Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Holiday Inn Hotel Dumfries, Dumfries

The Crichton, Dumfries, DG14ZZ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

91%

Alistair Inness said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 24th November 2013

Stayed for bed and breakfast. Again as in previous visits hotel extremely clean,staff very smart,helpful and attentive.Restaurant has been refurbished as has the bar although I wasn't in it.Breakfast was adequate buffet style although one change since last visit is you make your own toast with a pretty advanced machine also the addition of some fresh pastries would be appreciated rather than pre packaged muffins.What I really like about this hotel is the peaceful nature and on every stay I have had a very quiet room which has meant a peaceful sleep which is far from guaranteed in other hotels. This was the first visit that we were not in a superior room however the room was still sizeable with a massive bed and great shower.This is the best hotel in Dumfries and the deal we had at

Mrs Lyttle said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th November 2013

Stayed in Room 122. There was a creaky floor in room above which disturbed our sleep. When I went to the toilet when awoken during the night the lights tripped when I put on bathroom light. TV also froze, maybe handset.

L McBeth said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th November 2013

Excellent hotel and food. Big bed and spotless rooms. Had problems actually finding Hotel even with sat nav

katherine hall said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th November 2013

When we stayed at this hotel when it was named the Aston. Had a great time and dined in the Marco Pierre restaurant which had just been opened, it was excellent. The service and rooms were good. The hotel is within lovely grounds which we explored and were fascinated with, great history to the hotel building as well. A good walk into town and perfect bus service for the return back to the hotel as it is up a steep hill.

Alex Stevenson said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 27th October 2013

My second visit to this hotel and just as good as first.

Mrs Gillespie said...

90%
100%
90%
80%

Stayed 18th October 2013

My Husband and I enjoyed our stay and would return. Did not manage to finish our meal on the Friday as we had booked a taxi for 7pm(meal was booked for 6pm taxi also booked at that time for 7pm) Taxi did not turn up .

Lesley Macintyre said...

60%
100%
10%
70%

Stayed 14th October 2013

My husband and I returned from a 2 day break last week. We left the hotel extremely disappointed at the way we were treated. On check-in we were asked for a credit card which i had no problem with, I did, however advise that we would be paying in cash. i was told by the receptionist that as we were paying cash, we had to pay the full amount on check-in which we did (although I did not agree with it) When we tried to check -out two days later, the receptionist on duty had no record of our cash payment. She checked several different things and then said that we could leave (we felt uncomfortable at the way we were treated) and that she would need to check the banking at a later time. I asked for a receipt and was told i couldn't get one as she had no record of the cash payment. We have had no contact from the hotel since then and I can only assume they 'found' the cash. It would have been nice to have been told this. On a more positive note we did have a good break, the hotel is nice and is in a beautiful setting. Spoiled by the way we were treated at check-out!!!

Linda Osborne said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 13th October 2013

This is our hotel of choice when visiting friends in Dumfries. The hotel is of a consistently high standard and never disappoints. Booking with classic Britain was very easy and straightforward.

Mrs Parker said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th October 2013

stopped giving biscuits with your tea in room and no shower cap

John Edwards said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 7th October 2013

Bedrooms need refreshing.Staff very helpful at all times.

MARY MCLAUCHLAN said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 19th September 2013

Lovely hotel with very helpful and friendly staff . Restaurant although small is very well organised and the food is lovely and beautifully presented This is our second visit to this beautiful hotel and we will certainly return again.

Charles McConnach said...

54%
80%
60%
20%

Stayed 8th September 2013

Very nice hotel in a beautiful location. Room excellent in the extension. However, the quality of food in the restaurant was very disappointing. While the starters and sweets were usually good, the main courses left a lot to be desired and on two occasions complained to the waitress about the quality of the dish we had ordered. She said she would let the chef know of our complaint but got no feedback from either the kitchen or management. We were also disappointed that quiet a few of the choices on the menu had surcharges of anything from

K Stewart said...

77%
90%
80%
60%

Stayed 11th August 2013

I had a good few days at the Aston in Dumfries I have used this hotel several times before. The reception staff are very good and helpful and check in and out was done quickly and efficiently.

John Edwards said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th August 2013

Good value for money.Staff very helpful at all times.Food and accommodation excellent.Our first visit to this area and we will definitely return to explore more of it' hidden gems.Good luck to the new Manager Paul who we met during our stay and who went out of his way to make sure that we were well satisfied with everything.

PATRICIA INNESS said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 4th August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in executive room on DBB basis. Great room, very clean and spacious with big bathroom. Staff very friendly. Food OK paid supplement and had steak, not up to my expectations. Paid extra for sauce, consistency very runny and steak was gristly. Dinner next night was better.

David Simpson said...

87%
100%
100%
60%

Stayed 29th July 2013

Having have stayed at this hotel twice in the past with all sections in the 9 to 10 category, was very disappointed on this occassion with the main dinner menu options offered ( not a la carte).

jennifer newhouse said...

97%
100%
90%
100%

Stayed 28th July 2013

impressed with the cleanliness of bedroom and found the evening menu very varied and good

Rev George B Moller said...

80%
100%
80%
60%

Stayed 22nd July 2013

This beautifully-sited hotel has comfortable rooms. While the boutique restaurant served tasty starters and desserts, the favourite-choice pork fillet turned out to be very tough.

A guest said...

94%
100%
80%
100%

Stayed 22nd July 2013

Very much enjoyed our stay at the Aston Hotel, Dumfries. Excellent appointed rooms - loved the shower. Very clean. Food very tasty and well presented. Good to see local produce on the menu. Essential to book a table for dinner as the restaurant is very busy.

wendy doyle said...

87%
100%
100%
60%

Stayed 20th July 2013

the only complaint was food quality.

Edward Robertson said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 15th July 2013

Second time here stayed two nights lovely place room fine service fine food ok gammon steak a bit undercooked

A McMahon said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th July 2013

Had a great overnight stay in the Aston, everything was superb and the grounds are amazing, this is our second visit at this hotel and would definitely book again.

Graham Johnston said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th June 2013

A very enjoyable two day stay, the food was excellent and beautifully served and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

John McCormack said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th June 2013

This is not our first stay at the Aston. We enjoy the quiet relaxed atmosphere and have never been disappointed.

isabell hendry said...

74%
100%
70%
50%

Stayed 31st May 2013

Room was excellent but food let the hotel down as did the service at times.