Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Isles Of Glencoe Hotel, Ballachulish

, Ballachulish, PH494HL, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

90%

allison holland said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 16th April 2013

i spent 2 nights here 16th/17th april with my disabled mother...we were in separate rooms...both very nice...good level of cleanliness....staff very helpful and friendly....decent mix of everyday breakfast foods...3 course evening meal was a reasonable standard....my only criticism is that i think they need a second bread toaster as the queues were long....will be back there this summer as this hotel is in lovely setting with fabulous views..

Gillian Allan said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 13th April 2013

Great break, clean rooms, lovely food, and very friendly staff. Only improvement could be to have a TV lounge - we couldn't watch the Masters Golf because our children were using the room TV.

Neil Robertson said...

50%
50%
50%
50%

Stayed 7th April 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed at this hotel and the third time with children. We always enjoy our stay primarily due to the location of the hotel in such a beautiful part of Scotland. We do feel however, that the hotel is badly in need of some investment and staff training. The rooms/bathrooms have dirty, ripped and stained flooring and the furniture/beds could do with being updated. The public areas and indeed the rooms have fantastic views out to the loch and mountains but the sofas/chairs have not been updated from when we first visited the hotel in year 2000. The service in the restaurant was quite poor with staff forgetting things that had been ordered and coming across as lacking some vital training. The breakfast was great with an excellent choice for continental or hot cooked options. The evening dinner was disappointing due to the lack of choice, lack of flavour and a reduction in the quality of the food being served i.e. cheap ice-cream and tomato being used to garnish everything! It was also a little concerning when the vegetarian (v) sign appeared on the menu beside chicken and leek soup which clearly is not suitable for a vegetarian. The leisure centre is a welcome retreat for our children with a good sized swimming pool and is definitely a big plus for this hotel. It is a shame that you have to leave the main building to utilise the gym but the equipment is sufficient. Will return to the hotel in the future but not on a DBB basis.

M Spowart said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 7th April 2013

From the minute we arrived to when we departed all staff were friendly and helpful, although we were only there for 1 day it was a fantastic day.

Helen Mathieson said...

40%
20%
50%
50%

Stayed 7th April 2013

Although we enjoyed our one night break at this hotel, I do feel it could be a bit cleaner. Our bathroom was dirty and in need of an upgrade. When we arrived at the hotel in the afternoon, there were no facilities to have a light snack or sandwich etc. Also in the public areas (lounge,dining room etc) it was very cold - comment made by other residents.

patricia aitken said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 6th April 2013

great wee female receptionist nice hotel very relaxing good food i emailed hotel prior to stay for room on ground floor and they did this would stay again

yu hu said...

60%
100%
30%
50%

Stayed 5th April 2013

superb family room, great view...choice of menu's limited but changes daily, swimming pool's small and sauna room's some sort of bio-sauna which temp's around 50 degree.Strange rule that we were ask to switch off phone in restaurant...

HELEN MCKINNES said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 4th April 2013

As usual we were welcomed so warmly.thank you to all the staff for a lovely stay.Everyone was very attentive as usual.The room was great as was the food.Thank you.cant wait to come back.

Rachael Thompson said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 31st March 2013

Couldn't fault Staff, service and food, however the windows in our room needed cleaning ... Spoiled what was an outstanding view. Otherwise staff were very friendly and accommodating especially with children . Would stay again was good value.

martin mcneney said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 31st March 2013

Very friendly & very helpful staff. They looked after us very well indeed. The Hotel is in a beautiful & very picturesque location, ideally positioned between Fort William, Oban and Glencoe. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. However, the Hotel felt a bit "tired", with worn/ stained furniture in the Lounge area. The breakfast buffet was very basic with the servery area feeling very dated and old. The pool area was fine but again needs some TLC. We had a large hole on the flooring cover in our bathroom which we felt was quite poor and could easily be replaced. All in all - Great position, lovely staff, needs some investment to upgrade the standard. This Hotel could easily attain 4* Rating if the management reinvested in the facility

Anne Gavigan said...

60%
60%
70%
50%

Stayed 27th March 2013

I booked one double room for 2 but ended up with a room for 4, why I'm not quite sure. Also, we were supposed to get the best room available. I would say this wasn't quite what happened, I really can't imagine that the room we had was the best available. However, the food was satisfactory and the hotel staff were pleasant.

