Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Banchory Lodge Hotel, Banchory

Dee Street, Banchory, AB315HS, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

Jacquilyn Smith said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 13th November 2020

Lovely relaxing hotel

Jacquilyn Smith said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 13th November 2020

Lovely relaxing hotel

Ian Baird said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th October 2020

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at this wonderful hotel in a magical setting. Despite the restrictions and additional hygiene rules , everyone was welcoming The food was excellent and all staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The rooms are beautifully furnished and in good condition. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

Andrew Davis said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 28th October 2020

Hi, just returned from a 2 night break to Banchory Lodge, it was absolutely brilliant. We booked 2 nights B&B with Dinner on the first night. From check-in to check-out everything was spot on and very efficient. Our room (No 8) was lovely, huge room over looking the river Dee with a four poster bed and sofa. We even had Netflix on the large tv. The bathroom too was huge with a separate bath and walk-in shower. The food in the dining areas was fab. Full Scottish breakfast both mornings, our choice from a great selection of hot food (there was a continental choice too), was cooked to perfection. Our dinner on the first night was superb, beautifully presented and tasted delicious. There was also an outdoor area with canopies and patio heaters which we used on the forst evening before dinner. All in all a fantastic Hotel and break which I would highly recommend. *** If there was one negative point it's that we were charged the higher room rate for both nights when on the booking calendar one night was priced at £20 less than the other night. ***

Maureen Downie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st October 2020

Had a lovely few days at the Banchory Lodge Hotel. Room lovely,food excellent and staff couldnt do enough for us. Hotel spotless and very covid compliant. Hope to visit again soon.

J Harper said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 19th October 2020

Enjoyed our third stay at the Banchory Lodge. It is a very welcoming hotel with excellent staff. The room was comfortable with a lovely river view, although I missed my bath. They are so helpful though that for the next stay (already booked) they will ensure a room with bath is allocated. The breakfast was tasty and extensive. The dinner menu seemed a little more limited than the last time we stayed but understandable in these challenging times - the food quality was good. Felt extremely safe in terms of Covid precautions. Lovely walks nearby and looking forward to returning.

Linda Pacitti said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 12th October 2020

Lovely hotel and friendly staff. Service was mixed but mainly good. Sometimes seemed to be short staffed and this let them down a little. Beautiful setting and a really good attempt by everyone in difficult cirstances.

A Thomson said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 11th October 2020

Lovely quirky hotel. Loved it !!

A guest said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 7th October 2020

Bath needs a hand rail to help you out of bath. Two members staff not wearing masks one had a exception landyard on but one did not. It made us feel quite uncomfortable when she came near us. The rest of staff was very pleasant and helpful

Margaret Graham said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th October 2020

I am delighted to be able to be given the opportunity to comment on our break at the hotel when such challenging cirstances are prevalent. The staff were so professional and well trained to follow the new way of working under such difficult restrictions. We felt exceptionally safe in all areas even though the hotel was busy (deservedly so) and it was easy to relax and enjoy our break.. Thank you so much to such delightful hard working staff. We appreciated it.

Darren Hunt said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th February 2020

What a lovely friendly welcoming hotel which we look forward to returning to. Room 18 had stunning views across the river Dee & panoramic windows to sit in front of & drink wine relaxing. Only thing hotel was missing was a residents lounge to relax in.

A guest said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st February 2020

Exceptional room, amazing food and brilliant value! Will go back time and time again.

G Wood said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th January 2020

Once again, an excellent stay with no faults at all. Fantastic spacious room, superb bath and shower facilities and delicious food. Staff as friendly as ever, and always assured a warm welcome on arrival. It's a lovely hotel, located on the river bank and has a superb outlook. Never disappointed here.

Isobel Chirray said...

84%
100%
70%
80%

Stayed 27th December 2019

This is a super hotel on the banks of the river which is dog friendly. The rooms were lovely with piping and fantastic heating. They had irons ironing boards tea coffee making facilities bottled water and a hairdryer. Rooms were not serviced till 3.30 pm when we were back to room so did not get it done. A few items on the menu was not available for dinner and breakfast. All in all a good hotel and we hope to go back.

J Harper said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th November 2019

Excellent stay - wonderful staff, great room, location and good food. The breakfast choices were terrific.

Angus Gray said...

