Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, Dumfries

English Street, Dumfries, DG12DF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

Margaret Montgomery said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th July 2014

Food first class - all staff very nice a- leisure centre just the ticket - had a great stay

William Mitchell said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th May 2014

We had an excellent stay at the Cairndale Hotel and Leisure Club. From the minute we stepped in the door we were made to feel most welcome by Douglas at reception. The meals were lovely and excellent value for the money we paid. The bedroom was spotless as was the bathroom and shower. We were in the old part of the hotel and it was fine a bit dated but we could not complain about anything. The staff were all first class a credit to the hotel. We did not use the leisure facilities but had a coffee in the Forum Caf

E McKay said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 5th May 2014

Very enjoyable stay. Lovely good sized bedroom. Comfortable bed. Friendly staff.

katherine hall said...

64%
40%
80%
70%

Stayed 2nd May 2014

Nice friendly hotel in a good location for the main shopping area. The room allocated was a bit small would have preferred a bit bigger. The food and service was really y good although with weddings and other functions going on it did tend to be a bit noisy. Also the main lighting in the lounges was far to bright they did not have the facility to dim them. They did put some of when asked unfortunately sore head started before that due to the severe brightness. Used the swimming pool which was fine.

Eileen Younger said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 19th April 2014

lovely break, the staff were all very helpful and pleasant and the Abba tribute night was excellent. We would stay at this hotel again.

Patricia Cavanagh said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th April 2014

Always enjoy staying at the Cairndale. Have had many wonderful weekends there.

lorraine gourlay said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th April 2014

We had an excellent stay at the cairndale. Cannot fault it staff were very nice and very helpfull we will be back

john heaney said...

27%
50%
30%
0%

Stayed 16th April 2014

hotel room and facilities fine, dining room left a lot to be desired, second night had to wait twenty mins for main course, then had to wait again to get the desert menu, food bland the two nights, second night when food came at main course cold, myself my wife and my grandson ate a small portion then left. first night they made a mess of our bill. looks like theres no organisation in there, stayed at a few classic britain hotels but wont be back to this one.

gordon. croome said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 14th April 2014

cairndale hotel was good,all the staff were excellant.family room was basic but very clean.swimming pool was ok but changing rooms could have been cleaner.overall would use hotel again for a short break.

Elizabeth McEvoy said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th April 2014

We had a good break in this hotel. D

Mrs Latta said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th April 2014

Service and food were exceptional would definitely visit again thank you for a most enjoyable weekend away

Calum Meney said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th April 2014

Fantastic break and thoroughly enjoyed. We were upgraded free of charge to a deluxe suite and this made our break wonderful from the onset. Staff were extremely polite and couldnt be more helpful. Food was part of the package deal however was by no means compromised in any way. I would really recommend this hotel as a family break and we plan to return again.

RACHEL GREEN said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 7th April 2014

Lovely hotel, staff extremely friendly and helpful. Bedrooms and leisure club changing rooms could benefit from an upgrade but all very clean. Food excellent. Very reasonably priced break which my kids really enjoyed. Lots to do in the area. Would definitely visit again.

M Duncan said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th March 2014

We cannot fault the hotel as it is ideally situated near town centre, the staff particularly the receptionists were excellent, very friendly and nothing any bother, restaurant first class

Mrs Bonini said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 24th March 2014

Same choice of menu three nights Perhaps new menu choice each night would be better. although food was very good.

george mcveigh said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 21st March 2014

enjoyed our visit and had no real coplaints. staff were excellent as was the food and level of cleanliness.

Elizabeth McCormack said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th March 2014

Booked this hotel for a short early Spring break with my husband and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect, being close to the centre but at the same time being far enough away from the bustle. It was also perfectly placed for using as a base for touring the local area. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the food amazing. The rooms were clean and well appointed. It may be helpful to check room locations when booking however as the hotel is spread over three buildings and may present difficulties for less mobile guests like myself. This aside I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

Mary Smith said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 7th March 2014

Our friends and i enjoyed a second stay in the Cairndale Hotel, on this ocassion we were pleasantly surprised to be allocated family rooms which had much more space than double rooms stayed in previously. Hotel is ideally situated in Dumfries. Staff are pleasant and helpful. Dinner on the Friday night was superior to the meal that was served at Tribute night though can understand why there was a set menu for this event and overall the food was good. It was worth paying that little bit extra for our meal on the Friday (

Isobel Guthrie said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 28th February 2014

Had a lovely weekend only thing that let it down was the tribute act . A real let down as he only sang a few Jonny Cash songs .

Bob Cuthbertson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th February 2014

Most enjoyable stay. Staff very friendly & helpful.Have already recommended.

Kenneth Weir said...

50%
60%
60%
30%

Stayed 10th February 2014

I had to return my steak cold and inedible. However, the waiter serving us, dealt with the situation very professionally.

Kevin Callaghan said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 21st February 2014

Had a great night at comedy club and would come again

Mary Guthrie said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th February 2014

Lovely 2 night break. We booked a four poster suite which had a lot of character. TV's need updated.

I McLean said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd February 2014

Lovely hotel very central for everything in Dumfries. We will be back often. Staff very nice and helpful. Leisure centre great. We think classic Britain is just the best to deal with. This booking was done in a few mins by your first rate staff. Thank you.

Susan Melville said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 21st February 2014

Really enjoyed our stay, food excellent, staff very helpful