Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa, Otley

Yorkgate, Otley, LS213NU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

85%

Clare Gavin said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd February 2019

A lovely hotel set in woodlands on the top of Chevin close to Otley, a very wooden hotel and our room was very hot as appeared to be above the sauna. The room was basic, in need of updating. The bathroom was very dated and the shower over the bath was very disappointing. Dinner was included and the choice was very impressive however the service was a little slow, similarly the breakfast was also very slow to arrive although the choice was good. The pool and leisure facilities made up for the disappointing room, the outdoor hot tub on a gorgeous February evening and for a 24hr break away from the hustle and bustle of family life it was extremely reasonable. The staff were very attentive.

Sarah Winter said...

67%
60%
70%
70%

Stayed 18th February 2019

We stayed in room 18, and we were woken up numerous times through the night to a knocking sound which wouldn't go away, it was very frustrating. The service from some members of staff were amazing and they couldn't do more for you, where as the blonde middle aged woman who was on reception in the spa, was very rude and arrogant and used no manners what so ever. The food was nice, however very small portions, and we were also waiting well over 45 minutes for breakfast. The spa facilities themselves were brilliant and very relaxing.

A guest said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th February 2019

Friendly staff. Lovely pool. Very basic budget room but good value B&B Break.

Nicola Wilson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th January 2019

Spent a fantastic weekend here. We had 2 rooms one in the hotel another in a lodge room, both clean, warm and comfortable. The food was amazing and staff couldn't have been any more helpful. We were not sure what to expect as one of the party had dogs with them, but staff went over and above to make us feel welcome. We used the facilities which were very relaxing and not too busy. The only thing I would say is that the bathrooms needed a little updating but saying that they were still very clean.

Wilf Moralee said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 24th January 2019

The rooms are a little dated and dark. Unfortunately the temperature of the was only warm which led to an unpleasant shower for this time of year. The water was the same temperature the next morning. However, the staff are wonderful and the food couldn't be knocked at all. Overall the deal we got was good value but it would be nice if the early comments could be addressed.

Katie Puckering said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th January 2019

The hotel was lovely! Really unexpected how nice it was. The staff were so friendly. I would highly reccomend it.

A guest said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 2nd January 2019

Stumbled upon this offer for Chevin Country Park, thought is was a nice little getaway for new year. Arrived and immediately pleasantly suprised. Tje hotel, staff and food where fantastic, the rooms where delightfull and loved every minute of being here, will return for sure. Anna on breakfast duty was a breath of fresh air in a morning and Alex at dinner service was attentive and helpful. Cannot wait to return

Julie Barker said...

64%
60%
50%
80%

Stayed 2nd January 2019

Evening meal was really lovely. However, turned up at the spa and there was no one there but a notice to ring reception...no answer!! In the end a young employee that just so happened to be using the facilities, but not at work, helped up find towels and robe!! Not the best!

A guest said...

100%
100%
N/A
N/A

Stayed 19th June 2018

Absolutely beautiful place Scenery was gorgeous Staff very pleasant and helpful Cant wait to come again

F Bentley said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 15th April 2018

Had a lovely two night break. Beautiful room and food lovely. Special mention to restaurant staff (especially breakfast). Hard working and friendly.

A guest said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th May 2017

We stayed in a woodland lodge, room was clean and larger than we expected. The food in the bar was beautiful. The spa areas it's self was a little dated but outdoor area great to sunbath on the loungers. Out door jacuzzi was slightly dirty. Mainly from people getting in after walking around with no shoes on. Overall good experience and the staff were lovely and polite.

gail meltham said...

80%
40%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th May 2017

Very friendly staff, but the hotel is very run down in certain areas. In need of some renovation. Food was very good.

A guest said...

77%
50%
80%
100%

Stayed 28th April 2017

Had a great 2 night break here, the food was just amazing and the service was very good. The rooms are very tired and in need of a bit of money spent on them. We were next to some particularly noisy wedding guests who didn't call it a night until after 3am on our first night but the excellent breakfast the next morning perked us up for the day.

