Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Argyll Hotel, Dunoon

Argyll Street, Dunoon, PA237NE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

74%

J Malaly said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 3rd September 2018

Very enjoyable stay. Staff very friendly and approachable. Would return at some point.

R Williams said...

37%
0%
50%
60%

Stayed 14th August 2018

I was really disappointed in the room in the hotel, the staff were helpful and friendly, the food was really nice. At check-in we were told we had a small double, it was no more than a large cupboard. It only had a 3/4 bed and was rather grubby. I should have complained but we were just glad to get there after travelling most of the day. I did complain at check out and was told to book direct through the hotel if we came back. I do understand and accept you only get a basic room when booking a special offer but the room was not fit for purpose. It was room 130 on the 3rd floor. There was a hoover and a big holdall just outside the room the whole of our visit, I just wonder if the room had been an employee's room.

Marion Muir said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th August 2018

There were 8 of us, we all checked in with no hassle, the staff were all great and we had a great weekend

Cari Pilkington McGregor said...

50%
30%
80%
40%

Stayed 18th August 2018

Very musty smell in stairway.carpet in bedroom in need of a good clean.wasnt advised when we booked rio restaurantgor our meal that it was a set menu. Breakfast a let down. Came to this hotel several years ago - has went downhill. Staff very nice & helpful though. Our room was for a couple but had 3 single beds& a travel cot. Staff removed cot at our request. They had been instructed to put this in !!

A guest said...

70%
70%
70%
70%

Stayed 9th August 2018

Very pleasant overnight stay. Paid more for room overlooking bay . Bathroom a wee bit squashed but ok. Good breakfast and inclusive dinner. Would stay again.

Stephen Donnelly said...

67%
50%
80%
70%

Stayed 9th August 2018

We had a lovely stay in Dunoon. Hotel is a bit dated and could do with a refurbishment. However it was clean enough with good pillows and the staff were friendly.

Jennifer Harper said...

77%
70%
100%
60%

Stayed 8th August 2018

Staff were nice and friendly, especially in the morning as we were late down for breakfast (our own fault, got breakfast times wrong). The waitress said breakfast had finished but went and spoke to the chef and we were given a delicious cooked breakfast.

Lynn Melville said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th July 2018

Had a lovely weekend at the Argyll were a mixup with my booking so derv.the manager put us in room 101 with fourposter bed and seaview beautiful.breakfast and evening meal was lovely.staff very friendly .big thank You to derv the manager cheering and friendly gentleman.will defo be back .

Susan Duncan said...

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 28th July 2018

Worst hotel I’ve stayed at , when arriving tried to charge us 10 pound more then gave us a room downstairs which had clothes in it . Think some member of staff was staying there room wasn’t even clean. Then the dinner , was disgusting , pakora had been dipped in heat and then my husband had fish and chips , fish was stone cold in the middle. While exoerience was a nightmare and wish we never booked this place.

Alexander Bruce said...

90%
80%
100%
N/A

Stayed 14th July 2018

Nice hotel well situated attentive staff and good food

Tracy Lanaghan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd July 2018

The staff were first class, from the management to the cleaning staff. Very helpful and very friendly. The food was delicious and beautifully served. A beautiful little town we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th June 2018

I booked this stay for my parents as a gift and they had a fantastic time from beginning to end. They said the room was lovely, the staff really friendly and the food great. They will definitely return.

May Semple said...

57%
10%
70%
90%

Stayed 8th June 2018

Value for money was excellent, staff friendly and helpful. Meals were also excellent value for money. However, the rooms leave a lot to be desired, decor was tired, housekeeping and cleanliness very poor. The double rooms on the 3rd floor facing inwards only had a skylight window, very small bed, possibly only 3/4 size and you could literally not swing a cat. I feel this should be pointed out to the customer prior to confirmation of the booking as these rooms are charged at the same rate as large sea view rooms with king size bed.

A guest said...

74%
80%
70%
70%

Stayed 8th June 2018

Just returned from our second murder mystery ( the first was brilliant ) at the Argyle hotel were disappointed regarding the service in the dinning room as it took 3 hours in total to serve our meal from start to finish it would have been so much better if they concentrated on serving the meal, my husband ended up ill due to not getting his main course till 9.30. The food ok but we were last to be served and the vegetables were cold . The actors did a great job, although very surprised when they tried to pack more than 45 guests into a lounge for music which only held approx. 25 we were eventually told we could sit in dinning room but felt very uneasy as staff were setting up for breakfast. Last time they put music in dinning room and it was great to have a dance on a wooden floor , this time we were asked to dance on carpet . Will be looking for a new venue for murder mystery .

