Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, Carnoustie

The Links Parade, Carnoustie, DD77JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

ALAN RAMSAY said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th January 2016

Excellent. Great for a break.

A guest said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 27th December 2015

A very nice hotel with good leisure facil.

Cole Ronald said...

80%
50%
90%
100%

Stayed 28th December 2015

Meal was brilliant service was excellent room however could have been better bottom fitted sheet was too small for the bed which kept coming off night meaning i spent most my night sleeping on a mattress which isnt ideal but other than that views were breathtaking and i would stay there again

Jan Iffla said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 27th December 2015

Fantastic value for money, will definately be back.....

Alistair Mathers said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 20th December 2015

Consistently good. Bathroom a little tired, but upgrading in progress. Room comfortable, and service good as always. Breakfast plentiful.

Gillian Cossar said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th December 2015

The rooms were a bit tired and dated as were the leisure facil. The staff at the spa were excellent you went out there way to accommodate 2 treatments at short notice.

Marion Russell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th November 2015

From the minute we arrived, a party of two couples, we were made to feel welcome. The room's were both excellent and clean with all required facilities. The restaurant was temporarily re-sited due to ongoing upgrading works. Even so the staff again were friendly and highly attentive. The menu was excellent and all food served was of a truly high standard. We can not praise the hotel and staff enough for truly relaxing and enjoyable stay. We all look forward to our next break at the Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa

C Bonnar said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th November 2015

Great start to our stay as the lady on reception gave us a free upgrade. She was so pleasant and welcoming real quality. The hotel had some renovation work going on but it did not interfere with our stay. The room was very nice although a bit cold as the windows were not a great seal and it was a real wintertime cold strong wind. Views across the golf course where stunning even though the weather was bad it still looked amazing.Food was first class reading tasty, savioured every bite. Will definitely return here. Staff everywhere were exceptional.

Gerry Findlay said...

37%
30%
50%
30%

Stayed 23rd November 2015

Whilst it was known that there were ongoing renovations I did not expect to be allocated a room in amongst 4 others that were being decorated. The smell of gloss paint was overwhelming and reception staff reluctantly provided another room on a differing floor. The restaurant and bar area were also being renovated and the whole atmosphere was cold. A great location for a break and the local Indian restaurant we found called Ganges was outstanding and worth a visit if you are in the area. I'm sure the hotel and facilities will be fantastic once finished and ready to host The Open in 2018, however there are probably better breaks out there at the moment and I will try again once the work is all done.

Susan Ritchie said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd November 2015

Good hotel, friendly staff but in need of a bit of refurbishment, which is currently taking place.

Mary Wilkie said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th November 2015

Had a wonderful overnight stay here . Although the hotel was undergoing refurbishment disruption was at a minimum. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I can thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Ruth Ruddock said...

60%
80%
60%
40%

Stayed 17th November 2015

Excellent B+B deal. However breakfast was bit disappointing as there no hot buffet, which is/was surprising for busy 4 star hotel. On second morning, service for 'main' hot breakfast was slow. Although served on hot plate, scrambled egg was cold; full breakfast was overheated/dried up on both mornings. All staff we dealt with were friendly and courteous.

Alex Hunter said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th November 2015

Very enjoyable, made to feel welcome, nice staff and good food, would like to have stayed longer. We will return

Allan Herd said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 13th November 2015

Dinner was exceptional and in view of the renovations and price we paid we were happy to put up with the long delay for cooked breakfast. We were aware of other guests who had complained but the only thing I would suggest that someone had come round the tables to advise us of the delay rather than finding out by waiting. Staff were very attentive throughout. So much so we have booked again for January 2016.

A Thomas said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 13th November 2015

Had a lovely one night stay at Carnoustie golf hotel at an extremely good price. I was upgraded to a family room which was very nice. The hotel is being renovated at present which can only be a good thing as the material covering the chairs in my room was threadbare, the bathroom cabinets were very tired and the wallpaper in the hall had seen better days. But in staying all that we have booked to go back in February because it has a lovely feel to the hotel, the staff are lovely, the price was amazing, the coffee and tea etc were great, the spa area was really good. I would recommend this hotel and when the renovations are finished it will be super.

gary halstead said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th November 2015

window had quite a draught blowing in but had a nice view so jammed it shut, know rooms are dated but are a work in progress,overall service was very good from staff but a bit slow from kitchen in getting dinner out and extremely slow getting breakfast out ,still enjoyed stay though

Joe Wilson said...

74%
60%
70%
90%

Stayed 1st November 2015

Very nice break, hotel is undergoing some refurbishment. Bedroom nice enough, although a wee bit tired. Food was very good indeed. The only complaint, for which the hotel were unaware of and did offer apologizes, was that just after 7 am right outside our bedroom window a lorry skip was being uplifted - just a wee bit noisy!

E Hannah said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd October 2015

Hotel was very nice Rooms were clean but a wee bit tired No complaints though Staff in restaurant were very helpful and friendly Good value for money Would recommend this accommodation to my friends

Robert Ferns said...

74%
80%
60%
80%

Stayed 16th October 2015

The hotel is a bit tired, and in need of a makeover, however it is clean and tidy, and the staff are pleasant, albeit not very efficient, and in need of some training.

June Marshall said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 16th October 2015

Most enjoyable stay. Accommodation, Food and Service were all good. Would stay again.

Anne Mack said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th October 2015

Nice hotel-no problems. We ate in the dining room this time , not the lounge. Food very nice in both places.

PHILOMENA BRADLEY said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 5th October 2015

We booked with Classic Britain for a 3 day break in the Carnoustie Hotel , very enjoyable break , food was good and accomodation clean and comfortable , staff very helpful and knowledgeable ,leisure facilities a bonus . Only criticism would be the amount of money you were allocated for eating in the Dalhoussie restauraunt differed from the Calders Bar , also the same menu was for all nights , a change maybe would have been preferred . Other than that we had a great stay , this is our 3 rd time at the hotel and hope many more .

Linda MacDonald said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 27th September 2015

We had a wonderful break at Carnoustie Hotel, the hotel was spotlessly clean and the pool and spa facilities are second to none. The only small negative was the lengthy wait in the dining room for your meal to arrive and between courses. Having said that.... It can be forgiven, as the food is absolutely excellent and I would say worth the wait. Can't praise the chef highly enough, we would certainly recommend....and will return. Thank you Carnoustie.

J Egerton said...

47%
90%
50%
0%

Stayed 26th September 2015

first complaint was your company had booked the rooms under Mr. Malcolm. That was a problem when checking out. Hotel Lovely but food awful. Manager gave us a refund when we complained. He was very sympathetic and explained that chef had left.

james ewing said...

70%
60%
90%
60%

Stayed 20th September 2015

Decor in bedroom/bathroom tired looking. TV far too small. No orange juice left for breakfast!