Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Angus Hotel, Blairgowrie

Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie, PH106NQ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

Natasha Munro said...

70%
60%
60%
90%

Stayed 12th August 2015

The overall hotel was nice and staff very friendly. On the first day of our stay our room was doubled booked and I went to the room there was a stranger in there with another key and in there with our personal belongings. The staffed seemed shocked and they offered us another room the next day. The next day the room took forever to get ready and we never got access till 15.10pm in the afternoon. Also the pool was suppose to be heated and it was freezing and very off putting ti go for a swim. Also on the second night of our stay some of the staff where drinking in the bar and there language was very inappropriate and where running the hotel to the ground not pleasant for customers to hear.

Hamish Long said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 12th August 2015

My wife and I enjoyed an extremely good value two-night break at the Angus hotel. The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Couldn't praise them too much. The included dinner breakfast and afternoon tea with wine were all top class. Our room was a bit noisy with old creaking floors but you expect this in an old Scottish hotel. Also the shower was a little awkward. All said and done though we enjoyed our stay and had no complaints.

G Brown said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th August 2015

Very helpful staff, receptionist , manager and waitresses, great deal, lovely food,rooms lovely, hotel could do with a freshend up

Melville Schofield said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 11th August 2015

Very pleasant stAy. Clean comfortable friendly staff

Mary Campbell said...

70%
70%
60%
80%

Stayed 10th August 2015

We were given the key to room 80 after checking in at reception. The room had not been cleaned after the last guest. We came back after a couple of hours and everything was fine. Our break included afternoon tea but we only received it on the first day. On checking out I had to argue my case as I was being charged an extra

Wendy Cheetham said...

34%
60%
40%
0%

Stayed 10th August 2015

Room mixup, disasterious food very poor and waiting staff could do with some customer service training, very disappointing visit for our anniversary still waiting to hear from hotel from checkout on tuesday 11th august

Carol Wemyss said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 6th August 2015

Enjoyed our stay. Staff were helpful, and the food was lovely.

IC Holloway said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 6th August 2015

Welcoming, helpful and friendly staff. Unfortunately we couldn't get wifi in our room (105). Dinner nicely cooked and presented though no meat option.. Chicken, fish or veggie. Good value

John Hume said...

64%
60%
70%
60%

Stayed 5th August 2015

Blairgowrie is a nice little town,and The Angus Hotel is a perfect place to see it from.It is a typical friendly hotel and the staff make it what it is. The rooms are a little dated,and in need of freshening up. The food was good but not spectacular,all in all you get what you pay for and while that said ,we enjoyed our stay.

Kathleen Smith said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th August 2015

Great value for price paid

Pam Hepburn said...

67%
60%
50%
90%

Stayed 3rd August 2015

Hotel was fine but the length of time it took to be served the evening meal was very poor. It was noted that there were 2 coaches of people in the function room but we were never explained why there was a delay and having to wait 45 minutes between courses was excessive. The bedroom we had was very small and looked out onto a wall.

Mr Morton said...

60%
20%
80%
80%

Stayed 3rd August 2015

after a poor first night caused by our room being above the spa area which made the room unbearable with the heat and the droning noise all night long from either a fan or a pump the staff moved us for the second night without much upset although it didn't compensate for a sleepless first night as of this problem I am marking down the bedrooms

Jean Telfer said...

54%
50%
60%
50%

Stayed 1st August 2015

Hotel was a bit shabby . Needs some money spent on it .

Mrs Harvey said...

60%
40%
60%
80%

Stayed 31st July 2015

Bedroom badly needs updated, bathroom was the smallest we've ever seen !! Food was decent.

Mrs Ramage said...

40%
0%
60%
60%

Stayed 31st July 2015

Room 76 was above the swimming pool and the smell of chlorine was overpowering after all the doors where closed at night it evolved sleeping with the window fully open and having sore throats. The bath taps are 3 ft high and shampoo along side in a dispenser you could not lift out. Hot water did not reach the shower head and it could not be lifted out. Only stayed 1 night not 2

R Boyle said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 28th July 2015

Staff very approachable and welcoming. Unfortunately, they were a bit short staffed but they managed well. Room was good but no view, room looked into other rooms. A bit of grout around Tiles required in bathroom. Some of the doors and skirting scuffed(touch ups required.. The pool and spa was in need of a good clean. To be fair there was a notice up advising it would be closed this weekend

Karen Scott said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 25th July 2015

It was a last minute decision to go away for the night, and we were lucky enough stay at the Angus hotel, rooms were great, only fault was the shower, it was either cold or boiling hot. But the food, facilities and staff were all lovely, will definitely book again.

alex adams said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 24th July 2015

room very small ( room 47 ) looking onto a wall three feet away.

Anne Wilson said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th July 2015

We had a lovely overnight stay, only drawback the WI FI didn't work in our bedroom, room 104, we had upgrade in our deal which they gave us, but seemed to us just standard room type.

julie coulter said...

57%
60%
50%
60%

Stayed 11th July 2015

Nice enough hotel. Could do with some staff training though, barman was very knowledgeable about his beers.

james crawford said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 4th July 2015

The bedrooms are in need of decoration and smarter trays to hold kettle cups etc would add a nice touch to the bedrooms

Barbara Smith said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 3rd July 2015

Lovely staff, nice food, great location.

Sandra Hoffland said...

50%
60%
50%
40%

Stayed 3rd July 2015

We went for the tribute weekend package.I booked a disabled friendly room but my husband phoned on the morning of our arrival to find that it had been overlooked. The receptionist changed our room and we were given a room with a walk-in shower. Unfortunately there was no grab rail or seat in it. Sign posting for toilets, never mind disabled toilets, was not prominent, neither was directions to the pool and spa. We discovered access to the pool by accident on the 2nd floor, along a corridor, then down some steps. There may have been better access for disabled but you had to ask. The set menu at dinner was uninspiring so we went for the

David Taylor said...

60%
50%
80%
50%

Stayed 27th June 2015

Hotel downstairs was lovely. Service was good. Bedroom headboard was really dusty. And no information about meal times or checkout times etc. Bathroom was a bit grubby, dirty tiles above radiator etc. Main meal at night was not good, microwaved and really small portion. Breakfast in morning was good though. Might be different chefs. I did leave a comment card with hotel but as yet not heard anything from them.

Douglas Brown said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 13th June 2015

After reading reviews we were a bit worried going to this hotel! We had a very nice stay with no complaints. Would definitely stay again.