Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Isles Of Glencoe Hotel, Ballachulish

, Ballachulish, PH494HL, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

John Fraser said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th September 2013

another nice and relaxing few days, staff brill as usual although run of their feet due to lack of staffing but they always give you a hundred per cent of their time. Its just a pity that the company would not spend some money on doing the furnishings up as it would make all the difference to the place

Paul Quinn said...

67%
50%
90%
60%

Stayed 7th September 2013

Paul coatbridge nice stay with staff ( wee dot ) done everything wee asked as a decorater certainly could be doin with freshened up but overall we will be returning with kids ....ps i look f/ward hearing from general manager for decoration work Paul the painter

karen prior said...

27%
30%
50%
0%

Stayed 6th September 2013

I have visited this hotel many times over the past 10 years and this will be the last. The hotel is badly in need of a renovation and the food quality is no better than school dinners, the cost per head for DBB must be minimal. ( it used to be one of the reasons we visited the hotel). Staff were pleasant, but not enough of them, rooms were clean and the views spectacular but I'm afraid even this is not enough to bring me back. Akkeron hotels please get your act together so I can return.

jennifer potter said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 30th August 2013

always good to stay at the Isles of Glencoe Hotel. Well looked after. Fantastic location. Stayed there a few times now. Looks as if some of the public areas are raedy for a refurb, but I'm sure that is in hand. Service very good. Bedroom was large and great views over the loch.

Mrs Henery said...

37%
20%
50%
40%

Stayed 16th August 2013

We had requested an accesdible room as I walk with a stick and a walk in shower makes life more comfortable. The room we were allocated was appaling. The carpet was dirty, no valances on beds and upholstery was dirty and torn as were the armchairs. The room had doors outside and were filthy! The bathroom was very grubby and looked like a second rate care home. Overall it was much less than I would expect of a 3 star hotel. When we asked to be moved, the manager obliged but, we had to move to a room upstairs and with an over the bath shower with no handrails. My greatest concern is that the accessible room was of a much lower standard than the room we were moved to. This implied to me that customers with a disability are thought less of and not treated equally to those who are more able bodied. Our next room was pleasant but, the bathroom was grubby. The food was dull but acceptable. The restaurant/ breakfast area was again grubby. Upholstery on chairs was dirty and torn and some chairs were wobbly to the point of being dangerous. I was very disappointed with this hotel and it fell very short of what I would expect from classic britain. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

John Adamson said...

84%
100%
100%
50%

Stayed 2nd August 2013

Hi john adamson here from moate co westmeath ireland just left this hotel had a brill stay staff very nice we will be back

Ann Crawford said...

64%
90%
70%
30%

Stayed 18th July 2013

Enjoyed our stay the family room we booked was of a good standard and was spacious and clean and the view was superb. The pool was lovely but the rest of the hotel was in need of an update and the food was nothing special. This hotel could really be something special with the location it needs a bit of money spending on it to bring it up to the 3 stars it has been awarded.

Anne Hunter said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 12th July 2013

Had a great stay here great base for seeing the beautiful scenery

Nathalie Porter said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th July 2013

Hotel great, surroundings very relaxing, classic Britain website not so good!

Derek Bone said...

40%
40%
40%
40%

Stayed 2nd July 2013

Bring back the good old days

Elizabeth Glover said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 1st July 2013

We had a wet stay but somehow it it did not matter as the scenery was beautiful and the staff so friendly

A Carey said...

74%
50%
90%
80%

Stayed 29th June 2013

Hotel very tired. In need of up grading.

jane MacInnes said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 26th June 2013

We had two very comfortable nights. Staff very friendly and helpful.Our room was large and we had a loch view which was just wonderful also room very clean and extra large bed was great.

Mrs Ferguson said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 16th June 2013

Still a great hotel for my wife and i.We go to it about three times a year.My brother in law is getting married there this year.They always join us when we go there.So if there are any offers please keep in touch with us.

Mr MacDonald said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th May 2013

Friendly staff good hotel nice for a 2 day break.

ian german said...

