Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Oban Bay Hotel, Oban

Corran Esplanade, Oban, PA345AE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

lorna blanchard said...

57%
10%
80%
80%

Stayed 19th October 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Oban Bay Hotel, lovely views from the front, staff were friendly and helpful, good food. Small complaints room was clean but are tired and dated with ensuite facilities poor in room 23, windows frames were black with damp. Also lack of parking facilities on site and had to park on street further along not outside hotel.

Ronald Storey said...

70%
60%
90%
60%

Stayed 12th October 2012

Decor and fittings very tired and run down,For an Executive room very disappointed with size and standard of decor and furniture,grouting in bathroom mouldy,toilet basin cracked badly at floor level,room heater did not work though to be fair a replacement was provided.Meals could have done with more variation on set menu.

Ian Mckenzie said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 7th October 2012

We had a lovedly stay at the Oban Bay. Everything was just great

Patricia Middlemist said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 7th October 2012

Staff friendly and helpful, accommodation comfortable and clean and views from the lounge absolutely beautiful!

Lindsay Ritchie said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th October 2012

We were in room 132 which was clean and warm with good facilities , however it was at the back of the hotel which had a bit of a grotty view. The food was well presented and adequate.

Marion Cairns said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd October 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Oban Bay. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was good and generous portions. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Robert McGlynn said...

44%
30%
50%
50%

Stayed 30th September 2012

Were not given the best room available when we arrived at the hotel. Room was small, dank with mildew on the windows and no heating. The smell was over powering when you walk in the room! Alternative room, same size but habitable and certainly not the best available. Had booked the Romantic Break - Champagne and chocs on arrive. Eventually got them after an initial "we don't supply them....", the production of my copy of the booking and a phone call to a manager. Know one other couple had the same problem. Would not stay at this hotel again.

D Golightly said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th September 2012

Overall a good stay. The lack of parking should be taken into consideration when booking this hotel especially for the less mobile.

Mary Kelly said...

67%
50%
100%
50%

Stayed 22nd September 2012

Due to computer error Oban Bay Hotel was over booked.We were transfered to the Columba Hotel for same price.

Derek Brant said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st September 2012

Have stayed here before so knew quality to expect. We were not dissappointed. Up to high standard as usual. Will go again in future.

Linda Kemp said...

74%
50%
70%
100%

Stayed 19th September 2012

Good value stay. Bedrooms a bit small. Staff friendly and attentive with one exception, who when on shift seemed to put a damper on the rest of the staff team. This person had poor customer service skills and was generally rude and off hand to guests.

Ian Peattie said...

67%
60%
70%
70%

Stayed 16th September 2012

Amazing view from bedroom window as the ferries sailed past. Pleasant staff.

Brian Morris said...

60%
40%
80%
60%

Stayed 15th September 2012

Bedrooms ok but bathrooms in need of upgrading toilet seat was chipped and stained plus bucket lid broken. The bar/lounge were nice with good views but drinks were expensive. Overall the hotel is fine but certain areas do need upgrading urgently.

Lorna Mclean said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 14th September 2012

The only criticisms I have about hotel are that lighting in bedrooms isn't bright in places near mirrors ( found it very difficult to deal with contact lenses in dull lighting) the showers in spa weren't working properly and instructions for massage chair would be easier to read on left hand wall nearer the chair. Staff were very helpful and food great. Will recommend hotel to friends.

Graeme Strachan said...

60%
70%
50%
60%

Stayed 14th September 2012

Hotel was ok, none of the pleasantries in room like lotions, conditioner, tissues etc only 1 shampoo and 1 soap. Many of the service staff appeared to be foreign and there were instances of errors due to language difficulties but in general stay was not bad.

janet vance said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th September 2012

all staff really friendly. hotel has a nice homely feel. be carefull in steam room as steam jet gets very hot and is close to legs. hot tub fab. could do with a water cooler for when you come out of sauna for a drink. on the whole cant complain about the family room nice and clean. brakfast cooked to order.

David Dick said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 7th September 2012

A very enjoyabkle stay with caring and attentive staff

William Connelly said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 1st September 2012

Nice hotel with pleasant staff and good food

richard morrison said...

67%
80%
70%
50%

Stayed 31st August 2012

ok stay would return

LORNA BENNETT said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 11th August 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Oban Bay Hotel and Spa, location was perfect, seating area ideal for looking over the bay and watching the ferries passing. Food was fine and service good.

Kerry Quinn said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 28th July 2012

The staff were very accomadating and helpful. I had my four year son with me and the staff were very friendly and welcoming towards him depsite the fact that the hotel is probably mainly suited for adults. The view from the conservatory was amazing. Overall I will definetly look to return to the hotel again and will be recommendingt o my firends nad family.

Graeme Bass said...

80%
70%
100%
70%

Stayed 25th July 2012

The staff are the jewel in the crown here. Friendly, professional, efficient and welcoming, they made my stay a pleasure.

A Sinclair said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 1st June 2012

We had not realised that there was no lift and at 80+ found the stairs to the 2d floor a bit difficult.There did not appear to be a porter but the receptionist kindly carried our case to the bedroom as we would not have managed this ourselves.

Sandra Ogilvie said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 11th May 2012

Pros:Lovely location, friendly staff. Cons:a)Felt meal times were very rushed,b)requested a cocktail one evening but only bar staff member was unable to do this as not trained!

T Lloyd said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 5th May 2012

The hotel had a great position at the end of Oban so away from any noise. The hotel had put in 4 single beds as I was away with gran and my 2 kids, it was a bit tight but it was only for sleeping so it was great.