Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, Carnoustie

The Links Parade, Carnoustie, DD77JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

Colin Kerr said...

57%
80%
60%
30%

Stayed 31st July 2016

Hotel and facil were excellent however the food was poor and very limited in variety of choice

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th July 2016

Nice hotel, very clean and staff really pleasant and helpful, meals were great.

A guest said...

74%
40%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th July 2016

Lovely food ,lovely helpful staff but hotel rooms dated need refurbished and hotel needs a deep clean.

Margaret Miller said...

87%
100%
100%
60%

Stayed 14th July 2016

This was my first visit to the hotel and first impressions were very good. The welcome was very pleasant and the receptionist gave us all the relevant information regarding hotel. The menus in the drawer in our room showed a wide and varied selection for our evening meal and I was looking forward to my meal.But unfortunately when we went for our meal we were advised that the menu in our room was an old one and the choices were not available. Regrettably I was unable to select anything to my liking. I asked if the waiter if the chef would make me a ham salad and the chef agreed. When it arrived I, and I might add the waiter was less than impressed. It was a bowl with lettuce in the bottom and 2 slices of ham on top. The waiter took the offering away and returned with a delicious salad. My sister in law ordered the plaice but it was so full of bones she could not eat it. The waiter apologised and offered her a glass of wine, on the house, to make up for her disappointment. On checking out the bill showed a charge for the wine and did not show that there were three of us so they only deducted 2x£27.50 for the meal allowance. The receptionist apologised and amended the bill. I asked that my thanks be extended to the waiter who had served us, his name slipped my mind, for his attention.

T Lannigan said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 15th July 2016

Very pleasant stay. Evening meal menu could be more comprehensive ( alright if you like fish) which I do by the way but could have more meat dishes

Alexander Duff said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 16th July 2016

Very good hotel with great atmosphere. Hotel preparing for the Seniors Open Golf Championships being held there, but nothing deterred our enjoyment. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Rooms were comfortable with great views over the golf course and water. Food was good in the Bistro and ll together was very good value.

jeanette Green said...

44%
50%
80%
0%

Stayed 10th July 2016

Currently awaiting reply from General Manager after our visit in regard to food so do not wish to comment further until I have received his reply.

I Burns said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 7th July 2016

Had a great stay. Room overlooked 18th hole. Food was very good and the staff were excellent.

A guest said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 8th July 2016

Asked for a room with a balcony . Got a room with balcony. Happy customer

kathleen storrie said...

67%
70%
90%
40%

Stayed 7th July 2016

Lovely hotel and surroundings hotel been freshend up since last visit. Staff very pleasant Be wary if booking on a DB & B basis from standard dinner menu if your not a lover of fish. Need more choices

P Adam said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 2nd July 2016

Another great wee break at the Carnoustie Golf Hotel and Spa. Second visit this year.

P Clark said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th June 2016

Excellent service, friendly staff and excellent food. Will be back again.

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 25th June 2016

Great hotel. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Evening meal and breakfast were lovely. Room was large with comfortable bed. TV could have been larger but you don't really go away to watch TV.

D Brydie said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 17th June 2016

Food good but a bit to much fish for me. If staying for a week the menu would be rather limited as there was no change in the four days we were there.Every thing else was fine. Would go again.

Joan Campbell said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th June 2016

Had an absolutely fabulous stay ... Room was spotless ... Meals beautiful and great value for money ... Lovely beach walks ... Very relaxing ... Already booked again to celebrate our wedding anniversary later this year ...

A guest said...

74%
100%
70%
50%

Stayed 26th May 2016

Stayed in a refurbished room and, although it was uncomfortably hot at night (heating was off), it was a good room and an excellent shower. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss - not as good as previous visits (e.g. black pudding burnt and inedible, ran out of orange juice). Overall, an ok stay. Full marks to myhotelbreak.com for the great offer.

F Marshall said...

50%
50%
50%
50%

Stayed 25th May 2016

Enjoyable break but quite a disappointment considering it is supposed to be a 4* hotel and below are a few suggestions:- 1. Doors should either be automatic and stay open long enough for a wheelchair user to get through and wide enough to allow only one door to require opening not both. 2. Severe feather allergy was notified to the hotel in advance of the stay and on arriving at the room there were 4 feather cushions on the bed. 3. Socket should be incorporated within the unit/shelf area where the kettle and mugs etc are located - do not think it is ideal for the kettle to have to be plugged in to an extension socket below a dressing table. 4. On arrival, we were neither informed of location or times for breakfast nor what time a late checkout was at. 5. Fire alarm (false alarm) disturbed our sleep on our first night around (00:30hours). 6. Would not rate this hotel as suitably adapted for infirm/disabled residents as there was only a fold down bar at one side of the toilet.

Kevin McCann said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 20th May 2016

Great stay superb facil, pleasant staff but just wished some of the room service menu was on the restaurant menu as well, for example pork, chicken, game stew and Drambuie pudding as well....burgers were fab

A guest said...

64%
30%
100%
60%

Stayed 10th May 2016

Lovely located hotel with great views and leisure facil but rooms definitely NOT of a 4* standard as furniture old, damaged and sadly not clean! All crevices were covered in dust as was the bathroom unit which was desperately requiring replaced. The overall cleanliness of the room was quite disappointing as there were dirty marks on valance sheets which obviously had been there for some time. I had requested a refurbished room as I was aware that some of the rooms were being refurbished but sadly did not get this, in fact I was advised that the hotel was full and the golfers had got the refurbished rooms! The room we got was a good size but tv was far to small infact the stand was also broke. Food was average but waitresses we had were very good.

P Simpson said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 6th May 2016

Lovely hotel. The golf view rooms are great even for a non golfer. The rooms have just been done up in fact they are still a work in progress, the bathrooms are beautiful. All the staff were lovely.

Liz Coutts said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 6th May 2016

We had yet another excellent stay at Carnoustie. We had a lovely room overlooking the golf course. Our room had been one of the recently refurnished ones and was very nice, and tastefully decorated. Our food was also excellent as was the service. I also used the spa and had a wonderful treatment with Georgina as my the, one of the best massages/facial I have had. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Iain McPherson said...

50%
50%
60%
40%

Stayed 30th April 2016

This hotel needs a lot of refurbishment in the bedrooms and bathrooms. It's starting to look very tired and dated. We were with a large party and had a two night DB&B booking. The food on the first night was very disappointing. We had to complain about the quality and quantity of several dishes. The waiting staff tried to redeem the situation by changing the dishes but the second plates offered were no better. We must have had a different chef on the second night. The food was more acceptable and tasted much better. One bone of contention ....they had no bread rolls for our soups and starters. They gave each of us a triangle of defrosted cheap brown bread instead. Very poor! Breakfast was standard and plain with no frills or extras.

Douglas Menzies said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 24th April 2016

I found the staff extremely helpful and friendly.I thought the drinks including tea and coffee overpriced

Elizabeth Brown said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd April 2016

Stay very enjoyable friendly staff and beautiful location.

Mr Wood said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 22nd April 2016

First class stay excellent room nice food and very nice staff what more could you want