Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Caledonian Hotel, Newcastle

Osbourne Road, Newcastle, NE22AT, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

82%

Raymond Tennent said...

70%
80%
50%
80%

Stayed 10th November 2017

Fine hotel Slightly out of town in Jesmond area that closes down at 11pm .Yes closes down.Power of the property owners.All the hotel staff very good.Food very good but service from kitchen could be a lot quicker.Slow on both nights stay I would certainly recommend buch the taxi you get to go into city centre.Black cabs are the most expensive but LA driver charged me £7.50 and the return journey,same route £5.50.Be on your guard or get the price before hand . The two night deal was value for money and will watch out for it again.

A guest said...

54%
20%
80%
60%

Stayed 15th October 2017

we arrived at lunchtime on sunday for our stay.. informed the girl at reception that id left my car in their car park and were going for a walk round town and would be back at 2pm for check in.. all was fine when we got back and she said ive put u in a nice room !! well if thats a nice room i dont know wot a horrible one is.. tiny room.144 at back of hotel. grubby walls , bathroom rusty etc.. complained at reception and in fairness they moved us to a lovely refurbished room along the corridor 116. it was like walking into a different hotel. staff were lovely and made us feel very welcome so all in all had a good time.

Linda Melvin said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 31st March 2014

Great stay. Menu for evening meal was amazing food exceptional.

Carol Rushton said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th January 2017

A very comfortable stay, clean room and excellent food. It was the same menu each night but plenty of choice of food and well presented. The hotel was only a 20 minute walk from the city centre so very convenient for sightseeing. We highly recommend this hotel for a city break.

Gillian McNeil said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th November 2016

What a lovely clean, friendly hotel in an upmarket area. We booked this hotel for a weekend away for our wedding anniversary & my husband's birthday. from check in to check out we received first class service, nothing was any trouble to any of the hotel staff. we will definitely be booking again to stay at the Caledonian hotel, definitely value for money.

carole templeton said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th November 2016

I recently stayed at this hotel and had a great couple of nights. The room was large and airy, food was excellent both breakfast and dinner. Staff are very friendly and polite, I am hoping to return in the new year would highly recommend this hotel .

Hazel Beardow said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st October 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights to meet up with our friends, we had previously stayed here on a Peel hotel Gold Card Offer. Had a great weekend could not fault the hotel, good location, friendly staff and excellent food. We arrived early but were checked in straight away. The only slig6ht problem was the happy hour not all drinks available , choice very restricted so be careful what you order, but otherwise everything very good. Thank you for a great weekend.

Hazel Beardow said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st October 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights to meet up with our friends, we had previously stayed here on a Peel hotel Gold Card Offer. Had a great weekend could not fault the hotel, good location, friendly staff and excellent food. We arrived early but were checked in straight away. The only slig6ht problem was the happy hour not all drinks available , choice very restricted so be careful what you order, but otherwise everything very good. Thank you for a great weekend.

joanne donoghue said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st October 2016

Had a lovely weekend. Staff were very helpful and nothing waa too much trouble.

Stewart Warburton said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd September 2016

Great hotel but not Saay night. We had a disabled room and it was perfect for our needs. The food in the restaurant was really good with good size portions. The service was first class. Saay night was wedding nights and hen nights and the noise went on till 2:30am. On the other nights of our stay the hotel was quiet.

A guest said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 19th September 2016

The hotel was ideal for our short break requirements with easy access to the city centre. The room was clean, the beds comfortable and hotel facil good. The only disappointment was the food with the buffet breakfast on the cold side and an unchanging and slightly limited dinner menu.

Gordon Roberts said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd November 2014

Bedrooms very basic, but clean, perhaps a little makeover would not go a miss, replace carpets for one. Room service was good, done daily with fresh towels. Evening meals, food was excellent and service also excellent. As I booked two seperate stays, this seemed to cause the hotel a little confusion over the one dinner per stay.

Ian Kirk said...

74%
60%
70%
90%

Stayed 8th October 2014

Best dinners I have ever enjoyed at any Classic Britain hotel.

Brian Graham said...

74%
50%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th April 2014

On arrival staff were very helpful, we were early so rooms were not ready allowed to drop off cases within hotel no problem. Check in was swiftly carried out later in the day and booking was taken for restaurant. Room 201 was ideal apart from noise from fan/air con unit above the room, as we were booked in for only 2 nights we did not mention this to reception. Food in restaurant was excellent.

Lorraine Bendle said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 13th December 2013

Great location for a weekend in Newcastle. Hotel very clean and staff helpful and friendly. Would stay again and would recommend.

ian greenhalgh said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 9th December 2013

hotel and stuff very nice I would stay again without any question

William Howie said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 30th November 2013

Very well run hotel and service excellent. Would definitely stay here again. Located in a really classy area of town.

C Eaglesham said...

67%
70%
70%
60%

Stayed 9th November 2013

good location,very comfy bed.plenty of other bars nearby

Richard Thomas said...

74%
40%
100%
80%

Stayed 20th October 2013

Great location in residential area with lots of bars and restaurant in road it side hotel. Dinner quality of food was excellent but quirky and limited main courses so would not get all in dinner package in room. Service. Universally helpful and friendly. Room was average even though described as executive and done problems remained unfixed throughout the duration of the stay. Free wifi but only worked on laptop in reception. Overall not perfect but recommended if you get a good price.

R Custard said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 1st October 2013

the staff were friendly, and helpful. The dinner menu was the same both nights, quite a lot of options but not really to our taste, so a shame (for us personally)that it didn't change. Having said that, it was good food and plentiful. Breakfast was excellent with both cooked, and cereals etc and fresh fruit which was a bonus.

Mrs Masson said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th May 2013

Our whole weekend at Newcastle was first class accom. and service food etc. was of the very best in fact 1st class.

Margaret Gourlay said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 30th March 2013

pleasant hotel, great location.

Gillian Craik said...

67%
60%
70%
70%

Stayed 22nd March 2013

Check your rate on booking in! They attempted to change the tariff and booking for DBB 2 for 1 to just dinner on 1st night on arrival but sorted it quickly. Room was spacious and clean (exec twin room). Toilet was freezing- no bath. Breakfast was very good. Dinner deal was also fine with good choice. Bar adjoining restaurant- very noisy and limited choice of times to eat which was a bit odd as restaurant was virtually empty both nights. Service and staff both good though. Good value but we were advised cheaper deals available for hotel by taxi driver- so check this out!

Fraser Soutar said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 23rd February 2013

very pleasant stay,friendly staff

G Mary Holmes said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 15th February 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Caledonian very much. Last November we stayed at the Holiday Inn in Garforth, Both breaks were very good indeed.