Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Hetland Hall Hotel, Dumfries

Carrutherstown, Dumfries, DG14JX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

97%

Agnes Scott said...

44%
30%
70%
30%

Stayed 24th June 2013

Room tired and drab but good size. Shower repairs looked so bad, as if done by a child. Food,very hard carrots 2 nights. Starters and deserts too big. Scrambled egg hard. Staff pleasant and helpful

Monica Smeaton said...

64%
70%
80%
40%

Stayed 26th May 2013

Lovely wee hotel, nice bedrooms but bathroom could do with a bit of upgrading. Baby changing facilities would be very useful. Lovely staff but food could be better.

Janette Faulkner said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 24th May 2013

We enjoyed our break here over the bank holiday weekend. The hotel is like an old stately house with beautiful grounds it is very clean with good food and the staff were lovely. The weather was great which makes a difference and we were able to sit outside in the lovely grounds. This was our first stay at this hotel but we intend to return soon.

Mary ROBERTSON said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th May 2013

Staff helpful plenty of local knowledge.Service and food first class. Will visit again.

Mrs Warne said...

77%
80%
90%
60%

Stayed 21st April 2013

Had a lovely break at the Hetland Hall Hotel. Special mention to staff who were very friendly and professional. Food quantity rather than quality.

Les Kingstone said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 19th April 2013

A very enjoyable stay

Rev George B Moller said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th April 2013

Hetland Hall Hotel is an excellent stop-over. The bedrooms are comfortable and the meals very good; great value for money.

M Flint said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th April 2013

We have just returned from a weekend at Hetland Hall ,lovely old hotel ,staff are friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them.Would definitely return.

Anne Henderson said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 12th April 2013

had a lovely stay at the hetland hall. rooms a little tired but clean. Would go again.

elaine cochrane said...

67%
50%
80%
70%

Stayed 15th February 2013

We ejoyed a relaxing stay, found the staff very friendly,we stayed in rm15 which was comfortable but beginning to need a little refurbishment. Food was lovely, perhaps the table d'hote menu could have been more imaginative, but overall good.

Thomas Marshall said... Hotel has replied

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 8th February 2013

great old hotel renovation still on going our bedroom already refurbished lovely big room. very pleasent staff

Hotel reply...

Thank you so much for your lovely comments especially regarding the room as it has just been finished. Hope to see you again soon Fiona General Manager

Margaret Zachary said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 4th January 2013

Lovely bedroom, the only downside unable to control heat - too hot!!! Good value for money

Vic Robins said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th December 2012

Had a wonderful short break. Room and food were great and our stay was made extra special by the welcome from the friendly cheerful staff. A big thank you to them.

Elizabeth Nicol-Scott said...

70%
80%
80%
50%

Stayed 30th November 2012

Hotel pays attention to special requests as I asked for a room with not many stairs due to limited vision in one eye. We also asked to dine at 1930 one night and reception were aware of this on check in. Very very clean hotel. Excellent large well appointed room in good decorative order (room 29) just be aware of noise from functions if the hotel has one on. Menu choices requires some imagination. Staff in the dinning room are working hard but there is not enough of them. Pudding at dinner was served cold and it was difficult to get attention to change this. Breakfast order was wrong on both mornings and on the second morning the breakfast was not very hot. Excellent scrambled eggs.

Ian Hamilton said...

74%
60%
90%
70%

Stayed 30th November 2012

Stayed with family over what was probably one of the coldest weekends of the year so far. The rooms in the extension block at that time were impossible to heat, the staff did provide additional heating, but it struggled to make a difference. Next time will pack a heater in my suitcase. The bedrooms are a bit tired but comfortable enough and clean. Staff were all very pleasant and accomodating to any request made. Food was acceptable for a hotel of it's star rating/class. Would stay again during warmer climes.

William West said...

60%
40%
80%
60%

Stayed 30th November 2012

We were a group of eight and had a very enjoyable time. The weather was very cold and so in the evening we gathered around the log fire and enjoyed good conversation and a small refreshment. Some parts of the hotel are rather tired, but the staff were very friendly and helpful.

E Bremner said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th November 2012

The staff could not do enough for us and made us really welcome.the bedroom was nice and spacious and comfortable the food was really good and home made

Douglas Dailey said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 21st October 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on DBB basis. Hotel lovely and had been there before on 2 occasions a long time ago. Was a bit dissappointed that the annexe that housed the swimming pool, sauna and steam room was no longer open. Service was good and staff very friendly. Rooms clean and bed's comfy. Breakfast was excellent but only niggly thing I would say was dinner. In the 3 nights there was 4 options for main course and 3 of them came with seasonal potatoes and veg. Unfortunately it was the same potatoes and veg every night and a bit undercooked.

Jane Smith said...

40%
0%
60%
60%

Stayed 19th October 2012

Room 24 was very nice on the 1st night. However on the 2nd night we were a little cold and put the heater on for 10mins during the night, but oh my god we woke to a room full of flies and bedding coverd in midges and consiquently we were full of bites. We could not get the flies out as there was far to many and seemed to be increasing in numbers. It was the day after my wedding and thankfully i had no bites on my wedding photos. We could not believe the amount that had appeared and as no windows were open during the night it is hard to come up with an answer as to where they could have come from. My family members saw them and swiftly helped us with our belongings to our car. Good luck to houskeeping in getting rid of them.

Rev George B Moller said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th October 2012

This period hotel had been well maintained and provided a comfortable two-day stay in the South of Scotland.

Robert Brown said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th October 2012

We found the staff very pleasant and helpful,the food good,rooms good,but some work required to update them. Excellent value for money,and a nice get away from it all place to stay.

David McDowall said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd October 2012

Staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend to friends and hope to return in the Spring.

Mrs Gillespie said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 24th September 2012

thoroughly enjoyable three days. hotel clean,comfortable,very helpful staff,good food and would be happy to use again without any misgivings

janice Johnstone said...

77%
90%
80%
60%

Stayed 7th September 2012

staff very helpful and plesant.

J V Hughes said...

90%
100%
90%
80%

Stayed 5th September 2012

enjoyed our stay at the Hetland, we had a particularly nice room and overall the package was really good value.