Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shrigley Hall Hotel Golf & Country Club, Pott Shrigley

Shrigley Park, Pott Shrigley, SK105SB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

81%

A guest said...

67%
80%
60%
60%

Stayed 10th November 2018

Gorgeous hotel but under going refurb at the moment which is not made clear on thr website. The spa is dirty and extremley busy and the changing rooms are small and cramped and again dirty. Dinner was rushed even thou food is lovely! Breakfast was awful very very greasy and all self service not what you would expect from a 4 star spa.

Victor Sessions said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th October 2018

Good food. Rooms being refurbished back to former glory. Recommended.

samantha greenall said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th October 2018

What can I say other than amazing. Me and my daughter enjoyed are stay at the hotel the spa facilities where good the room had everything we needed and spotless the meal we had was fantastic and the breakfast was also fantastic thank you for a lovely stay hopefully we will be back soon x

gloria washbourn said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th September 2018

After chambermaid had been we noticed our used glasses where still by the bed and didnt notice until we woke up for our morning drink that the milk hadnt been replaced so no morning drink for us

Heather Newton said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th September 2018

This was a lovely couple of days away with friends. The hotel was lovely. Food wonderful. Staff very friendly.

anthony johnston said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 28th August 2018

lovely place..peaceful and relaxing

Chris Smith said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 22nd August 2018

All very good, situation and service especially.

Zan Sayani said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 10th August 2018

We had a wonderful stay at Shrigley Hall, the food was great and the staff were fantastic. We had a DBB deal and the only downside were the supplements for certain items on the menu. Overall a great stay and would definitely visit again.

catherine mckenzie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th August 2018

I stayed on a my hotels deal. Exceptional value, room was good. Food was fantastic and staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed my stay that mych am taking my partner bk on bank holiday monday....

jane collins said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th August 2018

Had an amazing stay with the other half. The Spa facilities were lovely, the 3 course meal was delicious and the staff were so friendly whilst remaining professional. Lottie served us at dinner and she was great. Our was a little tired looking but it was spotless and very comfortable but we weren’t expecting one of the deluxe rooms at £130 for all of the above. Breakfast was good to with plenty of choice. We will definitely be back especially at this price.

John Naylor said...

64%
60%
70%
60%

Stayed 3rd August 2018

Not a hotel for the faint hearted! Two night stay, first night room next to the lift shaft, wedding party revellers meant it was in use up to 3:30 am and had the effect of Chinese water torture on us. This room was poor [score4] next morning we got a move to a much better room [score8] Staff were friendly and helpful but nothing could compensate for the dreadful layout of the hotel once you got past the grand old house. Breakfast was only moderate, completely self service and limited choice. Dinner was much better albeit a limited menu. Would I return, only if a choose a room in advance and their wasn't a wedding in sight

Denise Clelland said...

87%
90%
80%
90%

Stayed 3rd August 2018

Really enjoyable stay. Booked again for 2 nights

Simon Turner said...

97%
100%
100%
90%

Stayed 2nd August 2018

An excellent break. Very good value. Clean an£ spacious room and great food in the restaurant. Thoroughly recommend.

A guest said...

