Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hetland Hall Hotel, Dumfries

Carrutherstown, Dumfries, DG14JX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

97%

Anne Ng said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th March 2015

I stayed there one night with my mum and sister. There'd was acweffing fare on but just finishing when we arrived. A piper piped us in and we were given a glass of buks fizz before going to our room. Not usual welcome I know but was very appreciated. The staff couldn't have been any more welcoming. Hotel should be proud of his friendly and helpful their staff is. Although the hotel is quite old fashioned and maybe needs a not if tender care it did no take away from a really good stay. Food was good as well and accommodated my wheat intolerance, thank you. Only thing was the lovely room with the fire burning at night with the two leather couches was spoiled by wooden tables and chairs, it didn't suit its surroundings. Would stay again.

Alexandra Fraser said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th February 2015

We have just returned from our break and had a very agreable stay at the hetland hotel.

Laura Hodgson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 11th October 2014

A lovely hotel and nice rooms. Only negative is our deal was for a bottle of wine in room which we did not receive

James McNicholls said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th October 2014

Really enjoyed our stay, lovely place and great staff.

Morag Mackay said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th October 2014

Service and food excellent. Building itself in need of some TLC. Lovely setting and beautiful part of Scotland

Marie Partridge said...

64%
40%
80%
70%

Stayed 28th September 2014

Hotel old and in need of some TLC especially the exterior though public areas were nice. We stayed in an annexe which doesn't seem to have been updated much since the 1970s, room was small but adequate, beds clean and comfy though bin hadn't been emptied and we had a dirty towel on the bathroom towel rail.

GEOFFREY WOODHALL said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 21st September 2014

Stayed in September for 4 nights: nice location, easy to find and a good base for touring the immediate area and further afield: Managed a day in Glasgow quite easily. Food and service, including evening meals and breakfast excellent.

Mr Gillan said...

70%
50%
90%
70%

Stayed 8th September 2014

we had a very enjoyable break the hotel is a bit run down but it was good value.the only problem we had was on the last night we had food in the bar and the service was dreadful

James Connell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th July 2014

Enjoyed our stay at the Hetland hall Enjoyed our stay at the Hetland Hall staff very friendly and helpful, food was excellent and varied choice hope to return again.

joseph hamilton said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 20th July 2014

Would recommend based on our stay.

CHARLES ANDERSON said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 10th June 2014

excellent break, all aspects were good.Staff were welcoming. We would stay here again

gerry mccanny said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th July 2014

Got a booking at short notice for 1 night at add onto a birthbay trip. Whilst the hotel is a little tired and showing its age, our room was clean with very comfortable chairs a king size comfortable bed and a view over solway. the staff were friendly and probably local ,the food was excellent and well presented. I intend to return for a longer break and explore the local area a bit more.

Stewart McDonald said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st July 2014

Pleasant surroundinds great staff very friendly would definately return again for a short break

graham nisbet said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 28th April 2014

very nice hotel, will stay again

Karen Fernie said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 14th April 2014

Staff were very attentive. I had a lovely stay.

Rebecca Wallace-Taylor said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th April 2014

We booked a romantic Dinner, B&B break including chocs & bubbly, and sure enough, they were waiting in our room for us. The hotel was lovely,the staff were excellent and so friendly. The dinner was delicious and there was so much to choose from for breakfast. The room was very spacious but basic (which is fine)and the decor a bit dull. However, we enjoyed our one night stay and would recommend the hotel.

Mrs Meiklejohn said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st March 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. Most enjoyable stay.

salem bernawi said...

30%
30%
30%
30%

Stayed 1st March 2014

The room was not in the best of condition the carpet was grubby the paint was peeling of the wall and radiator. I could not have a shower as the seal round the shower was very grubby and uneven which made it very grubby looking I did not want to use it. The bedding was very clean. The hotel was quite empty giving it very little atmosphere. The food not great but matched the price I suppose. I had to send my tasteless breakfast back as it was cold. The same plate was returned to having been put in a microwave I presume. The house you can see has been a lovely house but needs some care put back into it. Not many staff around even the lounge was not staffed. Sorry cannot recommend.

H McKnight said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st February 2014

very friendly hotel staff hotel in a good location to visit places

Adam Godsman said...

67%
40%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th February 2014

friendly staff but the hotel was freezing cold heating went off before 8.30 pm unable to sleep for cold therefor we checked a day early very disappointed never to return.

Lorraine Noble said... Hotel has replied

27%
40%
30%
10%

Stayed 3rd December 2013

Staff nice, but Hotel not. Food terrible. Would not recommend.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for taking the time to pass your comments on to Classic Britian. We at the Hotel are very disappointed with these points and remarks. As you did not identify yourselves whilst making them and made no comment to the Hotel we can only disregard them and are thankful to other Classic Guests for more honest reviews.

A Cunningham said...

60%
30%
70%
80%

Stayed 17th November 2013

Decor and ambience throughout the hotel is in need of vast improvement .The lighting in public rooms gave an impression of drabness rather than a comfort factor. Our bedroom had paper stuffed in the windows to exclude draughts. The setting of tables in the dining room had no imagination.It was a winters night and the curtains had not been closed to even give an impression of some warmth although the curtains were of very poor quality. Have no issue with the staff they were extremely pleasant and attentive. It has to said it is not an establishment we would recommend for anyone looking for a pleasant stay in the Dumfries area.

Alex Russell said...

67%
80%
60%
60%

Stayed 9th November 2013

we stayed only one night here and it was good, dinner was very ordinary but breakfast was excellent.

Mrs Oliver said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 1st November 2013

My husband and I had a relaxing stay at Hetland Hall. The food was fantastic and all the staff were very pleasant and informal. The only downfall however that dampened our stay was the heating all over the hotel, it was cold. When sitting at breakfast and dinner it was uncomfortable the lounge/bar area was no better, our bedroom was only warm because we kept the electric heater on all day even when we went out so that the room was warm when we arrived back, this is surely a H&S issue! The bedroom itself was beautiful I loved it!

Lynne Sutherland said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 18th July 2013

Thoroughly enjoyable stay. Service 1st class.