Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Oban Bay Hotel, Oban

Corran Esplanade, Oban, PA345AE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

92%

P Hudi said...

57%
70%
50%
50%

Stayed 10th February 2018

Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast service was slow, probably due to a lack of experienced staff, and reminded me a little of Faulty Towers when tables were given the wrong orders and, at least on one occasion, a guest had to ask for a tea bag to be put in the teapot. The variety of food for breakfast was fair and quality was average.

Christine Evans said...

80%
60%
90%
90%

Stayed 9th January 2018

Had a really nice couple of days here last week. As with many big hotels, some areas are a bit tired and could do with upgrading but the wonderful views and the warmth of the welcome more than compensates. The food choices were excellent and dinner on both nights was very much enjoyed. Also an excellent breakfast on offer. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant.

C Bonnar said...

77%
70%
90%
70%

Stayed 4th January 2018

Room was quite good condition with comfortable bed and reasonable sized shower room. Some of the furniture is dated and could do with an update. The food in the restaurant was of a fair quality for the DBB deal we were on. The hotel has a beautiful large conservatory with fantastic views over the bay and islands. Steam and Sauna are a good size. Shower in the Spa area does not work and you have to through the corridor to the Hot tub area. The outside hot tub has great limited views and the tub was not working correctly. The staff are very good and make sure you have a warm welcome and a easy departure.

Fred Burke said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 3rd December 2017

Really nice hotel situated 5min walk from town centre, car parking was fine but the hotel didn't appear to be busy,might be an issue at the height of season, the room although adequate clean and tidy was quite a walk away from reception[minor inconvenience] the staff were pleasant and helpful when required dinner and breakfast were of a high standard service at breakfast on day two seemed a bit haphazard despite there being more staff on duty from day one. Overall a very nice couple of days away and the deal we had was good value for money

Gerry McGhee said...

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 26th November 2017

We had a very pleasant stay with very good cuisine and a comfortable room. Unfortunately the outdoor hot tub failed during our stay but staff kindly reimbursed the fee for bath robes purchased to enjoy this facility. We would happily revisit the Oban Bay hotel. Thank You

Lee Coutts said...

30%
20%
40%
N/A

Stayed 17th November 2017

Disappointed with our stay. Room was basic, shower didn’t work (which we reported without much joy), heater in room didn’t work, fan in bathroom didn’t work, sauna wasn’t working, one very squeaky bed in the room

R Banks said...

44%
10%
20%
100%

Stayed 10th November 2017

Badly in need of a full refurbishment, double room was dark and dingy with thread worn carpet and curtains and really old furniture, the shower cubicle was very small not any room to turn once inside it , went to look at the hot tub that was just a joke not enough room for more than one person unless you want to be very intimate ? and the surroundings were covered in bird dropping very uninviting as was the sauna very crubby, the restaurant food was ok but the menu was confusing only part of it was included in the offer price the rest was a supplement you had to pay, staff were trying hard but could be doing with some training, service was very slow . Not enough car parking

Stephen Miller said...

64%
20%
80%
90%

Stayed 6th October 2017

Excellent location , food very good as was service. However, room small and in real need of modernisation especially The bathroom. Corridors smells of mildew. Overpriced all round, expecting people to pay £250 a night for a suite boasting a jacuzzi is a joke. Our stay was a gift and it was sorely over priced, but typical of Scotland in general, overpriced facil closed, but I digress. We had a nice visit but solely down to Oban itself, lost none of its charm. The gentleman on re epitome on arrivL was monosyllabic not engaging whatsoever. We paid £120 per night for B&B Not good value and am disappointed a week meaning gift was squandered on this hotel, won't be back.

Anthony Reilly said...

77%
50%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th September 2017

Corridors and rooms need a face lift

A guest said...

67%
70%
60%
70%

Stayed 30th September 2017

The hotel is a little dated but we still had a lovely time. We were very lucky to have a room at the front with a sea view. Most of the staff were very friendly but the barman was a bit grumpy as if he was put out getting your order. The food was very good.

Alison Kelly said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 23rd September 2017

Great stay in a lovely hotel with beautiful view over the bay. Couldn't fault anything.

A guest said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th September 2017

Nice hotel, although a bit "tired", stunning views, lovely staff and good food.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th September 2017

We had a lovely, relaxing break in the Oban Bay Hotel. The staff in the restaurant were excellent. The reception staff were very pleasant apart from one person who forgot to smile.

