Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

King Robert Hotel, Stirling

Glasgow Road, Stirling, FK70LJ, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

87%

Lynn Brown said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th September 2020

We had a great stay at the king robert hotel only got 2 minor hic ups one being the rooms are really warm and the shower was not that powerfully the bathroom had been refurbished that was nice the staff are great couldn't do enough for you even though they were rushing about all the time the meals are excellent piping hot would definitely go back there again for another visit

Rebecca Johns said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 18th September 2020

Well what can I say? What a fab little hotel. Don’t get me wrong when we first pulled up it’s rather bleak and boxy looking but never judge a book by its cover. The foyer instantly showed it was spotless and the welcome was lovely. Staff are fantastic. Really accommodating and friendly. We will be returning as the deal was fab too. Food was lovely, obviously home cooked. It’s a lovely budget hotel which I think you get more than what you pay for . Many thanks

Sarah REYNOLDS said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 17th September 2020

We have used this hotel on a number of occasions and never had a complaint and infact intend to book again in the next few weeks

Tracey Edge said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 18th September 2020

As always clean, staff friendly and helpful. Covid measures very good. Dinner and breakfast very good. No hesitations in booking this place 3rd time we've been

A guest said... Hotel has replied

37%
10%
50%
50%

Stayed 13th September 2020

We were supposed to stay 6 nights but checked out after 3. Each morning at 3am the room next door turned on their TV full blast. The night porter had to enter the individuals room to turn it off as they were 'sleeping' and didn't wake up when he knocked on their door and didn't answer their phone. Complained but as the hotel was full we couldn't move rooms. We were told that that hotel had a number of homeless people staying and that was the reason there were no available rooms. On that basis we had no other option but to cancel the further 3 nights and book an alternative hotel, which was amazing.

Hotel reply...

Hi Alison, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave some comments. We appreciate this as it allows us to see any points that we can work on. I am saddened to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We do strive to make everyone who stays with us to feel comfortable and welcome. On this occasion, we did have a number of people sent to us through our local Council's homeless department. We like to help out the Council when we can in giving people somewhere to stay until they get somewhere more permanent. Having a look back at the dates you stayed, we did have a few people in, as well as a large number of other guests including the gent who had been located next to you. However we did also have a few rooms where we would have been able to move you. I assure you I will be looking into why this wasn't done in this occasion. Once again, I'd like to apologise and I'm glad you managed to find somewhere else for your second 3 nights. I hope that if you are ever passing through the area again, you'd consider giving us another chance as this seems to have been an isolated incident and isn't something that happens often. Thank you again! Kindest Regards, Kerrie Reception

laura-ann baird said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th September 2020

Really nice hotel and friendly staff.

A guest said...

94%
100%
100%
80%

Stayed 6th September 2020

My husband and I had a most enjoyable stay at King Robert Hotel.It was very clean and the food was lovely,great value for the money.My only criticism is the lounge is very dingy and could do with sprucing it up.You don't have to spend a fortune.The staff were all so very cheery and made you feel welcome .A special mention to Ryan behind the bar and the lady at reception (on duty Sunday 6th September.

James McCaffrey said...

90%
80%
100%
90%

Stayed 29th August 2020

Hotel was good value for money staff were excellent We were a party of 6 had 3 rooms which were up graded and very nice, however 2 of the rooms had problems with plumbing lack of water in shower and bath.

A guest said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 29th August 2020

Clean rooms, Staff Fantastic, Nothing to much a bother for them we had a great time away the meals were lovely we will definitely will be back

Linda McGrouther said...

94%
90%
100%
90%

Stayed 29th August 2020

This was the first holiday we had through MyHotelBreak.com and we were most impressed. We arrived a little earlier than anticipated but we were able to check in with no problems. The room was lovely and comfortable with superb pillows (almost tempted to slip one into my bag lol). The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Ryan was especially fun and certainly put a smile on all our faces. The food was excellent and nothing was a bother. As I am lactose intolerant, the staff were very knowledgeable on what I could or could not have. All in all, I was very impressed and will certainly come back.

Katrina Castles said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th August 2020

Enjoyable one night break. Hope to return again soon.

A guest said... Hotel has replied

80%
70%
90%
80%

Stayed 21st August 2020

Lovely hotel , food was amazing staff were lovely but the showers are pathetic only a dribble of water ? not enough to get washed. When told staff about tit they offered to let us use another room it due to Covid we didN t want to do this. Straight home for a shower so unfortunately no shopping or sightseeing on way home! Which was a shame as it was red the whole experience

Hotel reply...

Hi Sharne, Thank you for taking the time to review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the food! We did offer the other room as this would have been the only option at the time unfortunately in order to allow you to shower. We contacted our plumbers who couldn't give us a specific time to get the water pressure problem looked into and as we still had a number of rooms available we were in a position that we could offer another room in order to help out in the situation. I can assure you though that this problem is being looked into, and is on it's way to being fixed! Once again I'd like to thank you for your comments and I do hope we can welcome you again in the future. Kindest Regards, Kerrie

A guest said... Hotel has replied

94%
90%
90%
100%

Stayed 14th August 2020

Stayed for 2 nights and had booked a double room but given a twin because they were busy. Rooms were upgraded since last time we stayed and couldn’t fault the cleanliness. The staff were all very friendly and the food was excellent. One worry we did have regarding staying during Covid was the breakfast. Fine that there was no buffet and orders were taken but there was a toaster, coffee machine and machine out for everyone to use. There were no wipes or hand sanitisers beside these so it meant everyone was going up and touching each item without them being cleaned in between. With the new regulations in place I didn’t think this would have been allowed. Luckily I had hand sanitiser in my handbag so we used that but the hotel was very busy and the amount of people using these, could potentially be passing the virus. On a positive note there was plenty hand sanitisers at entrances.

