Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, Carnoustie

The Links Parade, Carnoustie, DD77JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 25th June 2016

Great hotel. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Evening meal and breakfast were lovely. Room was large with comfortable bed. TV could have been larger but you don't really go away to watch TV.

D Brydie said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 17th June 2016

Food good but a bit to much fish for me. If staying for a week the menu would be rather limited as there was no change in the four days we were there.Every thing else was fine. Would go again.

Joan Campbell said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th June 2016

Had an absolutely fabulous stay ... Room was spotless ... Meals beautiful and great value for money ... Lovely beach walks ... Very relaxing ... Already booked again to celebrate our wedding anniversary later this year ...

A guest said...

74%
100%
70%
50%

Stayed 26th May 2016

Stayed in a refurbished room and, although it was uncomfortably hot at night (heating was off), it was a good room and an excellent shower. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss - not as good as previous visits (e.g. black pudding burnt and inedible, ran out of orange juice). Overall, an ok stay. Full marks to myhotelbreak.com for the great offer.

F Marshall said...

50%
50%
50%
50%

Stayed 25th May 2016

Enjoyable break but quite a disappointment considering it is supposed to be a 4* hotel and below are a few suggestions:- 1. Doors should either be automatic and stay open long enough for a wheelchair user to get through and wide enough to allow only one door to require opening not both. 2. Severe feather allergy was notified to the hotel in advance of the stay and on arriving at the room there were 4 feather cushions on the bed. 3. Socket should be incorporated within the unit/shelf area where the kettle and mugs etc are located - do not think it is ideal for the kettle to have to be plugged in to an extension socket below a dressing table. 4. On arrival, we were neither informed of location or times for breakfast nor what time a late checkout was at. 5. Fire alarm (false alarm) disturbed our sleep on our first night around (00:30hours). 6. Would not rate this hotel as suitably adapted for infirm/disabled residents as there was only a fold down bar at one side of the toilet.

Kevin McCann said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 20th May 2016

Great stay superb facil, pleasant staff but just wished some of the room service menu was on the restaurant menu as well, for example pork, chicken, game stew and Drambuie pudding as well....burgers were fab

A guest said...

64%
30%
100%
60%

Stayed 10th May 2016

Lovely located hotel with great views and leisure facil but rooms definitely NOT of a 4* standard as furniture old, damaged and sadly not clean! All crevices were covered in dust as was the bathroom unit which was desperately requiring replaced. The overall cleanliness of the room was quite disappointing as there were dirty marks on valance sheets which obviously had been there for some time. I had requested a refurbished room as I was aware that some of the rooms were being refurbished but sadly did not get this, in fact I was advised that the hotel was full and the golfers had got the refurbished rooms! The room we got was a good size but tv was far to small infact the stand was also broke. Food was average but waitresses we had were very good.

P Simpson said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 6th May 2016

Lovely hotel. The golf view rooms are great even for a non golfer. The rooms have just been done up in fact they are still a work in progress, the bathrooms are beautiful. All the staff were lovely.

Liz Coutts said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 6th May 2016

We had yet another excellent stay at Carnoustie. We had a lovely room overlooking the golf course. Our room had been one of the recently refurnished ones and was very nice, and tastefully decorated. Our food was also excellent as was the service. I also used the spa and had a wonderful treatment with Georgina as my the, one of the best massages/facial I have had. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Iain McPherson said...

50%
50%
60%
40%

Stayed 30th April 2016

This hotel needs a lot of refurbishment in the bedrooms and bathrooms. It's starting to look very tired and dated. We were with a large party and had a two night DB&B booking. The food on the first night was very disappointing. We had to complain about the quality and quantity of several dishes. The waiting staff tried to redeem the situation by changing the dishes but the second plates offered were no better. We must have had a different chef on the second night. The food was more acceptable and tasted much better. One bone of contention ....they had no bread rolls for our soups and starters. They gave each of us a triangle of defrosted cheap brown bread instead. Very poor! Breakfast was standard and plain with no frills or extras.

Douglas Menzies said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 24th April 2016

I found the staff extremely helpful and friendly.I thought the drinks including tea and coffee overpriced

Elizabeth Brown said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd April 2016

Stay very enjoyable friendly staff and beautiful location.

Mr Wood said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 22nd April 2016

First class stay excellent room nice food and very nice staff what more could you want

kimberly murray said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd April 2016

Lovely hotel! The room was amazing and the food was of a high standard. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Sharon Bell said...

77%
50%
100%
80%

Stayed 8th April 2016

Room was a bit dated, carpets threadbare,bathroom floor could have done with a proper clean, on the positive, bed was really comfortable and the rest of the hotel was lovely and staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Gary Kerr said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 17th April 2016

Excellent stay . Staff very friendly. Will definitely be back

Jacqueline Connor said...

90%
100%
100%
70%

Stayed 15th April 2016

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff

gordon robertson said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 11th April 2016

Good value.

April Adam said...

90%
100%
80%
90%

Stayed 9th April 2016

Excellent hotel in a beautiful setting. Food was really good and our bedroom overlooked the golf course which was great. Will definitely be back.

Katie McRitchie said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th April 2016

Fantastic hotel and top class staff. The room was great and although there were some parts of the hotel that could do with a bit of updating, it certainly didn't affect our enjoyment.

A guest said...

80%
100%
60%
80%

Stayed 6th April 2016

Hotel and staff were all lovely. Used the pool and the Sauna Service was let down by waiting time not only for breakfast but for our evening meal too. Food let down by items being cold... soup and breakfast items too. These were reported to the manager

Julie McDonald-Simpson said...

60%
90%
80%
10%

Stayed 26th March 2016

Room and hotel was great. Breakfast both days was very poor my scrambled eggs on first day were uncooked and overcooked at the same time. Second day waited 1hour other people got served their food ages after we had sat down when it arrived it was cold my husband sent his back and got another one which only had a warm plate. By that time we had to leave. The package dinner menu was very limited. We thought we could choose off main menu and pay any extra. Nice stay apart from the food.

Robert McGuckin said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 15th March 2016

we enjoyed our stay very much. hotel is lovely, staff were very attentive, no problem with anything.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th March 2016

Staff were courteous and helpful,the rooms were excellent clean spacious and full of amen.food was delicious, leisure facil were the best I have seen in the previous hotels we have visited.

Margaret Bridgeford said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 5th March 2016

Our room looked out over the car park which was disappointing as there were rooms with great sea or golf course views only none available that night. This and a nippy response from a hotel receptionist when we phoned down to inquire if any of those were vacant were the only two negative aspects. The room was fine, very clean, comfortable bed and plenty of hoer and large fluffy towels. Dinner and breakfast menus provided a great choice and the food was fresh, hot and delicious. Service was great as were the restaurant and bar staff. My hotel.break.com definitely offered us a great value for money deal!