Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Oban Bay Hotel, Oban

Corran Esplanade, Oban, PA345AE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

Robert Glasgow said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 6th May 2013

Hotel staff polite and attentive. Some correspondence re rooms etc is required between Classic Britain and Crerar hotels. Bedrooms did not justify the wording on Crerar websites

Ann Marie Adam said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th May 2013

All my friends and i went to the oban bay for my birthday we had a wonderful time can't praise the staff enough for making our stay so good, pity about the weather. would definately recommend this hotel to anyone going to oban. Thanks again for afabulous time.

Corainn Adamson said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 3rd May 2013

We stayed here Friday to Sunday. Couldnt complain the waiters and waitresses very friendly and couldnt do enough for you. Rooms were clean and comfortable -had read reviews before we went so werent expecting much but were pleasantly surprised. Our girls enjoyed the hot tub and steam room. All in all a comfortable stay.

Elizabeth Norris said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th April 2013

Very enjoyable experience staying at this hotel. Very good value for the price we paid.

Ann O'Hare said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd April 2013

Very enjoyable stay at hotel. Lovely surroundings, great food and exceptional staff, from moment we came in the door. Will definitely be back.

Euan Platt said...

50%
60%
70%
20%

Stayed 19th April 2013

Nice enough room, friendly and helpful staff, but awful food. Breakfast was fine, but our evening meal was so bad the first night we ate elsewhere the second night.

Graham Welsh said...

60%
80%
80%
20%

Stayed 19th April 2013

Very disappointed with our evening meal choice ,quality of food has declined a lo based on our previous stays

Helen Kyle said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th April 2013

Enjoyed my stay very much, Hotel in some places was a bit tired but staff very helpful and friendly. The spa showers were not working but to be fair we did not report this at the time so cannot comment on how the problem would have been dealt with. the hot tub could do with being updated i think. It was a bit slippy trying to get in. Overall the stay was very enjoyable and i would return to the hotel.

Paul Medine said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 14th April 2013

Very good all round and value for money. Would certainly use this hotel again

Fiona Cushnaghan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th April 2013

my parents have nothing but praise for their recent stay at the Oban Bay Hotel, it was a xmas present from the family. They said the staff were 1st class and so helpful with everything, they loved the suite they stayed in and had absolutely no complaints.

Mrs Hatch said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 8th April 2013

Food was very good as was service Problem with room [161] in respect of its location. Noises of plumbing been fairly noisy Staff were aware of this difficulty and were awating repairs from Glasgow [Possible problem with heating system ] System was changed in 2006 according to member of staff and was reported by previous occupants Not a major problem but annoying particularly late evening/early morning /minor break of sleep Overall however we were happy with our stay despite slight problem with pipes

George Findlay said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 2nd April 2013

Great value for money

Mary Traynor said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd April 2013

We had an excellent three night stay. The food was excellent and plenty of it. The staff in the hotel were so friendly and helpful. We have stayed there several times and will certainly stay there again. We used the hot tub for the first time and it was excellent.

Alan Tulloch said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st March 2013

Pefect location, just along the esplanade from the centre so nice and quiet with good views across the Bay

M Bickle said...

64%
70%
80%
40%

Stayed 29th March 2013

Very pleasant stay at the Easter break, would have been nice to have a wee bit entertainment.but staff and hotel very good .

Jean Stanage said...

70%
80%
80%
50%

Stayed 26th March 2013

Enjoyable stay, staff very friendly, rooms beautiful and would definitely go back. Only criticism is that the food was a bit too fancy for our liking, for example, main course menu had a choice of only fish, pheasant or vegetarian. Perhaps a simple beef or chicken addition to this menu would have suited more guests and certainly other guests we spoke to were of the same opinion. Shower was a bit dodgy , poor water pressure but was tolerable. Would be nice if you could book a slot for the hot tub, every time we went to use it the same people were in the tub, think they must have spent the whole time in the hot tub!! On the whole a very nice hotel though.

debra morrison said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd March 2013

Great hotel - only gripe

Gerald Edmonds said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th March 2013

Three of us went up to Oban for a short break and took advantage of the special offer to stay at the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa. The hotel was lovely looking onto the water. We also took advantage of the hot tub as it was a great way to relax after walking about seeing the lovely sights. I would recommend staying in this hotel as the food was excellent.

Mr Birch said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 11th March 2013

rooms comfortable and clean. breakfast and dinner menus - good choice and food very good. staff pleasant and helpful

Elaine Tocher said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th March 2013

The rooms could have been doing with a bit more light. Apart from that we had a lovely stay at the Oban Bay Hotel and the staff were marvelous.

Catherine McConnell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd February 2013

Excellent location, staff were very helpful and pleasant, rooms were clean and comfortable, will return

A Bryce said...

67%
70%
80%
50%

Stayed 22nd February 2013

Had a great stay at the Oban Bay only complaint is that on our first night at dinner my Wife and myself did not like anything on the set menu. It was not explained to us that if you chose from the restaurant menu that we had to pay the full cost of what was chose. We thought that all you would have to pay was what any balance would be.

lynsey Hughes said...

57%
60%
60%
50%

Stayed 15th February 2013

this was the first time we have stayed @ this hotel. After both Eight Acres and Loch Fyne Spa we were a little disappointed but we have already booked another visit here for my fathers birthday so hopefuuly the food will be a better quality.

Edward McKenzie said...

70%
60%
90%
60%

Stayed 13th February 2013

had to move room as shower was boiling hot due to faulty valve move to new room water in basin boiling window in second bedroom was stuffed with toiloet paper to try and stop draft advised manager staff

Mr & Mrs Ryan said...

57%
10%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th February 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Oban Bay Hotel . We were allocated room number 133 , this is not the room we wanted to be in or room number 131 . Absolutely no view looking onto the the roof of the kitchen . Room was very stuffy we opened window , but closed again quickly due to the noise of the fan in kitchen and the smell of food. Fire doors in corridor need to be re-adjusted or replaced , persistant banging which upset our sleep during our stay. The flip side was the food was very good , as too was the service.