Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

The Ro Hotel, Bowness on Windermere

Helm Rd, Bowness on Windermere, LA233BA, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

74%

Joanne Burrage said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th February 2018

First room we got was awful and very dated. We got moved which was fab. Beautiful new room. But twin beds unfortunately. Need hooks in bathroom and on back of door. Would have liked to see hotel with Valentine's theme and wanted music in restaurant. Brilliant location. Shame there was no staff on bar late at night.

JAMES Stevenson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th January 2018

Really great break at the Hydro. Had booked a refurbished room and was not disappointed. Room décor and décor in public areas was contemporary and well thought out. Staff were really helpful and welcoming. Had dinner on our first night food was excellent and unusually in my experience at other hotels the wine list prices were very competitive. Understand this is early in the refurbishment of the hotel and they do have some way to go in what must be a massive program but based on our experience we would certainly book again.

Allan Clacher said...

84%
100%
100%
50%

Stayed 9th January 2018

First the good points. We upgraded to a room with a view of the lake at a cost of £40.00 per night. The room was lovely very clean and a beautiful bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful and could not do enough for you. Now for the not so good bits. We did not know that the hotel was dog friendly not that we dislike them but to wakened up at 5.45am with the sound of them running around the room above us was not nice. At breakfast it was help yourself to starters and order your cooked . When the cooked breakfast arrived it was luke warm. Finally I think people should be aware that the hotel is situated at the top of a very steep hill and anyone who is infirm would find it extremely difficult to get there. I should say that when we complained about the noise above us we were not charged the extra for upgrade.

Linda Gabbott said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th November 2017

Lovely hotel with great views. We stayed in a room on the 3rd floor and were made aware that it hadn't been updated but we booked this offer on a great deal so that was fine. The room was small but warm, clean and comfy. Breakfast was great. We couldn't have asked for more. Would stay again.

P Rice said...

74%
50%
80%
90%

Stayed 2nd November 2017

Lovely hotel with amazing decor down stairs. Rooms very dated but very clean. No information from staff on check in regarding hotel amen or whereabouts of leisure centre or dining room. Would highly recommend this hotel.

margaret mears said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th October 2017

We had a lovely stay at the Windermere Hydro Hotel . We arrived early and Scott was happy to check us in although our room wasn't quite ready . We were given tea and coffee in the sun lounge while we waited ...for all of 15 minutes. Our room overlooking the lake was very comfortable and obviously newly refurbished...I believe the refurbishment is on going , but the dining room, bar and sun lounge were all very nicely decorated with tasteful furnishings . The staff throughout our stay were extremely friendly and helpful , Scott, Kynan and Daniel in particular. The food was very good ...we enjoyed the steak night on Tuesday and chose from a comprehensive menu on Wednesday. The staff in the dining room were again very friendly .Breakfast on both days was self service with plenty of choice both Continental and traditional. The situation of the hotel is ideal being just a few minutes walk (up a wee hill) from the town of Bowness on Windermere. We would certainly stay at the Hydro again .

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 4th November 2016

Very enjoyable stay

Mr Callander said...

54%
30%
80%
50%

Stayed 8th April 2016

Tired hotel food okay girl at reception tried to charge for drinks which were paid for no apology asked if I was sure I paid. Will not use this hotel again the staff in general were very pleasant and helpful

A guest said...

77%
60%
80%
90%

Stayed 29th November 2015

A great position overlooking the lake, Grand rooms, very good breakfast and dinner served in dining room. Has an indoor pool, restful common areas. Bedrooms comfortable, some areas do need updating. Staff friendly and helpful

A guest said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 4th April 2016

A great position overlooking the lake, Grand rooms, very good breakfast and dinner served in dining room. Has an indoor pool, restful common areas. Bedrooms comfortable, some areas do need updating. Staff friendly and helpful

A guest said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 3rd April 2016

just returned from the Hydro after a three night break,ok this hotel has seen better days but don't let it put you off,it's spotlessly clean,the staff can't do enough for you and the views are fantastic. It's a big building and there is renovation work being carried out but your don't want this to take away the character or charm of the place. We checked in and realised we left our phone charger at home, the guy at reception found us one,we didn't get his name but thank you.The breakfast was buffet style and plenty of it and the morning staff were very attentive. Pete the night manager/barman was very charming and a bit of a character. Towels changed daily with the room clean. I really wouldn't hesitate returning here and probably will.

