Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Esplanade Hotel, Dunoon

West Bay Promenade, Dunoon, PA237HU, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

maureen mcwhirter said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th August 2018

Had a wonderful weekend lovely meals very attentive staff great entertainment beautiful views

Lorna Lindsay said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd August 2018

Our short stay at the Esplanade was lovely. The staff and management are very friendly and helpful and the food is fantastic. Would recommend to anyone looking for a hotel on Dunoon. And we have slready booked to stay again soon.

A guest said...

44%
40%
40%
50%

Stayed 28th July 2018

Unsure why the website allows guests to book a room for 4 (2 adults 2 children) when the hotel has no rooms for 4!! The room we had (after rejecting the first) was barely big enough for a Z bed to be added. Staff (owner perhaps) told me it was the website's fault. Overall, the hotel was pretty tired/dated/poor. The rooms were old fashioned and not as clean as I'd like. Cobwebs and dust pockets where the Hoover couldn't reach etc. Sheet wasn't big enough for bed. Quilt cover far too big for quilt. Shower room door handle not working well (we all had to learn the knack otherwise we were stuck!) Shower drain blocked - had to be cleared by my other half before we could use it. Whole hotel ran out of toilet paper on our second day - we were given a pile of serviettes instead!! On to the staff.... we've truly never seen anything like it. It was like it was the hotel's opening weekend. No-one seemed to know what they were doing, probably a lot of summer staff. Things like forgetting our breakfast on the first morning. I know mistakes happen but a young waitress asked us if she can get us anything else (while clearing our cereal plates) and we advised we were still waiting on our hot breakfast. Half an hour later we overheard a waiter advising all guests were done. We tried to get their attention and eventually explained we hadn't yetvhad ours. When they told the chef there were fits of hysterics from some waiting staff and some raised voices, they'd clearly forgotten us. Ages later the main waiter emerged - think he'd had to make it for us! He apologised and was very nice about it but it wasn't ideal - our order was wrong and plates had stuff missing etc. In general however, the food was ok. Dinner wasn't served until 7pm which was quite late for us. It was ready for your arrival so not made fresh but we made a point of being sharp so that we got it first. Choices were ok. My eldest barely ate anything but then, she's fussy. Parking was a nightmare, especially on the first night with cats abandoned everywhere. Now for the positive stuff... The view is amazing! Really lovely spot overlooking the water. The front gardens are lovely and compared to the rest of the hotel, are well kept. The senior staff are welcoming and friendly. In short, this hotel needs some serious tlc and some time invested in training their waiting staff prior to using them! Oh, and some more toilet paper!!

Morag Mackay said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd July 2018

Excellent value for money, good friendly service. Lovely sea view from the bedroom as well as the main areas. Food was good quality although limited choice. Bathroom in our room could do with an update in the near future.

Catherine Usher said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th July 2018

Had a brilliant break at Esplanade Hotel. Location was perfect. You can walk right out onto the promenace and beach. Staff in bar and restaurant were so helpful and friendly abd welcoming. Food was lovely and was served quickly and efficiently. Entertainment was superb. Dirty dancing tribute act was excellent and we were served welcome bubbly and snacks too. Met some wonderful people and made new friends and we all hope to return for a reunion at the Esplanade soon. Excellent value for money with 4 course dinner both nights and breakfasts on our 2 day break as well as a welcome bottle of wine. £99 pp was a fantastic bargain.

A guest said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 20th July 2018

We were given a room which hadn’t been cleaned at all. Reception staff very quickly remedied the situation and the room was serviced within 30 minutes. Staff very friendly and helpful

julie reid said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th July 2018

Really enjoyed the weekend. Staff particularly in restaurant were lovely. Room comfortable with fabulous view.. will fldefinitely return.

A guest said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 12th June 2018

Our room was clean,had comfortable twin beds and an alcove area athe widow wth two comfy seats and a round table.The bathroom had a walk in shower which was powerfull and easily adjusted.We did not have a sea view but our room was only a few yards from the entertainment lounge which opened on to a large balcony overlooking the Clyde. The dining room was five steps down from the reception area, which was not ideal as my wife is disabled,however we did receive assistance from the very friendly,helpfull staff. The four course dinners were very good,well presented with generous portions.Service was efficient without being rushed.Although not ideal for disabled I would recommend The Esplanade Hotel to family and friends.

Deane Granger said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 30th May 2018

What can I say. This hotel is not ultra modern, in fact like most of it's kind from it's era it is quite quirky and dated. (Squeaky floor boards n noisy pipes are testimony to that ). However that said, I think this hotel has the best location and view of them all and if you are lucky enough to have the gorgeous weather that we did, then sitting in the garden or balcony is bliss. Make sure you ask for a sea view, mine was partial but lovely and spacious. Last but not least the staff really do deserve a mention, they were all lovely, very courteous and hard working individuals. Ps we decided to take the long but beautiful drive from Glasgow to Dunoon instead of the ferry, which was worth it for the scenery alone.

C Bonnar said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 26th May 2018

I had booked this a few months ago and upgraded the room only a few weeks ago and I booked my dinner time the same week before with the hotel direct as prompted by an email. The hotel double booked a big wedding and the myhotelbreak.com guests were told they had not booked. I drove for four hours to get there and after thre hours going back and fourth between the sister hotel to try and reason with them. We had to have another four hour drive home. The hotels treatment of guests is absolutely atrocious. My hotelbreak.com should drop this hotel as it does not put them in a good light either.

Jacqueline Love said...

