Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Oban Bay Hotel, Oban

Corran Esplanade, Oban, PA345AE, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

84%

A guest said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th September 2017

Nice hotel, although a bit "tired", stunning views, lovely staff and good food.

A guest said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th September 2017

We had a lovely, relaxing break in the Oban Bay Hotel. The staff in the restaurant were excellent. The reception staff were very pleasant apart from one person who forgot to smile.

A guest said...

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 12th September 2017

Rather long walk from reception to lift with bags. Ordered sherry which was measured by spirit measure and served in a tumbler which seemed to only cover the bottom of the glass and finished in only two or three sips. Food was good and staff friendly and attentive. With dinner allowance of £22, could not understand why surcharge of £5 on priced main courses and £3 on dessert on a la carte menu.

Wendy Mackie said...

74%
20%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th September 2017

Hotel in need of decoration.was disappointed steam room and hot tub were not working . Food and staff were excellent.

A guest said...

70%
50%
80%
80%

Stayed 1st August 2017

Parking very restricted....six spots or so at front and sIx or so at back. Staff great, food good but we had a ground floor room with a single window outlook to possibly staff accommodation with women standing outside smoking. Shower sufficient but must have been one of the first installed. Be warned breakfast is ordered for everything.....juice, cereal , tea or coffee and hot meal.

A guest said...

67%
50%
70%
80%

Stayed 1st July 2017

The first room I was allocated smelt strongly of damp, as if the shower had been leaking. Room 160. When I complained the next morning, I was told I could be moved up to room 360, two floors above. I agreed, although it was a bit of a hassle packing everything up again. When I returned to that room from my outing, the toilet was not flushing very well, which made me wonder if that was the cause of the problem in the room two floors below. I had to alert the desk staff on several occasions about the dangerous state of the main access to many rooms, between the hot tub and the spa, as there was water there constantly, obviously where people have run from one place to another. The pools of water on the wooden floor were an accident waiting to happen, and on several occasions, I heard other guests cautioning each other to be careful. I think you need to get rubber mats there, to avoid the slip hazard. I think you are risking a law suit, unless you address the situation more robustly. The desk staff did address the situation, but it happened again, almost immediately the floor had been wiped dry. I am also concerned about the fire escape route. From room 360, I checked the fire escape. There was a Henry Hoover in front of the extinguisher. If there was a fire, would you be able to get the extinguisher easily? In view of the recent fire in Greenwell tower, one can see how smoke could inhibit the ease of getting the fire extinguisher from the wall. Also, on the other side of the fire escape door, there were massive piles of newly laundered white towels. I know it was a sort of landing, but, again, if there was a fire, guests could trip over these piles of towels when trying to escape down the stairs. I do have photos to back up my claims, should you wish to see them. A minor point. It would also be helpful to have some sort of guide to the remote control, as someone had left subtitles on and it was not immediately obvious how to remove them. When staff were up to replace a light bulb, I asked them, but they didn't know how to do it either. The good news is the staff were very helpful and friendly, although there ws a bit of a language barrier with a couple of serving staff, being newly arrived in the country, and the food was good. In view of the problems with the rooms, when I was checking out, the cost of two coffees and a soft drink were removed from my bill, as a gesture of goodwill, which I appreciate. Would I stay here again? I don't know, to be honest, as two rooms having plumbing problems is not ideal and the fire safety concerns make me wary.

Sheila Bennett said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 16th July 2014

Love this hotel and have returned often - we love the views from the hot tub over the bay - food and service always excellent

Robert Dixon said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th June 2017

A very enjoyable stay with friendly and attentive staff and excellent food. Rooms clean and comfortable.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 20th May 2017

Have just spent a lovely two nights at this hotel. Hotel looking a bit tired in places (decor and carpets). However the food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back.

caroline clark said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th May 2010

Brilliant hotel, amazing staff,

Linda Thomson said...

67%
50%
80%
70%

Stayed 15th April 2017

room 351 the smallest double back room, no wi-fi signal for this room disappointing. ordered a cheese board for arrival in our room it was there but no plates napkins or knives to cut cheese, poor, ran out of mussels gfruit segments and orange juice also. this was our second time at this hotel there will be no further visits. poor show Crerar hotels.

