Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Argyll Hotel, Dunoon

Argyll Street, Dunoon, PA237NE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

74%

Hilda Haddon said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th September 2013

We had a very enjoyable two day break. Great food, comfortable and clean room and good entertainment!Would recommend it! Staff are helpful and very friendly.Great value and a good holiday base.

Julie Gillan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th August 2013

Just home from a 2 day stay at The Argyle Hotel where we arrived to a free upgrade! Bar and restaurant looking a little tired but clean, excellent customer service and excellent food...what more could you ask for! We'll definatly be back :-)

nader maria said...

30%
40%
40%
10%

Stayed 16th August 2013

no new towels were provided on second night. bad smell in staircase. breakfast was poor.

Joanne Skillen said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 21st July 2013

This is a great hotel with friendly staff the food was a real surprise it was very good. Could do with updating the Argyll Restaurant, and sorting out the noise from the street, but would definetly stay again. Dev the manager was very nice made us all feel very welcome.

Edith Innes said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th July 2013

We stayed here with our grandson and daughter the staff were very friendly would recommend this hotel

Elaine Speake said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 19th July 2013

just home from a 2 night stay at Argyll Hotel, Dunoon. Hotel was fab, clean room/bed. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was quiet cold the first morning (maybe due to hotel being busy with wedding party) but better the second morning.

Mrs Cullen said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 12th July 2013

Over all we really enjoyed our weekend and have very little criticism of the hotel. Fawlty Towers on Saturday was TOO long which resulted in service for meal being dragged out by probably an hour more than it should have been. Treasure Hunt was an enjoyable and clever idea which encouraged people to see parts of Dunoon they would not otherwise have seen. Would be happy to return to this hotel.

edward murray said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 12th July 2013

great weekend faulty towers theme by the walking theatre group kept us fully entertained a most enjoyable stay.

Joyce Gibson said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st June 2013

This break was excellent value for money and we found the staff to be exceptionally welcoming making our stay all the more pleasant. Thank you

graham nisbet said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 18th June 2013

Very helpfull staff.

John Love said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 10th May 2013

Food was good Drinks were a reasonable price Bedroom was very nice with a fresh bathroom and generous supply of toiletries' Room was exactly what we had asked for when booking Staff were very friendly and helpful Will definitely stay there again

janette watson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th May 2013

Staff were so obliging and attentive. Food was really good in both restaurants. All in all, a really good experience for all of us. Keep up the good work.

mary clare nelson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th April 2013

Great hotel, would recommend to everyone.

Richard Keller said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th April 2013

I had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Argyll on a 3 night deal. It is centrally located, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The meals were good value and plentiful and the bedroom was well laid out, nice and warm with a very good walk-in shower. Will definitely go back.

John Martin said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 5th April 2013

overall the break was good value for money

mary smith said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd February 2013

Murder mystery weekend at the Argyll Hotel,Dunoon was brilliant.The staff were exceptionally nice, the rooms were lovely and the food was of a very high standard - excellent value for money - couldn't fault the experience!!!!! Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you to all concerned for a great weekend Mary Smith

Caroline Chapman said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 17th February 2013

Paid extra for a four poster bed and view. Room was very comfortable. Bathroom was a bit dated and the space between the toilet and the wash hand basin was very tight. However a very nice stay and the staff were great. Especially Steven the Waiter/Barman. He brought us our afternoon tea on arrival and was so courteous. We were sorry not to se him when we departed as it was his day off but he made our stay most enjoyable.

Mrs Provan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th February 2013

An enjoyable weekend with no complaints.

Eric Millar said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 8th February 2013

Totally impressed by the power sockets being next to the bed (for mobile phone chargers) and the mirrors (for hair drying and straightening) after staying in loads of hotels over the years where the sockets are generally in inaccessble places!!! Our room was at the back of the hotel, I did try to book one of the more expensive rooms with a view at the front but as I booked a week before my visit I guess it was all that was left. The room was nicely furnished and looked to have been recently done up. The bathroom was sparkling (if small) with nice fixings. The bed was comfy and the heating in the room easy to regulate. Only down side was a large group of kids who congregated in the street until about 2.30am which kept us awake. The hotel manager did say he'd spoken to the police about this, I'm sure they could have been dispersed if threatened with disturbance of the peace. The noise they generated was dreadful. This was, overall, a lovely welcoming hotel. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and I would recommend it.

WILLIAM SIMPSON said... Hotel has replied

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st February 2013

ON ARRIVAL WE WERE CHECKED IN VERY FAST AND GIVEN THE KEY TO OUR ROOM 133, A GROUND FLOOR FAMILY ROOM,, BED GOOD ,DECOR A BIT DATED ,WALLPAPER TORN BUT ROOM FINE ,,BIG TV . HOWEVER TRYING TO GET TO SLEEP WE DISCOVERED MUSIC WAS PLAYING THROUGH A SPEAKER IN THE CEILING ALSO DOOR IN CORRIDOR UNABLE TO CLOSE MADE IT WORSE, WENT AND SPOKE TO THE MANAGMENT AND THEY TURNED THE MUSIC OFF STRAIGHT AWAY AND SAID THEY WOULD MOVE US TO ANOTHER ROOM THE NEXT DAY. OUR NEXT ROOM WAS 131 TOP FLOOR WAS MUCH BETTER DECOR WISE AND NO NOISE AT ALL. FOOD WAS GOOD AND VERY BIG PORTIONS MY ONLY OTHER COMPLAINT WAS OUR AFTERNOON TEA ON ARRIVAL ON THE FRIDAY AFTERNOON WAS ONLY TEA OR COFFEE, NO SANDWICHES OR CAKES . THEIR WHERE OTHER GUEST HAVING PROPER AFTERNOON TEA BUT WAS TOLD THEY HAD BOOK WITH ANOTHER COMPANY . ALL IN ALL GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY , WE WOULD GO BACK AGAIN BUT NOT TO ROOM 133

Hotel reply...

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback on our hotel through Classic Britain. All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and we endeavour to make everyone's stay here with us as pleasurable as possible. Unfortunately I can see you felt this stay with us was not as good as it should be , and for this I apologise. We will take your comments on board and try to learn for any criticism given. I have taken on board and got fixed . I do hope you will give us a chance in 2013 to change your opinion back and make your memories with our lovely hotel fantastic ones. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards Kanish Mahajan Duty Manager Argyll Hotel

Kelly Hamilton said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 1st February 2013

Lovely freshly decorated clean rooms, very pleasant and helpful staff. Would highly recommend.

Mrs Meeke said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 8th January 2013

we found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable and the staff could not do enough for you, we had a great stay here and would certainly come back.

William Walker said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 4th January 2013

All the staff were most friendly and attentive.

Mrs Wrai said...

80%
90%
80%
70%

Stayed 15th December 2012

only negative being cold breakfast on saturday

graham nisbet said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st November 2012

hotel good value for money.