Fiona McDonald said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 19th March 2013

Had an absolutely fantastic 2 night break, staff very friendly and professional. Meals also very good, although menu a little limited, always something to choose fom which suited us. We were allocated a superior room (by request) which was of a good standard. We were very lucky with the weather which really made it for us as the scenery is breathtaking. Honestly couldn't fault a thing.

Wendy Fawcett said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 13th March 2013

Pleasant bright modern hotel. Friendly staff. Good food. Tables and chairs a bit tired. Superb views from room. Will return.

Derek Bone said...

70%
60%
90%
60%

Stayed 12th March 2013

enjoyable stay

Derek Bone said...

70%
60%
90%
60%

Stayed 12th March 2013

very enjoyable,staff very helpful and friendly ,reception staff handled a booking problem first class,i.e classic britiain did not book a room for my company.the hotel is under staffed at certain times of day but the staff on duty do a first class job,this is our 10th visit to this hotel over the years,and our best time,the quiz on tues night was surprise change,wed night trio where good as well

Anne Gray said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 9th March 2013

Very friendly and wonderfully attentive with our 5 grandkids. We had a separate dining room and were even provided with a plasma tv and dvd player to kep them happy during the meal

moyra mcpherson said...

54%
20%
70%
70%

Stayed 4th March 2013

The location can hardly be beaten, the views are spectacular. However, the decor throughout is very tired and worn, the carpet in our room was split at a join and the chair was threadbare. The pillows were old and stained. Plastic cups provided in the bathroom and not replaced on the second day. The bathroom floor was filthy as was the tile grout. There was mould around the velux windows. The public toilet was also dirty, the skirtings don't appear to have been dusted in quite a while. On the upside, the staff were very friendly and the food was fresh and served very quickly.

Alison Murray said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 26th February 2013

Another relaxing stay at the Isles of Glencoe. Very friendly staff. Enjoyable break.

Frances Wood said...

14%
0%
0%
40%

Stayed 26th February 2013

We found our short break good value for money. There were noticeable cost cutting measures from the last time we visited in 2011..particularly the catering both in dining room / tea and coffee in bedrooms/ two not three course evening meal/ no fire on in lounge on one evening etc. However we appreciate efforts to keep costs the same inevitably mean making savings and we will be back.

Charles Mitchell said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 24th February 2013

Enjoyable two night stay in lovely location.Whilst evening meal was very good , buffet breakfast not ideal with food readily becoming lukewarm .

Yvonne O'Hara said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 23rd February 2013

Stayed at hotel with 6 other members of my family. We had a very pleasant stay. The hotel staff where all very friendly and helpful. The rooms where very clean but a bit basic. The hotel its self is a bit tired but the fantastic setting and views where breathtaking. Good value for money. Food good. would consider another trip in the summer months

lorraine strain said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 22nd February 2013

Beautiful location, freindly and helpful staff. Problems with water supply and hotel needs refurbishment but still a very enjoyable stay as always

anne lyall said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 22nd February 2013

We enjoyed our 2 night stay. The location is stunning and even though it was february the weather was brillant. Room was clean and comfortable. Meals were good. Hotel was very busy & staff were pleasant whilst obviously under pressure due to workload There was a problem with no hot water on Saturday which did affect us and even on sun am the water was still cold. This was really disappointing. Apparently the gas boiler was turned off on Friday night. We did negotiate a small reduction but it was not offered by way of compensation for inconvenience. We would stay again & hope that we would be able to enjoy a hot bath/ shower during our stay. Ps the waitress Dot is brillant Thank you

M Durkin said...

70%
40%
80%
90%

Stayed 22nd February 2013

Had a great stay, although the hotel is in need of a refurbishment! the chair in our room had a big hole in it, and the carpet was worn out in places, also lots of mildew on the tiles.

john bell said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 22nd February 2013

just had a great weekend at the hotel, location and views to die for. Breakfast, the works and evening meals good choice. Swimming pool was warm but only negative was the sauna was not hot enough and temperature could not be self-regulated. Will definately return and would recommend to friends and family