Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Angus Hotel, Blairgowrie

Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie, PH106NQ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 19th May 2017

It was a very nice stay and dinner and breakfast was lovely.

Mrs Todd said...

40%
40%
40%
40%

Stayed 12th April 2017

Will certainly not return to this hotel!! The room we were in smelled strongly of chorline from the swimming pool!! The food was mediocre to say the least and when I complained about the delay in getting the wine or ordered I was told in no uncertain terms that the hotel was busy, 20 minutes to unscrew a top. If the hotel is busy extra staff should be recruited. Thank goodness my booking was only for 1 night!

A guest said...

70%
70%
80%
60%

Stayed 16th April 2017

Pool area not at all welcoming and dirty looking. Lift mirrors dirty not good first impression. No hotel information in the room . Told to access via TV but receptionist at the time had no idea how to.

A guest said...

40%
70%
40%
10%

Stayed 16th April 2017

My wife and I stayed at The Angus 3 weeks ago and it was lovely,co complaints.We stayed again Sunday 16th April.Oh my goodness you would never think we were at the same hotel.On arrival we waited a long time to be checked in as the receptionist was on the phone.Just as well we were there 3 weeks ago because we were not asked what time we would like to book for dinner'.Our room that we were allocated was obviously used before us by a heavy smoker.We asked at reception to change which wasn't any bother. Room 21 was lovely.Dinner was a total nightmare.It said at the bottom of the menu that you can use your £15 for dinner and pick from Baytree menu.The waitress said "I,ll need to ask the chef as we are really busy"We said "don't bother it's ok" Why have that on DBB menu when you get that reaction?.Soup was ok, my salad was ok.My husbands fish was disgusting.The couple next to us had the fish and they agreed.I said " I thought you saw my husbands fish and was shocked you chose it" She said "we didn't"There was coach tours in and i feel The Angus had taken on to much.What a waste of £80. When checking out we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay ( i wonder why). We also felt that some of the staff had an abrupt manner. On a positive note,the chap that does breakfast is very fast and efficient.

A Christie said...

14%
20%
10%
10%

Stayed 9th April 2017

This was the worst experience in a hotel that I have ever had. I have stayed at the Angus Hotel on over 20 occasions. What has happened to it? No wifi, the TV in room not working, slow check in at reception, food very, very average, service at meal times slow, menus in restaurant unimaginative and limited. Waited 15 minutes to be acknowledged and served at dinner. That was the final straw, checked out on the 2nd night of out 3 night break. I couldn't take anymore. On raising all these issues with the manager, she gave me plenty of excuses but never once did she apologise for any bad service or experience that we had. This hotel is rapidly going downhill, its such a shame because I used to love it and looked forward to my breaks here.

Lawrence Adamson said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th April 2017

Nice ideally located hotel,basic but adequate room with usual facil, staff were friendly & attentive, meals were very good,with varied menu,I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a short break, the service impressed so much that I will return!?

Lorna Finlay said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 8th April 2017

Lovely hotel rooms very clean afternoon tea was very nice. Evening meal was delicious and breakfast more than filling lovely sausages even catered for gluten free great all round night away.

Douglas Smith said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 18th March 2017

Stayed at the Angus Hotel for their 70's / 80's tribute weekend on a DBB basis. The staff were welcoming at the desk and check in was very smooth. The room we had was spacious, clean and had recently had a refit with a modern bathroom and large shower which was great. The dinner was very nice and ample enough portions, we were very pleased with our dinner on both nights. Breakfast was in a buffet style so you could help yourself to whatever you wanted, very pleased wit the the breakfasts on both days. On the basis of our recent stay we will be returning in the very near future to attend another one of their tribute weekends as we had a fabulous time at the Angus Hotel. I would definately recommend this hotel for a weekend away based on excellent staff service, really nice food and a great location for exploring the surrounding area. Well done everyone at the Angus ! Great Value for Money !

james simpson said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 10th March 2017

Very good value for money break. Decent standard hotel with polite and professional staff throughout.

Sam Colley said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd March 2017

Excellent value Staff were very helpful and friendly. Lovely room All our requirements were fulfilled. 10 out of 10. We will be back

Josephine Collin said...

64%
60%
60%
70%

Stayed 24th February 2017

Had a fantastic time once settled. A couple of issues asked for all rooms to be close to one another this did not happen. One couple were given 2 single beds but once they reported it this was soon changed. My husband and I got a room far away from the rest of the crowd and was nothing but a box room. I went down and reported my concerns and another lady helped me by finding another room which was great. Food and entertainment were great.

Alison Yates said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th February 2017

Had a great time at the Angus Hotel staff were very helpful rooms were very nice there was 7 in our party entertainment on both nights was very good and food was excellent would defiantly do tribute week end again great value for the money

A guest said...

