Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Angus Hotel, Blairgowrie

Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie, PH106NQ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

Gordon Sheret said...

74%
70%
90%
60%

Stayed 13th June 2015

Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel was pleasant and welcoming and the deal was definitely worth it.

Sharon Donegan said...

60%
60%
60%
60%

Stayed 13th June 2015

Great value break at the Angus hotel. Enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea, complete with wine. Our room was clean, nicely decorated and bathroom was fully tiled, modern and clean. We were a little disappointed not to get a family room, instead our son was given a Z bed to sleep on, which we had to ask for as we were given a double room! There seemed to be a bit of animosity between reception staff and housekeeping. We have stayed at The Angus before and felt this time that the pool area was a bit run down and dirty. We would stay at the hotel again, but would not use the leisure facilities.

A Christie said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 12th June 2015

We had a lovely stay at the Angus Hotel Blairgowrie. The receptionist who greeted us on arrival was particularly helpful.

tom findlay said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 29th May 2015

great hotel, lovely location,really nice helpful staff,food great and well presented,enjoyable stay.

Elizabeth Bradley said...

80%
90%
90%
60%

Stayed 22nd May 2015

Meal on second night was not up to standard because of tribute night . Cheap beef burger was served potatoes were hard veg tartlet was awful like it was left overs , did complain but no response . Breakfast was good make up for dinner being awful .

Sandra Jaap said...

64%
30%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd May 2015

staff were very friendly and helpful food was good entertainment was good,but i feel the hotel would greatly benefit with a refurbish as it is quite run down and tired. I was looking forward to the pool, but i didn't feel it was appealing,and I changed my mind.

valerie vakerie said...

50%
60%
70%
20%

Stayed 22nd May 2015

I requested special dietary requirements which were not met. Very disappointed as the staff were made aware of it after the first night but failed to accommodate me on the second night. However our table was given a bottle of proseeco to compensate.

gordon ferguson said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 16th May 2015

In our opinion this was not our best choice from classic Britain 1st room tv did not work offered 2nd room this room was bigger and better but the TV was free view we managed 3 bbc channels.On arrival for 1st.evening dinner we were directed to a table in the bar area not what we expected complained to waiter were told hotel had golfing party and bus party in dining room and we would be ok for Sunday night.On Sunday allocated same area we declined and were told dining room was set up for breakfast ? we insisted that as residents we would like to dine in dining room after some discussion we were given a table for 2. 1 Why were we not afforded the same service as bus group and golfers 2.Why did we witness a confrontation between Manager& disgruntled resident in public bar area,we had to move away to finish our drinks ? 3. Hotel area in general needs a lot of tlc we will not be choosing this hotel again

aileen cantlay said...

70%
10%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th May 2015

Bedroom small with tiny ensuite that has a step which becomes quite difficult in the dark! Rooms not very clean, shower curtain has mould on it, tiles cracked/grouting missing, mould/damp smell from bathroom, surfaces dusty. Main part of hotel lovely but Again carpets need to be hoovered (was here 4 days and never saw them being hoovered). Overall accomodation in need of refurb but everywhere else ok. Food excellent as was the service sadly accomodation not good.

James Milligan said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th May 2015

A very enjoyable stay.

M Brady said...

77%
40%
90%
100%

Stayed 8th May 2015

I thought the food was excellent, service was very good and efficient. The entertainment was very good, with plenty of atmosphere. Bedrooms were clean however a slightly 'tired look' about them. The room we had was very small with a particularly tiny bathroom (room12). Overall we had a great time and would return however I would request a different room.

Mrs Toshack said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd May 2015

had a great stay i will be back .

Karen Gammie said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 3rd May 2015

Had a lovely time Staff were all nice and very helpful.

