Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, Carnoustie

The Links Parade, Carnoustie, DD77JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

Anne Wilson said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 2nd May 2014

spent 2 nights on DB&B rate with husband,daughter & son in law & we all enjoyed hotel.

Gail Hayworth said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th April 2014

This is the third time I have stayed at the Carnoustie Golf Hotel and Spa. I had an excellent stay, the staff are friendly and helpful, the food excellent and the rooms comfy and relacing.

Lorraine Walker said...

77%
60%
90%
80%

Stayed 24th April 2014

I was a little disappointed with this hotel. Having stayed at the Fairmont in St. Andrews via Classic Britain I was expecting the same level. The Carnoustie hotel looked tired and in need of refurbishment...especially the room decor and bathroom. Service from staff was very good though.

G Burness said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 21st April 2014

We have booked regularly with classic Britain but were a bit embarrassed when we checked in and they had no information of our booking

Mrs Lindsay said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th April 2014

Brilliant hotel and staff - rooms were ready early and very comfortable and clean - food was really good - great value.

charles collins said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 14th April 2014

Lovely service and staff very helpful ,decor in hotel needs updated to modern styles, overall though nice visit

Bryan Clegg said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th April 2014

Very nice hotel and we enjoy staying there. rooms comfortable and food good. Staff are always polite and friendly.

Susan Gibson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th April 2014

Great deal 2 nights for the price of 1 through Classic Britain. The food was really excellent and it was tremendous value for money. The staff could not be more helpful and made our stay very relaxing indeed. The hotel is 4 star and could do with a little TLC in places. Having said that the rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean.

Jan Deuchar said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 12th April 2014

We went to Carnoustie Golf Hotel with friends and had a most enjoyable stay. The staff are all very pleasant and helpful and the food was good, service was excellent and the location of the hotel is great.

Paul Jess said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 12th April 2014

Me and three pals were up from the Borders for a weekend walking. Although the hotel is not the closest to our destination at Mount Keen we had stayed here before for curling events nearby and it has always served us well. We had a cheery reception and were obviously expected being the last to check in when the hotel was full. Our room request had been met and although too late for a table in the restaurant we enjoyed very nice meal in the bar/lounge area. The staff throughout were great. We were in good spirits and they joined in with the banter allowing us to relax and enjoy ourselves without feeling we were in the way as you can in some places that are a bit more "stuffy". The only criticism of the hotel and it is a small one although important depending on what you are looking for is that there are too few comfy sofas and there isn't an area away from the TVs that adorn the walls. This is not an issue for a bunch of lads on a golf outing or similar but my wife was put off from going with her sisters and mother as she thought they would have preferred an area more conducive to complete relaxation, maybe a cocktail lounge would be an idea. Breakfast was good with a very reasonable choice. Sometimes it is table service but I have also experienced it done as a self service buffet on previous stays. I can only say that I have stayed here about 4 times now and wouldn't hesitate to go back, and looking forward to returning at the end of the year if not before.

Marti Anderson said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th April 2014

Excellent stay, bedroom clean, comfortable and view superb. All meals were of a very high standard and excellent service.

June Whyte said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th April 2014

We were on a return visit to this impressive hotel where the facilities, food and staff are excellent. The only minus point was the ice-making machine was right outside our room (221)and droned on all night keeping me awake but if it happens to future visitors please don't suffer like I did, phone the night porter to get it shut off.

Edna Watson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th April 2014

Enjoyed my stay at Carnoustie Gold Hotel & Spa, staff were very pleasant and helpful, food was good and loved having a view of the golf course from my room. Enjoyed having use of the leisure facilities and was impressed by gym equipment available. Overall very enjoyable stay.

William Royan said...

77%
100%
80%
50%

Stayed 2nd April 2014

Excellent hotel only criticism we had with the food was the breakfast was perfect, the dinner was more for the high class guest. The menu could be varied with at least a course of everyday good wholesome food

Fraser MacDonald said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th March 2014

On arrival at the hotel, we discovered that Classic Britain's 'Best Available Room' wasn't actually the 'Best Available Room'. However, the friendly staff at the hotel offered us the opportunity to upgrade our room to a suite, albeit for an extra cost. Therefore, the majority of this review is based on the suite that we were allocated. Nevertheless, the dinner, bed and breakfast deal we booked through Classic Britain was excellent value. We have stayed at the hotel before and always enjoy staying in Carnoustie. The staff are very friendly and the service at dinner, breakfast and in the bar was excellent. We had dinner in the Dalhousie Restaurant and the choice and quality of the food was a very high standard. The leisure facilities are excellent, we used the facilities after a very enjoyable breakfast and after we had checked out of our room. This was no problem and we found the staff here, again, very friendly. Finally, our suite was magnificent, with a balcony offering outstanding views over the Championship Course. Internally, the suite was extremely spacious and comfortable and was well worth paying the extra money for!

John Anderson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 21st March 2014

Stayed from Friday to Sunday, had a lovely weekend. All the staff were vey friendly and helpful, food excellent, had a lovely room overlooking the golf course, parts of the hotel a bit tired, needing a bit of work done.

Linda Ross said...

80%
50%
90%
100%

Stayed 15th March 2014

The hotel is in much need of a facelift. Decor and furniture are very dated. Good points - helpful staff, clean bedroom and bathroom, good food. Breakfast was the best I've had in a long time.

Alfred Rhead said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 10th March 2014

excellent hotel

Sharon Lunny said...

84%
70%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th March 2014

Some of the hotel is looking a bit tired now, however the service and food makes up for this

Dawn roberts said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th February 2014

The location of this hotel is great as it sits on edge of the golf course.Public areas were good but corridors and bedrooms could do with updating although they are very clean and well maintained.Spa and pool was very good.Staff were excellent.I could not fault them.Food was excellent.I think one of the best hotel restaurants I have been to.Altogether I would recommend this hotel as it was also great value for money.

Graham Edmondson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th February 2014

Excellent value and friendly staff

J Begg said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd February 2014

Excellent hotel with friendly staff and great location

Anne Hale said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 28th February 2014

Nice break good value for money.

Jennifer Ritchie said...

77%
80%
90%
60%

Stayed 28th February 2014

I visited with my 80 year old mum with as a birthday treat and though she can manage a few steps, she was in a wheelchair for much of the time. This lead to the only issue that I had with the hotel, in that it was very, very difficult to negotiate the fire doors within the corridor whilst pushing (or pulling) the wheelchair and avoiding the doors closing on my mum. IT was also very difficult getting into the room as it was a very narrow entrance and I had to be very mindful of reversing in and preventing the door closing and hitting my mum. Other than that, we had a lovely stay.

Andrew Graham said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 11th February 2014

Very enjoyable break