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th September 2017

Rather long walk from reception to lift with bags. Ordered sherry which was measured by spirit measure and served in a tumbler which seemed to only cover the bottom of the glass and finished in only two or three sips. Food was good and staff friendly and attentive. With dinner allowance of £22, could not understand why surcharge of £5 on priced main courses and £3 on dessert on a la carte menu.

Wendy Mackie said...

74%
20%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th September 2017

Hotel in need of decoration.was disappointed steam room and hot tub were not working . Food and staff were excellent.

A guest said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st August 2017

Parking very restricted....six spots or so at front and sIx or so at back. Staff great, food good but we had a ground floor room with a single window outlook to possibly staff accommodation with women standing outside smoking. Shower sufficient but must have been one of the first installed. Be warned breakfast is ordered for everything.....juice, cereal , tea or coffee and hot meal.

A guest said...

67%
50%
70%
80%

Stayed 1st July 2017

The first room I was allocated smelt strongly of damp, as if the shower had been leaking. Room 160. When I complained the next morning, I was told I could be moved up to room 360, two floors above. I agreed, although it was a bit of a hassle packing everything up again. When I returned to that room from my outing, the toilet was not flushing very well, which made me wonder if that was the cause of the problem in the room two floors below. I had to alert the desk staff on several occasions about the dangerous state of the main access to many rooms, between the hot tub and the spa, as there was water there constantly, obviously where people have run from one place to another. The pools of water on the wooden floor were an accident waiting to happen, and on several occasions, I heard other guests cautioning each other to be careful. I think you need to get rubber mats there, to avoid the slip hazard. I think you are risking a law suit, unless you address the situation more robustly. The desk staff did address the situation, but it happened again, almost immediately the floor had been wiped dry. I am also concerned about the fire escape route. From room 360, I checked the fire escape. There was a Henry Hoover in front of the extinguisher. If there was a fire, would you be able to get the extinguisher easily? In view of the recent fire in Greenwell tower, one can see how smoke could inhibit the ease of getting the fire extinguisher from the wall. Also, on the other side of the fire escape door, there were massive piles of newly laundered white towels. I know it was a sort of landing, but, again, if there was a fire, guests could trip over these piles of towels when trying to escape down the stairs. I do have photos to back up my claims, should you wish to see them. A minor point. It would also be helpful to have some sort of guide to the remote control, as someone had left subtitles on and it was not immediately obvious how to remove them. When staff were up to replace a light bulb, I asked them, but they didn't know how to do it either. The good news is the staff were very helpful and friendly, although there ws a bit of a language barrier with a couple of serving staff, being newly arrived in the country, and the food was good. In view of the problems with the rooms, when I was checking out, the cost of two coffees and a soft drink were removed from my bill, as a gesture of goodwill, which I appreciate. Would I stay here again? I don't know, to be honest, as two rooms having plumbing problems is not ideal and the fire safety concerns make me wary.

Sheila Bennett said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th July 2014

Love this hotel and have returned often - we love the views from the hot tub over the bay - food and service always excellent

Robert Dixon said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th June 2017

A very enjoyable stay with friendly and attentive staff and excellent food. Rooms clean and comfortable.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th May 2017

Have just spent a lovely two nights at this hotel. Hotel looking a bit tired in places (decor and carpets). However the food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back.

caroline clark said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th May 2010

Brilliant hotel, amazing staff,

Linda Thomson said...

67%
50%
80%
70%

Stayed 15th April 2017

room 351 the smallest double back room, no wi-fi signal for this room disappointing. ordered a cheese board for arrival in our room it was there but no plates napkins or knives to cut cheese, poor, ran out of mussels gfruit segments and orange juice also. this was our second time at this hotel there will be no further visits. poor show Crerar hotels.

A guest said...

70%
40%
90%
80%

Stayed 28th March 2017

Hotel badly in need of refurbishment. Split fabric in lots of the chairs in all areas. The view from our bedroom was the back of the kitchen which was very untidy And dirty looking.

A guest said...

50%
30%
60%
60%

Stayed 25th March 2017

First room had an extremely worn carpet in it, so we asked to move. This was done very swiftly. Rooms in need of updating, they looked rather tired. Unsure if rooms on main building were better. Rooms in annexe appeared in need of some attention. Parking very poor. Having to park some distance from hotel. Not good if you have mobility issues which one of our party did. We had to drop them of then find somewhere to park the car and walk back to hotel. Only one disabled space!! Staff very friendly and helpful. Food very good and a good selection of local produce.

katherine hall said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th March 2017

Very comfortable and clean . Staff helpful at all times. Food made to order and very good.