70%
80%
70%
60%

Stayed 1st May 2013

Food in evening very good,breakfast poor.No one to serve a drink later in evening??

John Mulholland said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th April 2013

My wife and I have visited this hotel a number of times over the past few years and we both love it. We have found all the staff friendly, rooms and eating areas are spotless clean,as as are the grounds. An all you can eat breakfast, a walk around the local area, particicpate in some local activities then back to the hotel, relaxing swim in the small pool, some time in the sauna, Dinner and night cap in bar comfy bed superb. downside you have to leave to come home.

Wilma Mckay said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th April 2013

The Isles of Glencoe has everything that we can wish for. Superb views,swimming pool,accepts dogs and everyone was friendly.

C Gilleece said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 19th April 2013

The hotel staf and accommodation was excellent, views from the room was really stunning. We will be back.

Gordon Clark said...

67%
50%
80%
70%

Stayed 19th April 2013

We stayed in room 313 & although the bedroom was clean the bathroom was horrible - the grout in the tiles of the shower was black/mouldy and the handrails rusty. NOT very welcoming after being out all day. Also it may be helpful to check if guests are allergic to dogs before booking into these rooms as my husband was wheezy during our visit & only after checking website did we see that these rooms are used for people with pets. All the staff we encountered were friendly & helpful - we had dinner the second evening at The Ballahullish which was 1st class. Not sure about the changing rooms in pool area as you can see into them & my husbsnd had to stand in front of the one I was in to protect my modesty! The hotel is in a wonderful location but could definitely do with makeover. I have refrained from writing anything on Tripadvisor as most of my comments seemed to have been written already by other people.

scott kirkland said...

64%
50%
80%
60%

Stayed 18th April 2013

The staff were great. Hotel could do with a lick of paint. Sofas and chairs had seen their day, badly stained and not very comfortable. Bed linen was clean but mattress was very uncomfortable. The hotel did not do a lunch menu. The good was good but more choice would have been better. Of the 4 machines in the gym that required electricity only one seemed to be able to be plugged in. Gym is supposed to fit 4 at a time but I'd say 2 maximum

allison holland said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th April 2013

i spent 2 nights here 16th/17th april with my disabled mother...we were in separate rooms...both very nice...good level of cleanliness....staff very helpful and friendly....decent mix of everyday breakfast foods...3 course evening meal was a reasonable standard....my only criticism is that i think they need a second bread toaster as the queues were long....will be back there this summer as this hotel is in lovely setting with fabulous views..

Gillian Allan said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 13th April 2013

Great break, clean rooms, lovely food, and very friendly staff. Only improvement could be to have a TV lounge - we couldn't watch the Masters Golf because our children were using the room TV.

Neil Robertson said...

50%
50%
50%
50%

Stayed 7th April 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed at this hotel and the third time with children. We always enjoy our stay primarily due to the location of the hotel in such a beautiful part of Scotland. We do feel however, that the hotel is badly in need of some investment and staff training. The rooms/bathrooms have dirty, ripped and stained flooring and the furniture/beds could do with being updated. The public areas and indeed the rooms have fantastic views out to the loch and mountains but the sofas/chairs have not been updated from when we first visited the hotel in year 2000. The service in the restaurant was quite poor with staff forgetting things that had been ordered and coming across as lacking some vital training. The breakfast was great with an excellent choice for continental or hot cooked options. The evening dinner was disappointing due to the lack of choice, lack of flavour and a reduction in the quality of the food being served i.e. cheap ice-cream and tomato being used to garnish everything! It was also a little concerning when the vegetarian (v) sign appeared on the menu beside chicken and leek soup which clearly is not suitable for a vegetarian. The leisure centre is a welcome retreat for our children with a good sized swimming pool and is definitely a big plus for this hotel. It is a shame that you have to leave the main building to utilise the gym but the equipment is sufficient. Will return to the hotel in the future but not on a DBB basis.

M Spowart said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 7th April 2013

From the minute we arrived to when we departed all staff were friendly and helpful, although we were only there for 1 day it was a fantastic day.