Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hetland Hall Hotel, Dumfries

Carrutherstown, Dumfries, DG14JX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

93%

alex graham said...

60%
80%
40%
60%

Stayed 18th April 2015

Beautiful room loved 4 poster bed. Shower complicated and didn't work properly. Staff were pleasant but seemed unready for influx of guests mid afternoon. Had to ask for the free wine. Final Bill had three major errors. Afternoon tea was excellent and good value but too much for one person. A bigger pot of tea and it would have done for two. Dinner menu had a reasonable choice and food was well prepared and presented. Only disappointment was the cold bread and butter pudding. I had high hopes of a freshly cooked breakfast done to order but was let down to find that it was obviously assembled from hot plates and even the freshly cooked poached egg was overdone.

Mr Coulter said...

77%
90%
50%
90%

Stayed 18th April 2015

Had a wonderful stay grate location only bad point was not enough staff who seemed to cover to many tasks but did a fantastic job under the circumstances will make a point in returning

Art Learmonth said...

67%
40%
80%
80%

Stayed 17th April 2015

Hotel is getting quite rundown. Needs considerable maintenance.

S Reid said...

64%
50%
80%
60%

Stayed 30th March 2015

Room basic because our room was in the annex it was very cold wall fire not working thank goodness we had a heater.Main meals good,Breakfast first morning adequate next morning I asked for poached egg, sausage,mushroom which was whatI got 1 egg,1 sausage, and a spoonfull of mushrooms disappointing.With so much choice with Classic Hotels we will book elsewhere.

Anne Ng said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th March 2015

I stayed there one night with my mum and sister. There'd was acweffing fare on but just finishing when we arrived. A piper piped us in and we were given a glass of buks fizz before going to our room. Not usual welcome I know but was very appreciated. The staff couldn't have been any more welcoming. Hotel should be proud of his friendly and helpful their staff is. Although the hotel is quite old fashioned and maybe needs a not if tender care it did no take away from a really good stay. Food was good as well and accommodated my wheat intolerance, thank you. Only thing was the lovely room with the fire burning at night with the two leather couches was spoiled by wooden tables and chairs, it didn't suit its surroundings. Would stay again.

Alexandra Fraser said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th February 2015

We have just returned from our break and had a very agreable stay at the hetland hotel.

Laura Hodgson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 11th October 2014

A lovely hotel and nice rooms. Only negative is our deal was for a bottle of wine in room which we did not receive

James McNicholls said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th October 2014

Really enjoyed our stay, lovely place and great staff.

Morag Mackay said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 5th October 2014

Service and food excellent. Building itself in need of some TLC. Lovely setting and beautiful part of Scotland

Marie Partridge said...

64%
40%
80%
70%

Stayed 28th September 2014

Hotel old and in need of some TLC especially the exterior though public areas were nice. We stayed in an annexe which doesn't seem to have been updated much since the 1970s, room was small but adequate, beds clean and comfy though bin hadn't been emptied and we had a dirty towel on the bathroom towel rail.

GEOFFREY WOODHALL said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 21st September 2014

Stayed in September for 4 nights: nice location, easy to find and a good base for touring the immediate area and further afield: Managed a day in Glasgow quite easily. Food and service, including evening meals and breakfast excellent.

Mr Gillan said...

70%
50%
90%
70%

Stayed 8th September 2014

we had a very enjoyable break the hotel is a bit run down but it was good value.the only problem we had was on the last night we had food in the bar and the service was dreadful

James Connell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th July 2014

Enjoyed our stay at the Hetland hall Enjoyed our stay at the Hetland Hall staff very friendly and helpful, food was excellent and varied choice hope to return again.

joseph hamilton said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 20th July 2014

Would recommend based on our stay.

CHARLES ANDERSON said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 10th June 2014

excellent break, all aspects were good.Staff were welcoming. We would stay here again

gerry mccanny said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th July 2014

Got a booking at short notice for 1 night at add onto a birthbay trip. Whilst the hotel is a little tired and showing its age, our room was clean with very comfortable chairs a king size comfortable bed and a view over solway. the staff were friendly and probably local ,the food was excellent and well presented. I intend to return for a longer break and explore the local area a bit more.

Stewart McDonald said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st July 2014

Pleasant surroundinds great staff very friendly would definately return again for a short break

graham nisbet said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 28th April 2014

very nice hotel, will stay again

Karen Fernie said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 14th April 2014

Staff were very attentive. I had a lovely stay.

Rebecca Wallace-Taylor said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th April 2014

We booked a romantic Dinner, B&B break including chocs & bubbly, and sure enough, they were waiting in our room for us. The hotel was lovely,the staff were excellent and so friendly. The dinner was delicious and there was so much to choose from for breakfast. The room was very spacious but basic (which is fine)and the decor a bit dull. However, we enjoyed our one night stay and would recommend the hotel.

Mrs Meiklejohn said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st March 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. Most enjoyable stay.

salem bernawi said...

30%
30%
30%
30%

Stayed 1st March 2014

The room was not in the best of condition the carpet was grubby the paint was peeling of the wall and radiator. I could not have a shower as the seal round the shower was very grubby and uneven which made it very grubby looking I did not want to use it. The bedding was very clean. The hotel was quite empty giving it very little atmosphere. The food not great but matched the price I suppose. I had to send my tasteless breakfast back as it was cold. The same plate was returned to having been put in a microwave I presume. The house you can see has been a lovely house but needs some care put back into it. Not many staff around even the lounge was not staffed. Sorry cannot recommend.

H McKnight said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st February 2014

very friendly hotel staff hotel in a good location to visit places

Adam Godsman said...

67%
40%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th February 2014

friendly staff but the hotel was freezing cold heating went off before 8.30 pm unable to sleep for cold therefor we checked a day early very disappointed never to return.

Lorraine Noble said... Hotel has replied

27%
40%
30%
10%

Stayed 3rd December 2013

Staff nice, but Hotel not. Food terrible. Would not recommend.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for taking the time to pass your comments on to Classic Britian. We at the Hotel are very disappointed with these points and remarks. As you did not identify yourselves whilst making them and made no comment to the Hotel we can only disregard them and are thankful to other Classic Guests for more honest reviews.