67%
70%
60%
70%

Stayed 11th February 2017

Service s bit slow on restaurant on the Friday night. Tables not cleared of glasses on the Saay night which meant bar ran out of glasses. Choice of drinks, both alcoholic and non-alcoholic not great. Good food. Only one member of staff covering the bar and serving meals at lunch time which meant tables weren't cleared. A bit more organisation from management required I think.

A guest said...

80%
70%
100%
70%

Stayed 12th February 2017

Great deal on DBB and afternoon tea. Reception staff are so accommodating and friendly. A cheap and cheerful deal for a wee getaway with a friend. Breakfast was brilliant!

Susan Fay said...

54%
70%
40%
50%

Stayed 12th February 2017

The room was clean and comfortable but small and no view from the window, just rooftops. The bathroom had been refurbished recently and was very nice, but the shower was very slow to drain. Nice swimming pool with individual changing areas. Food quite bland and plain. No apple sauce or mustard offered to accompany the pork loin. The waiter repeatedly reached across my husband when serving my meal, despite there being adequate room to serve me from my side of the table. Although I ordered poached eggs at breakfast which were brought to me perfectly cooked. Following a swim before checking out, I returned to my room at 10.45 to discover it was being cleaned and my coat and bottled drink had been removed and left on the landing. The receptionist explained that as my husband had removed our bags and gone out, the staff assumed that we had checked out and left my coat by mistake. She did offer me a coffee in the bar, which I declined. Needless to say I will not be returning there.

E Orr said...

54%
40%
60%
60%

Stayed 11th February 2017

Hotel in good location, unfortunately the swimming pool was being used for swimming classes - so only part of the pool in use for guests and jacuzzi not operating. The room was very small and almost impossible to have a shower - reverted to holding shower head in hand. The tribute evening was very good. The staff were pleasant but some lack experience to deal with large crowds at one time. We were on DBB rate and made request to vary menu - extras had to be paid for at bar before we could eat so not a very good impression!

E Orr said...

54%
40%
60%
60%

Stayed 11th February 2017

Hotel in good location, unfortunately the swimming pool was being used for swimming classes - so only part of the pool in use for guests and jacuzzi not operating. The room was very small and almost impossible to have a shower - reverted to holding shower head in hand. The tribute evening was very good. The staff were pleasant but some lack experience to deal with large crowds at one time. We were on DBB rate and made request to vary menu - extras had to be paid for at bar before we could eat so not a very good impression!

Lynn French said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 10th February 2017

The food,Entertainment and Spa was excellent.The staff were all very helpful and friendly too.Would definitely come back here to stay for a short break again.

A guest said...

64%
50%
70%
70%

Stayed 10th February 2017

Table very cramped at tribute night and room cold. Band were good

James Spiers said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd February 2017

Arrived at hotel mix up with room, sorted within minutes, great staff great hotel we had a brilliant stay. The Beatles tribute night was tremendous. Would stay at The Angus Hotel again.

Carol Russell said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th January 2017

Friendly staff and great value for money, only downside was that our room was a bit cold but we managed. Lovely town to explore plus beautiful scenery. There were 14 of us away for the weekend here and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will definitely go back in the future.

John McQueenie said...

80%
60%
80%
100%

Stayed 13th January 2017

The room could have been better needs a bit of attention the shower was not very good and the shower head was very small with very little pressure. The radiator in the room only half heated up and the furniture was dated. On the plus side the bed was big an comfortable and there was plenty of storage space in the room. Overall the service was good just a bit slow in clearing tables. The food was excellent with plenty of choice. We had a really enjoyable weekend the show first class and we will be visiting this hotel again in the future

J Irvine said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 27th December 2016

Very enjoyable 3 night twixmas stay with our friends. Friendly & hardworking staff. Excellent tribute band included in the package. Good choice at breakfast (all buffet service) & dinner. Bar prices a bit expensive although package deal was excellent value. We had room 62 which had a lovely newly fitted bathroom. Water pressure / temp quite poor though & would suggest a blind put up at window as the frosted glass isn't enough to obscure view from outside when light is on.

A Murdoch said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th December 2016

Had a great stay at the Angus staff were great will be back when in area

Deborah McVicar said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 11th November 2016

Very disappointed to find the bar did not sell Smirnoff Vodka, was told by bar staff to buy our own from the shop round the corner only for the manager to then tell us this was not allowed. One of our party can only drink this brand and have never come across anywhere that does not sell it. Food was very good and the Jy Boys Tribute Night was excellent. 3 of our rooms were lovely, nice big beds but 1 room was tiny and the bathroom was so small not even one person could move in it!!!