Hotel reply...

Hi Jan, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I'm so glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and that you enjoyed the food and the new upgraded rooms. I also want to thank you for bringing our attention to the lack of hand sanitiser by the tea/coffee machines and the toaster. Our customer safety and comfort is of utmost importance to us and it truly helps if people bring their concerns to us in order to allow us to make the changes necessary. This is something we will definitely be looking into to see if we can change either the way that this is served, or by adding sanitiser by each machine with regular cleaning to ensure that we are keeping up with our higher standards of safety and cleanliness - especially in these times, Once again, I'd like to thank you and we do hope to see you again. Kindest Regards, Kerrie

Heather Greenwood said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 15th August 2020

From the outside the hotel doesn't look that impressive but inside is totally different. Its very nicely decorated and the staff were gappy, courteous and happy to help with anything. The only downside is the pressure in the shower isn't that great. Both dinner and breakfast were lovely. The steak was cooked perfectly. Would definitely stay here again

A guest said... Hotel has replied

67%
90%
10%
100%

Stayed 12th August 2020

Review of King Bruce in Stirling... Fab food. Lovely room. Even good weather! BUT.... Supposedly only serving residents. Mmm....so why were people phoning taxis? OK.. not TOO bad....BUT ...the group I question were absolutely blitzed! The language was f..f...f...c...f..c...f...etc. We (as other residents did) were appalled...now...we reckoned the party were either hotel employees off duty or friends of employees. Wouldn't go back. Wouldn't recommend. All because of the rowdy group.

Hotel reply...

Good Afternoon Mrs Elder, thank you so much for the lovely comments regarding the food and rooms during your stay. I am glad that in that respect you seemed to have enjoyed your time with us. I am however saddened to hear that you were unhappy with a small group of our regulars who, on this occasion seemed to have had a little too much to drink. I can assure you that this isn't normally the case, and as I mentioned, these guests are regular visitors to our bar and we have never had any problem with them in the past. I've spoken to the members of staff who were working that night, and they assured me that they had in fact departed the Hotel by 7.30pm that evening. While I'm sure you'll understand that, even though we try to get people to be respectful of other guests, it isn't always as possible and simple as we'd like and had they not already booked their taxi for 7.30pm, we would have stepped in and asked them to leave. We are fully open to the public in regards to our Restaurant, Bar and Bedrooms, therefore anyone can book a table to have a drink, or some food. We have nowhere advertised that we are only open to residents only. Once again, I'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave a comment, and we do hope that you may reconsider at some point in the future and give us another go. Kindest Regards, Kerrie Customer Relations

Nancy Murray said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 7th August 2020

Brilliant 2 night db&b stay room was very clean & comfortable food was delicious & a great choice staff were very helpfull & coped well with the covid restrictions in place will definitely return

A guest said...

57%
60%
60%
50%

Stayed 8th August 2020

Room was very small however it was clean we had only one set of towels and one set of cups etc making me believe this was a single room the restaurant and bar needs an up grade some of the staff were good but others didn’t seem to care, the kitchen door is open so you can hear everything while they cook putting this aside it’s right next to bannock burn The site king Robert beat the English the sun set is beautiful. All in all we enjoyed our weekend

A guest said...

60%
20%
80%
80%

Stayed 3rd August 2020

Enjoyed our visit to the king Robert hotel .lovely room .friendly staff good food would return

Annie Wilkinson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 1st August 2020

Excellent stay, brilliant adherence to Covid restrictions. Friendly and welcoming staff. Fantastic blection on gins Highly recommend this hotel

Chris Lewis said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 21st March 2020

Enjoyed our break away. Very friendly n helpful staff. Couldnt do enough for us. Would def recommend n will return

William Speirs said...

20%
10%
20%
30%

Stayed 16th March 2020

Lovely hotel really handy for going to other places of interest, it was a shame for the hotel as was not busy because of caronavs but all staff was really great and will definitely go again in better times

Melissa Jane McKeown said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 14th March 2020

Really nice and clean hotel, staff great and food great, we enjoyed our stay

John Cunningham said...

90%
90%
90%
90%

Stayed 3rd March 2020

We had a lovely break at this hotel I would recommend it to everyone from the staff to the comfortable rooms to the great food in the restaurant.The staff were so friendly and helpful thank you for a lovely stay.

Claire Mahood said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 28th February 2020

Lovely refurbished bedrooms, some parts of hotel are dated. Lovely food which is like a pub grub type menu. Staff really made this hotel. Very friendly and accomodating. Would definitely return.

A guest said...

77%
80%
70%
80%

Stayed 22nd February 2020

Got upgraded to cottage which was lovely. Dined in restaurant as weather was horrible and food delicious. After dinner just made most of lovely cottage. Staff really friendly and helpful too. Couple negatives were showers lost pressure and went cold and oven was needing cleaned, but we didn’t use it anyway.