Andy Tinline said...

40%
0%
60%
60%

Stayed 1st April 2016

The hotel stinks of damp. There are massive damp patches all over the walls. This is visible but the staff seem to overlook it. The room we stayed in first had a very used black stained grubby bath. We were then moved to another room which was in Serious need of maintenance. Even in the dining room the paint round the windows was falling off. this used to be a Great Hotel that has by the look of things left to rot. What a shame for a once magnificent Victorian hotel. WE WONT BE BACK. Book here if you want but You will be disappointed.

David Hamilton said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd March 2013

Arrived at hotel and was told that Classic Britain had not made a reservation for me. However the young lady in reception was most helpful and placed us in a suite with a balcony overlooking the lake. The hotel staff were very helpful and most courteous putting everyone at ease. The quality of the food was excellent and the quantity had to be seen to be believed. The hotel was only a few minutes walk from the centre of Bowness, the only problem I could see was that it would be quite a struggle for people with walking difficulties negotiating the steep hill. I would recommend the hotel to anyone especially if they got a deal like I had through CB, my wife and I had a lovely stay at a bargain price.

Keith Phillips said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 17th February 2013

Helpfull and friendly staff,good food and excellent location with views over the lake.

David Gray said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd December 2012

This was the best Hotel in UK we have stayed at for our short break It was near perfect - staff could not be faulted. The meals were really good in quality and quantity - the only small complaint is that on our last morning because there were two coach trips staying we had to change from our being served to having to serve ourselves and the breakfast itself was not quite the same quality because of bulk supply eg sausages not the same, bacon salty, coffee weaker (although this was served.) On the first night the bedroom ceilings were thin enough for me to hear the conversation and tramping across the upstairs room (fault of building not staff). But overall we were very pleased and hope we may visit again. Indeed had I not booked "Twixmas" at another hotel through "Easy Breaks" I would have considered this hotel again and certainly the room was good and large enough and I can recommend Classic Britain and will do so

Mr Bradie said...

64%
80%
60%
50%

Stayed 30th November 2012

Excellent room except for shower not heating up. Food prepared in advance good but let down by food cooked to order.

Robert Hodgson said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th November 2012

We found the Hydro to be a nice traditional hotel, clean and welcoming. The food, we stayed half board, was very good. We were very pleased with the choice on the menu and everything we ate was beautifully cooked and tasted lovely. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable, and although the bathroom was a little dated it was also clean. The only small critism was that when we returned to the hotel during the early afternoon we found that the heating was off and the room was cold. The staff were attentive and very polite and we would be happy to return to stay again and to recommend the Hydro to our friends.

Gordon Izzard said...

80%
50%
90%
100%

Stayed 15th November 2012

great stay ai the hydro, only comment is that the outside of the hotel is looking a bit tired and could do with a face lift (especially around window frames), the food was great and the staff friendly

Joanne Watson said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st October 2012

Lovely hotel, I would stay again. Only thing is it's at the top of a big hill. It keeps you fit!

Michaela Downie said...

70%
30%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th October 2012

Friendly service, nice location and good food. The rooms and the general decor are very tired looking. Swimming pool very disappointing. Access only via outside walk and then no private showering facilities in changing rooms. Value for money was rather good though.

elaine davidson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd October 2012

we will go back again management,staff, food hotel all were top class

Frances Addie said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 6th October 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Windermere Hydro. The food was excellant and beautifully presented. The staff were friendly and helpfull. The rooms were spotlessly clean. The only negative point is that the hotel is very old and a bit tired.

Josephine Johnston said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th May 2012

We enjoyed our stay & would come back

A Connor said...

77%
70%
70%
90%

Stayed 10th April 2012

Good size room - unfortunately leak due to very heavy rain - replacement room was better than first room although en suite was not as large.