Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shap Wells Hotel, Penrith

Shap, Penrith, CA103QU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

Jeanette Allan said...

70%
80%
70%
60%

Stayed 30th October 2014

We enjoyed a night of DBB. Hotel in overly setting. Staff friendly Hotel in good traditional decor. Location convenient to break journey from Wales to Scotland.

david smith said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 28th October 2014

A well organised hotel and good value. A lighted sign is needed at the road end.

Eric Wilson said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th October 2014

The hotel is a bit old fashioned and the bedrooms could be doing with a refurb. especially the bathrooms but the food and service are excellent and very good value when booked through Classic Britain.

ian mcarthur said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 17th October 2014

A very enjoyable two night break , all the staff were very friendly and helpful the bedroom and en suite were comfortable and clean the food was well presented and delicious We would stay again

Georgina Hume said...

67%
80%
50%
70%

Stayed 12th October 2014

The Hotel was very good. However I felt the service in the Dining room was very dis-organised. The waiting staff although very pleasant took each tables order at a time, and still managed to get our order wrong. At breakfast I had ordered poached haddock the day before. The following morning I waited 30 mins., despite several reminders and ended up canceling as we were leaving that day. The food was very good but there needs to be more attention paid to the service side.

Susan chiumento said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th October 2014

A lovely hotel in a beautiful setting & it's location is perfect for visiting either the northern or the southern lakes. Our room was clean, spacious warm & comfortable & decorated beautifully. The staff were friendly, polite & helpful. There was a good variety of food on the menu at a very reasonable price. We will deffinately be using it again & will certainly be recommending it to others.

Sally Sims said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 6th October 2014

Secluded location with impressive scenery. Very pleasant bar staff.

joseph hamilton said...

34%
30%
20%
50%

Stayed 27th September 2014

We were really disappointed that the hotel had no note of our booking when we arrived. We had to wait in the lobby for some 20-30 minutes with our luggage while they sorted this out. We only got to our rooms about 40 minutes after the check in time. We were then put in triple rooms with decor direct from the 1970s. The hotel really needs a makeover and it would have been good service, given the hotel mix up and our resultant delay, had they given us a nicer room or a drink while we waited. We would not return and may not book with Classic Britain again.

Julie Pilkington said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 26th September 2014

Had a great stay woodland walks aplus and I would recommend the hotel

ROBIN Jacklin said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 5th September 2014

The toilet paper was quite harsh It would have been better to have had grapes with the cheese and biscuits. Overall the stay was very good and excellent value for money thank you

P Brown said...

84%
90%
100%
60%

Stayed 5th September 2014

Stayed at the Well Shap Hotel, Staff were fantastic, so friendly and accommodating nothing was too much trouble, The Hotel was Lovely,had large gardens/grounds for some beautiful walks, just one critisim - although our room (38) was clean and tidy it was a bit on the small side and you could hear the next door breathing !(very thin walls) but fine for a night or two. used Classic Britain on many occasions and they provide an exellant service every time- Keep up the good work !!. Pam Brown, Mayfield Edinburgh.

John Bennett said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd September 2014

very good value for money , meals excellent, good prompt service. We were impressed with the management's loyalty to it's staff, some having served there for many years.

Peter Crawford said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th August 2014

Only problem was not being able to get a seat in lounge after dinner.

Barry Lucas said...

40%
30%
30%
60%

Stayed 22nd August 2014

Good price. Pros. Close to M6. Excellent afternoon tea. Good size room. Parking OK. Friendly bar staff. Cons. Receptionist not engaging enough. General ambience somewhat tired. Bed/mattress (room 21) the worst experienced since student digs! Very noisy kitchen extractor fans which started again at 5.30 am. Had to get up and leave (couldn't sleep because of noise) and as a consequence missed breakfast.

william ferguson said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 10th August 2014

The shap wells hotel was very clean and comfortable.The food was good for the price paid.The staff were very friendly and helpfull.

Larraine Clayton said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th August 2014

The staff could not do enough for us on our stay and all where very pleasant. The food was very nice and well presented could not have been any nicer if in a hotel of higher rating we will be going back without doubt. Decoration of the hotel was to some a little old fashioned but it was with the keeping of the Hotel we requested to be moved from first room given as to many stairs for me but they changed it immediately without any trouble and was most helpful. Downfall only one breakfast layout looked a little basic/flat should we say,(but with having worked in the industry) they could make it a little more appealing but there was everything you could ask for and will still give the hotel a 10 out of 10 thanks for a brilliant stay

graham nisbet said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd July 2014

excellent value

Rosalie Sutton said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 18th July 2014

This was our second visit to this Hotel, which is set in the mountains and not very far from the Lakes. We had a lovely clean room, the food was good, staff were friendly and attended to our needs. Only fault was checking in was a bit hectic, so was not made welcome at the time, but other than that every thing was ok.

J Donaldson said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th July 2014

Good food and friendly staff in a nice location made this an enjoyable few days. Would be happy to return and recommendthis hotel to other people.

Isla Wilson said...

90%
100%
90%
80%

Stayed 10th July 2014

Enjoyed our stay only problem as it was hot while we were there we had windows open but the noise from kitchen fans were a bit of a pain in the neck from 6am till 9pm .

Richard Revill said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 6th July 2014

Had a really enjoyable time at this hotel. The games room was a big bonus and the evening entertainment was great too.

William Porter said...

64%
60%
70%
60%

Stayed 5th July 2014

nice hotel though was way out of penrith.Staff very friendly and helpful. lovely area in hotel grounds for walking, though we were disappointed not to have seen any red squirrels.Food at breakfast was ample with decent choice though would have preferred a variety of fresh fruit like apples bananas and berries but no complaints. Room was lovely and clean and bed comfortable. would recommend a visit especially if you like your hotel a wee bit remote.

Judith McCann said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th July 2014

very nice stay at Shap Wells hotel .Spotted the red squirrels on a walk in the grounds. First impressions however by reception were not too great. As we were on an afternoon tea( excellent) included break decided to go a little earlier to enjoy tea before booking in. Receptionist who was dealing with another other guests (who were being booked in at 2pm) spoke over to us that you are too early to book in. If I had not mentioned the tea we would have been left with the impression that we had to go away and come back later. A pleasant invitation to enjoy the facilities of the hotel until 3pm would have been more welcoming. Later speaking to another receptionist we were made to feel most welcome(as should be)Overall a nice stay food very good .Male waiting staff in bar area very pleasant

Catherine Francis said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd July 2014

A very good hotel. We were impressed by the location, staff, and cleanliness. Nothing was too much trouble. Everyone was very helpful, we shall be back.

Stewart Johnson said...

74%
60%
90%
70%

Stayed 27th June 2014

Mattress tired and tour buses block in cars in car park, but otherwise excellent room service and food. Staff excellent.