Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, Dumfries

English Street, Dumfries, DG12DF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

Thomas Forsyth said...

80%
60%
80%
100%

Stayed 13th October 2012

Nice friendly welcome, room a bit dated, shower fantastic, food and entertainment fantastic, enjoyable stay, would definately come back

Ian Conway said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th October 2012

Excellent short stay,staff very friendly and helpfull and food also excellent will definitely return

Margaret Montgomery said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th October 2012

We found this hotel a delight- all staff 1st class swimming pool and spa great for relaxing- also only 5 mins walk from town centre - train station 2 mins walk away.

Robert Donald said...

47%
50%
40%
50%

Stayed 21st September 2012

Best room available policy is not operated here as our room was tiny to say the least we asked to be moved but were told the hotel was full,and half the rooms were out of use due to fire alarm problems.We were also unable to use the shower and were told we should both use the leisure facilities as they were unsure of when the shower would be repaired, after initially reporting shower fault at 6.25 we had no other option and used the leisure centre at 7.40pm as it closes at 8.00.good start to our evening of entertainment at the cairndale! The dining room staff were unsure of the courses some guests got 4 excluding tea/coffee others got 3 excluding tea/coffee with no one able to clarify what was meant to be served

Susan Cupper said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 21st September 2012

Lovely stay, lovely people, lovely hotel only grey area was the food allowance - staff did not make it clear what was within budget allowed and what extras would be charged. It also varied from the first night to the second. Otherwise brilliant.

Gary Kerr said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th September 2012

We really enjoyed our stay and leisure facilities were excellent. Evening meal was superb and staff could not have been any friendlier or helpful. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

H McPherson said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 14th September 2012

ENJOYED OUR STAY VERY MUCH. UNFORTUNATELY WE WERE NOTIN 1 OF THE REFURBISHED ROOMS BUT THE ROOM WAS NONETHELESS MORE THAN ADEQUATE. THE STAFF WERE ALL VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. WE PARTICULARLY ENJOYED THE MALE VOCALIST - KAROL ON SATURDAY EVENING

Lesley Gordon said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 14th September 2012

First room we were allocated was very small but had no problems getting another room. Food was excellent and staff very good. Only problem was we found it very noisy at night coming from passing pedestrians. Fire alarm went off due to vandals running into hotel entrance, felt staff could have kept us better informed about what was happening. Still had a great weekend.

lynette mccrae said...

44%
10%
60%
60%

Stayed 30th August 2012

staff in reception we slow accknoledge customers waiting to collect keys even when 4 staff we standing there. both mornings at breakfastthe staff we slow to get us our tea and toast. staff need to be more observent to their customers. i have been to serveral classicbritian holtels and woulds not return to this one. rooms were fine location and hotel

Elizabeth Paluch said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th August 2012

Service and satff were excellent. The only downside was that the room we syayed in needed a refurbishment as the carpet was stained and there were damp stains round the windows.

robert sharp said...

80%
80%
70%
90%

Stayed 17th August 2012

my wife and i enjoyed our stay at the weekend this is our second time weve stayed and we enjoyed both times we would definitely come back many thanks robert sharp room 51

Gerard Campbell said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 17th August 2012

This is the fourth time we have stayed at this hotel and we will go back again the rooms are good the food is good and the hotel staff are very helpfull

Robert Neil said...

77%
80%
60%
90%

Stayed 4th August 2012

Scottish Night was excellent, a very nice, clean hotel, very close to centre of Dumfries - food is excellent and well served by very attentive young waiters/waitresses - we will definately be back.

Mrs Walker said...

54%
80%
40%
40%

Stayed 28th July 2012

We went here for my sister's 60th birthday. My sister has had a stroke and is in a wheelchair. There was 16 of us and we had booked a table in the restaurant for 7.30pm. it was chaotic - we were mistaken initially for attending the tribute night and offered the set menu which didn't have a suitable vegetarian option for my niece. They then offered her chips for her main course. When we asked to speak to the manager the mistake was discovered and we were then offered the correct menu. However when the meal arrived the chips were not cooked properly for 6 of the party. It was a disaster and really ruined our special evening. However the rooms were comfortable and the breakfast and the pool was good with the hotel in a good location. But we were so dissappointed as our evening was ruined.

linda dunbar said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st July 2012

My self and my husband thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was lovely and the grease show was brilliant on Saturday night too.we will be going back soon i hope.

Anne Merritt said...

34%
50%
20%
30%

Stayed 6th July 2012

Leisure facilities were good, room clean, food was not as good as we have had elsewhere and the service at the evening entertainment was not good-2hours to have our meal, not very well organised at all.

alexander begbie said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th July 2012

Great weekend. Place was lovely. Food, service and facilities were excellent! Would love to come back.

angela wallace said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 30th June 2012

the windows in room were very dirty.the sawney restaurant the food was not nice at all my starter was cold my main course was bland and tastless(fish and chips)i was not impressed with the chefs skills off constantly using a microwave thats not cooking.the reivera restuarant the food was beautiful.the pool and gym area was clean and very nice.staff were really nice.

Shirley Dunlop said...

60%
80%
80%
20%

Stayed 19th May 2012

Lovely hotel and receptionist on our arrival was very helpful. Only downside was the dinner we had in the bar. Spaghetti Carbonara was VERY salty as was the Special of the Day my mum and sister had. Couldn't fault breakfast

ANDREW BALLANTINE said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 30th April 2012

Great break hotel and staff excellent food limited selection but ample and well prepaired Reivers restaurant food exceptional spa well maintained with helpful staff tv system needs updating

Esther Tillery said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st April 2012

Enjoyed a super 2nt break. LIFT out of order but that was just unfortunate.

Michael McCormack said...

54%
60%
70%
30%

Stayed 16th April 2012

Hotel was clean and tidy.Leisure facilities were good.The bar area was poor with a poor selection of tap lager.The menu was very poor and the food was not great.

Albert Smithson said...

64%
70%
70%
50%

Stayed 15th April 2012

hotel convenient to town centre, good parking faclities, breakfast good choices, evening meals poor choices and same monotonous daily menu except 'dish of the day'. Evening staff appeared new and disorganised although friendly

Pauline Morton said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th April 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel 13/14th April rooms were adequate for our needs the staff were most helpfull and very professional. There was a good choice for breakfast & the dinner/cabaret night was marvellous, overall we had a very enjoyable stay and would visit the Cairndale again. Well done.

A Connor said...

64%
60%
60%
70%

Stayed 13th April 2012

No complaints - effectively got what we paid for