Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, St Andrews

Pilmour Links, St Andrews, KY169JQ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

brian Stewart said...

64%
80%
30%
80%

Stayed 17th November 2017

Excellent position for all St.Andrews amen. Our room was spacious and clean and the maids cleaned and replaced the towels. We were a party of 8 and booked a table in the One Under Gastro Bar which I was apprehensive about after reading some reviews, however the food there and the breakfast was well cooked and presented. My only real downer was the service at Breakfast which I can only describe as chaotic and the cream tea where they served the coffee and tea then 10 minutes arrived with the scones by which time we had to re-order the drinks which had gone cold. The management have to look at their staffing levels particularly in the restaurant even at this time of year. Comments are based on the hotels Star rating which on service was only worth a 2*

A guest said...

47%
50%
50%
40%

Stayed 5th November 2017

Hotel in a lovely situation with good views to the golf course and the sea.Rooms were adequate and clean.Beds were on the soft side for our group of 8- we had Four double rooms. We think there was an"issue" with staff,especially in the kitchen.We dined both nights in the pub area downstairs as our allowance of £25 per head for dinner would not have been sufficient for a two course meal,or even a main meal.Staff in the pub area were pleasant and not their fault that a lot of items were "not available".The second night was worse than the first and we actually asked just to tell us what was available as there were so many things not there.?we asked for 3 fish dishes but there was only one.We heard that there was only one chef on duty which probably explains the very long wait for anything we got. We were offered drinks to recompense us which was fine but an apology for a long wait for food and for hardly any choice would have been appreciated -even the next day when it was mentioned to reception on paying the bill, there was no apology - just a comment that there had been a meeting with the head chef that morning and everything was now "sorted"- not much good to us the night before. It is a nice hotel in s good situation but our group felt that it wasn't quite up to MacDonald hotel standard

Tracey Burns said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th October 2017

We have been visiting St Andrews for over 20 years, we booked our stay at Rusacks as part of my husbands birthday celebrations as we have stayed here previously. We were not disappointed in our DB&B deal. Our room was to the front of the hotel with fabulous views of the golf course (much to my husbands delight), as well as sea and beach views. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious offering us a little luxury during our stay. We visited both restaurants Rocco, & The One Under during our stay, Rocco was also the location for breakfast. The food and service at Rocio was excellent, definitely worth a visit,. The food at one under was good offering more main stream to suit all pockets, however the service knowledge and experience of staff were of a lower standard compared to Rocco. We found staff at the hotel to be friendly and helpful. We would recommend a stay at The Rusacks for any visitors as the setting, location, and hotel are well appointed for all St Andrews has to offer.

Natalie Gray said...

67%
70%
70%
60%

Stayed 21st October 2017

Hi The hotel is very nice and lovely location over the golf course and the beech front. St. andrews is one of my favourite places. Room was nice and clean would have been nice if it had a bath in the bathroom and view of the golf course, but it was fine. We chose to eat in the One under Gastro Pub but even though we had booked a table when it can to order there were around 5 items on the menus no longer available which limited our choice. Breakfast was lovely especially the black pudding. One criticism of most hotel really is that you always bring tea/coffe and toast before the breakfast which means drinks and toast has gone cold. The cream tea was ok scones were homemade but quite hard. All in all we had a pleasant stay.

Catherine Webster said...

54%
80%
10%
70%

Stayed 19th October 2017

The Hotel was great our room and view we had delighted with . Very disappointed with service in restaurant we had booked the Gastropub to eat but on arrival told we had to use the restaurant but could have the Gastropub menu. Felt invisable in restaurant sat half an hour no one came near us asked for some water for table no water arrived asked again finally got some then menu arrived asked for Gastropub menu and person in charge restaurant not pleased tried to get us to take other menu. I advised had booked other menu in advance and was told by reception no problem to get that menu. Problem with my starter sorted no problem after being in restuarant over 45 minutes still no one took drinks order had to chase that up and complain before we got a drink if the meal hadn't been part of the deal would have refused to pay for it they were very badly organised shame Coz hotel itself great would love to go back pity about the restuarant certainly wouldn't want to return for dinner don't think have ever had such bad service would return to hotel though

Margaret Pitcairn said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th October 2017

Perfect from checking in to checking out. Wish I had booked a 2 night stay. Can't wait to return. Great value for money and the staff were so helpful

David Constable said...

84%
60%
90%
100%

Stayed 9th October 2017

Reception areas in the hotel were very nice but our room was on the main road and was a little noisy. The food was very good

A guest said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st October 2017

The staff were fantastic and helpful. The food was amazing. The only let down was the room and bathroom are in need of a update. Very dated. Especially the bathroom

LINDA MCCARREY said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th March 2017

Lovely night at the Rusacks. Afternoon tea served in lovely surroundings. Very enjoyable. Really nice meal in the One Under and an amazing breakfast in the morning. It was outstanding. Lovely young man cleared a window table for us and had it reset. Would highly recommend.

