Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, Carnoustie

The Links Parade, Carnoustie, DD77JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

Dawn roberts said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 1st November 2013

When we arrived we were given 3 double rooms instead of 3 twins that we had booked.It was quickly resolved and one room was upgraded to a suite.Decor is a bit dated but spotlessly clean and not worn. Staff were excellent. Food was of a very high standard except for 2nd night when we ordered a steak which was underdone(it took 3 attempts to correct) and very tough.Again staff handled this very well when we said we were not willing to pay the supplement for the steaks and deducted this and our wine from the bill. Excellent customer service.Well done.

william mcmaster said...

77%
90%
70%
70%

Stayed 31st October 2013

enjoyed the stay, price reasonable, but staff attention could do with a shake-up. would definately return.

Bryan Clegg said...

84%
80%
70%
100%

Stayed 27th October 2013

Hotel was very good with an excellent breakfast. One of the lamps was not working in the bedroom and despite leaving a note for the domestic staff, it was ignored. The towels were replaced but the bed remained unmade. As we were only there for 2 nights, it was not really a problem.

David Martin said...

70%
60%
70%
80%

Stayed 25th October 2013

Nice entrance to hotel all staff very freindly and polite bit dissappointed with decor in bedroom could be doing with freshen up and furniture either restored or replaced furnishings a bit past there best and one of the chairs had small rips in it which was noticable service at dinner time abit slow but staff really freindly

A Cunningham said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 20th October 2013

Having visited the hotel earlier this year the good impression of it as a place to stay was maintained. the only negative comment is that some of the furnishings particularly in the Bar area are in in need of refurb/replace.

Gillian Prentice said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 19th October 2013

Fabulous hotel, something for everyone and staff very obliging. We had a wonderful stay and will be back soon.

Thomas Mcinally said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 18th October 2013

Really enjoyed my weekend stay at the Carnoustie hotel, staff very friendly, food amazing and nice rooms.

John Macfarlane said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th October 2013

enjoyed overnight stay, food very good.

Susan McEwan said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th October 2013

Fantastic stay had a really relaxing and comfortable stay.Staff were very helpful.

I Thomson said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 16th October 2013

A lovely chill out few days was had by myself and friend,just the place to relax,enjoy good food and enjoy the lovely spa treatments on offer. The staff in the spa were so friendly and the quality of treatments were excellent.

David Munro said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 16th October 2013

Enjoyed our stay but no bottle of wine : (

Lesley Leslie said...

77%
80%
90%
60%

Stayed 10th October 2013

An enjoyable beak. Hotel facilities good and staff friendly and helpful. Would be happy to return to this hotel.

Linda Hamilton said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th October 2013

A most comfortable hotel with very friendly staff. The hotel was a little cold on our first day or arrival, mainly due to a drop in outside temperature, but much more comfortable on our second day. Some areas of the hotel, e.g. second floor walls, rather grubby and could do with a freshening up.

Robert Grant said...

60%
80%
60%
40%

Stayed 6th October 2013

Excellent break away, not much to do in Carnoustie (apart from Golf) - not really any local pub or restaurant you can go to if you are not eating in the hotel itself. Breakfasts are not self serve which you get in many hotels now and as a result, on both mornings, we had to repeat our order to a waiter as they had forgotten about us! Bar food was nice but not huge portions - you won't come away feeling full that's for sure!

Steven Gibb said...

84%
100%
80%
70%

Stayed 6th October 2013

Excellent hotel particularly for golfers. The Spa and pool were first class. Not much in Carnoustie town but nearby places and country parks to keep you occupied. We were given a junior suite which overlooking the 18th green, amazing.

E Cameron said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th October 2013

it def value for money

Charles Simpson said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 22nd September 2013

fine apart from initially being allocated a double room when a twin was on paperwork. the staff member who made the amendment could not have been nicer ,thanks

Gordon Miller said...

60%
50%
60%
70%

Stayed 20th September 2013

Have stayed at Carnoustie a few times, overall serice good , as is food, only comment is that the hotel could do with a refresh of the decor as it is need of some TLC. Would also note that the temperature of both the pool and jacuzzi could have been higher.

Mr Charles said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 20th September 2013

Nice view on to eighteenth green lovely meals excellent stay

Lorraine Murphy said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 15th September 2013

Sorely disappointed. This is the third time I have stayed at the Golf Hotel and sadly will be the last. When we arrived there was a notice advising that the swimming pool was not being heated and was an unusable 21 degrees. The other facilities, whirlpool, sauna and steam room were not in use because they could not be heated. Unfortunately, the first time we stayed at the hotel there was a similar problem and the swimming pool was closed. Use of the faciliites was the main reason I booked the hotel for our one night stay (husband's birthday). Secondly, we were allocated "best room available" which happened to be overlooking the car park and not the golf or sea view which we had had in the past. The room itself was clean and well furnished and quiet but we were disappointed. We were told that the hotel was full but it certainly did not appear so. Lastly, the breakfast was lovely, however, service was slow and we had to ask for tea and toast several times before this was served. Given the lack of facilities available on two of my visits here, I would not stay here again and will try one of the many other hotels from Classic Britain.

John Lang said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 12th September 2013

Good value, although the cost of an upgrade to a golf course view of

Anne Goldstein said...

77%
60%
80%
90%

Stayed 9th September 2013

Hotel was wonderful, food, staff, ambience, location. Only disappointed with the pool and spa which was very cold, also the steam room was not hot either.

david mitchell said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th August 2013

really pleasant stay.could not fault a thing

Alan Cunningham said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th August 2013

Bedroom we were in could do with modernisation. Staff were excellent as was food.

Steven Wilson said...

67%
60%
50%
90%

Stayed 8th August 2013

Food excellent. Dining room appeared a bit disorganised needed to be better co-ordinated. Bar staff were over worked on Friday night. Great views from bedroom over looking the golf course. All staff were very friendly and polite.