Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, Dumfries

English Street, Dumfries, DG12DF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

MARGARET HUNTER said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th July 2013

Met by a very surly unhelpful receptionist on arrival. The room was small and stifling due to the hot weather and my request for a fan was met with "we don't have any" despite one being visible from the reception desk. Cooked breakfast was very unappetising swimming in grease with fatty bacon. Barman was covering both reception and bar and was very grumpy. Have stayed in this hotel several times before but it has definitely gone downhill. Wouldn't recommend staying there again

Lorna Cairns said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th July 2013

Fantastic stay Neil Diamond Tribute night absolutely amazing

M kinsella said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 5th July 2013

felt the

Susan Samson said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 1st July 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was.

John Owens said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 3rd May 2013

Nice stay, room a little tired and tv did not work very well, but overall good.

Mrs Pennycuick said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th April 2013

Had a fantastic time at the Diana Ross/ Whitney Houstoun tribute weekend.Could not fault anything really good value !

Mary Mills said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th April 2013

Well situated hotel, very pleasant staff, enjoyed our stay

flora maciver said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 11th April 2013

leisure club very good.staff very helpfull. very enjoyable stay.

christine wilson said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th April 2013

Very enjoyable weekend the staff were very helpful and the entertainment night was well organized

Elaine McInally said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th March 2013

Enjoyed our stay, all staff were helpful and friendly.

Ian Gow said...

60%
50%
80%
50%

Stayed 25th March 2013

Possibly because we booked through classic britain, we would appear to have been given inferior accomodation. The hotel was practically empty yet our room was in an annex, up 3 flights of stairs with no lift.

Keith Butler said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 11th March 2013

The Cairndale provides a warm welcome with friendly staff. The breakfasts are excellent and the swimming pool an added bonus.

John McKeraghan said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd March 2013

The only problem we had, on arrival at hotel, the bedroom was cold and the heaters were switched off , that was rectified immediately by the duty manager bringing another heater to the room. Also later that afternoon we noticed that the toilet was unstable and was leaking, the staff checked this immediately and as it couldn't be repaired that night, we were offered another suite, but declined as we had only booked for 1 night

margaret russo said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd March 2013

Great stay a bit dated but spotless staff great leisure facilities very good food super.

Jackie Reid said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th January 2013

stay in general was good, hotel quiet bar was open but shutters down not encouraged to stay in.

elizabeth walker said...

77%
30%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th December 2012

Room had no view,we looked out onto another building therefore it was very dark

Lynne Jones said...

80%
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th December 2012

Room was bland and needed new bedding covers. It was also cold as the heater did not work properly, even after it had been fixed. The bed was 2 singles pushed together and the quilt too big for the cover, hence it got folded at one end to fit.

J Briggs said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th December 2012

The 2 nights I spent at the hotel were great - only comment I have is the 6 people I shared my table with all paid less for a 3 night stay than I paid for 2 ( I paid

Louise McCallum said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th December 2012

Excellent hotel and staff. Myself, husband and my two young daughters thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The food and staff were excellent?

Mary Allan said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 3rd December 2012

Triple room was of a reasonable size (3 ladies sharing). Would use hotel again.

CHARLES MCGETTIGAN said...

80%
90%
90%
60%

Stayed 23rd November 2012

We had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. The choice of food in the restaurant could be improved. At breakfast toast arrived before choosing breakfast- it got cold. Coffee served was very strong and not too warm. Leisure pool very busy on Sat afternoon- swimming club. Room for improvement in these areas.

John Balkwill said...

74%
90%
90%
40%

Stayed 12th November 2012

2nt.D/BB 1nt.BB free, excellent value and enjoyed our stay. All staff were excellent and we had a nice, twin room as requested. The only disappointment was the limited choice of food in the Sawney Beens bistro and the expensive bottles of wine. The fish was a very small portion and we were glad to have a night eating out of the hotel. The breakfast menu was very good. We did request a morning paper but our request went missing. We did leave a filled in questionnaire at the hotel. All in all we were pleased with your service and hope to return in the future. Thankyou.

Margaret Adams said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th November 2012

Enjoyed our stay good food staff very obliging only negative was low water pressure took ages to fill a bath.

peter edment said...

77%
90%
60%
80%

Stayed 9th November 2012

There did not appear to be a bar service during the day or early evening. Only drinks available including coffee / tea are in the small cafe attached to the leisure centre. Service in the restaurant bit hit and miss with a fairly inexperienced young staff. Food however was really good with the reception and maid service also very good. Unusually for a Classic Britain hotel we were asked to pay immediately on arrival. May be beneficial to advise this on your website. Other than these super weekend and a great change to have entertainment both nights.

Joseph Berry said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th October 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel from when we arrived until we left. We were welcomed on arrival, the food was excellent, staff were courteous. The rooms were very good and the facilities in the hotel were excellent. Absolutely no complaints and will use this hotel again.