Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shrigley Hall Hotel Golf & Country Club, Pott Shrigley

Shrigley Park, Pott Shrigley, SK105SB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

Diane Nash said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th June 2021

Shrigley Hall is a lovely hotel with very friendly staff, delicious food and beautiful grounds .

Diane Nash said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th June 2021

Shrigley Hall is a lovely hotel with very friendly staff, delicious food and beautiful grounds .

Selwyn eustace said...

70%
60%
50%
100%

Stayed 18th May 2021

We all had a great time However there were some problems which we did not expect. These were rectified by the management in due time.

Diane Nash said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th October 2020

Had a lovely time at Shrigley Hall, the food was very good, the service was very good staff are very friendly and Richard is amazing always there to help.

anita Mccormick said...

20%
20%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 12th October 2020

The staf at reception were not very friendly Rooms outdated. Breakfast & dinner service really awful food not of good standard especially breakfast although there was enough staff they were not attentive at all . I visited this hotel with my 100 year old grandmother travelling from Scotland who had to attend with very steep stairs to her room.I had called the hotel prior to explain my gran was a 100 years old Very poor service indeed . Beautiful surroundings though & a beautiful little Boston terrier who worked the grounds with his owner .

Diane Nash said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 1st October 2020

We had a fabulous time at Shrigley Hall as we always do, stayed here quite a few times and still keep coming back. Food is excellent, rooms have very comfortable beds, the staff are very helpful and Richard is amazing he’s always got time to ask how you are and is happy to do anything to make your stay a happy one.

Lee Loughman said...

24%
20%
50%
0%

Stayed 2nd October 2020

I would definitely not be visiting again. The rooms are very basic and the food in the restaurant is shockingly bad. DON’T BOOK HERE you will be let down.

Glenys Sharp said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st September 2020

Fantastic hotel.Very good price. We had a lovely break!

Christopher Platt said...

67%
50%
50%
100%

Stayed 6th March 2020

It was a 50/50 positive and negative thoughts about Shrigley hall hotel, we arrived earlier than 3pm and they were kind enough to let us check in early, the first room we were given we had to change as we had been put in an old style room and it was not up to standard, just run down tired looking, the bathroom was just too much, black grout, mouldy seal round bath, chipped sink. Could of dealt with it but then noticed the massive cobwebs round dirty peeling window frame, at that we went trailing back down to reception (as it was a maze of corridors and stairs) and asked to be moved which they did straight away without asking why, so we suspect they have had that complaint before, the next room had been renovated, and was lovely, there was a spa issue at first, the deal we had booked said free entry any time during Feb/March no restrictions, but when we arrived the receptionist told us we couldn’t go in until 3pm unless we paid £10 each. I showed her my booking reservation and the terms and conditions and she said there was that many deals going on she couldn’t keep up, we were then allowed in to pool area. We had done dinner bed and breakfast deal, when we went for dinner, we were put into a room away from main dining area (the area with tree in middle) I suspect if you have come on one of the many deals that are in various websites you get put in said room to eat, felt bit out of it atmosphere wise, food was delicious, breakfast in morning was delicious, the coffee at breakfast was really good from the machine but really good coffee. I just feel because you book on a deal you get second best but that’s not fair, don’t offer the deals in that case, I think once whole hotel is renovated it could be a fantastic place but currently it’s 50/50. Also it is a country house grand frontage but rooms are basically in a travel lodge style building added onto the old house. Get that area right as well and could be a fantastic place and would definitely visit again and recommend to people.

Adele Brown said...

34%
50%
20%
30%

Stayed 20th February 2020

This is my 3rd break at Shrigley Hall and the last 2 stays at least one room wasn’t ready but on this occasion neither room was ready! We didn’t get our room keys until 6:15pm. I has also requested adjoining rooms and the adjoining door was unlocked and despite calling reception on several occasions our adjoining door was not unlocked until we came back from dinner at 9:30pm! We ordered drinks at the table but our food was served and we had finished our starters before food arrived. Evening meal was not very good only just warm and not much flavour the dessert was really good though. The spa was very busy and children in the pool until gone 6:30pm. New refurbishment is looking good. Thinking about complaining to the hall direct.

A guest said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 22nd January 2020

Very enjoyable one night stay. The food was good and the room was nice.

