Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Isles Of Glencoe Hotel, Ballachulish

, Ballachulish, PH494HL, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

90%

Hazel Scofield said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 22nd February 2013

We stayed over a weekend and found the staff very friendly and helpful. All views outstanding I like to swim and the swimming pool facilities very good

Lynn Campbell said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 22nd February 2013

Enjoyed our stay as usual. We do really like this hotel and the staff are always so friendly and they always make our wee dog so welcome too. I wish they would just give the hotel a wee bit of tlc as the wear and tear is starting to really show in some places. It is always clean but just needs a wee bit of work. The weather was fabulous for the time of year and the views amazing as always and the hills had a dusting of snow it was beautiful. As always the swimming pool was great and I always enjoy the food. We will certainly be back again before too much longer.

John Fraser said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd February 2013

we had a lovely stay here as usual but they do badly need to get the furnishings renewed in lounge and dining room.

JACKIE LAMB said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd February 2013

On arrival we were given a cold room on the ground floor with twin beds pushed together. We also appeared to be next to a family room which was occupied by a family with young children. We asked the manager if she could offer us another room that was warmer & in a quieter area of the hotel. She did manage to give us a larger (family) room on the 3rd floor with a double bed. This appeared to be the 'best room available'. We feel we should have been offered this room initially. The only other issue we came across was the dispute regarding the drinks vouchers. Rose wine had been given on Friday night but we had to involve the manager again on Saturday night when it was deemed 'not included as part of the voucher'. The manager, Lesley, dealt with the problems efficiently & with a smile. All members of staff were pleasant & courteous. The location of the hotel is perfect with amazing views of the Scottish countryside. However, there are areas within the hotel that are dated & in need of an update. The lounge area furniture requires reupholstered or replaced. The conservatory dining furniture needs some TLC to prevent the tables & chairs from wobbling. We enjoyed our stay but would we return? Who knows!!!

gerard mcgeoch said...

77%
50%
100%
80%

Stayed 22nd February 2013

A bit tired and run down. No hot water one morning!

J Devlin said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th February 2013

We have been visiting The Isles of Glencoe Hotel every Feb for the past ten years. We have observed several changes in ownership over the years from it's original family owned business to the current owners. We still love staying at the hotel and enjoy its location immensely; however we feel that the decor could benefit from some updating. The food remains a good standard. The staff are generally very welcoming and helpful and on the whole have been accommodating with our request to stay in our favourite room each visit. Although it has lost some of its charm from our original visits, we will no doubt continue to book it for our Feb breaks. We still really enjoy our stays helped by the beautiful scenery and plenty of long walks and some much needed relaxing in the pool afterwards.

Ian Scott said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 13th February 2013

Been many times before over the years. Furniture/fittings in public spaces becoming a bit worn and some require replacement/repair to keep standard high. Still a great hotel but don't want to get complacent!

L Cook said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th February 2013

We have just returned from a 2 day stay with our 4 year old and had a fabulous stay. Our well designed family room overlooked the loch (in fact it was so close you could almost touch it!), the staff were very friendly. It has to have one of the best locations in Scotland. Highly recommended.

William Cameron said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th February 2013

Overall we had an excellant break,room was nice and clean and food was very good.Staff were very polite and helpfull.The only negative point was the spa facilities, changing room is inadequate, Sauna not up to standard and pool too small for the size of Hotel. I will go back.

Jeff Reid said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th February 2013

Nice and relaxing.scenery outstanding.hotel clean and tidy,but getting a bit tired in places.was a very good deal,and would recommend.this was our third stay in 3 years.....

catherine paterson said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th February 2013

We enjoyed our time at this hotel .staff where helpful .and pleasant .nice scenery. But not much to do outside the hotel .

trevor foster said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 8th February 2013

enjoyed our stay lovely setting friendly staff good food some furniture in public areas needed attending to but overall good weekend

yvonne Devine said...

