Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Buckatree Hall Hotel, Telford

The Wrekin, Telford, TF65AL, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

80%

Reg Aldridge said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th May 2018

My wife and I had a lovely weekend walking holiday here. You can take several great walks direct from the hotel, which is in a very quiet and secluded location, but very easy to get to via the A5 and M54. All the staff were wonderfully friendly and the food on the DBB arrangement was excellent with great presentation and a fair size helping of everything. Our room was a very good size and had a decent balcony. My only comment would be that the bedrooms need a little cosmetic update .... other than that a truly memorable stay and we will definitely be going back soon.

Mark Thompson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th March 2018

We had a lovely weekend. So much so we have booked again for June. Room lovely. Food beautiful. Staff really helpful and pleasant. Mum and Dad loved it too.

Mike Ryder said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 23rd February 2018

Staff, cleanliness of rooms and food were very good. The only disapointment was the room position which was above the entertainment lounge. On the Friday night there was a function with loud music which went on until midnight. Why were we allocated this room 114 directly above when other guests who attended the function were over the otherside of the hotel in quieter rooms? Lack of planning

elaine suddes said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th February 2018

We have never been dissappointed when staying at this hotel, the setting, staff, rooms and food have always been excellent

Heather Newton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st February 2018

We had a lovely stay. all the staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was very nice with a balcony and view over the lake.. Food was really good .

Kevin Milward said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 10th February 2018

From check in to leaving could not fault anything staff were very friendly and helpful room was spotless & very good view of the countryside

julie smith said... Hotel has replied

30%
50%
30%
10%

Stayed 29th January 2018

Nice looking hotel and friendly staff, however room was a bit of a let down, hadnt been cleaned properly, it was dusty and peculiar yellow stains above bathroom door and also on towel heater , sink was dirty and there was tissue in the plughole, wallpaper was badly peeling off in bedroom near radiator, a single bed had been put there presumably to hide this (booked a superior double room) there was a strange smell around the hotel as well not very pleasant, breakfast was terrible, there was 1 member of staff who was nowhere to be seen most of the time, no menu’s on the table, we was asked whether we wanted a cooked breakfast but wasnt offered any choice to what the cooked breakfast included, when food arrived it was overcooked hard and chewy, it had obviously been cooked earlier on and left on a hot plate , overall we was very disappointed, hotel looks lovely online but a different story when we got there. Also we was accosted by a dog on the way back to our room in the corridor , he was on a lead but a long one and it was jumping up at me, owners didnt care, this again not nice especially when your disabled with leg problems!

Hotel reply...

Dear Mrs Smith, First and foremost I would like to apologise for a disappointing experience. Clearly on this occasion we were not at our best. My housekeeping team are usually very thorough and so I am surprised to hear, that standards have fallen below expectation. I have discussed your feedback with my Head Housekeeper who would also like to apologise for any inconvenience caused. At the time of inspecting the room I found no evidence to suggest that it was dirty other than the strange marks on the wall at high level behind the bathroom door. Your room was a superior triple (1 double bed and 1 single bed). Our superior rooms are graded as such because of the private balcony. The placement of the single bed is not to hide anything (although clearly the wallpaper was peeling which has now been rectified). I am not aware of any strange smells. Ordinarily breakfast menus are on the table and we serve a hot buffet. As it was a very quiet morning on Tuesday we elected not to put out the hot buffet but menus should have still been available. Had the buffet of been out you would have been able to see clearly what was on offer. I am sorry that you were not given any choice and that the quality of the breakfast was not acceptable. Lorna advises me that no comments were made, either in the morning, or during your stay. I am grateful for your feedback and assure you that, where necessary, action will be taken. Cleanliness and maintenance have already been reviewed. With regards to the dog that accosted you I can only apologise. We are a pet friendly hotel but do not take responsibility for the pets, or their owners. I thank you for bringing these areas to my attention and I do hope this will not dissuade you from visiting Buckatree Hall again. Wayne Jenson General Manager

A guest said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 1st December 2017

excellent 2 night stay food allowance on packages could be joint rather than singular

John Clegg said...

44%
0%
100%
30%

Stayed 26th November 2017

The reception, bar staff and one young lady in the dining room absolutely fantastic, nothing too much trouble extremely polite and helpful, sadly our meal within the deal was really unacceptable, we had a lovely spacious room, but sadly peanuts between the bedside cabinet and the bed, there on arrival and still there when we left. The hotel is beautiful in a loving setting and the furnishings to a very high level. Just let down by housekeeping and certain over zealous waiters.

Collette Hoare said...