A guest said...

70%
40%
90%
80%

Stayed 28th March 2017

Hotel badly in need of refurbishment. Split fabric in lots of the chairs in all areas. The view from our bedroom was the back of the kitchen which was very untidy And dirty looking.

A guest said...

50%
30%
60%
60%

Stayed 25th March 2017

First room had an extremely worn carpet in it, so we asked to move. This was done very swiftly. Rooms in need of updating, they looked rather tired. Unsure if rooms on main building were better. Rooms in annexe appeared in need of some attention. Parking very poor. Having to park some distance from hotel. Not good if you have mobility issues which one of our party did. We had to drop them of then find somewhere to park the car and walk back to hotel. Only one disabled space!! Staff very friendly and helpful. Food very good and a good selection of local produce.

katherine hall said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 16th March 2017

Very comfortable and clean . Staff helpful at all times. Food made to order and very good.

A guest said...

84%
50%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th March 2017

Hotel and rooms showing their age. Shower was on the small side. Staff very helpful and courteous. We stayed on a Dinner, bed and breakfast deal. The food served was first class and of a very high standard

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 8th March 2017

We had an excellent stay at the Oban Bay Hotel - the staff were excellent and the very minor issue we has with the shower in the bathroom was rectified immediately Meals were excellent on both nights and a fine array of single malts in the bar for a nightcap

A guest said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 17th February 2017

The hotel staff and the hotel where very clean and helpful we would use this hotel again

Pauline Connor said...

67%
50%
80%
70%

Stayed 11th February 2017

We had a lovely stay as always in the Oban bay hotel. This time we took our dog and he was welcomed as much as us. The food was lovely the only thing that dissapointed me with the food was the toast and poached eggs this was a bit bland and not up to the usual breakfast at the hotel. The staff accomodated us with eating in the conservatory duue to us having a dog with us. He room was clean but needs a little bit of tlc to bring it up to standards of the other rooms upstairs. We will return as the staff and location are lovely thouroughly good weekend heres to the next one

Gerard Campbell said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 2nd December 2016

We have stayed at The Oban Bay many times over the years

Susan Steele said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 4th November 2016

There was 6 of us who went away for the weekend to Oban Bay Hotel. The hotel was lovely and very warm ?. Our rooms had a sea view which was lovely and rooms were spotless and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Food was delicious, we dined in the restaurant one night and in the bar the next night. 3 courses each night were 1st class. We enjoyed the use of the hot tub and watched the sun set. The sauna and steam room was very relaxing too. The views from the front conservatory are truly breath taking. Will definitely be returning ?

Mrs Iveson said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 24th October 2016

Really good value break.staff are excellent as always.The room was spotless.The breakfasts are excellent with a superb choice.The choice at dinner is more limited

Mrs Iveson said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 24th October 2016

Really good value break.staff are excellent as always.The room was spotless.The breakfasts are excellent with a superb choice.The choice at dinner is more limited

James Toal said...

54%
10%
100%
50%

Stayed 22nd October 2016

Terrible room. Chaotic restaurant. Wonderful, but unguided staff.

John Colin Davidson said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 10th October 2016

Good hotel but parking a nightmare on site. My wife has a mobility problem and getting to her scooter was inconvenience as the car was parked off site. Very helpful staff and good food beautifully presented. Comfy beds in a good sized room.

Sheila Shovelin said...

24%
50%
10%
10%

Stayed 10th October 2016

The hotel was not very accessible for anyone with a disability. Bedroom we had was accessible and comfortable.Meal service was far from good.We had a meal at 8.30 pm and the staff were cleaning tables around us and spoilt the pleasure of a relaxed break. My meal was reportedly a lobster pasta,never found any lobster just frozen prawns. Needless to say I was ill during the night.My husband is still waiting to receive a bread bun we were offered.The staff presented as being busy but basically were not achieving anything.The front of house staff were very good.Had I payed the full price I would have complained further.