Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Dunkeld House Hotel, Dunkeld

, Dunkeld, PH80HX, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

88%

Catherine Shepherd said...

87%
80%
80%
100%

Stayed 11th March 2018

Lovely hotel, very comfortable and very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was superb.

Tracey Oneill said...

54%
10%
70%
80%

Stayed 8th March 2018

Fabulous time once again. My favourite hotel.

Paula Thomson said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th February 2018

My husband and I stayed for one night in the newly refurbished hotel. We had a most enjoyable stay - Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. We used the leisure facil and had a walk along the River Tay into Dunkeld. Will certainly return in the near future.

Hotel reply...

Hello Paula, thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review!

Jan Douglas said... Hotel has replied

70%
100%
40%
70%

Stayed 15th February 2018

Lovely Hotel, beautiful setting. Rome were excellent, recently reburfished. Spa treatment ver good and pool facil were also very good. Major problem was the service at dinner, far too slow!!!!! 40 minutes wait for the starters is not acceptable. We had an excellent waiter who tried his best but its not fair on the front of house staff when the kitchen has major problems. On a Table D'Hote menu a supplement on almost £10.00 for a venison steak seems a bit steep. I feel the they would be better to raise the overall price a little so as not to have any supplements, that's my biggest bugbear about menus!!!!! Overall we had a lovely stay and once the service has been sorted would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Hotel reply...

Hello Jan, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured your feedback regarding service will be discussed with the rest of the team.

Mary Woodburn said... Hotel has replied

77%
70%
80%
80%

Stayed 9th February 2018

A very warm welcome from reception staff when we arrived. Room was very nice and clean only thing wrong it looked over the pool area and the fan was loud all the time and very noisy at night. Breakfast was first class everything was lovely and fresh and newly made. Hotel was very warm and a lot off nice sitting areas. Lovely view down from hotel to river Tay and nice walk along the river. Room was 146 would not like that room again.

Hotel reply...

Hello Mary, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for letting us know about your experience. We do hope that we can welcome you again soon.

Woodford Speirs said... Hotel has replied

87%
90%
90%
80%

Stayed 11th February 2018

Beautifully upgraded since our previous stay at Dunkeld House Hotel. Public areas and bedrooms very modern yet still retaining their grandeur. Pleasant efficient staff in all departments.

Hotel reply...

Hello, thank you for leaving us a lovely review!

Jane Black said... Hotel has replied

70%
100%
60%
50%

Stayed 10th February 2018

Real shame kitchen let them down. Waiting 1 hour for mains, husbands meal arrived cold. Front of house reception and leisure staff excellent. Thank you to jemma for understanding our complaint.. Real shame ruined our anniversary celebrations.

Hotel reply...

Hello Jane, thank you for letting us know about your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Please be assured your feedback will be shared with our team so we can improve.

A guest said... Hotel has replied

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th January 2018

We stayed here for one night as a treat to ourselves. Beautiful hotel in magnificent setting. Room not large but very comfortable with everything we needed. The food in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast was very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. We will definitely visit here again

Hotel reply...

Hello John, thank you for leaving us a lovely review!

J Ferguson said... Hotel has replied

87%
100%
80%
80%

Stayed 3rd November 2012

One of our favourite parts of the world wonderful views of the river gorgeous

Hotel reply...

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review! We hope we can welcome you again soon.

Lorna Jarvis said... Hotel has replied

94%
100%
90%
90%

Stayed 27th November 2017

I have stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions and love it. The hotel has been refurbished to a high standard and we thought having breakfast in the conservatory was lovely over looking the river. Our evening meal was delicious and the beds were comfortable . Will definitely go back.

Hotel reply...

Hello Lorna, thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review!

Paula Thomson said... Hotel has replied

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th November 2017

This was our first visit to Dunkeld House Hotel since its makeover and we were suitably impressed. We had a lovely big Double Plus room on the ground floor. We dined in the conservatory and enjoyed a delicious 3 course meal with house wine. Breakfast was self-service but choice was vast and we enjoyed the views over the river from the conservatory. We made use of the leisure facil, and there is no need to leave the building on the cold winter days. Staff were very helpful and professional. All in all a most enjoyable stay. We will certainly be returning in the very near future.

Hotel reply...

Hello Paula, thank you for leaving us a lovely review! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Natalie Gray said... Hotel has replied

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 18th November 2017

Lovely hotel and location. Nice facil although a few of the lockers weren’t working. Nice meal and nice to have the piano music in the background. Staff pleasant and efficient. Breakfast was ok but not very warm.

Hotel reply...

Hello Natalie, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you again soon.

Y Moyes said... Hotel has replied

77%
80%
80%
70%

Stayed 5th November 2017

Had a lovely time, my only complaint was our room 255 and it was right opposite the lift and electrical room, very noisy through the night but as I was only there one night I just put up with it. Hotel was spotless and lovely reception staff. I felt I had had a better breakfast in other hotels food just Luke warm.

Hotel reply...

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

M Maxwell said... Hotel has replied

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 7th September 2017

Although I enjoyed my 2 night stay at Dunkeld, I was disappointed that I was initially allocated a room which was completely unacceptable. It was small and had a distinct smell of dampness. I think this was due to the paper on the ceiling peeling from the plaster which was very unsightly and the room certainly needed upgraded. I was then offered another room which was recently upgraded and very nice indeed. I had been to the Dunkeld before and was put off by the damp smelling and outdated state of the rooms but had read that the hotel had been recently refurbished. But obviously not completely refurbished as again I was given an unacceptable room. All other aspects of the hotel was perfect for a two day break in lovely surroundings.

