Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, Dumfries

English Street, Dumfries, DG12DF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

John Innes said... Hotel has replied

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th December 2013

Entertainment was rank amateurish. As a musician I found the Scottish ceilidh duo an embarrassment to both Scotland and to music in general. Hotel was fantastic but hugely let down by the complete range of entertainment acts apart from Sax and Strings who were of an extremely high standard.

Hotel reply...

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to the hotel. I was delighted to receive such positive feedback about the food and service in the hotel. Your comments about the entertainment provided in the hotel would seem to be at odds with the vast majority of guests who stayed with us over the festive period and to date we have around 40 rooms already rebooked for our Hogmanay Ceilidh next year. We always take on board feedback from our guests over the festive period and your comments will be discussed at our de-brief meeting later in January. Kind Regards Cairndale Hotel General Manager

Thomas Kennedy said... Hotel has replied

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th December 2013

This is the 3rd time we have visited the Cairndale at Twixmas time of year in 4years. Always a very enjoyable experience--especially the friendliness of the staff. Keep up the good work !!

Hotel reply...

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review following your recent visit to our hotel at Twixmas. As you know we have an excellent programme of entertainment at this time and we believe our Twixmas package offers excellent value all round. We will shortly be looking at our Twixmas package for 2014 and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel later in the year. Kind Regards Cairndale Hotel General Manager

Gerard Campbell said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 29th November 2013

We have stayed at the Cairndale several times and this time was as good as the first we had a nice room and dinner and breakfast was as good and as high a standard as ever we are looking forward to our next visit

andrew reid said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd November 2013

Hotel was clean n tidy,staff were very helpful. Beds were so comfortable. Would. Definitely go back

C McKenzie said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 22nd November 2013

mix up in booking,wanted hotel for october.when we arrived they were not expecting us,however it was not a problem they soon allocated us a room and they could'nt be more helpful.recommend it to anybody.

John Balkwill said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 12th November 2013

TV set could have been bigger. Small mistakes with the food on the first night. On the whole our stay was excellent. All staff polite, attentive, friendly and helpful. Room was very good, fresh and comfortable - some noise from an outside fan. Food was very good and the menu changed over our two nights - restaurant staff were excellent. Good parking, close to the town centre, excellent value and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will be back next year at this time for our usual stay.

Ronald Wilson said...

70%
70%
90%
50%

Stayed 30th October 2013

Reception staff great.But no disabled parking or entry.Breakfasts top class but Dinner not so good.Staff efficient and friendly

Allison Gray said...

50%
30%
70%
50%

Stayed 19th October 2013

Bedroom pretty basic with 2 twin beds pushed together to make our double room we booked. Service was very good and food was ok although looked to be made with some budget ingredients.

James McHugh said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th October 2013

Would be a perfect score except for bedroom above function suite and some noise.

joyce russell said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th October 2013

Had a great stay in Cairndale. Staff very friendly and welcoming . Bedroom very small and basic, though spotlessly clean. Wouldn't like to have room 5 again as Had loud fan type noise which was annoying. Staff said it was heating noise, offered to change room next day but declined as only there 1 more night.

Moira Gourdie said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th October 2013

Excellent stay, staff polite,professional, friendly and very helpful. Rooms very clean and comfortable, ours was slightly on the small side but it didnt really spoil our stay. Food excellent with prompt efficient service. We will certainly return.

John Sinclair said...

47%
60%
40%
40%

Stayed 15th October 2013

Arrival-given room a mile away, when requested downstairs or adjacent to a lift(wasn't working anyway) after special request as one visitor had mobility issue. Got sorted! Higligt the spa Lowlight the food in sawney beans and service

Elaine Long said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th October 2013

pleasant stay, service very good. Rooms need new hairdriers!Food very good.

Stuart Clements said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th October 2013

When signing for the meals the bill was very confusing it shows the total amount you have ordered including your free meals. Why not just have the extras you have ordered I.e. Steak suppliment wine coffee etc. then everyone knows that will be their final bill when checking out. Also when checking out there was not brake down on the bill of the extras we had during our stay, only the amount it had cost.

Thomas Gilfillan said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th October 2013

Great service and accommodation as usual.

Robert Litster said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th October 2013

Excellent weekend, enjoyed by all six of us. Special occasion for 2 of our friends and the hotel did not disappoint. The food was excellent,staff so friendly and helpful.

John Scott said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 11th October 2013

Had a lovely break at the Cairndale. The staff were all very pleasant and we really enjoyed the food. Perhaps the menu for the 3 courses 17.50 which was our allowance could have had a little more choice. The room was ok and the bed comfortable but upstairs had very squeaky floorboards and was rather noisy when people were walking about. Really enjoyed the leisure facilities. Hotel very central and lots to do round about the area.

Samuel Ball said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 1st October 2013

Room good although noise from Kitchen extractor. Service very friendly. Food very good, good value, although limited choice.

helen shearer said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th September 2013

Had a lovely stay staff great food great room comfortable

Sandra Paterson said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 7th September 2013

The staff were extremely helpful & very friendly

Thomas Finlay said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 28th August 2013

Enjoyable stay. Room rather warm despite open windows.

James Thompson said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 31st July 2013

Food good .

pauline Sullivan said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 28th July 2013

Staff are not aware of what dinner choice is included with Classic Britain so there was a discrepancy when it came to paying bill at end of stay. This was sorted out efficiently but it has been a problem with last hotel we stayed in aswell.

aileen milne said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 20th July 2013

we paid for a deluxe room,bed not very comfortable,but room was fine.food was excellent.dinner on first night not so good,had 3 courses for

Julie Breen said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th July 2013

Having stayed here many times before we weren't surprised by the good friendly service received from all staff.