Donna Cameron said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th January 2017

Fantastic not a bad word to say. We had an upgrade which made it better.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th December 2016

We'll run hotel with a good team of staff who all made our stay more than pleasant

ian young said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 13th December 2016

Another nice 2 night business trip staying at the Chevin. Only 20 minutes into Leeds/Bradford and harrogate. Staff very friendly, accommodation in the hotel or log cabins comfortable and the food is first class. Leisure facil are also good with an outdoor spa. All this at a very reasonable price.

Samantha Taylor said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th November 2016

We had a wonderful break. The room was nice, the staff very helpful and the food was amazing.

Anne Johns said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 13th October 2016

Our first visit to Otley which is a lovely market town. The hotel is beautiful, we had a cabin annexe room which was very spacious, as was the bathroom. The deal was for Dinner Bed & Breakfast with one Spa treatment. This was fantastic value, we used the rest of the spa facil, including the outside hot tub & had the 6 course taster menu for dinner. An overall wonderful stay & experience and we would not hesitate to return & recommend. The only downside was the wait to check in as the receptionist was on the phone dealing with a future booking & no one else came to help her.

A guest said...

60%
70%
40%
70%

Stayed 25th September 2016

I requested details about fishing when I booked but never heard anything from the hotel. We had a 25 minute wait to check-in and then they had no record of our booking. We arranged our packed lunch at check-in but it wasn't ready for the agreed time and we had to wait a further hour before the kitchen had time to do it, and then we didn't get half of what we'd asked for. The walking map turned out to be a photocopy of the layout of Chevin country park with no specific routes marked on it, reception 'thought' there was a path into Otley but couldn't tell us where it was. All in all, not very good considering we booked their advertised walking break. The room (in a lodge) was ok but bathroom window was at front so had to keep blind closed and needed binoculars to see the TV from the bed. Had no hoer on second night. We complained while we were there and were given a complimentary bottle of wine and the manager rang us at home the following day to apologise and offer us a free night's DBB. Having said all that, overall we had a good stay, staff were friendly and we are happy with how the hotel reacted to our complaints. Breakfast was good but dinner was the taster menu with only a couple of choices on offer. Nothing wrong with any of it and we didn't leave gry but with only two choices if there's something there you don't like then you're forced to have the other whether you fancy it or not.

J Briggs said...

85%
N/A
80%
90%

Stayed 6th September 2016

Nice short break

A guest said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st August 2016

An enjoyable short break, with friendly staff and good food. Will look forward to returning in the future.

ian young said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th August 2016

Another nice stay at chevin in one of the log cabins. Friendly receptionist, Great food at both evening meal and breakfast, Leisure facil good. Please note wifi is only available in the main hotel building and mobile reception is not great within the grounds. Otherwise another great stay,

A guest said...

70%
40%
80%
90%

Stayed 10th August 2016

When we arrived the hotel knew nothing of this booking and caused difficulties throughout our stay. The hotel itself is set in beautiful grounds. The staff were pleasant. The taster menu and breakfast were delicious. The room was small and dark and overlooked the carpark. The leisure facil were good except for a fowl smell of drains near the shallow end of the swimming pool. It became apparent that this hotel had quite a few new staff and there seemed to be teething problems, as well as hearing disagreements between 2 staff, which was rather embarrassing. Overall I would say we would return to this hotel.

A guest said...

60%
80%
50%
50%

Stayed 7th August 2016

Terrible breakfast and far too long waiting to be served, not the staffs fault as they could not be more apologetic. Need more staff on busy mornings. Only had one breakfast out of three.

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th June 2016

Hello, lovely location for walking, some distance from Otley ( one+ mile up steep hill) Lovely breakfast, not sure about six course dinner, very slow (one hour 50 minutes to be served) Needs a little revamp, especially the gents changing room ( strong smell from pipework/ sewer) Staff acknowledged this as a reoccurring complaint. Rooms in log cabins cosy and secure for parking your car.