Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Oban Bay Hotel, Oban

Corran Esplanade, Oban, PA345AE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

Jim Best said...

70%
80%
50%
80%

Stayed 27th June 2018

Fantastic break in Oban. The hotel was great in that the room was very good and very clean and in a great location.The downside was service at breakfast as it was a nightmare. We came down to breakfast and were seen to our table and waited and waited about 25 mins before our order was taken. There was a very nice young man walking about with a hand held gismo who was taking orders from guests who had just sat down and i only got his attention by waving my arms. 2nd morning same drill. Evening dinner was slightly better as we only waited 15 mins. Now onto the bar!!! The bar gets tilled up about 10.20pm and any drinks are then charged to your room and fine if you had been previously notified. When approaching the bar at 10.30 the lady in charge of the bar was already tilling up and not very accomodating , in fact quite rude with the guests as she stated she was tilling up and would "never get out of here" (reminded me of Hotel California) But the best was still to come whilst banging down the tumblers to serve me a man appeared at my side waiting to be served. i took my drinks outside to sit with my wife and a couple of minutes later the man came out furious as he had called in when passing by for a pint of guinness which was poured but then poured down the sink as he was not a guest with a room card. He had cash but it was refused.........Some way to treat a tourist on holiday and gain a good reputation for your Hotel.........Rant over as other than that the Hotel was good value.

A guest said...

60%
50%
70%
60%

Stayed 26th May 2018

Had a very enjoyable time, thought the room was very tired and dark could be better decor , shower cubicle was very small, would go back again though.

thomas burns said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th May 2018

well priced break in a good location.very nice restaurant.

seanagh maclean-hughes said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th April 2018

Hotel was prefect.... food was great and the breakfast beautiful view sitting out side with my coffee ...and sitting in the hot tub ...staff was good ..cannot fault my stay will return

sharon stamper said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th April 2018

Friendly staff, beautiful location and always clean and tidy Food lovely

sharon stamper said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th April 2018

Friendly staff, beautiful location and always clean and tidy Food lovely

GAIL GREENFIELD said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th April 2018

Nice room, dinner very good. Staff very helpful. Only issue was ordering at breakfast, normally cereals/fruit juice are on a table to help yourself but we had to ask for them, which is a bit different. Very good, value for money break.

Lorraine Ross said...

80%
80%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 27th April 2018

Wash hand basin would not hold water. Shower would not cope with two people having a shower ( one after the other) cereal plates too small not enough room to get milk in. Other than that Staff very helpful rooms well equipped and comfortable. Also check in time should be earlier. Enjoyed our stay. Eight out of ten.

Shaun Tyrer said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th April 2018

Excellent hotel with very comfortable and well prepared rooms. Superb views of Oban Bay and the associated activities. Staff very welcoming and extremely helpful. Check in\out straightforward. Dinner menu varied and the food very good. Parking is limited but plenty of free parking available with 2 minute walk. Easy walking distance to Oban centre and its associated attractions.

Elizabeth Ferguson said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 27th April 2018

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the staff were very helpful

Lawrence Adamson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th April 2018

My wife & I stayed at this ideally positioned hotel on H/B basis with lovely views over the bay, The accommodation was warm clean & well equipped with comfortable beds. The staff very friendly & attentive with waiter service, serving delicious hot wholesome food, I can honestly advise that we found absolutely nothing negative about our stay, even our wee ? dog (Leo) had a great time as they even provided his own bowl! Highly recommended for a relaxing breakfast.

Brian Burns said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th April 2018

Hotel was nice & clean and staff friendly. Only negative was the hot tub was out of action.

J Martin said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 5th April 2018

Hotel was about 15 minuets walk from station food was great view was amazing would recommend and I will be going back to the Oban Bay Hotel.

Susie Quist said...

30%
0%
60%
N/A

Stayed 15th February 2018

Very disappointed with The Oban Bay this time. We have stayed here many times over the last few years and the bedrooms have always been 'a bit tired' but I'm sad to say they have been left to deteriorate to the point they are now a health hazard. We arrived and were given the keys to our room. The bathroom window sill had a pool of water on it, the window was surrounded by black mould, there was a dirty towel left on top of the toilet and a half used bottle of shower gel in the shower. There was no fan in the bathroom and the window in both the bathroom and bedroom were painted shut and unable to be opened. There was also a thick patch of black mould growing on the side of the bedroom window. Apart from anything else, this is a health hazard for asthmatics such as myself. After complaining we were moved to a different room which although appeared clean, the plaster work on the bathroom windowsill was severely cracked and broken. The hotel has fallen into a state of disrepair and despite the deterioration of the rooms, the prices remain unchanged. As regular visitors to Oban, we are saddened to say we will not be returning to The Oban Bay Hotel until such times that it is refurbished to a reasonable standard.

