Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Friars Carse Hotel, Dumfries

Auldgirth, Dumfries, DG20SA, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

75%

pamela corkindale said...

47%
10%
70%
60%

Stayed 3rd August 2014

Staff very pleasant, hotel grounds stunning. Our room was very clean but decor was very basic and needed attention

A Wilson said...

57%
30%
70%
70%

Stayed 23rd July 2014

Lovely grounds and could be lovely with some investment. Staff were friendly

william Lister said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th June 2014

Enjoyed our stay in the Friars Carse Hotel which is set in lovely grounds with good walks. The staff were very friendly and helpful, while the food was superb! Room was basic but clean. Only downside was the musty smell on the staircase between the 1st & 2nd floor. Would stay there again.

kevin lennox said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th February 2014

This was our 2nd time at this hotel , all i can say is it gets better, the food has improved alot if i can say it was excellent, the staff were very helpful and friendly expecialy claire the assistant manager. bedrooms need a bit improvement done to them.if you want a romatic weekend away in a quite location this is the one for you.

M Webster said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th September 2013

The hotel, grounds, staff, welcome and food were all very good. The Sycamore bedroom would be so much more pleasant if the white duvet covers were replaced and if the walls had some pictures. Otherwise, all was excellent!

Joseph Raimondo said...

54%
30%
80%
50%

Stayed 23rd August 2013

Very tired hotel. Lovely public areas and beautiful grounds. Bedroom adequate but ensuite bathroom had mouldy tile grouting and smelt of damp. Noisiest plumbing i have encountered for a long time. Staff were great, pleasant and helpful, dinners good, first breakfast served dried up (presumably cooked earlier and kept hot) but sunday breakfast was freshly cooked and spot on. Expected better for the price.

D Veldon said...

30%
0%
10%
80%

Stayed 23rd July 2013

we had a small dark room with a terrible bed and we were also locked out of the hotel on our second night and had to sleep in the car! most of the staff were ignorant,we were glad we only stayed two nights even though one was spent in the car park, on the up side the outside is beautiful great grounds and stunning river, if you get a cheap deal for this hotel i would think twice about it because you may be looked down upon for being in the cheap seats

Judith Moore said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 17th July 2013

Excellent value, superb location. Portion size could be reduced!

O Erdogan said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 3rd June 2013

A really beautiful setting, lovely walks and the food exceeded expectations.Atmosphere was very relaxing.

Steven Smith said...

57%
50%
50%
70%

Stayed 17th February 2013

Nice location and food was good but service slow. Bed was rickety and bedrooms generally a bit tired. But for all that an enjoyable stay.

janice Johnstone said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th December 2012

room clean and tidy. The bed was too small for a double room ,not very comfortable.

Mr Mann said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th November 2012

fantastic break loved it

muir brannan said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th August 2012

very peaceful location and beautiful surroundings with river nith very close

H Finlayson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th July 2012

Only complaint room Holly the bathroom shower very poor. Difficult to control temperature, apart from that we had a super time

garry dulson said...

57%
20%
70%
80%

Stayed 29th May 2012

comfortable stay with a very nice setting with good meals. the exeperience was spoiled by a poor room and a very dirty and delapidated bulding. we were informed that work was being carried out to renovate rooms, however, the room we were in "Ash" had a view of a wall and no window in the bathroom. Staff did a pretty good job considering that on both nights of our stay, there were only 3 people on duty to cover the bar, reception and restaurant. I wuld probably go again once the renovations are finished and if the cleaning coud be improved

joseph dezutter said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th May 2012

had a very pleasant stay. beautiful grounds for walking , right on your doorstep. meals were excellent and the rooms were comfortable,

Ellen Rogan said...

67%
40%
80%
80%

Stayed 5th May 2012

Our room was very small and the water from our shower was a trickle which made it impossible to have a decent shower. The staff were friendly and helpful. Food choice good.

E Graham said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 4th May 2012

thoughly enjoyed our break especially liked the piping hot soup and my wife said the carrot cake was the best she has ever had if i had to find complaint , the room could have been a bit warmer

Colin Wood said...

34%
30%
20%
50%

Stayed 25th April 2012

Bedroom dark and small this holiday but we have had a super room at this hotel before. Service..Poor, at reception,the girl was on the phone, my wife and I came second and were not even acknowledged. FOOD..It took 1hr and 20mins to serve us a starter and main course, the Sweet was no better. On asking at reception, next morning, if the problems in the Kitchen had been sorted out, I was told !Yes! But it was no better the second night. Sorry but is was a good thing that we had only booked in for two nights on our way to Portpatrick..

Alan Bennett said...

40%
30%
70%
20%

Stayed 22nd April 2012

Hotel is in dire need of some updating, particularly the bathrooms. Very nice building and setting very tranquil.