Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Angus Hotel, Blairgowrie

Wellmeadow, Blairgowrie, PH106NQ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

89%

E Gilchrist said...

60%
50%
50%
80%

Stayed 30th May 2014

Hotel is in need of sprucing up. Is a bit tired looking especially the bedroom. Food was excellent and always hot. Staff were a mixed bag some helpfull and pleasant others rude or clueless. The older lady at reception was downright rude and preferred to carry on her conversation with staff while dealing with guests. The noise level in the bedrooms when events are on is extremely loud and little rest or sleep can be expected.

Richard Carson said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 30th May 2014

Nice hotel, comfy rooms, although the twin could have had the beds separated! Was a little noisy boxing (Fri)music (Sat)but didn't disturb too much. Food nice, on the whole very friendly staff.

alan harris said...

30%
40%
0%
50%

Stayed 30th May 2014

Booking in took longer than expected. Room was TIRED at best and did not keep out the horrendous NOISE.Bathroom door did not close fully. Dining on 1 st night was served by waitress who must have started that night as she did not have a clue what to do. Lack of training perhaps. Was not asked if we would like a drink, then had to ask 3 different staff for a drink. By the time it arrived we had finished our starter and main course. Food was to a reasonable standard. Did not use swimming pool as we noticed scum around the edges and did not appear to have been cleaned recently. Saturday night entertainment [Fawlty Towers] was excellent and very professional. Unfortunately we were sat next to a person who could not control his drinking habit or indeed his language. This is no fault of your company but the hotel continued to serve him drink even after he managed to be sick all over the table thus causing all other guests [8] at the table to leave. The room we had [no 16] was right above the venue and had no insulation from the noise created by the patrons. We managed to get to sleep around 2.30 am on both nights. It was apparent to me that this hotel is poorly run with no policing of hotel rules re noise in general. Please note I am now a retired businessman and my staff were properly trained in how to deal with the public,a skill sadly lacking at this hotel. We did complain to the reception and an apology was given. Not in my opinion a place to re-visit. Alan Harris.

M Hamilton said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th May 2014

had great time

M Hamilton said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th May 2014

had a lovely time at angus hotel all the public areas are really nicely decorated clean and modern with really nice staff some of bedrooms in hotel are a bit tired looking but very clean and fresh towels every day

E Keegan said...

74%
60%
70%
90%

Stayed 25th May 2014

Unfortunately the bathroon had a sliding door and did not close properly. There was a notice in the bathroom which states door must be closed when having a bath/shower as the steam could set of the fire alarm. There was some dirty dishes on tables when we went down for our evening meal. May be a need to address staffing levels.

H Mabon said...

54%
40%
60%
60%

Stayed 24th May 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel before and the staff are friendly and helpful, on a down side wish we had a bigger room, we used the leisure faciities could do with being refurbished, the steps into the pool could do with be tightened, but really enjoyed our stay and the 70's tribute band were excellent, would definately use this hotel again.

Peter Collins said...

87%
70%
100%
90%

Stayed 24th May 2014

Good value excellent service very friendly and helpfull staff. Had read some not great reviews on food but had really nice meals during our stay. Would definitely recommend the hotel.

tom mcfarlane said...

84%
90%
90%
70%

Stayed 23rd May 2014

Would have preferred a served breakfast instead of a buffet. The food is not as hot from a buffet and it can also be lying in grease for some time. The meals on the Friday and Saturday night were excellent.

T Hende said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 17th May 2014

Enjoyed our stay at the Angus hotel. Some of the fabric was dated but the staff were pleasant and the tribute night was very well organised.

Ronald Bruce said...

57%
30%
80%
60%

Stayed 16th May 2014

Rooms were rather tired and dated, although public areas were modern and nicely decorated.

Peter Crawford said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th May 2014

Everything was spot on staff very helpful ,service in bar and restaurant excellent . We upgraded our room and it was wonderfull.

Lorea Torca-Hernandez said...

