Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Castle Inn Hotel, Bassenthwaite

Near Keswick, Bassenthwaite, CA124RG, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

86%

Gary Freckelton said...

80%
80%
90%
70%

Stayed 24th February 2014

Stayed before and decided to book a longer stay this time and was not disappointed. The hotel is fairly remote at this time of year but is ideal for a relaxing break that we were after. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is well maintained. Overall we had a smashing time at the Castle Inn hotel.

Boyd Johnston said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th November 2013

Excellent hotel. Friendly, helpful staff, good facilities. Only complaint was that some of the gym equipment could do with some tlc maintenance

Kathleen Race said...

67%
90%
70%
40%

Stayed 17th November 2013

Hotel was in a great place ,staff were helpful and welcoming. We booked dinner,bed and breakfast but would only do bed and breakfast in future. We ate in bar , staff were very good but we sent one of main meals back as it was inedible. This was replaced but spoilt the evening .. Reception staff would not reduce our bill for inconvenience. Breakfast was good

Gary Freckelton said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 5th November 2013

Had a lovely couple of days at the Castle Inn Hotel. Although it was midweek and quiet all the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Facilities were well maintained and everything very clean. We chose to dine in the Lakers Bar and found the food really tasty and the atmosphere very relaxing. Bar staff were great and nothing seemed to be too much to ask. Will definitely be back!!

Mrs Brown said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 2nd November 2013

We have just had a lovely relaxing stay at Castle Inn and would highly recommend it. We booked through Classic Britain and got an excellent deal. Hotel beautifully laid out, rooms pristine and comfortable. I am vegetarian and although there was only one choice on a la carte I was able to order from the bar menu which had a better choice. We wouldn't hesitate to go back.

M Corrigan said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st November 2013

We had a very lovely stay at your hotel. The staff were extremely couteous, the food was delicious and we really liked the room and spa faclilties. We wanted to stay longer.

A Heigh said...

57%
80%
90%
0%

Stayed 11th October 2013

very enjoyable all staff friendly and helpful.food very good service excellant.

Gerard Moncrieff said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th October 2013

very pleasant stay in comfortable, friendly hotel

darren hall said...

84%
100%
70%
80%

Stayed 8th September 2013

Staff were very welcoming, the room was fantastic with lovely views. We had a relaxing break.

Mr Franey said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 17th April 2013

No WIFI anywhere in the hotel despite well publicised claims that it was available in all rooms.

Robin Snaddon said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 15th April 2013

This was our second stay at the Castle Inn. The room we were finally allocated was disappointing considering that we Had booked on the 18th of February and had paid the supplement for a guaranteed superior room - it was our Ruby wedding anniversary, and I did not wish to end up in a basic room. The first room we were given had a trellis in front of the window and overlooked the reception entrance... When I complained, we were told the hotel was full and they would try to do something. The next room we were shown (the only one, we were told) was a bit better, but still had an eight foot hedge in front of the windows. I suspect the Conference guests staying overnight were allocated the good rooms? On a positive note, breakfast was excellent, and the quality of the food served at dinner was excellent. The

J Anderson said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 7th April 2013

Already filled in paper feedback, how ever the only minor, lets call it an observation was that if guests are on a DBB stay with a

Allison McPhillips said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th March 2013

Excellent !!!

J V Hughes said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 15th February 2013

We had a double room and two family rooms for the weekend of 16/17 of Feb. This hotel was an excellent choice, in particular the family rooms were really spacious and the hotel facilities excellent. We celebrated a family birthday and we would like to thank ALL the hotel staff for the part they played in making the occasion so enjoyable.

Glynis Sheehan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 8th February 2013

We had a fantastic stay at The Castle Inn Hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was extremely clean and comfortable and the food superb. The only disappointment was that both the steam room and the jacuzzi were out of action. We had seen a note posted on the website to say the jacuzzi was closed but as that was dated 06/06/2012 had assumed it would have been reopened since then.

V Radford said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 30th December 2012

Would use again. Staff very polite and attentive. New Years Eve gala meal excellent.

Janette Roberts said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th November 2012

Excellent food, very helpful friendly staff. An enjoyable break.

Sheila Nicol said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 14th October 2012

Lighting in bedroom was a wee bit dim for reading by. (bedlights were great, though) Drawer or cupboard storage space for clothing was limited (wardrobe hanging space was great) Lovely bathroom and shower. We were disappointed that plat du jour / table d'hote menu was suspended on our third night (and thereafter) - it was not possible to order three courses from the a la carte menu within the

Robin Snaddon said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th September 2012

Excellent hotel. Initially, we were given a standard room, but after querying this, were upgraded. The new room was excellent; dinner in the restaurant was first rate and breakfast was OK, but not exceptional. One quibble at breakfast was that the cereal bowls looked disgusting - this may have been wear and tear in the dishwasher, but we were not the only guests to search through the pile of bowls for one which looked clean!

Christine Appleyard said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 4th June 2012

Good value for money, lovely location.Staff very helpful.

Sandra Porter said...

67%
70%
70%
60%

Stayed 31st May 2012

Staff friendly and helpful particularly the Manager. Unfortunately for my liking food was served with far too many veggies and mint served as garnish with almost every dish.

wendy doyle said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 6th May 2012

staff excellent- our room 1st floor could hear children running around downstairs- leisure facilities good- need updating- cracked tiles in steam room.food ok-bit overcooked- service good overall. hotel higgeldy-piggeldy- obviously in process of uptading- reception right at back of hotel?