Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Gleddoch Hotel Spa & Golf, Langbank

Old Greenock Road, Langbank, PA146YE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

Isobel Smith said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 28th December 2012

Hotel was in a very nice setting. The staff were friendly and courteous. The main disappointment was in the lack of social areas to sit and relax and meet other residents. The residents lounge was rarely used, the bar unattended resulting in no social atmosphere in the hotel. Would have been much bettter to have the residents lounge near the foyer and with entertainment in the evening to encourage people to mingle and create more of an atmosphere.

Sharon Maclean said...

67%
50%
80%
70%

Stayed 27th December 2012

Huge hotel with good facilities and beautiful surroundings. Only downsides were the smelly steam room and the very soft mattress which left us with a bad back next morning. Passed on my comment about the mattress to the receptionist who said they are in the middle of replacing the mattresses. Would stay again if the mattress was replaced and some aromatic oils were put in the steam room!

Eilidh Huntingford said...

24%
30%
10%
30%

Stayed 24th December 2012

Staff were all delightful and extremely helpful. Entertainment was rather disappointing

michael freestone said...

50%
40%
60%
50%

Stayed 24th December 2012

We stayed over Christmas for two nights and took the inclusive package. We stayed in room 45.

Josephine Johnston said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 9th December 2012

Ehjoyed our 1 night stay

K McDougall said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 7th December 2012

Every happy with service and staff at hotel

darren balmforth said...

50%
60%
50%
40%

Stayed 30th November 2012

Good first impression of a lovely building in picturesque surroundings, rather spoiled by a strange check-in procedure where guests are expected to pay in full on arrival, then get back in their cars and drive to not a 2nd but a 3rd car park, in order to access their accommodation. All of this preceded by a solitary receptionist who spent much of the time speaking on the telephone, instead of dealing with new arrivals. My main issue however is with the restaurant. Very slow service, with staff failing to welcome diners arriving at the entrance, leaving them to stand ignored, for several minutes. Evening meal - disappointing. Mean portion sizes and the worst vegetarian option I've been served in over 20 years: fried gnocchi. Bullet hard, swimming in oil and devoid of all flavour. This was returned and replaced with oily plain noodles and veg, when I specifically asked for a pasta dish. Breakfast was a vast improvement however, different chef perchance?

Mrs Kerr said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th November 2012

Really nice hotel, good service and great food. Excellent value for money. Only problem was being woke up with the incoming staff, cars outside bedroom windows - " Angela's car alarm going off", Horsebox revving up outside. 7.30 early morning call not required on my special day.

joan wood said...

77%
90%
90%
50%

Stayed 25th November 2012

This was the second time we stayed .The staff were very good the room was good the pool great,dinner was super but the breakfast was not; the black tea and coffee was cool the food luke warm.Decor a bit shabby;cracked and broken tiles in bathroom but still clean.Great value for money.

Brian Westmacott said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th November 2012

On the whole it was a clean, quiet and friendly place to stay. However!! I must bring to your attention the following points. It was obvious that the bed legs had been sawn down? For what purpose I don 't know, but this made the bed very difficult to get into and getting out was worse!! It was far too low to the ground, I am disabled but I managed' . The mattress was also very well worn, so much so that when one turned in bed you rolled into the middle!! And no! It wasn't funny. On a more serious note!!! The hot water from the tap was scalding anda younger or much older person could suffer a serious burn

Ann McCaffer said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 18th November 2012

Upgraded on arrival to a lovely room in the main hotel which was a nice birthday surprise. Staff friendly and dinner was good with very good service. Breakfast however was bad on both mornings.

lorna Walsh said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th November 2012

Had a fabulous overnight with the girls . Food and staff were excellent

John Robinson said...

74%
70%
90%
60%

Stayed 8th November 2012

Spacious and comfortable bedroom but ensuite bathroom dated and grubby. Dinners fine but breakfasts leave a lot to be desired.

Stephen Hogg said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 3rd November 2012

Very impressed.

Rev George B Moller said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th October 2012

Pleasantly situated in a rural location near the banks of the Clyde, the hotel was maintained to high standards. It has a fine restaurant with superb views across the river, making it ideal in all weathers, and with good value too.

Douglas Brown said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 21st October 2012

We had a nice, relaxing overnight stay. The staff were great, rooms clean and spacious. Health suite good aswell.

Douglas Ballantyne said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 19th October 2012

GOOD FOOD,LARGE CLEAN ROOM AND BATHROOM.ROOM 69 IS AN AWFUL LONG WALK AND MANY STAIRS TO REACH DINING ROOM.ONLY HAVING GOLFERS/SPORTS STYLE BAR OPEN TO GUESTS WAS DISAPPOINTING.COCKTAIL BAR LOOKED NICE BUT WAS CLOSED.

M Fraser said...

70%
80%
60%
70%

Stayed 17th October 2012

breakfast service very slow and food cold when it finally arrived at table

Iain McLellan said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 16th October 2012

we had a very nice stay & was given a large room with a beautiful view. All the staff we spoke to where always very polite to us. We were given a surprise bottle of champagne by the manager with our meal as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary (nice touch) but only complaint was the breakfast was cooked alright but it was not very warm.

Archibald McArthur said...

40%
70%
30%
20%

Stayed 16th October 2012

Our stay was spoiled by the quality of food and service in the restaurant. Menu was repetitive and uninspiring,service was slow and food arrived lukewarm. Some examples of poor quality food - smoked haddock risotto contained barely any fish, fruit salad consisted of chopped apple with some orange juice poured over and scrambled eggs at breakfast had to be returned as the eggs were still liquid and raw. On day 2, when ordering cooked breakfast I asked to substitute extra bacon in preference to three of the items included. I was given 1 extra slice which was rather ungenerous. Other guests also seemed unimpressed.

B Mudie said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th October 2012

We had an enjoyable stay at Gleddoch house. Nice swimming pool and comfortable facilities. Good location for a variety of day trips. We took the train into Glasgow one day(

mags meahan said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd September 2012

excellent

Allison Grubb said...

54%
20%
50%
90%

Stayed 23rd September 2012

Disappointing. Room was dated, leisure facilities were poor and our bathroom was grim. Told staff on checkout who did not seem very interested

Pamela Duff said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th September 2012

We have stayed three times and each time the food and the service have been first class. Some bedrooms are better than others, some are a bit tired as are some of the carpets in the public areas (in particular the tartan carpet on the stairs up to the restaurant)

Annette Robertson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 13th September 2012

had a lovely stay here, on 2 nights dbb +1night bb only complaint I had was when I checked in i asked if we could have allowance for dinner from bar menu instead of formal meal and was told no,then we discovered that we could have had meal from bar menu, also we weren't sure how much we were allowed to have for dinner included in our rate of stay