70%
60%
80%
N/A

Stayed 25th May 2018

We enjoyed our break at the Esplanade, the weather was fantastic which made it even better for us. The staff were very nice and helpful too!. Although they seemed to be understaffed. As it was the same people who were on for the three days that we were there.They worked very hard, and even though they must have been exhausted; they still managed to smile and be polite and helpful. The entertainment on Friday night from Acoustic Sounds was really good. We thoroughly enjoyed them. Our room was basic but fine. We would go back to this hotel.

A guest said...

47%
60%
30%
50%

Stayed 26th May 2018

My husband and I booked a room from May 26 - 28 inclusive as we had previously visited the Esplanade during the last Bank Holiday. Plus points i) The staff are really helpful and pleasant to deal with. ii) Rooms are clean and basic although they could do with an update. iii) Easy access to the Promenade via a rear exit. Down side i) Not enough staff at meal times. There was a fairly disruptive group there celebrating 'Matt's 50th birthday'. The restaurant was comandeered by them, I counted about seventeen of them not counting two babies vying with the adults for who could make the most noise, at meal times. Others guests in the restaurant had to wait around 40 - 60 minutes for any service. Some left their tables because of either the noise or the time it took waiting to be served. ii) Car parking. Yes there are spaces, but they are very limited and the advice given was to use the car park of one of the other hotels further along the road. iii) Very limited choice of main meals if you are vegetarian, as my husband is, although there was ample servings. iv) Our previous visit saw us in a room with no cold water and a broken shower. Neither were attended to during our visit despite being reported immediately. This time around there was a broken chair in our room, a different room I should add, it still hadn't been replaced by the time we left on Monday 28th, again this was reported shortly after checking in. Why only one chair for two guests? There was also an issue with no television service both nights we were there. v) Access doors to the garden area, and first floor lounge, were open because of the heat which was fine, unless you were a non-smoker when smoke, and its associated smell, drifted in because smokers insist on being as close to the doors as they could get. This put both lounges off limits as neither of us smoke.

Gregor paton said...

54%
50%
50%
60%

Stayed 26th May 2018

Setting was fantastic for a lovely weekend of weather, although despite being in a clan room with sea view the window was so small we had to take turns to admire the view. On our 1st day there was a wedding in the hotel which seemed to cause problems for all the other hotel guests. On check in we were told dinner was 7pm but when we went down restaurant was closed with a note saying it would be open at 8pm. Went to reception to query and were told we could wait in lounge for an hour. Eventually after speaking to different staff member we took a 10 minute walk to a sister hotel for dinner. Breakfast was chaotic. Very hard working waiting team were very understaffed, no tables ready, but when we did get one the staff were so busy speeding by ody thought to take our breakfast order. Day two was better for evening meal, food and service was good. Day two breakfast similar to day one. The manager spoke to us as we were checking out. Very pleasant man who was already aware of the issues and seems to be working hard to rectify them.

JAMES PRYDE said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 1st April 2018

Enjoyed our time there, the room was clean and tidy, staff could not do enough for you and we couldn't fault the food. We will go back

Heather Elshout said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th May 2018

Stayed at Esplanade Hotel in Dunoon for 2 nights for my husband's birthday in May 2018 We both said the hotel was wonderful ,couldn't fault it in anyway . Had a room in the 1st floor overlooking the sea, was lovely and big and also clean. Meals in the restaurant were really good too .could not fault any of the staff either in the restaurant ,the bar or reception and we will definitely be going back again. Would highly recommend

Linda Drummond said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th May 2018

Lovely hotel very nice helpful staff. Food good. Room comfortable.

Jean Logan said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th May 2018

Nice hotel food was excellent

Charles Crossan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th May 2018

Had a great time food and service great

lilian mcpheators said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 20th April 2018

Fab hotel ,3rd visit and hoping to be back later in the year , excellent value for the price we paid , couldn’t find any faults , seaview from our room was amazing

Lawson Brown Kyle said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th April 2018

Lovely hotel with plenty of seating. The malt cellar was great and would please any malt whisky drinker. Only drawback was small cups in the room, please change to mugs.

Georgina Ramage said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 13th April 2018

Great value for money staff friendly and efficient food lovely room and facilities very good will be back

angela courtis said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 28th March 2018

Had a fantastic stay at the Espanade and the staff were all amazing ,they couldn’t do enough for us . What a brilliant team .

Gary Scott said...

80%
80%
70%
90%

Stayed 29th March 2018

Arrived Thursday for a couple of nights chill out and to de-stress from normal life. Arrived late afternoon and checked in to find our Premier room was still in use so apologies from Perry we could check in to normal room then move in the Friday with a couple of drinks on the house I’ll list the Pro’s & Con’s below bear in mind this is a historic family hotel in Dunoon not the Astoria Waldorf Pro’s Well situated and direct on promenade & central to most things. Rooms the front facing sea rooms are large comfortable and warm with stunning views. The food - I was pleasantly surprised the food was very nice and varied even on a set menu (4 courses) Drinks not the most expensive even for hotel prices and they do a nice Belgian lager The staf polite and helpful through from the reception to bar / restaurant a lot of new faces I believe and still getting used to things and the odd language barriers. The Con’s Restaurant especially needs some leadership / guidance during meals it gets a bit messy and no order to who gets served etc. Parking - limited and if you move you lose !! All in all a decent enough stay and we would probably return.

Ann Marie Downes said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 23rd March 2018

Lovely traditional hotel .We had a stunning sea view and found it so theutic. Room very clean with lovely,good quality towels.Staff were very pleasant,helpful and accommodating.Dinner on Friday night was very ‘Eighties’ and Ok. Saturday night was good. Bailey’s cheesecake was fantastic and tasted home made.Would recommend,

Mr McNellan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 31st December 2017

The hotel was perfect for us, the staff were very friendly and courteous, the room and food were excellent also the entertainment.