Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Airth Castle Hotel & Spa, Airth

, Airth, FK28JF, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

81%

Jan Murdoch said...

77%
50%
80%
100%

Stayed 13th July 2015

Excellent food, best steak ever according to my husband! Bedrooms a liittle bit tired but clean. Pool and gym very good. Staff helpful.

john finningham said...

50%
30%
60%
60%

Stayed 6th July 2015

this hotel needs some tlc as from our last visit it would some decoration especially in the bedroom. we were in room 108.

Janice Shanks said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd June 2015

Had a lovely stay at this hotel. Beautiful grounds, large corner bedroom and staff were very friendly. Look forward to going back soon.

David Thompson said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th June 2015

Great Hotel. Room was large clean and tidy, however furniture in the room was a little dated and worn, this however was not a problem and reflected in the price. Very good DBB price with nice menu choice. Location was also very good for Falkirk Wheel, The kelpies and many other National Trust / historic sites.

John Greer said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th June 2015

Staff friendly and very helpful. Hotel very comfortable and food good

David Robertson said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th June 2015

A thoroughly enjoyable night away for our wedding anniversary. Lovely location with great history.

colin logan said...

67%
80%
80%
40%

Stayed 30th May 2015

Very small food portions,disappointed with standard of food and some of menu unavailable if you book slightly later table.very unwelcoming reception.

Georgina Boyd said...

44%
0%
60%
70%

Stayed 24th May 2015

Hotel was nice and food was good but it was let down badly by the very shabby bedroom. There was a wedding on so the lounge bar was very busy with wedding guests which was uncomfortable.

Margaret Laing said...

80%
50%
90%
100%

Stayed 26th May 2015

Stay was excellent but was disappointed with the room, very dark and drab and much in need of upgrading although clean, same can be said about the bar and dining area, very tired furnishings. Having said that the staff and service was excellent and food 10 out of 10. Overall good stay but in hotel in need of big upgrade to keep its 4 stars.

Carol Ann Latham said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 25th May 2015

The staff at the hotel were all very friendly, welcoming and helpful and the room was large and clean. Service at dinner was great and serving staff were very accommodating given our fussy little one

Pauline Marr said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th May 2015

I think the rooms are in need of a refurb but certainly didn't affect the good time we had. We were here a few weeks ago and love the food and the relaxed atmosphere. We always use the leisure facilities which are great.

patrick cooper said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 24th May 2015

booked an online deal and paid extra for superior room .We were very happy with the upgrade and would definatley do so again this is our fifth visit to Airth and have enjoyed each time will be back

Jennifer Gormanley said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 24th May 2015

Our visit to Airth Castle was very enjoyable. The hotel and spa were really nice. The room could do with a lick of paint and the bathroom needs updated but for the price, it was fine. The food was lovely.

shirley spence said...

70%
70%
50%
90%

Stayed 24th May 2015

A very busy bank holiday Sunday, not enough staff on the bar, told on check in we could not eat till 8.45 we were still waiting at 9.10.

Irene Gardiner said...

67%
10%
100%
90%

Stayed 21st May 2015

Had a lovely stay at this hotel, spa was really nice and the service was excellent.I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice relaxing break.

Robert Smith said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th May 2015

The only thing I would say is there was no shower in the room nice big bath and a shower attachment but no place to fix it to the wall that the only small thing .

Heather Smith said...

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 14th May 2015

fantastic value for money. stayed on dinner bed and breakfast with room upgrade. staff could not have been more helpfull. delicious food and great choice at breakfast. will definitely be back.

Sophie White said...

74%
60%
90%
70%

Stayed 17th May 2015

Lovely DB&B stay at Airth Castle, staff were fantastic and couldn't be more courteous and helpful. Large spacious room although slightly tired and dated feel to it. Great soa and pool area kept very clean and tidy. All in all a great trip and would definitely be back, probably to a better graded room next time.

Jane Booth said...

67%
60%
60%
80%

Stayed 13th May 2015

Reception staff not very professional. Room not as expected for a smart hotel...light fitting on entry hanging down, radiator leaking, bathroom needing painting, double bed with only one bedside light & only one bedside table. Nice & quiet, good food, restaurant staff helpful.

J Greenwood said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 13th May 2015

We were very happy with our brief stay at Airth Castle Hotel. Bedroom,Spa and Restaurant were all very good indeed. We hope to stay there again in the not too far distant future. Jeff and Pat Greenwood.

Alex Cummings said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th May 2015

2nd time we've stayed here and really enjoyed our stay. Staff really pleasant and can't do enough for you,food excellent and enjoyed the spa. Would recommend Airth Castle to anyone

Denise Langley said...

60%
70%
50%
60%

Stayed 10th May 2015

Exceptionally disappointed this hotels website makes you think you are going to a romantic castle but the castle part of the hotel is more or less only open for weddings the restaurant and bar in the castle were shut in the spa hotel the restaurant is advertised as stunning you are actually seated in a glass triangle with a view of a brown wall to your left a tiled roof to the right and a sloping grey metal roof forwards the tables are set out in rows like a cafe and it is open plan into the so called piano cocktail bar no one was playing the piano and the bar was not up to much after our meal we felt very uncomfortable like they wanted us to leave all you could see and hear was people vacuuming and cleaning the restaurant there was the constant noise of cutlery being placed into trays and the setting up of things for next mornings breakfast not things you want to see and hear when you are supposed to be having a relaxing drink in the bar I will not return here again and I certainly would not say this hotel was 4 star it is very rare I give bad reviews but I was so looking forward to going to airth castle but was so disappointed the only saving grace is that I got such a good deal from classic Britain if I had of paid more money I would have been asking for a refund

andrew Calderwood said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 3rd May 2015

food was excellent, service was great & the rooms were comfortable - the spa was also very good although as we were there on a bank hoilday it was extremely busy. Special mention to the staff who coped well with what seemed like 240 people all turning up for breakfast at 9-9.15! We had to queue for a short time but the staff coped very well with such unprecedented demand all at once !

Lindsey Nish said...

70%
60%
60%
90%

Stayed 3rd May 2015

Arrived just after 3pm and joined the long queue to check in. On reaching the front of the queue we were told that our room was not ready and asked to come back in 10 minutes. We returned some 30minutes later to find the queue even longer! Eventually were allocated a room which was comfortable but the decor and furniture was somewhat tired and dated. The bed however appeared to be fairly new and was very comfortable. Despite turning all radiators off the room remained very warm (pipes running under floor?). All staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Had dinner in hotel which we found delightful and very tasty, we chose from the

A McCormick said...

30%
50%
40%
0%

Stayed 3rd May 2015

Gluten free diet requested at time of booking, before arrival and again at check in when reception called restaurant and I was told no problems. Gluten free diet catered is advertised by hotel but nothing was provided. I was told my evening meal was gluten free but it wasn't and I was very ill. Also, there was no bread or cereal gluten free for breakfast. After 4 requests at various times, this service is totally unacceptable and I won't book food in a hotel again and I will be writing to the Coeliac Society to warn other sufferers about this hotel.