Hotel reply...

Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. All of our standard rooms have been completely refurbished, our deluxe and plus rooms have been softly refurbished. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed other aspects of the hotel and hope we can welcome you again.

A guest said... Hotel has replied

70%
60%
70%
80%

Stayed 12th August 2017

We were a party of 8, 4 double rooms. Unfortunately one of the rooms was very disappointing being more like a single room. The bed was very small for 2 people, the room was small too. The carpet was shabby, ripped in places, the headboard was ripped in places too. As all 4 couples had paid the same amount it was unfair that one room was of an inferior standard.

Hotel reply...

Hello Margaret, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. Please be assured your feedback will be discussed with the rest of the team so we can take action.

A guest said... Hotel has replied

64%
70%
30%
90%

Stayed 1st August 2017

Sadly, was most disappointed with aspects of our one-night dinner, bed and breakfast stay at Dunkeld House Hotel, especially as family members have stayed here twice, most recently 4weeks ago, and speak most highly of their experiences. Check-in was assertive and unwelcoming to say the least, even though the desk was not at all busy at the time we arrived. Unfortunately poor service was again typical of our experience in the dining-room at dinner. 3 mistakes were made in processing our order, and when these errors were (politely..) pointed out , this was not handled overly-politely in response. However, the food itself at dinner was really excellent, and the dining-room a comfortable stylish place to eat. Breakfast was plentiful too, with a good range of choices. The hotel itself is set in the most beautiful grounds, well cared-for, and an easy walk along the river-bank into Dunkeld, a lovely little village with nice shops and cafes. Because of the location of the hotel, and the very good deal we were able to get on our stay, I think that we would probably return again, given the very different reports of the service experienced by other family members. Hopefully it was the luck of the draw that the receptionist who checked us in had very poor people skills, and that the dinner waiting staff were having an off-day, and that we may well have a different experience another time.

Hotel reply...

Hello Kathleen, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Please be assured your feedback has been discussed with the team and we have made some changes since your stay with us last year. We would love to welcome you back so you can see the changes.

George McKenzie said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 28th July 2017

The hotel has just completed a major refurbishment and I must say looks great. The staff also appear to have undergone some upgrade as the service was greatly improved from my last visit. Ideal location with an easy and lovely walk into Dunkeld. Food was good and well presented by friendly staff. All round this was a very enjoyable stay

david shearer said...

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 18th July 2017

Lovely location, on arrival mix up at reception with our pre paid bill at check in,receptionist not exactly welcoming,rather off hand manner, no apology given when matter corrected.The waiting staff were friendly and very efficient,,food was also delicious., may return, not sure.

Peter McKell said... Hotel has replied

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th June 2017

My wife and I have stayed at the hotel many times over the past twenty years. Obviously we like the place .The hotel, the location on the banks of the Tay and the lovely town of Dunkeld itself make it a beautiful place to stay. When I found out last year that the hotel was coming under new ownership I was concerned that some of its attraction would be lost. I needn't worry. The hotel has been tastefully refurbished and none of it,s character has been lost. Rather I believe improvements have been made. So we will be returning as usual. One negative however. The double bed in our room (Room 127) was too small.

Hotel reply...

Hello Peter, thank you for such a lovely review! We are happy to hear that you like the changes that have come with the refurbishment and new ownership. It is great to hear you plan on visiting again, we look forward to welcoming you!

A guest said... Hotel has replied

74%
50%
80%
90%

Stayed 26th June 2017

Great location,plenty of walks and things to do nearby.Hotel provides a comfortable stop over with excellent food and service to match.Good job done on refurbishment of public areas.

Hotel reply...

Hello Michael, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future.

A guest said... Hotel has replied

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 18th June 2017

Fantastic hotel, great location. Beautiful rooms and good selection at buffet breakfast. At £99 for a Sunday saver it's well worth a visit,

Hotel reply...

Hello Robert, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We do hope you will visit us again soon.

Derek Horne said... Hotel has replied

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th June 2017

Lovely hotel in a fabulous situation on the banks of the Tay. Staff very helpful and welcoming. Food excellent. The decor in the bedroom was not to our tatste and made the room rather drab.

Hotel reply...

Hello Derek, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear that overall you were happy with your stay with us. Our standard rooms follow a more charcoal palette but our double plus/deluxe rooms have a brighter feel which we recommend should you return to visit us again (which we hope you will!)

A guest said... Hotel has replied

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 17th June 2017

This Hotel was in a beautiful setting . Staff very friendly and helpful. Room lovely and the Dinner was superb as was the breakfast.

Hotel reply...

Hello, thank you for leaving us such a lovely review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope that you will visit us again soon.

Rosemary Marr said... Hotel has replied

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd April 2017

Had a wonderful stay only thing that would have been better if we had know the pool area was shut then we would have booked when it was reopened but lovely grounds and walks. Will be back

Hotel reply...

Hello Rosemary, thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Jacqueline Smith said... Hotel has replied

87%
80%
90%
90%

Stayed 29th March 2017

Beautiful setting, very helpful.& pleasant staff. Building work generated some noise in the mornings although the workmen were extremely friendly and the work is nearing completion. The finished hotel will be well worth the minor disruption. The bathroom could have been cleaner but was attended to promptly. Food and service was to a high standard. Looking forward to a further visit.

Hotel reply...

Hello Jacqueline, thank you for leaving such a lovely review! Please accept our apologies for the disturbances, we can assure you the full renovation of the hotel is coming to an end. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.