77%
30%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th February 2013

Have been three times to this hotel and this time our room was not up the same standard as before we had to change rooms as mattress was shocking and the other room was smeling like a mens toilet really bad smell. we had booked in november and we got a zip room really small and bed wasnt a full double.

linda berry said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th February 2013

This was our 5th visit, and cannot commend the staff enough, especially Dot and the Bar Manager.However, it was very evident there was a staff shortage, especially at breakfast, a full hotel with very few staff. Not enough staff to clear tables, and the working staff were under extreme pressure.The Bar Manager and Dot deserve a medal, managing to service so many guests and always with a smile and under pressure. The young staff also did well although needed guidance.Tracy also helped out enormously with restaurant etc, although this should not obviously be in her remit.What we have noticed though is that the upholstered furniture in the lounge and bedrooms is in much need of refurbishment, and also the carpets in the bedrooms.Although the fabric of the Hotel is looking a bit tired, which can be fixed, the warmth and customer service from the staff is second to none.So in a nutshell,the budgetery constraints show in the fabric of the Hotel, but that is not down to the staff but to the owners. Refurbish, staff up and it would be 5 star. Can't forget the people who service the rooms, perfect, but again can only service what is there. The guy in Reception was very professional, but again as are all the staff.This is a lovely hotel in a wonderful location which we come back to year after year, and it is down to the dedication and professionalism of your staff that brings us back.Please make their job easier by ensuring that adequate staff are available especially when you are fully booked, you know how may people are staying.! So sorry we didn't get the name of the Bar Manager, red haired, lovely guy, to mention him personally. Yes, we will be back again next year as normal, but please look after your people, for without them,there would be no Highland Welcome from the Isles of Glencoe. Much love and see you next year, Linda and Jim Berry . PS The meals were gorgeous.!!! So compliments to the Chef!! and thanks for making Jim's Birthday week-end such a good one.!!

CAROL MYLES said...

80%
70%
100%
70%

Stayed 1st February 2013

Hotel staff extremely helpful, had a lovely stay

Ross Gibson said...

67%
60%
80%
60%

Stayed 1st February 2013

The hotel room that we stayed in could do with re-decorating, it seemed a bit dated. The food was fine, the last time I stayed at the hotel (5 years ago) the selection was much better. Overall i enjoyed my stay, the hotel was clean and staff were friendly but it could do with modernisation.

Brian Anderson said...

74%
80%
80%
60%

Stayed 26th January 2013

Good hotel, Limited menu and breakfast but all in all a nice place to stay.

MAUREEN NOLAN said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 26th January 2013

I enjoyed my stay. Would have been good if there was a bit of entertainment in the hotel at night as the weather was too bad to leave the hotel at night.

Mr Muir said...

84%
80%
100%
70%

Stayed 25th January 2013

great stay staff very helpfull rooms a good size very clean , comfortable bed .views to die for .small pool but nice and warm excellent stay would recommend especially for dog owners

Alistair MacPhee said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 25th January 2013

Always enjoy my break at the Isies of Glencoe hotel the hotel is on the whole very good but is starting to look a bit tired in need of a bit of refurbishment. Staff very good

Catherine Allen said...

67%
70%
80%
50%

Stayed 24th January 2013

Only complaint we had was it was very chilly in restuarant and lounge fire could only give off a small amount of heat.

Neal Depledge said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 20th January 2013

My partner and I had a pleasant stay at the hotel, the staff were friendly and courteous. The facilities were also very good.

kenneth mckenzie said...

67%
70%
90%
40%

Stayed 20th January 2013

bedroom nice with good view. Sauna didnt work properly, swimming pool nice and warm. food not so good but very overpriced. staff all very helpful

david Robertson said...

60%
50%
80%
50%

Stayed 20th January 2013

patio doors were draughty which made it cold given the weather. Dinner was very good but we were disappointed in the breakfasts by comparison to a previous visit.

Rosemary Steele said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th January 2013

Staff very pleasant, friendly and helpful. Food very good. Furniture in bar could do with being upgraded. Bathrooms in rooms although clean but could do with being updated.