P Hudi said...

57%
70%
50%
50%

Stayed 10th February 2018

Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast service was slow, probably due to a lack of experienced staff, and reminded me a little of Faulty Towers when tables were given the wrong orders and, at least on one occasion, a guest had to ask for a tea bag to be put in the teapot. The variety of food for breakfast was fair and quality was average.

Christine Evans said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th January 2018

Had a really nice couple of days here last week. As with many big hotels, some areas are a bit tired and could do with upgrading but the wonderful views and the warmth of the welcome more than compensates. The food choices were excellent and dinner on both nights was very much enjoyed. Also an excellent breakfast on offer. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant.

C Bonnar said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 4th January 2018

Room was quite good condition with comfortable bed and reasonable sized shower room. Some of the furniture is dated and could do with an update. The food in the restaurant was of a fair quality for the DBB deal we were on. The hotel has a beautiful large conservatory with fantastic views over the bay and islands. Steam and Sauna are a good size. Shower in the Spa area does not work and you have to through the corridor to the Hot tub area. The outside hot tub has great limited views and the tub was not working correctly. The staff are very good and make sure you have a warm welcome and a easy departure.

Fred Burke said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 3rd December 2017

Really nice hotel situated 5min walk from town centre, car parking was fine but the hotel didn't appear to be busy,might be an issue at the height of season, the room although adequate clean and tidy was quite a walk away from reception[minor inconvenience] the staff were pleasant and helpful when required dinner and breakfast were of a high standard service at breakfast on day two seemed a bit haphazard despite there being more staff on duty from day one. Overall a very nice couple of days away and the deal we had was good value for money

Gerry McGhee said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 26th November 2017

We had a very pleasant stay with very good cuisine and a comfortable room. Unfortunately the outdoor hot tub failed during our stay but staff kindly reimbursed the fee for bath robes purchased to enjoy this facility. We would happily revisit the Oban Bay hotel. Thank You

Lee Coutts said...

30%
20%
40%
N/A

Stayed 17th November 2017

Disappointed with our stay. Room was basic, shower didn’t work (which we reported without much joy), heater in room didn’t work, fan in bathroom didn’t work, sauna wasn’t working, one very squeaky bed in the room

R Banks said...

44%
10%
20%
100%

Stayed 10th November 2017

Badly in need of a full refurbishment, double room was dark and dingy with thread worn carpet and curtains and really old furniture, the shower cubicle was very small not any room to turn once inside it , went to look at the hot tub that was just a joke not enough room for more than one person unless you want to be very intimate ? and the surroundings were covered in bird dropping very uninviting as was the sauna very crubby, the restaurant food was ok but the menu was confusing only part of it was included in the offer price the rest was a supplement you had to pay, staff were trying hard but could be doing with some training, service was very slow . Not enough car parking

Stephen Miller said...

64%
20%
80%
90%

Stayed 6th October 2017

Excellent location , food very good as was service. However, room small and in real need of modernisation especially The bathroom. Corridors smells of mildew. Overpriced all round, expecting people to pay £250 a night for a suite boasting a jacuzzi is a joke. Our stay was a gift and it was sorely over priced, but typical of Scotland in general, overpriced facil closed, but I digress. We had a nice visit but solely down to Oban itself, lost none of its charm. The gentleman on re epitome on arrivL was monosyllabic not engaging whatsoever. We paid £120 per night for B&B Not good value and am disappointed a week meaning gift was squandered on this hotel, won't be back.

Anthony Reilly said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th September 2017

Corridors and rooms need a face lift

A guest said...

67%
70%
60%
70%

Stayed 30th September 2017

The hotel is a little dated but we still had a lovely time. We were very lucky to have a room at the front with a sea view. Most of the staff were very friendly but the barman was a bit grumpy as if he was put out getting your order. The food was very good.

Alison Kelly said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd September 2017

Great stay in a lovely hotel with beautiful view over the bay. Couldn't fault anything.