67%
50%
60%
90%

Stayed 23rd July 2018

On arrival the check in process could have been better with only one young lady dealing with customers although voices behind the screen could be heard. We were allocated our room and given directions to get to it which seemed a tad complicated but after trekking along corridors we eventually found the second lift to take us to the second floor then another trek to our room. By this time l was out of breath and we decided that it was not convenient for me to have to do this trek each time we left the room for other parts of the hall and it’s facilities so hubby returned to reception to check on any alternative rooms. I suffer with COPD and have less than 50% lung capacity and whilst l hadn’t declared this when booking l realise now this is something l must do in the future to secure a more conviently placed room to amenities. The hall itself is quite beautiful in places having a fantastic domed ceiling above the staircase and an ornate ceiling in the reception area. Our second room was to the very front of the building with a smallish window half of which was opened to its imum but as the day was so very hot with little wind the room was stifling even with a fan going full blast however l was close to a lift with little walking to do. We had to go down to the entrance hall to try and cool off and found the courtyard bar was quite pleasant so stopped for a cool drink. Our evening meal was not until 7.45 due to there being a large party in the hotel but once we sat in the restaurant and ordered the first course didn’t arrive until 8.15 - the food was very good and although limited choice we both enjoyed our dishes it was just the lengthy process between courses we didn’t like. Had a short stroll outside to cool off before going up to the room which was still very hot despite the second fan reception had arranged for us. Unfortunately l was unable to sleep because of the heat so the night dragged out and was pleased when daylight came. The breakfast was a buffet affair and self service but the food was hot and plentiful. We tried the leisure facilities in the afternoon which were lovely, pool was cool and refreshing just what we needed. Overall a pleasant stay in spite o the drawbacks - the rooms are tired and need refurbing the a/c could and should be sorted especially as it was already installed just not working in the room and the other issue l would raise is that the dining room staff have more training, looking after customers first and not recently vacated tables has got to be priority especially as we had to wait much too long between courses.

Anna Li said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th July 2018

Wow we loved this place. Really good value for money - beautiful building and house, lovely breakfast (great sausages), and the lovely weather helped! Came for a wedding, I was sad to leave and trying to work out when we could return. Still need to try out the pool and the crazy golf! Only word of advice - make sure to listen to directions to your room, as the place is a bit of a maze!

Anna Li said...

84%
80%
80%
90%

Stayed 7th July 2018

Wow we loved this place. Really good value for money - beautiful building and house, lovely breakfast (great sausages), and the lovely weather helped! Came for a wedding, I was sad to leave and trying to work out when we could return. Still need to try out the pool and the crazy golf! Only word of advice - make sure to listen to directions to your room, as the place is a bit of a maze!

A guest said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th July 2018

This was our sixth stay. We booked a dinner inclusive package. Food very good. Will go again

Joanne Roper lucera said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 30th June 2018

fantastic value for such an amazing place . food was excellent, rooms very clean and spa was lovely . Would highly recommend and will definatly return

James Earl said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 21st June 2018

.

Karen Valentine said...

80%
70%
80%
90%

Stayed 11th May 2018

Lovely stay in a beautiful building and grounds. Room ok bathroom could do with updating but they are in the middle of a refurbishment. Food was lovely, service was great. Spa facilities ok. Pool, jacuzzi and steam room only.

Francesca Massey said...

90%
80%
90%
100%

Stayed 21st April 2018

Great value for money lovely stay, excellent food!

Kevin Kirwan said...

47%
0%
70%
70%

Stayed 12th April 2018

Hotel staff without exception were friendly and efficient. Food was generally good, but breakfast appeared to be reheated in the main. However, our room (118) was appalling. It was so small that the door couldn't be opened without hitting the bed. There was an inch of dust on the arms of the bedside lights. The windows were filthy. The base of the bed was not joined together and there was a dangerous bracket hanging off it. The bed base was again filthy, and the quilt had nasty looking stains all over it. The bath had a massive dirty chip in it and the blinds in the bathroom were mouldy in the corner. Additionally the room was over the function area and the noise until about 1.00am was unbelievable. This was then followed by our fellow guests running up and down the corridor and shouting until the very small hours. Totally would never go there again.

Michael Yates said...

84%
70%
80%
100%

Stayed 12th April 2018

We had a very pleasant stay in Shrigley Hall. All the staff were excellent, the bar was comfortable and the beers were good. the only very minorissue with the room was the peeling paintwork in the bathroom. The staff in the restaurant in the evening were under a bit of pressure, understaffed I guess, but that didn't spoil our night at all . We will return hopefully when it's dry to enjoy the extensive grounds.

susan greenwood said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 10th April 2018

Brilliant stay, beautiful hotel & grounds, staff always pleasant and helpful, food excellent. Also had spa treatments which were very relaxing, lovely staff, will return.

Cheryl Williams said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 3rd April 2018

Enjoyable stay used pool,sauna and gym, which were very good the food and service excellent, We would return here again