Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, Carnoustie

The Links Parade, Carnoustie, DD77JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

Janette Lynch said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th November 2017

Excellent break! No complaints about room - well equipped with plenty tea, coffee and shampoo etc. Staff very attentive and courteous both at reception and in the dining room! Although there was refurbishment on our floor, it didn’t cause any problems. Will definitely be back,

Ian Graham said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th November 2017

The hotel was fine, clean and the food was great. The staff were friendly and helpful and we would be happy to return.

Lesley Farmer said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th November 2017

Had a lovely stay at Carnoustie golf hotel! Very happy to received a room upgrade too! This is our second stay st the hotel and enjoyed it again! Food is excellent song very friendly service. Would definitely return to this hotel

Margaret Wilson said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 2nd November 2017

nice, comfortable room, food ok would go back.

J Crawford said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st November 2017

My wife and I love our stays at this Hotel. It has retained it's class throughout the years.

D WHELAN said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 20th October 2017

Lovely hotel and staff could not have been more helpful.

A guest said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 13th October 2017

Really enjoyed the break in room 309 overlooking the 18th green. We found the staff to be friendly and very professional, we were on a deal with dinner on 1st night which was excellent with £18 each towards the menu. The food was of a high standard, Carnoustie is a very small town with not much to see, we spent a 1/2 day at the Eden mill gin distillers at Leuchars and done the tour which was great at £10 each. Recommend the 19th. Hole pub for drinks and meals just off the Main Street in Carnoustie.

laura ross said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 7th October 2017

We had a really enjoyable stay. We booked the hotel when the Dunhill golf was taking place and it was fantastic to watch and a great atmosphere. The food was delicious. I would definitely return.

gerard burke said...

67%
70%
80%
50%

Stayed 3rd October 2017

Pleasant stay however room for improvement, no linen on the table for the dinner service, breakfast on the 2nd day was substandard due to golf competition taking over normal dinning area, no choice limited buffet in very impersonal room, staff were very attentive during stay, hotel should not treat guests in such a manner and golf tournament players and officials could have easily used alternative area instead of inconveniencing the paying guests.

H Paterson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st September 2017

EVERY THING WAS SUPERB,STAFF WERE HELPFUL AND POLITE,ROOM HAD A TERRIFIC VIEW AND MEALS WERE VERY GOOD.

Brian Smail said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th August 2017

Great hotel with very friendly and helpful staff! We arrived way before our check in time as we were going to have lunch in the bar and our room was ready - great. Had lunch - sandwiches and fries - very good. Our room - 227 - looked freshly refurbished although the furniture hadn't been replaced and was a little "tired and knocked about a bit". We had dinner in the hotel both nights - once in the restaurant and once in the bar area. Food was very good on both occasions. Used the leisure facil three times - pool and steam room - all good! Good service in the bar at night. Wifi throughout hotel and reception was ok. We have been at this hotel a couple of times now and would certainly go back again!

Margaret Phillips said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th August 2017

Hotel was lovely and relaxing, staff were excellent and nothing a problem from check in to check out, room was nice but would have loved a golf view. Will definitely be back before xmas.

Robert Scott said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th August 2017

Lovely hotel with an excellent view, worth the upgrade to get a view of the course if you appreciate golf. In the main a most enjoyable stay, rooms were clean and reasonably well maintained. Little closer detail to the presentation would be recommended, windows were dirty (you've just got to love seagulls), especially when paying extra for the view and shower drain needed cleaned properly as shower was slow to drain. Staff couldn't have been friendlier. Food was good though breakfast hot buffet could have been better with food being refreshed quicker avoiding things from being overdone.

Pauline Armstrong said...

