Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Oban Bay Hotel, Oban

Corran Esplanade, Oban, PA345AE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

92%

stuart mclean said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 23rd December 2012

i have just senta email to crerar hotels to complain about our toilet having skid marks in our toilet it was a disgrace to walk in to a toilet and be greeted by this it was a disgrace the girl from reception had to clean it.

jacquie orr said...

54%
40%
60%
60%

Stayed 17th December 2012

although the hotel was very quiet dont think we got the best avaliable room very small with a view of a wall !!

Alexander Ritchie said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 7th December 2012

My wife and I spent a very pleasant week-end at the Oban Bay Hotel.We found all staff efficient and courteous and will definitely return at some future date.

Clifford Hier said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th November 2012

Room was cold but after a word with reception they put another heater in the room. It was the coldest night of the winter so far. We were more than happy with this. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. We would recommend Oban Bay Hotel to our friends.

Jim Ramsay said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 28th November 2012

Enjoyed our stay food good .the two waiters in dining room were excellent

Ann McKinlay said...

57%
30%
80%
60%

Stayed 24th November 2012

Always enjoy staying at the Oban Bay Hotel. If the room we had this time was Best Available then I wouldn't give much for the others. The toilet bowl was cracked which was a bit offputting.

Colin Thomson said...

70%
60%
80%
70%

Stayed 11th November 2012

Very nice setting, food also not bad, service very good. Value for money break but rooms, hallways, doors in serious need of a good paint.It would make a huge difference.

Christine Ferguson said...

30%
0%
20%
70%

Stayed 24th October 2012

This hotel is in a beautiful location, and is staffed on the front desk by an excellent team. When we arrived, however, we found that our shower had absolutely no water pressure on the hot tap, and a that a couple of the lights were broken. I reported this, and was offered the use of room by the spa/lobby to bathe in. We were told we could change there, but as it was in a very busy area, and we'd encountered a very drunk party in the hallway outside the spa that same evening, we decided it might be best to stay in our room and just use the alternate shower in the hope that ours might get fixed in the course of our two-day stay. We heard nothing more about it. I raised the issue again when we checked out, and the helpful dest attendant offered to speak to her manager about it. When she came back, she explained that her manager had told her that because we had got a discounted rate (booked through this website), he would not drop it any further. So be warned, other bookers-- the rate you are paying here does not, apparently, entitle you to full service and amenities such as hot water; if you encounter a problem in your room, you're on your own.

Mr Shields said...

44%
60%
0%
70%

Stayed 22nd October 2012

Nice clean hotel with very pleasant helpful staff.

Drew Lyall said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 19th October 2012

No complaints whatsoever given the cost of our break. The room was clean, and tastefully furnished, while the en suite appeared to have been recently refurbished and was ideal for a 2 night stay (the absence of a bath might not an issue on a short break). Staff were friendly and courteous, and service was relaxed but attentive. The food was of a very good standard given the deal on offer. We didn't lose sleep over the limited parking - the 2 minute walk to nearby free roadside parking was hardly a trial. If I had any suggestions, it would be to put some prints in the stairwell as it seemed a bit drab and institutional, but that's a small detail. We'd certainly go back. Thanks for an enjoyable and relaxed break.

Susie Quist said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 19th October 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Oban Bay Hotel and would consider staying again in the future. The location was excellent and it was very relaxing enjoying a drink or two looking over the bay. We found the food to be of very good standard although limited choice which didnt suit everyone in our party. The rooms were a bit shabby and a bit neglected. Our room had a large piece of plaster and a handle missing from the window, shower coming away from the wall and very obvious cracks in the ceiling. We didnt feel that the rooms were maintained to the same standard as the lounge, bar, reception area of the hotel. This being said, they were clean. We were fortunate to get a very good deal for our stay, and if the same deal was on offer again, we would consider staying at the Oban Bay again. However, we would not pay the full price displayed in the reception as it did not reflect the standard of rooms.

lorna blanchard said...

57%
10%
80%
80%

Stayed 19th October 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Oban Bay Hotel, lovely views from the front, staff were friendly and helpful, good food. Small complaints room was clean but are tired and dated with ensuite facilities poor in room 23, windows frames were black with damp. Also lack of parking facilities on site and had to park on street further along not outside hotel.

Ronald Storey said...

70%
60%
90%
60%

Stayed 12th October 2012

Decor and fittings very tired and run down,For an Executive room very disappointed with size and standard of decor and furniture,grouting in bathroom mouldy,toilet basin cracked badly at floor level,room heater did not work though to be fair a replacement was provided.Meals could have done with more variation on set menu.

Ian Mckenzie said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 7th October 2012

We had a lovedly stay at the Oban Bay. Everything was just great

Patricia Middlemist said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 7th October 2012

Staff friendly and helpful, accommodation comfortable and clean and views from the lounge absolutely beautiful!

Lindsay Ritchie said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 5th October 2012

We were in room 132 which was clean and warm with good facilities , however it was at the back of the hotel which had a bit of a grotty view. The food was well presented and adequate.

Marion Cairns said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd October 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Oban Bay. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was good and generous portions. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Robert McGlynn said...

44%
30%
50%
50%

Stayed 30th September 2012

Were not given the best room available when we arrived at the hotel. Room was small, dank with mildew on the windows and no heating. The smell was over powering when you walk in the room! Alternative room, same size but habitable and certainly not the best available. Had booked the Romantic Break - Champagne and chocs on arrive. Eventually got them after an initial "we don't supply them....", the production of my copy of the booking and a phone call to a manager. Know one other couple had the same problem. Would not stay at this hotel again.

D Golightly said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 25th September 2012

Overall a good stay. The lack of parking should be taken into consideration when booking this hotel especially for the less mobile.

Mary Kelly said...

67%
50%
100%
50%

Stayed 22nd September 2012

Due to computer error Oban Bay Hotel was over booked.We were transfered to the Columba Hotel for same price.

Derek Brant said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st September 2012

Have stayed here before so knew quality to expect. We were not dissappointed. Up to high standard as usual. Will go again in future.

Linda Kemp said...

74%
50%
70%
100%

Stayed 19th September 2012

Good value stay. Bedrooms a bit small. Staff friendly and attentive with one exception, who when on shift seemed to put a damper on the rest of the staff team. This person had poor customer service skills and was generally rude and off hand to guests.

Ian Peattie said...

67%
60%
70%
70%

Stayed 16th September 2012

Amazing view from bedroom window as the ferries sailed past. Pleasant staff.

Brian Morris said...

60%
40%
80%
60%

Stayed 15th September 2012

Bedrooms ok but bathrooms in need of upgrading toilet seat was chipped and stained plus bucket lid broken. The bar/lounge were nice with good views but drinks were expensive. Overall the hotel is fine but certain areas do need upgrading urgently.

Lorna Mclean said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 14th September 2012

The only criticisms I have about hotel are that lighting in bedrooms isn't bright in places near mirrors ( found it very difficult to deal with contact lenses in dull lighting) the showers in spa weren't working properly and instructions for massage chair would be easier to read on left hand wall nearer the chair. Staff were very helpful and food great. Will recommend hotel to friends.