44%
10%
60%
60%

Stayed 10th May 2014

Just stayed at the Angus Hotel for one night, and it was enough. Please make sure you don't get Room 1, it's old, tattty, with stains on the wall, marks in the bath, shoddy diy work in the bathroom and because it's right next to the corridor doors you'll hear every single person going in and out! Bearing in mind that our booking was through Clasicc Britain, who supposedly guarantees "Best Room Available on Arrival" and that I emailed the reservations team in advance to make them aware that I had booked the room as a birthday gift for my friend, I was actually mortified when I saw the terrible room they gave us. It didn't help either that the way to the pool is the weirdst thing I have ever seen, having to walk through the main function suite and by the housekeeping/laundry cupboard to be greeted by very old fashioned swimming facilities and a strong smell of chlorine which made my eyes water before I even got in the pool. Good breakfast and nice staff, but the old rooms and the pool area definitely need inmediate care and attention.

jean mitchell said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 9th May 2014

Enjoyed tribute break,staff were excellent&food was very good

Sharon Howe said...

40%
20%
40%
60%

Stayed 3rd May 2014

My sister and I booked this night away as a quiet spa break as I was recovering from an operation, I didn't check the spa had space as we were going sat to sun and thought we could fit in anywhere both days. Spa was totally booked out for a hen night of about 40 on the sat and not open on the sun. Upon arrival we heard a couple complain they had a twin instead of a double, when we got to our room we had a double instead of a twin! Hotel was full but eventually they changed us to a larger room and put a Z bed in for my sister, which she said was totally uncomfortable. Rooms definitely need updating and there was ground in dirt on bathroom and room floors and window ledges. Told had to book for dinner and turned up to find no reservation had been made. Staff all running about short staffed and found out one waitress had walked out. Was awake most of the night with hens running around the floors from 2am till about 4 and was on the verge of packing up middle of the night and leaving. Neither of us got any sleep. Perhaps should be noted on Classic Britain if there is a tribute night on as we wouldn't have booked it. Assistant Manager did all he could to help with room move and checked at dinner how we were, food ok and breakfast good but stood at 'wait here to be seated' at front of restaurant for over 10 mins with staff walking by and ignoring us, we eventually just walked in and found our own seat. Definitely not the quiet night we wanted

muriel paterson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th April 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were very clean and spacious and the food was fantastic. Would definitely recommend, one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

Jayne Geddes said...

87%
60%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th April 2014

All the staff polite and helpful , and I felt at home , can't wait till we book again .

Elizabeth Newey said... Hotel has replied

0%
0%
0%
0%

Stayed 19th April 2014

Very disappointed with this hotel! I booked months ago and asked the hotel to keep our 4 double rooms near each other as we were celebrating 3 very special birthdays and the rooms weren't even on the same floors....a "new system" didn't allow them to allocate rooms...very poor excuse. One of the rooms was a twin, not double and my bathroom had a leak through the ceiling!! The meal was average apart from the dessert which was awful...sticky toffee pudding that your spoon wouldn't even go through. They didn't go out of their way to try and correct any of these requests and the manager was aware of how unhappy I was. Maybe a bottle of wine at our table would have been nice! It has put me off booking with your company if this is the standard of accomodation on offer. As a family we go away 4 or 5 times a year to hotels and I'm afraid the Angus will not be one that we will be returning to!

Hotel reply...

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. You did indeed ask that rooms were close together if possible, unfortunately this could not be provided, A request for rooms on the same floor is not guaranteed and we try our best to accommodate requests but they are not always possible. It is very rare that we receive such a low grading. I as manager was not aware of the problems you encountered and received no formal approach until this review, had I been, I would have done all possible to rectify the situation, we are not a successful hotel by disappointing our customers.

Elspeth Oliver said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 18th April 2014

Tribute weekend very good value

Elaine McInally said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th April 2014

Enjoyed our stay will return but will opt for better room.

JENNIFER BELL said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th April 2014

Shower in bathroom could be bit more updated poor power and shower screen instead of shower curtain.

Amanda O'Toole said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 11th April 2014

Lovely Hotel, absolutely spotlessly clean, spa really good, friendly atmosphere & very helpful and approachable an all round wonderful weekend away, would definitely go back.

Kate Beattie said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 4th April 2014

Very good value entertainment weekend. Freindly staff clean and welcoming hotel. Centrally located for shops bars and scenic walks. Would definitely return.

Kim Martin said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 4th April 2014

Excellent Weekend, staff very friendly, rooms were clean and nice comfy beds! Food was good. Tribute night was well organised. Will definitely be visitng again

S Bell said...

80%
60%
100%
80%

Stayed 4th April 2014

Fantastic weekend well worth the money