54%
50%
20%
90%

Stayed 16th November 2017

The hotel itself is very nice. The decor in the lounge is quite warm and welcoming. The only criticism would be that the storage of the condiments underneath the tv put you off sitting in the armchairs that looked very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was very nice, although the service from the duty manager was exceptional, I am unable to say as much for the young lady who made myself and my husband feel very uncomfortable and untrustworthy on our second night visit to the restaurant. Customer service skills were seriously lacking on her behalf, a point raised by myself during our checkout. We had requested additional pillows after a very uncomfortable sleep on night 1. That was done as we left the dining room after breakfast. We left for the day and returned after 4pm, no pillows, called reception and was told.someone would be up with them shortly. No afternoon nap due to waiting for the said pillows to arrive. 6.30pm my husband went to reception to request and iron and again mentioned the pillows. They all finally arrived at 6.45pm- in time for bed I guess. The room we had was classed as a superior room = we had a balcony that overlooked the car park. Wall paper was peeling off the wall over the doorway to the bathroom, there was a broken tile on the floor of the bathroom, the lights either went on or of together from every switch in the room, no option to isolate a single light. The door to the bathroom has split wood right down the inside by the lock. I usually go to a hotel and even though I can see some negative points will always look for the positives. As I said earlier the food was good for a package deal 3 course limited choice menu. We found something different to eat each night, the steak on the first night was cooked to perfection. The reception staff treated us with respect. The grounds were picturesque and would make an amazing wedding venue. Just a shame that the little thing over shadowed the good thing and spoilt the whole experience for us. Suffice to say we will.not be returning ?

jacqueline dean said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd November 2017

arrived just after three- this was a meet up with some friends who live in the Midlands==the room was quite small but tidy enough and a small balcony overlooking the grounds. the hotel is in a lovely area near a nature reserve and also close to Ironbridge Gorge. The meals were excellent, bar nice and cosy with plenty of sofas, and drinks reasonably priced . Staff very pleasant and helpful

Geoffrey Smith said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd October 2017

Stayed at this hotel for my birthday ,could not fault the food or staff they were both amazing.The hotel was set in lovelyground s and nice and remote ,the rooms were very nice with a little balcony so if weather was nice could imagine sitting out there .Only thing I would say was T bags in room were poor quality and we were only left 2 ,as we don t drink coffee we had to ask for more .Found the hole stay very relaxing ,and will go back again very good value for money

Lynn Brooks said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th October 2017

Couldn't fault the hotel, staff or restaurant but was a little disappointed with the Themed Night being cancelled because this was the main reason for the booking.

clint barr said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th October 2017

Lovely hotel clean room great food will be returning

James Cumming said...

64%
60%
70%
60%

Stayed 13th October 2017

Mould in bathroom ceiling and wash basin plug hole full of hair, and still there after room cleaned, poor evening menu for our deal, breakfast was very good

Carol Warren said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th October 2017

What a fab offer & superb hotel. Great rooms with balcony. Fabulous food. Great bar. Good location. Excellent staff throughout. What more can you ask for. Would definitely recommend this hotel & will be returning. Thank you for a great werkend

Maureen Bancroft said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 8th October 2017

We enjoyed our stay. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The food was good. We really liked the setting of the hotel and it’s proximity to the motorway. The decor throughout, however, was very dated. We saw signs of some upgrading and wonder if it is due to have a major refurbishment. It just felt like a good hotel would have been twenty years ago.

Geoff Edwards said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th September 2017

Dog friendly. Good food. Excellent staff Heating not working otherwise excellent.

Marian Barker said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 11th September 2017

We enjoyed a lovely stay despite a few housekeeping problems: Only one set of towels in room - none in storage bags in wardrobe. Only one set of toiletries in room on arrival and not replaced when room was made up next morning. Damp bath mat was removed yet not replace by dry one Despite filling out maintenance report form and leaving it on door before going out for the day. Report form was removed from door yet no action was taken so problem reported to reception on our return by which time it was too late to get plumber to look at the faulty loo (toilet not flushing properly).

Andrea Rice said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th September 2017

The hotel was clean and the food was very good

Elizabeth Tonge said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 5th September 2017

Pleasant stay, comfortable clean room. No complaints.

A guest said...

70%
80%
80%
50%

Stayed 29th August 2017

Drinks too expensive Breakfast very good Evening meal not very good Could not sit on balcony seats were dirty, cobwebs all over the roof and tab ends everwhere, obviously not been cleaned

Jennifer Settle said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th August 2017

Excellent staff. Nice bar and restaurant,good food- especially breakfast. Hotel dated in parts and could do with some upgrading but overall a very pleasant stay in a lovely part of the country. Excellent value and would have no hesitation in returning.

Maureen Lesley Inskip said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 24th August 2017

We spent 2 nights here and was very impressed with the staff , always abliging with a smile .It was nice for a change to go to a hotel and feel at home. THERE WAS ONLY ONE DOWNSIDE , PLEASE PLEASE PUT SOME OTHER BACKGROUND MUSIC ON IN THE BAR, , Ithink that whoever put the music on must be young , really they should see who is drinking in there and put on the music to the aprox age , What we had was morbid and forlorn Ie, james auther, it put a bit of a damper on the night , We actually went to our room at 10 pm , THE FOOD WAS LOVELY THE CLEANLINESS WAS VERY GOOD WOULD RECAMEND TO OUR FAMILY AND FRIENDS

Kay Brown said...

54%
50%
70%
40%

Stayed 4th August 2017

Bar prices for wine very high. £9.90 for two classes or £18 a bottle!! Bedrooms very small and mattresses hard. Could feel the springs. Not a hotel we would wish to return to.