77%
90%
50%
90%

Stayed 25th October 2019

Room 1st class, food 1st class, decor 1st class, plenty of staff. Disappointed though that on Sat evening went for a drink in lounge bar and only seats available were car chairs and a small table for two pushed up against a pillar, all other table were set and reserved for diners. Not what I would have expected in an establishment of this category. Additionally when entering the bar we were asked if we were dining, said no just wanted a drink and told rather abruptly that they were fully booked but you can have a drink IF you can find a seat. This rathe put a damper on an otherwisw excellent stay.

Elspeth Goar said...

60%
10%
80%
90%

Stayed 19th October 2019

beautiful setting.very welcoming staff. we had a problem with heating in room,this was fixed quickly with little fuss was a little disappointed that bar area seemed to be mostly for eating and only place really to just have a drink was sitting at the bar.This will be different in summer when you can sit on patio area.Food was lovely and restaurant service was excellent both at dinner and breakfast. We would stay again.

Neil Scally said...

30%
30%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 23rd May 2019

This is not a complaint it’s a summary of our visit. We chose this hotel on the recommendation of our son as he and his colleagues stay here when on business in Aberdeen. When you arrive at any hotel first impressions have a massive impact along with welcoming attitudes.(I have traveled worldwide for 35years so not short of experience) Your receptionist promptly told us it was 3pm check in, I showed her an email from Hotel Breaks showing a 2pm check in, she dismissed that email saying it was hotel policy for a 3pm check in l told her I have no correspondence from the hotel as we only have Hotel Breaks email therefore that’s all we had to work with, however we are willing to leave the and return in an hour. Not a good start! At this time I still had not seen our room which was No.17 my wife had seen it and had said it didn’t have a nice outlook, I asked the receptionist if there was another room available she said no other standard rooms were available I then asked if I could upgrade to the next level she said no rooms were available but she could give us a room at an extra £200.00. I asked if this cost was negotiable a quick no was her answer. It was then our turn to say no. The room was nicely decorated and clean a little on the small side it was also very dark even in daylight one of the two chairs damaged and had a poor repair using duck tape. The view from the window is horrendous looking on to a slate roof and down into what I can only explain as a working courtyard for the kitchen etc. The first night wasn’t too bad just some kitchen noises and the odd loud voice. However the second night was very loud, there was a wedding or some type of reception in full swing up until midnight, the square courtyard seemed to funnel the noise straight up between the buildings which was very annoying. What a pity we had a disappointing visit as the hotel is situated in a lovely setting. We will certainly not be back

Roslyn Hopton said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 20th May 2019

Very nice hotel to stay in. Great attentive staff. Good location right by the river.

Peter Graham said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th May 2019

Had a lovely 2 night stay celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary. Lovely room, (no 9) spotless and spacious. Staff are a credit to the hotel - smiling, knowledgable and really looked after us. Food, both breakfast and dinner was lovely. Of course the hotel setting is fantastic. We both thoroughly enjoyed our weekend break.

Ashley Anderson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th May 2019

Location and river views are spectacular. Lovely hotel with fantastic river view drinks patio a great place to relax and unwind. Would definitely stay there again.

A guest said...

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th May 2019

Lovely location. Pretty good food. (Just a hint of uncertainty about service, but all staff very pleasant). First class rooom.

A guest said...

70%
30%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th April 2019

We stayed in a 'comfy' room - this is one of the smallest rooms we have ever stayed in in 40 years of travel. Very compact and absolutely no room to move around. No where to sit except one very uncomfortable dining style chair stuck in a tight corner which could not be moved anywhere as there was no space. Not an enjoyable room to be in and noisy from the bottle bank area. Bed was fine. Carpet past is sell by date. Very small dressing table and messy wiring on the wall to the television. Not what we would class as a four star room. We could only boil the kettle on the window ledge which it could just fit on (very dangerous) as it could not fit on the dressing table as the wire would not reach to the wall to plug in. Our wardrobe was a small under combe cupboard and totally impracticable. The bathroom have poorly laid floor tiles with grout missing from a number of the tiles. The hotel is in a beautiful spot and most of the staff were attentive and engaging. The food was super. We would go back for this reason but would never stay in a 'comfy' room.

may Alexander said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th April 2019

Lovely hotel, fabulous location. Room, food, service and atmosphere all first class.

J Harper said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 3rd November 2017

Fabulous weekend. Great room - particularly the bathroom, great staff. Fabulous breakfast! Will return.