel and great location. Only complaints would be better lighting needed in bedroom and basket for toiletries needed in shower. Lisa was really helpful at breakfast. We were told by waitress at dinner there was no allowance and we could order anything from menu including lamb rump and ribeye steak although I did query this with her and she said we could have 3 courses. Therefore, when checking out the girl with blonde hair told us we had to pay £20 extra which she said was in view of excess of the £22 allowance. We queried this and although the girl finally let it go I feel a customer service course should be the cards for her.

raymond mcbeath said...

87%
90%
100%
70%

Stayed 31st January 2020

Great stay, bed ok pillows a bit hard for my liking fine and handy for the street.

Aneta Smith said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th November 2019

Great hotel , clean, friendly staff , fab breakfast and great dinner.

Glynis Gogolinski said...

90%
80%
N/A
100%

Stayed 9th November 2019

Excellent hotel Great location Super meal FABULOUS 2 NIGHT DEAL!

Angela Bruce said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th November 2019

Hotel was clean ,staff was great very friendly. We had a evening meal , The food was delicious , and the breakfast had a great selection fresh and hot . We have stayed here a few times and would definitely go back , we would definitely recommend it x

A guest said...

70%
70%
N/A
70%

Stayed 1st November 2019

Stayed 3 nights on a b & b basis. Upon checking in we were greeted with a warm enough welcome although the reception area was bit grubby, perhaps the carpet could do with an overdue clean? We were given keys to our room and directed to the lifts. Our room although small was perfectly adequate, very comfortable bed and the bathroom was spotless. Breakfast is self serve, usual foodstuffs and I thought quite good.

Muriel Boardley said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 26th October 2019

We had a lovely stay ,enjoyed it very much.Girls at check in were very helpful ,everything was perfect we like this hotel it is so central.