Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Oban Bay Hotel, Oban

Corran Esplanade, Oban, PA345AE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

Diane MacDonald said...

34%
40%
40%
20%

Stayed 4th February 2013

Rooms small, shower was a drip, was served a bottle of white wine and told it was warm so here some ice , donot cater for vegans , certainly wont be back

D Spence said...

74%
30%
90%
100%

Stayed 2nd February 2013

The bedroom let down our stay.I have stayed here many times Andy recommended many people, best room available your having a laugh most disappointed.

A Mackenzie said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st February 2013

Really enjoyed stay at Oban Bay. Very good value. Food was excellent and plentiful. Staff very friendly.

William Thomson said...

60%
40%
50%
90%

Stayed 1st February 2013

stayed at the oban bay hotel was very dissapointed as when we got to our room the toilet had not been flushed there was still paper down the toilet and it looked very tired and in need of a good paint there was no b in in the room to put any waste in ie. tea bags and milk containers but the tea stains were on the wall from where there should have been a bin. Our dinner was very nice but annoyed at having to pay

T McGarvie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th January 2013

very relaxing weekend great staff great service lovely hotel will be back soon please thank the staff and manager for us thanks tom mcgarvie

Andrew Raeside said...

60%
70%
80%
30%

Stayed 22nd January 2013

Bedroom was fine,shower was far too small for an adult to wash properly in.service was very good especially dining room,food was a bit too upmarket for us,bit of plain meals would have been appreciated.

lynn doherty said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th January 2013

Hotel nice, lovely view over the bay to mull and surrounding isles. Arrived for one night stay so was eager to try the hot tub but unfortunately it was already been used by some selfish people who must of thought it was only for them and didn't even offer to come out even after we had been waiting for over half an hour. I wasn't prepared to share the tub with them as it is tiny and a bit too intimate for four people unless you are all very good friends !

Joy Leslie said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th January 2013

An excellent weekend (Friday 18th to Sunday 20th January) with friends. Staff very friendly, courteous and helpful. Food excellent - had a mix of Table d'hote and A La Carte. Very relaxing sitting in the conservatory watching the boats going up and down to the various islands. The rooms were clean and tidy but some perhaps could do with a little refurb.

Emma Hodge said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th January 2013

Really nice hotel and great value for the DB&B offer we purchased. The decor needed a little attention in places and shower in room was lousy. However the service and food were excellent- well worth a visit!

Stephen Fox said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 12th January 2013

Great wee weekend in Oban.

MARGARET HUNTER said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd January 2013

Room was huge and decorated to a high standard. Food was excellent and the staff could not have been more helpful. They also made our dog welcome. We will definately be back.

Alexander Hodge said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th December 2012

We had a wonderful new year break at this hotel.All the staff and guests were very friendly.Will definetly be going back.

william clark said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th December 2012

Stayed with friends at the Oban Bay Hotel over the Twixmas Break. Bedroom's were clean and well maintained. Food was excellent and can't praise the staff highly enough, it was a nice change to have your breakfast served to you at the table instead of buffet style and the cloth napkins were a nice touch. This was our first stay at the Oban Bay but won't be our last.

Jonny McCulloch said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 27th December 2012

The Oban Bay was a very good hotel,the staff were fantastic, the room was good and the food was just the best but there were some things that weren't Ok, like, dogs were allowed in public areas, and there were a few residents that had asthma and were coughing and had to take there inhalers because of the dog hair in the air. There were hair balls lying on the floor of the conservatory and a lot of people agreed with us that dog should not be allowed in the public areas.There was an issue with our bathroom that we reported to reception, they would have moved us but the room they offered us was a ground floor with no view but we said no to that. The hot tub was not clean, I went into the hot tub and found things floating in it, so i got out straight away. we were there from the 27th Dec, to the 30th Dec. if you require any more information you can contact myself at jonnymcculloch@hotmail.com Thanks

stuart mclean said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 23rd December 2012

i have just senta email to crerar hotels to complain about our toilet having skid marks in our toilet it was a disgrace to walk in to a toilet and be greeted by this it was a disgrace the girl from reception had to clean it.

jacquie orr said...

54%
40%
60%
60%

Stayed 17th December 2012

although the hotel was very quiet dont think we got the best avaliable room very small with a view of a wall !!

Alexander Ritchie said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 7th December 2012

My wife and I spent a very pleasant week-end at the Oban Bay Hotel.We found all staff efficient and courteous and will definitely return at some future date.

Clifford Hier said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th November 2012

Room was cold but after a word with reception they put another heater in the room. It was the coldest night of the winter so far. We were more than happy with this. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would recommend Oban Bay Hotel to our friends.

Jim Ramsay said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th November 2012

Enjoyed our stay food good .the two waiters in dining room were excellent

Ann McKinlay said...

57%
30%
80%
60%

Stayed 24th November 2012

Always enjoy staying at the Oban Bay Hotel. If the room we had this time was Best Available then I wouldn't give much for the others. The toilet bowl was cracked which was a bit offputting.

Colin Thomson said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 11th November 2012

Very nice setting, food also not bad, service very good. Value for money break but rooms, hallways, doors in serious need of a good paint.It would make a huge difference.

Christine Ferguson said...

30%
0%
20%
70%

Stayed 24th October 2012

This hotel is in a beautiful location, and is staffed on the front desk by an excellent team. When we arrived, however, we found that our shower had absolutely no water pressure on the hot tap, and a that a couple of the lights were broken. I reported this, and was offered the use of room by the spa/lobby to bathe in. We were told we could change there, but as it was in a very busy area, and we'd encountered a very drunk party in the hallway outside the spa that same evening, we decided it might be best to stay in our room and just use the alternate shower in the hope that ours might get fixed in the course of our two-day stay. We heard nothing more about it. I raised the issue again when we checked out, and the helpful dest attendant offered to speak to her manager about it. When she came back, she explained that her manager had told her that because we had got a discounted rate (booked through this website), he would not drop it any further. So be warned, other bookers-- the rate you are paying here does not, apparently, entitle you to full service and amenities such as hot water; if you encounter a problem in your room, you're on your own.

Mr Shields said...

44%
60%
0%
70%

Stayed 22nd October 2012

Nice clean hotel with very pleasant helpful staff.

Drew Lyall said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 19th October 2012

No complaints whatsoever given the cost of our break. The room was clean, and tastefully furnished, while the en suite appeared to have been recently refurbished and was ideal for a 2 night stay (the absence of a bath might not an issue on a short break). Staff were friendly and courteous, and service was relaxed but attentive. The food was of a very good standard given the deal on offer. We didn't lose sleep over the limited parking - the 2 minute walk to nearby free roadside parking was hardly a trial. If I had any suggestions, it would be to put some prints in the stairwell as it seemed a bit drab and institutional, but that's a small detail. We'd certainly go back. Thanks for an enjoyable and relaxed break.

Susie Quist said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 19th October 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Oban Bay Hotel and would consider staying again in the future. The location was excellent and it was very relaxing enjoying a drink or two looking over the bay. We found the food to be of very good standard although limited choice which didnt suit everyone in our party. The rooms were a bit shabby and a bit neglected. Our room had a large piece of plaster and a handle missing from the window, shower coming away from the wall and very obvious cracks in the ceiling. We didnt feel that the rooms were maintained to the same standard as the lounge, bar, reception area of the hotel. This being said, they were clean. We were fortunate to get a very good deal for our stay, and if the same deal was on offer again, we would consider staying at the Oban Bay again. However, we would not pay the full price displayed in the reception as it did not reflect the standard of rooms.