Mrs Aitchison said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 2nd May 2015

I booked two twin rooms and asked if we could be together, but we did get two rooms near enough together but one was a double bed not what was asked for as I had booked this way back in February, so our friends were allocated another room on the next floor miles away and it was a very tiny room according to my sister in law not very happy as it was me that booked it. The other thing not amused about they did not change the towels as they had been left out for renewal. Apart from that everything else for terrific

L Grigor said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 1st May 2015

Found the room quite small apart from that stay was very enjoyable Will come back

E Milsom said...

87%
100%
70%
90%

Stayed 24th April 2015

We had a fantastic stay, it was a great week end. My only negative point was the bar being closed on Friday night. The entertainment on Saturday along with the DJ was outstanding. We will definitely be staying again. Thank you.

Thomas mochan said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th April 2015

70's tribute act finished far too early at 11.30pm. The event was advertised until 1am.

Alison Guyan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th April 2015

I recently spent a three night break at the Angus Hotel and have thoroughly enjoyed my visit. My initial contact with the reception staff allowed me to sort out my specific room requirements and on arrival was met with a warm and professional welcome. The room which was allocated was warm and welcoming with a lovely upgraded bathroom. No late night noise meant that we could sleep undisturbed. The breakfast menu and set dinner menu was more than adequate, however the option was there to also choose dinner items from the restaurant menu - using a dinner allowance. This is a busy hotel as it caters for a number of coach parties, however the staff skillfully manage the larger groups while still paying attention to the needs of the other guests. The hotel is well placed for visiting the larger cities of Perth and Dundee as well as the smaller town in the area. If you enjoy walking the Angus Glens are a short drive away. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to book again.

Roddy Gillies said...

57%
50%
50%
70%

Stayed 10th April 2015

Although the food was of good standard, the food service was poor. We waited 10 minutes after our steaks were served for the steak sauces to arrive. We had a party of 13 and both mornings the breakfast orders got confused. We felt overall that our service suffered as the hotel was also catering for a party of 60. They should have been staffed up for that and obviously weren't.

Angie Maclennan said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 7th April 2015

Very enjoyable stay in the Angus Hotel. Lovely staff and reception staff welcoming, helpful and friendly. Comfortable lounge and dining area. Great location for riverside walk and convenient for a base for touring too. The room was rather warm but guess we could have borrowed a fan. Toilet seat was cracked and after informing this at reception it was replaced promptly next day.

Clare McMahon said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th April 2015

Enjoyed our stay and the food. We were disappointed that the sauna and jacuzzi were out of order as this was one of the reason we booked this hotel was for these facilities. Also no bottled lemonade. Felt the grout in the bathroom needed to be cleaned this was the only thing that let the bathroom down.

June Glass said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th March 2015

Good hotel friendly staff

Paul Meakin said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th March 2015

Bathroom. Room 10 needs upgrade, grout, silicone, bit dirty.

tom mcfarlane said...

67%
80%
70%
50%

Stayed 27th March 2015

Very pleasant stay and the bedroom was to a high standard. The tribute act was very entertaining and the disco played a good variety of music. The only disappointment was the meal on the night of the cabaret. It stated on menu beforehand that you could choose from the bay tree menu if the fixed menu was not to your liking. However when we tried to order from the bay tree menu we were informed that this was not possible. It was also necessary to order all 3 courses from the fixed menu right at the start. It would be useful to be able to order desert after the first two courses if it was then required. I know it is a very busy evening but a little more time tending to customer requirements would go a long way to ensuring an even more enjoyable evening.

Lilian Keenan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th March 2015

Room ,food ,and staff were excellent .We didn't know there was a tribute night on when we booked.On arrival we asked about paying to join in, but it wAS Full.On the saturday night the lounge was empty as nearly everyone was at the show.There was no entertainment for us and no one to talk to . We went to our room but could hardly hear the TV for the noise of the band , it was very loud.We couldn't get to sleep till after the show finished ,which was well after midnight.I don't think you should book rooms on tribute nights when there is no room to attend the show.At breakfast everyone was saying they enjoyed the show and we would likely have enjoyed it to , but it was no fun for us at all