Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, Carnoustie

The Links Parade, Carnoustie, DD77JE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

Steven Gibb said...

84%
100%
80%
70%

Stayed 6th October 2013

Excellent hotel particularly for golfers. The Spa and pool were first class. Not much in Carnoustie town but nearby places and country parks to keep you occupied. We were given a junior suite which overlooking the 18th green, amazing.

E Cameron said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 6th October 2013

it def value for money

Charles Simpson said...

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 22nd September 2013

fine apart from initially being allocated a double room when a twin was on paperwork. the staff member who made the amendment could not have been nicer ,thanks

Gordon Miller said...

60%
50%
60%
70%

Stayed 20th September 2013

Have stayed at Carnoustie a few times, overall serice good , as is food, only comment is that the hotel could do with a refresh of the decor as it is need of some TLC. Would also note that the temperature of both the pool and jacuzzi could have been higher.

Mr Charles said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 20th September 2013

Nice view on to eighteenth green lovely meals excellent stay

Lorraine Murphy said...

74%
70%
70%
80%

Stayed 15th September 2013

Sorely disappointed. This is the third time I have stayed at the Golf Hotel and sadly will be the last. When we arrived there was a notice advising that the swimming pool was not being heated and was an unusable 21 degrees. The other facilities, whirlpool, sauna and steam room were not in use because they could not be heated. Unfortunately, the first time we stayed at the hotel there was a similar problem and the swimming pool was closed. Use of the faciliites was the main reason I booked the hotel for our one night stay (husband's birthday). Secondly, we were allocated "best room available" which happened to be overlooking the car park and not the golf or sea view which we had had in the past. The room itself was clean and well furnished and quiet but we were disappointed. We were told that the hotel was full but it certainly did not appear so. Lastly, the breakfast was lovely, however, service was slow and we had to ask for tea and toast several times before this was served. Given the lack of facilities available on two of my visits here, I would not stay here again and will try one of the many other hotels from Classic Britain.

John Lang said...

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 12th September 2013

Good value, although the cost of an upgrade to a golf course view of

Anne Goldstein said...

77%
60%
80%
90%

Stayed 9th September 2013

Hotel was wonderful, food, staff, ambience, location. Only disappointed with the pool and spa which was very cold, also the steam room was not hot either.

david mitchell said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th August 2013

really pleasant stay.could not fault a thing

Alan Cunningham said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 13th August 2013

Bedroom we were in could do with modernisation. Staff were excellent as was food.

Steven Wilson said...

67%
60%
50%
90%

Stayed 8th August 2013

Food excellent. Dining room appeared a bit disorganised needed to be better co-ordinated. Bar staff were over worked on Friday night. Great views from bedroom over looking the golf course. All staff were very friendly and polite.

J Anderson said...

50%
80%
50%
20%

Stayed 8th August 2013

Certainly not a 4star dining experience! 1st night waited 1/2 hr for starter and then another 1/2 hour for mains (burnt potatoes, dried up rice). Asked to speak to Restaurant Manager about the hold up at mains stage - he left promising to find out what the hold up was but, never had the courtesy to return with explanation. 2nd evening dined in bar - slight improvement. Chose mussels for mains, - had to ask for dish for shell waste, and wasn't provided with either a towelette or finger bowl! Breakfast buffet choice very poor, have had better in budget hotels! Only saving grace was the bedroom overlooking the fairways although bathroom was a bit tired! I won't be returning or recommending this hotel to friends and family.

Colin Crawford said...

74%
70%
80%
70%

Stayed 31st July 2013

The spa facilities were a bit run down (tiles off the wall)but still functional. Generally a good visit.

Elizabeth Cameron said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th July 2013

my stay here was first class the receptionist was very nice and really helpful and the food was excellent

Linda Macgregor said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 26th July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Carnoustie on a lovely sunny week-end.Our room had a sea view and was very clean and comfortable.Dinner on both evenings was excellent, from a menu with plenty to choose from, and breakfast is cooked to order.We booked the "romantic break"and had a bottle of bubbly to enjoy too, which was chilled and waiting for us!We would certainly go to this hotel again, and recommend it to others.

Christine Campbell said...

64%
90%
0%
100%

Stayed 15th July 2013

The hotel was excellent. Staff were very pleasant and friendly and polite. Only complaint was that a cooked breakfast took over 20 minutes on our first morning there!And when it did arrive it was cold! Thankfully our complaint was dealt with efficiently!

RONA TOSH said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 13th July 2013

very friendly staff especially Sean who welcomed us as nobody was on reception at the time. He took us into the bar and gave us a drink on the house.

JAN IRWIN said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 5th July 2013

We had very good stay at the Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa staff very friendly , helpful always with a smile on their faces rooms clean and tidy.

Helen Gordon said...

84%
100%
50%
100%

Stayed 1st July 2013

Had a great stay at the Carnoustie Golf Hotel with a great view over the golf course. My only small moan was that the service at dinner in the evening was a bit slow but would not put me of returning.

Mrs E Malcolm said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 8th June 2013

Stayed here for 1 night DBB on Saturday 8 June 2013. I had booked a suite and was not disappointed. The room was very large, well equipped and had great views over the golf course. Our dinner on the Saturday night was lovely, however I was slightly disappointed with the cooked breakfast on the Sunday morning as it was not a buffet breakfast. The reception staff were helpful and friendly but some of the waiting staff were rather unprofessional. The only other slight criticism is that some of the public seating areas in the bar and hallways are very shabby and need replaced, however this did not spoil our stay and overall I would recommend this hotel.

Mrs Kelly said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 31st May 2013

Lovely stay at Carnoustie golf hotel.

Mr Tom Robertson said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th May 2013

My wife and I were looking for a three day relax away from it all. The Carnoustie Golf & Spa provided this for us, the hotel facilities staff& room excellent. The surroundings helped greatly with lovely countryside and beach beach promenade on the immediate doorstep. Although my wife and myself are not golfers , having the 1st tee and the 18th green of a championship course outside the dining room and lounge was an added bonus and we could watch all the action from our own 19th hole. All this is nothing withiot the staff of whom you can be proud, we would use this hotel again.

Colin Buchanan said...

84%
90%
80%
80%

Stayed 25th May 2013

Very nice hotel

Anne Wilson said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th May 2013

Myself husband daughter & son in law had lovely stay at this hotel.

Sheila Richards said...

57%
40%
80%
50%

Stayed 15th May 2013

Stayed here several times but the bedroom we had this time(which was an upgrade that we paid extra for) is in need of some refurbishment. Furniture is tatty.