Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, Carnoustie

The Links Parade, Carnoustie, DD77JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

A guest said...

37%
60%
40%
10%

Stayed 23rd January 2016

Good location only short walk from Main Street and beach and golf course. On arrival greeted at reception but not asked if dinner required or any information given regarding hotel facil or when/where breakfast was or what time. Building work ongoing to update. Our room was dated but clean and spacious. Had breakfast at 9:30 following morning staff pleasant however cooked breakfast cold and had to be sent back twice with result only had toast. When went to reception on checkout advised them regarding poor breakfast and they said unfortunately there was no management in hotel or on duty to speak with.

Elizabeth Gray said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 30th January 2016

Great location, food and well looked after.

William mathers said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 29th January 2016

Rooms comfortable & warm, food excellent. Staff very friendly.

A guest said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 23rd January 2016

Lovely hotel. Long wait for breakfast, and given it was a Sunday morning I was trying to get to church. Staff did not seem to notice order people were seated in as at least two tables who had come in after us had their orders taken first. I ended up going up to my room to pack as it was taking so long, and my friend phoned me when my cooked breakfast arrived. Would go again but would make sure I had given myself 1 and a half hours for breakfast. Our cooked breakfast arrived an hour after we presented ourselves at the dining room.

A guest said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 23rd January 2016

Lovely hotel. Long wait for breakfast, and given it was a Sunday morning I was trying to get to church. Staff did not seem to notice order people were seated in as at least two tables who had come in after us had their orders taken first. I ended up going up to my room to pack as it was taking so long, and my friend phoned me when my cooked breakfast arrived. Would go again but would make sure I had given myself 1 and a half hours for breakfast. Our cooked breakfast arrived an hour after we presented ourselves at the dining room.

ann crossan said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 22nd January 2016

2nd time here lovely hotel with a lot of renovations being done to upgrade, never bothered us in the slightest, food lovely, great selection for breakfast, great sleep in lovely big room

Brian Reid said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th January 2016

Very good hotel will be going back soon

George Hamilton said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th January 2016

We found the check in process to be a very good experience with pleasant and helpful staff. We did not take the dog along but paid the extra for a sea view room which they allowed us to access earlier than usual check in time and this was very much appreciated as my Fiancée has had health issues and I am recuperating from a serious car accident and the sea view room was therapy. The bed needed the duvet cover changed are there were stains on it and the housekeeper was in the corridor and changed this no problem. We used the pool and the steam room and sauna which were fine however for some reason the hot tub was being closed early and this was disappointing as we enjoy the theutic benefits on injuries. We dined in the Bistro at night and the meal was very good and they did get the order slightly wrong for my Fiancée however we let it be. Again the staff were efficient and friendly. Despite the refurb going on full steam ahead we were not disturbed by this at any time. We also stumbled on a wedding fair at the hotel which was advantageous as we are looking around at venues since becoming engaged in October. Would we go back Yes no problem.

J Bennett said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th January 2016

Lovely hotel and super-friendly staff. Upgraded to an extra large room overlooking the 18th green for just £15 for 2. Well worth it - lovely big room with great views. Large, clean, modern bathroom, with Used the pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room and all were superb. Didn't have dinner in the hotel, but breakfast was excellent. Great value and would definitely stay again.

Nicole Forrester said...

64%
70%
90%
30%

Stayed 13th January 2016

this was a christmas present for my fiances parents, they said that the hotel and staff were excellent. rooms very clean and although in the middle of a refurbishment, there was minimal impact. They said that the food was terrible. Rather dissapointing seeing as this is a 4 star hotel.

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th January 2016

Lovely good value stay with good leisure facil

ALAN RAMSAY said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 9th January 2016

Excellent. Great for a break.

A guest said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 27th December 2015

A very nice hotel with good leisure facil.

Cole Ronald said...

80%
50%
90%
100%

Stayed 28th December 2015

Meal was brilliant service was excellent room however could have been better bottom fitted sheet was too small for the bed which kept coming off night meaning i spent most my night sleeping on a mattress which isnt ideal but other than that views were breathtaking and i would stay there again

Jan Iffla said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 27th December 2015

Fantastic value for money, will definately be back.....

Alistair Mathers said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 20th December 2015

Consistently good. Bathroom a little tired, but upgrading in progress. Room comfortable, and service good as always. Breakfast plentiful.

Gillian Cossar said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th December 2015

The rooms were a bit tired and dated as were the leisure facil. The staff at the spa were excellent you went out there way to accommodate 2 treatments at short notice.

Marion Russell said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th November 2015

From the minute we arrived, a party of two couples, we were made to feel welcome. The room's were both excellent and clean with all required facilities. The restaurant was temporarily re-sited due to ongoing upgrading works. Even so the staff again were friendly and highly attentive. The menu was excellent and all food served was of a truly high standard. We can not praise the hotel and staff enough for truly relaxing and enjoyable stay. We all look forward to our next break at the Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa

C Bonnar said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th November 2015

Great start to our stay as the lady on reception gave us a free upgrade. She was so pleasant and welcoming real quality. The hotel had some renovation work going on but it did not interfere with our stay. The room was very nice although a bit cold as the windows were not a great seal and it was a real wintertime cold strong wind. Views across the golf course where stunning even though the weather was bad it still looked amazing.Food was first class reading tasty, savioured every bite. Will definitely return here. Staff everywhere were exceptional.

Gerry Findlay said...

37%
30%
50%
30%

Stayed 23rd November 2015

Whilst it was known that there were ongoing renovations I did not expect to be allocated a room in amongst 4 others that were being decorated. The smell of gloss paint was overwhelming and reception staff reluctantly provided another room on a differing floor. The restaurant and bar area were also being renovated and the whole atmosphere was cold. A great location for a break and the local Indian restaurant we found called Ganges was outstanding and worth a visit if you are in the area. I'm sure the hotel and facilities will be fantastic once finished and ready to host The Open in 2018, however there are probably better breaks out there at the moment and I will try again once the work is all done.

Susan Ritchie said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 22nd November 2015

Good hotel, friendly staff but in need of a bit of refurbishment, which is currently taking place.

Mary Wilkie said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th November 2015

Had a wonderful overnight stay here . Although the hotel was undergoing refurbishment disruption was at a minimum. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I can thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Ruth Ruddock said...

60%
80%
60%
40%

Stayed 17th November 2015

Excellent B+B deal. However breakfast was bit disappointing as there no hot buffet, which is/was surprising for busy 4 star hotel. On second morning, service for 'main' hot breakfast was slow. Although served on hot plate, scrambled egg was cold; full breakfast was overheated/dried up on both mornings. All staff we dealt with were friendly and courteous.

Alex Hunter said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th November 2015

Very enjoyable, made to feel welcome, nice staff and good food, would like to have stayed longer. We will return

Allan Herd said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 13th November 2015

Dinner was exceptional and in view of the renovations and price we paid we were happy to put up with the long delay for cooked breakfast. We were aware of other guests who had complained but the only thing I would suggest that someone had come round the tables to advise us of the delay rather than finding out by waiting. Staff were very attentive throughout. So much so we have booked again for January 2016.