Melanie Curbishley said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th December 2019

Fabulous hotel with excellent food and facilities, however the outstanding thing about this hotel is the Staff, they could not have been more helpful or attentive - thank you.

Valentino Dinardo said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th December 2019

A very pleasant stay as always. Great atmosphere, staff and spa facilities.

A guest said...

67%
80%
40%
80%

Stayed 6th December 2019

Hotel is in desperate need of renovation, which is currently underway. The spa area is awful with mouldy walls, jacuzzi and pool need cleaning, water fountain falling to bits. Not a nice relaxing area. Bedroom lovely, couldn't fault it. Extremely slow service in restaurant, waited over an hour for our mains. But, when arrived the food was lovely. We wont be returning, such a shame as this hotel could lovely.

Neil pile said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 28th November 2019

The room and staff were excellent but the wait time in the restaurant was very slow as some people got there meal before us who had arrived after

David Pridding said...

64%
30%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd November 2019

We have stayed at this hotel many times in the past and always had an enjoyable time. Unfortunately. due to the current refurbishments the room was not as comfortable. There were no carpets on the bare wooden floors which were very cold. Take your slippers! Also, there was only one plastic chair at the dressing table which wasnt particularly comfortable so we had to sit on the bed.We got the impression that they didnt want people to be comfortable in the room, but to use the bar downstairs which is very expensive. However, the room was spotless , the bed comfortable and the meal in the restaurant was very good as usual. Also, the breakfast had plenty of choice and hot food as it always is. A once traditional hotel has become trendy at the expense of comfort.

Mark Richards said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 1st November 2019

Stayed at Shrigley on a DB&B deal. Hotel had a good atmosphere overall and we enjoyed our stay. Hotel was very busy making the spa / pool area quite crowded (lockers not easy to operate). We stayed in a refurbished room but was slightly disappointed with the room, as it was very small and quite a walk to bar and restaurant areas, It was also at the rear of the hotel near to the car park and it was quite noisy overnight. We had the window open because the room was very warm even with the radiator turned off. It's sounds like I'm complaining a lot but just trying to paint a fair picture, on the whole we would stay again but ask for a better room. Lastly the food was excellent, both dinner and breakfast and staff were friendly and helpful.

Roy Scattergood said...

84%
80%
70%
100%

Stayed 29th October 2019

Really impressive hotel set in stunning grounds overlooking Manchester in the distance. Rang ahead to request an updated room, for £10 extra it was money well spent. The pool area is a very nice way to relax for a couple of hours. The three course meal included was of a very good quality, the wine was a little on the pricey side but very nice. Room was very nice, large comfortable bed. Excellent choice of food for breakfast. This was a last minute booking of which we were delighted, we would happily return and recommend to those looking to go.

lisa willetts said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 28th October 2019

We had a great time it’s our second time there, really enjoyed our stay.

IAN SNAPE said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 19th October 2019

Lovely hotel excellent food nice room just needs mattress changing springs starting to come through had uncomfortable night

Linda Slack said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 5th September 2019

We went to breakfast at 9.30 and the buffet hot food was below previous standards and only enough fruit for 1 of us. The table for 4 at the evening meal was cramped. Saying all this we had a lovely stay, staff and rooms good and we would return

Ruth Reid said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th May 2019

Very nice one night stay . Facilities very good the breakfast and Erving meal was delicious.staff very friendly and helpful

Tracey Bowden said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th May 2019

Had a lovely night away at Shrigley Hall, relaxing afternoon in the spa, followed by delicious food in the restaurant. The rooms are clean and have a spacious bathroom, the spa is nice and has undergone a refurbishment since I last went, it's based inside the old chapel and is a lovely setting. The hotel in various areas was being refurbished but we didn't hear any noise etc from this. The areas they everyone completed are lovely! Had a nice walk around the woodlands and saw a pea sitting on a golf buggy!! Will definitely be going back and would recommend to anyone who's after a relaxing break away.

Margaret Robson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 23rd May 2019

A beautiful setting for a short break,good food and very pleasant ambience

Deb Sproston-Bewley said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th May 2019

Lovely hotel wonderful staff food good. Only problem full of golf groups more like being at a stag do. Very intimidated in the bar due to their behaviour. Woken at 2.30 by the men in room above having a argument and really shouting and swearing. Doors banging all night from other rooms. As two ladies staying it was rather disappointing and disturbing.