64%
90%
70%
30%

Stayed 20th July 2017

My partner and I booked two nights b&b with dinner on one night with wine on arrival. Room was spacious, clean and had everything we needed for our stay. Bar area was perhaps too small for size of the hotel and would benefit from more relaxation space. Staff were helpful but lacked basic customer service skills at times. I will start with a positive about our dining experiences ......... breakfast was very good and we enjoyed the extensive choice of food available ....... evening meal was, quite simply a disaster I'm afraid ......... lentil soup was bland, haggis spring rolls very small and barely warm, partners salmon and accompanying vegetables were very strange (aubergine and potato laced heavily with a liquorice flavour! )and looked and tasted disgusting. My "morrocan chicken and couscous" was again barely warm, tasted nothing like morrocan chicken and the flat bread was stone cold ........ I sent mine back (partner was too embarrassed, not to mention gry(!) to send his back) My meal was returned 5-10 minutes later ........... still cold! Oh dear, it gets worse ........my lemon tart and orange sorbet ........ thinnest crust pastry I have ever seen smeared with an even thinner jelly-like substance and a minute blob of orange sorbet, it was poorly presented and only ate the sorbet. On the plus side (!) my partner's ice cream was plentiful and tasty but again ...... zero presentation. Neither I nor my partner are what you'd call "picky" diners but this meal is by far the worse we have ever been served in a restaurant, truthfully. Other reviewers give glowing accounts of their meals which baffles us a bit, so, maybe the chef had called in sick on our evening?!!!! Overall, we would stay again at the Carnoustie Hotel but definitely on a b&b basis, our evening dining experience totally ruined our special break.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th July 2017

Love this hotel. Excellent staff, food and facil. Golf view refurbished room a must. Very good price through myhotelbreak. Included in deal a voucher for a bottle of red or white wine which we had with dinner on the first night.

Margaret Ellam said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th July 2017

Had a really lovely two nights at Carnoustie. The Hotel was lovely and the staff were probably the nicest I have ever come across. Very friendly, polite and helpful. Couldn't fault them at all. We had dinner on the Sunday night and it was exceptional. Don't lose this chef or your servers. Breakfast on both mornings was lovely (although I would have been very happy if French Toast had been on the menu ??). Our room was very clean and comfortable and the maids were very helpful and polite too. We couldn't figure out how to work the shower and the Manager came up to the room to help us and explain the intricacies ?. All in all we had a lovely time and the weather was fabulous too. Thank you Carnoustie Golf Hotel. We will be back ??

A Murdoch said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th July 2017

a very good break at a good hotel

A guest said...

80%
N/A
80%
80%

Stayed 2nd July 2017

Refurbished room was very nice unfortunately first night spent in room desperately awaiting refurb. Building work outside this room woke us at 6.50 so not the relaxing break we were looking for. Thankfully moved rooms second night. Would have been perfect if had this second room both nights.

A guest said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 26th June 2017

Very good. My friends and I enjoyed a lovely break. All the staff were extremely polite and attentive. My only criticism was for one meal. 2of us chose the "special" off the dinner menu which was chicken with haggis. Both of us agreed that there was very little haggis and not very special. We did comment to the waitress and could only hope that she would pass on the complaint.

MARIA MELVILLE said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th June 2017

Had a wonderful time at the Carnoustie golf and spa hotel, staff were lovely, food excellent and room was very nice, would definitely return.

A guest said...

80%
90%
80%
70%

Stayed 25th June 2017

As in all establishments, some aspects were excellent, others not so. Likewise with staff, some very good but others lacking in "people" skills. The food, overall, was adequate but not outstanding and slightly less than expected in such an establishment. To upgrade for a "golf course" view was £20 per night which seems a bit excessive.

Andrew Ramsay said...

40%
40%
40%
40%

Stayed 14th June 2017

Pretty poor stay. Worse than average food, rooms were clean but in need of renovation, carpets being fitted in our hallway for 2 days. Not well managed. Won't be back.

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th June 2017

fabulous hotel had great overnight stay . food and accommodation was excellent look forward to returning.

A guest said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th June 2017

Had a lovely stay at the hotel. Our room was very comfortable & clean, staff excellent. My only minor complaint was not enough option with the buffet at breakfast. Otherwise no complaints

Alex King said... Hotel has replied

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 14th May 2017

lovely staff very nice hotel ..food was reasonable window in room was very dirty and spoiled the view

Hotel reply...

Thanks for the comments and glad you enjoyed your stay, We would of been more than happy to clean the window for you so you could enjoy the amazing views we have at the hotel.