Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Oban Bay Hotel, Oban

Corran Esplanade, Oban, PA345AE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

92%

M Bickle said...

64%
70%
80%
40%

Stayed 29th March 2013

Very pleasant stay at the Easter break, would have been nice to have a wee bit entertainment.but staff and hotel very good .

Jean Stanage said...

70%
80%
80%
50%

Stayed 26th March 2013

Enjoyable stay, staff very friendly, rooms beautiful and would definitely go back. Only criticism is that the food was a bit too fancy for our liking, for example, main course menu had a choice of only fish, pheasant or vegetarian. Perhaps a simple beef or chicken addition to this menu would have suited more guests and certainly other guests we spoke to were of the same opinion. Shower was a bit dodgy , poor water pressure but was tolerable. Would be nice if you could book a slot for the hot tub, every time we went to use it the same people were in the tub, think they must have spent the whole time in the hot tub!! On the whole a very nice hotel though.

debra morrison said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd March 2013

Great hotel - only gripe

Gerald Edmonds said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th March 2013

Three of us went up to Oban for a short break and took advantage of the special offer to stay at the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa. The hotel was lovely looking onto the water. We also took advantage of the hot tub as it was a great way to relax after walking about seeing the lovely sights. I would recommend staying in this hotel as the food was excellent.

Mr Birch said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 11th March 2013

rooms comfortable and clean. breakfast and dinner menus - good choice and food very good. staff pleasant and helpful

Elaine Tocher said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th March 2013

The rooms could have been doing with a bit more light. Apart from that we had a lovely stay at the Oban Bay Hotel and the staff were marvelous.

Catherine McConnell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd February 2013

Excellent location, staff were very helpful and pleasant, rooms were clean and comfortable, will return

A Bryce said...

67%
70%
80%
50%

Stayed 22nd February 2013

Had a great stay at the Oban Bay only complaint is that on our first night at dinner my Wife and myself did not like anything on the set menu. It was not explained to us that if you chose from the restaurant menu that we had to pay the full cost of what was chose. We thought that all you would have to pay was what any balance would be.

lynsey Hughes said...

57%
60%
60%
50%

Stayed 15th February 2013

this was the first time we have stayed @ this hotel. After both Eight Acres and Loch Fyne Spa we were a little disappointed but we have already booked another visit here for my fathers birthday so hopefuuly the food will be a better quality.

Edward McKenzie said...

70%
60%
90%
60%

Stayed 13th February 2013

had to move room as shower was boiling hot due to faulty valve move to new room water in basin boiling window in second bedroom was stuffed with toiloet paper to try and stop draft advised manager staff

Mr & Mrs Ryan said...

57%
10%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th February 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Oban Bay Hotel . We were allocated room number 133 , this is not the room we wanted to be in or room number 131 . Absolutely no view looking onto the the roof of the kitchen . Room was very stuffy we opened window , but closed again quickly due to the noise of the fan in kitchen and the smell of food. Fire doors in corridor need to be re-adjusted or replaced , persistant banging which upset our sleep during our stay. The flip side was the food was very good , as too was the service.

Diane MacDonald said...

34%
40%
40%
20%

Stayed 4th February 2013

Rooms small, shower was a drip, was served a bottle of white wine and told it was warm so here some ice , donot cater for vegans , certainly wont be back

D Spence said...

74%
30%
90%
100%

Stayed 2nd February 2013

The bedroom let down our stay.I have stayed here many times Andy recommended many people, best room available your having a laugh most disappointed.

A Mackenzie said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st February 2013

Really enjoyed stay at Oban Bay. Very good value. Food was excellent and plentiful. Staff very friendly.

William Thomson said...

60%
40%
50%
90%

Stayed 1st February 2013

stayed at the oban bay hotel was very dissapointed as when we got to our room the toilet had not been flushed there was still paper down the toilet and it looked very tired and in need of a good paint there was no b in in the room to put any waste in ie. tea bags and milk containers but the tea stains were on the wall from where there should have been a bin. Our dinner was very nice but annoyed at having to pay

T McGarvie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th January 2013

very relaxing weekend great staff great service lovely hotel will be back soon please thank the staff and manager for us thanks tom mcgarvie

Andrew Raeside said...

60%
70%
80%
30%

Stayed 22nd January 2013

Bedroom was fine,shower was far too small for an adult to wash properly in.service was very good especially dining room,food was a bit too upmarket for us,bit of plain meals would have been appreciated.

lynn doherty said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th January 2013

Hotel nice, lovely view over the bay to mull and surrounding isles. Arrived for one night stay so was eager to try the hot tub but unfortunately it was already been used by some selfish people who must of thought it was only for them and didn't even offer to come out even after we had been waiting for over half an hour. I wasn't prepared to share the tub with them as it is tiny and a bit too intimate for four people unless you are all very good friends !

Joy Leslie said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th January 2013

An excellent weekend (Friday 18th to Sunday 20th January) with friends. Staff very friendly, courteous and helpful. Food excellent - had a mix of Table d'hote and A La Carte. Very relaxing sitting in the conservatory watching the boats going up and down to the various islands. The rooms were clean and tidy but some perhaps could do with a little refurb.

Emma Hodge said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th January 2013

Really nice hotel and great value for the DB&B offer we purchased. The decor needed a little attention in places and shower in room was lousy. However the service and food were excellent- well worth a visit!

Stephen Fox said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 12th January 2013

Great wee weekend in Oban.

MARGARET HUNTER said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd January 2013

Room was huge and decorated to a high standard. Food was excellent and the staff could not have been more helpful. They also made our dog welcome. We will definately be back.

Alexander Hodge said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th December 2012

We had a wonderful new year break at this hotel.All the staff and guests were very friendly.Will definetly be going back.

william clark said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th December 2012

Stayed with friends at the Oban Bay Hotel over the Twixmas Break. Bedroom's were clean and well maintained. Food was excellent and can't praise the staff highly enough, it was a nice change to have your breakfast served to you at the table instead of buffet style and the cloth napkins were a nice touch. This was our first stay at the Oban Bay but won't be our last.

Jonny McCulloch said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 27th December 2012

The Oban Bay was a very good hotel,the staff were fantastic, the room was good and the food was just the best but there were some things that weren't Ok, like, dogs were allowed in public areas, and there were a few residents that had asthma and were coughing and had to take there inhalers because of the dog hair in the air. There were hair balls lying on the floor of the conservatory and a lot of people agreed with us that dog should not be allowed in the public areas.There was an issue with our bathroom that we reported to reception, they would have moved us but the room they offered us was a ground floor with no view but we said no to that. The hot tub was not clean, I went into the hot tub and found things floating in it, so i got out straight away. we were there from the 27th Dec, to the 30th Dec. if you require any more information you can contact myself at jonnymcculloch@hotmail.com Thanks