Jean Donnelly said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th March 2017

Just returned from a 2 day break at the Rusacks Hotel. Was a bit concerned on reading some of the reviews on trip advisor prior to our stay however I am pleased to report that all staff were friendly and attentive. We were fortunate enough to be allocated a room on the top floor with an amazing view over the golf course and looking out to sea. This is an older hotel so it is understandable that some rooms may look a little tired, however our room was very clean and had everything that we needed. Our deal included a 3 course meal on the first night and a cream tea. We thoroughly enjoyed both and found the quality of food and the service in the bar and restaurant areas to be top notch. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this break as being good value for money

A guest said...

50%
10%
90%
50%

Stayed 25th February 2017

On arrival we could not get into the car park so had to drive around for a space to park. Booking in was straight forward and staff member very professional, when booking our meal we could not get into the restaurant of our choice which was disappointing for us.The standard of our room was very tired and required some updating large stains on carpet which you would not expect for a hotel of that standard. The staff in the hotel were excellent and have no complaints whatsoever. Breakfast and creme tea were very enjoyable. I feel the hotel could improve in many areas and after my stay I will not return to the Russacks.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th February 2017

We had a lovely two nights at the Rusacks Hotel recently. From the help of Richard , the porter, who was extremely helpful as I am disabled,to the cheerful and helpful reception staff we had a lovely time. St. Andrews is a great base to explore the east neuk of fife. Food was lovely and I can recommend the breakfast. We will be back!

Amanda Gammie said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 28th January 2017

Loved our stay!

P McFarlane said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 22nd January 2017

Would happily stay again

andrew coll said...

37%
50%
30%
30%

Stayed 20th January 2017

hotel is very over rated

Clare Jones said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st January 2017

Lovely hotel, albeit a little tired in places. Our room overlooked a busy road which I thought would be a nuisance at night, but it was fine, didn't keep us awake. The food was excellent, we ate in the One under gastro pub and had full choice of the menu with our dbb deal. Breakfast was really nice too, in the Rocco restaurant, overlooking the bay. A cream tea was also included in our deal, unfortunately we had no time to fit that in! I would definitely buy this deal again.

William Baird said...

57%
30%
80%
60%

Stayed 8th January 2017

The room was small, but the bed was very small. My wife and I have never stayed in a four star hotel with such a small bed. It spoiled our break. Given the hotel was very quiet I would have expected the hotel to offer us a better standard of accommodation. The breakfasts were good but the evening meal was pretty average. Again not up to the standard of a four star hotel.

A guest said...

84%
100%
100%
50%

Stayed 29th December 2016

The room we were given at the hotel was outstanding. Two double beds a beautiful view of the beach and the golf course with a table and chairs by the window where you could sit and admire it. Beautiful en suite off a small extra corridor. Very disappointed in my meal at the Rocca restaurant. Baby gem lettuce starter uninspiring and monkfish was over seasoned however they did take the starter off the bill. Breakfast was lovely. Wish we had gone to the one under restaurant as it could have been a perfect stay. Will definitely return.

lynsey innes said...

67%
80%
50%
70%

Stayed 29th December 2016

Staff need to be a bit slicker with their service. Hotel and accommodation were great and overall we had a lovely break.

Declan Downey said...

14%
40%
0%
0%

Stayed 27th December 2016

food in the 1 under restaurant was inedible complained to manager compensated to meal in Rocco restaurant Breakfast service was terrible only ordered 1 boiled egg for myself & poached egg for my wife waited over 30mins then left Very disappointed after spending hard earn money on this festive break you would expect better from a 4star hotel

Kim Partridge said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th December 2016

Room not ready but just went to the bar. Nice hotel room cold staff friendly food good.

Andrew Todd said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th November 2016

Hotel was excellent. Food was great and the staff were excellent. Great views of the old course. Service was outstanding. Keep up the great work.

Jane McCran said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd November 2016

Really enjoyable 2 night stay at this lovely well positioned hotel. Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.

Elizabeth Ivison said...

70%
60%
60%
90%

Stayed 8th November 2016

We found the waiting staff, bar staff, restaurant managers very pleasant and helpful, however the more senior management seemed to be inefficient. We sins both nights we were in the hotel in One Under, the food was very good but we bother prefer red wines, the wine list contained only 5 different types 2 of which were unavailable, I don't think this is acceptable for a hotel chain such as Macdonald. My husband enjoys trying out local beers, the drought version of such a beer was also unavailable. The receptionist who booked us in on Tuesday 8th was singularly unhelpful, when I pointed out that the hotel car park was full, she condescendingly pointed out we could park in the street or in the long stay car park, quite a distance away. She didn't seem to be aware of 'my hotel break' then pointed out that we would need to pay £75 per night to cover any additional expenditure, what she didn't point out was that this would not be taken from our credit card till we checked out. The bottom line is that I would think twice about returning to Rusacks.

A guest said...

70%
80%
80%
50%

Stayed 6th November 2016

Lovely hotel but the One Under Restaurant was very cold, not comfortable to eat in .