James Samson said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 4th June 2018

Clean and comfortable. Great location but no parking at hotel although parking is available on road or car park across road. Be careful if in car park as half is pay and display and other half is free. The staff were all friendly and amenable, always willing to help. All in all a very pleasant stay.

A guest said...

70%
40%
80%
90%

Stayed 18th May 2018

Had an great time at Argyll hotel rooms dated but clean and food was excellent

David Wright said...

50%
0%
50%
100%

Stayed 20th April 2018

Yes, my stay at the Argyll Hotel in Dunoon - first let me say that the entertainment was first class - a very good laugh and enjoyment - well worth the money we spent to go there - now the bad news - when I arrived with my party of 6 at reception I found myself signing for a room that was not even under my name (signed as the name was in my brothers) - I tried to explain to the receptionist the error but I do not think she understood what I was trying to tell her - anyway we just accepted the room which was meant to be the best available ????? (very disappointed especially since we had booked this away back in 2017) On the friday night when coming back to our room I went into the bathroom and the stench of cigarette smoke was absolutely disgusting - for a non smoking hotel I couldn't understand where the smoke was coming from ? I went to reception to complain about this and speaking to the same receptionist as before her initial response was "you cannot smoke in the room you must go outside the hotel as it is a non smoking hotel" ????? On her seeming to understand what I was trying to say to her she said she would investigate but on speaking to her the following morning nothing was done !!!!!! Then again on the saturday night the smell of smoke was their again in the bathroom - I then proceeded to go to reception on the sunday morning to complain and spoke to another receptionist and again explained - she was very sad to hear the trouble we have had on this stay especially as my wife and myself do not smoke - she said she would investigate and I left my email with her - it has now been a week and I have heard nothing from the hotel regarding this matter - hence the delay in me putting a review - I am very disappointed in this response especially or in this case no response - as I have been there on a few occasions and enjoyed it along with my friends and family but I will hesitate to book again - if you go there and you are in room 120 please be aware as to what could happen - still waiting for an appropriate response from the hotel - maybe you never know.

Angela Sneddon said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 23rd March 2018

Attended for the murder mystery with friends for the weekend and had a great time. Great value for money. Hotel room was small, but of a nice clean standard. Only 1 lift which is slow and small however we had no issues using the stairs to the third floor. Staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful. Service was good and the food across the weekend was excellent. The murder mystery set up was fantastic and played out really well. You can tell that everyone really enjoys what they are doing. Would definitely return back.

hugh o'donnell said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd March 2018

when we arrived we were allocated a room on the third floor we discovered the lift was not working as i suffer from a lung problem .my wife approached the young lady on reception and explained the situation where upon we were moved to the first floor . our room was clean and for once very warm we can highly recommend this hotel from the receptionist to the bar staff and the dining room staff a warm welcome awaits you . as for the dinner it was a pleasure both nights full plates both night and for the breakfast it was also a pleasure all in all i can recommend this hotel

Jenny Luke said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd February 2018

Fantastic break!

Paul McDermott said...

80%
70%
70%
100%

Stayed 21st February 2018

Good location although lots of redevelopment work going on outside food was delicous

Alison Conn said...

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 17th February 2018

We really enjoyed our stay at the Argyll Hotel. The Hotel was clean and the staff were really friendly and accommodating. We had a deal which gave us £10 credit each towards our meal in the Rio restaurant. The food was amazing but I would recommend booking your table. It would also be good if, when there are such deals on, you got a voucher to give to the restaurant staff. We mentioned to our waitress that we had this deal but the £20 wasn’t deducted from our bill so we had to go to the till and explain and show our confirmation email which was a littland embarrassing. The free glass of champagne on offer that night made up for it ;) We would stay here again if we were ever in the area.

Graham Magee said...

67%
70%
80%
50%

Stayed 16th February 2018

Spent a great weekend at this hotel, the room was clean , bed was comfortable only draw back was the size of the ensuite Fortunately we are not big people as the size of this ensuite was tiny and cramped .

caroline turnbull said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 11th February 2018

From the outside the hotel Looks impressive and we where not disappointed once inside.the overall decor and condition was stunning, Our room was a good size , however a little disappointed on the bed which was not a double but twin pushed together and a wee bit uncomfortable, the room would benefit from a de-clutter. Cannot fault the food as it was tasty as was the breakfast, disappointed with the lack of bar area. Staff around the hotel where pleasant but lacking in conv Overall we would return

Sabine Kurz said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th February 2018

There were dirty clothes in the cupboard in our room. The mattresses were quite uncomfortable, you could feel every spring. The shower stopped working after two minutes.