Find my Hotel Break

Search Breaks by:
2
Done

advanced search

Close Window Close Window
Star Ratings:
Hotel Types:
Personal Preferences:

Shrigley Hall Hotel Golf & Country Club, Pott Shrigley

Shrigley Park, Pott Shrigley, SK105SB, UK

Guest Reviews

Overall Guest Rating

77%

A guest said...

87%
80%
100%
80%

Stayed 11th February 2019

Room was good dinner was amazing however breakfast was very poor

Janette Morris said...

47%
80%
50%
10%

Stayed 10th February 2019

The hotel is being updated. The main house is lovely. Where the upgrades have been done, looks very good. Bar and Restaurant very nice. Our original room was awful 117. looked at though there had been a fight in there. Asked to be moved was allocated 339, was very nice, clearly had been updated. The breakfast was great, self service. The dinner was awful. Apart from finding a piece of plastic in my fish, the food and service was terrible, food was undercooked and cold, tiny portions. Requested ice 4 times for my drink before it was given.

Kimberley Seabrook said...

60%
80%
50%
50%

Stayed 3rd February 2019

All in all I had a good deal with my hotel booking.com. if I had been paying the full price I'd have been a little disappointed. I found hairs in the bath and a very large rip on one of the chairs in my room. I know this is a very old building but the corridors are very creaky and kept me awake. I was a but miffed that although my stay included the use o spa facilities my husband and I had to pay £5 each for a robe to enter the wet area. Breakfast was included in the price and when arriving in the dining room at shortly after 8am it seemed we were the first down. It was okay. But only large cups for a self service coffee and no tea cups for a cup of tea. Hot breakfast was very dry being held under the lights and there was no option for an egg. With that being said what a beautiful building set in beautiful grounds. Worth a visit. I must say the local pub in bollington where we dined on Sunday evening was very good. ( the church inn) home cooked and service was amazing.

A guest said...

30%
0%
20%
70%

Stayed 26th January 2019

Disappointing! The first family room we were allocated was of a very poor standard with furniture that even the local tip would have refused! When I asked to be moved, the manager that came to our room to see what the problems were simply gave the response "I know! I know! I know!" when being shown. Surely, if these issues were known in advance then the room shouldn't be let out to customers paying good money for a night away. The second room we were put in was just ok and when I say this, I mean just a little more acceptable than the first. The furniture and bathroom were very tired in appearance. The manager dealt with the room change quickly and was understanding. The hotel was undergoing refurb which we did not know in advance. The spa facilities were nice and at breakfast, there was plenty of choice. Drinks seemed quite expensive with a tea and coffee costing just shy of £8 and being served with a dirty saucer that simply had a napkin covering it! It was a pretty setting and would make a lovely wedding venue if you dare.... It lacked general attention to detail. When I think of a spa hotel, I think of luxury and this was lacking it, greatly!

Alison Haughton said...

84%
70%
90%
90%

Stayed 25th January 2019

Fabulous value for money break - wished we could have stopped longer! Bucks Fizz on arrival,was a nice touch. Evening meal was lovely and the service at the hotel was very good.

Julie Leary said...

74%
30%
90%
100%

Stayed 12th January 2019

Great food, room clean but dated, needs a bit of TLC, it does look like they are refurbishing the rooms as they go along. A bit of a cue on check in, seemed as though there was only one person doing this until someone came to assist. We were there for an 80th, everyone had a really good time. I would definitely return to this hotel

Kevin Hutchinson said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 11th January 2019

Lovely stay. Great value for money

Catherine Moore said...

77%
50%
100%
80%

Stayed 27th December 2018

The hotel was lovely and the staff were very good the only problem was the bed was too hard and uncomfortable and left me with a bad back but this only came on the morning I left

julie critchlow said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 28th December 2018

Had a lovely stay at Shrigley Hall, could not fault our break. Staff very friendly, food amazing and very comfy warm room. The hotel itself is amazing, full of character, and the views are great too. Will be booking to stay again.

carole blackburn said...

74%
60%
80%
80%

Stayed 30th November 2018

Was a very nice break for my birthday.

A guest said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 29th November 2018

We had a really enjoyable stay. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The only negative point about the hotel was that there was no ramp/disabled access at the front entrance. My husband struggles with his knees and found it difficult getting up and down the front steps.

Steven Atherton said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 23rd November 2018

Some touch ups to the decor is the only thing needed otherwise it is an amazing hotel, i will be staying again

Alma Bennett said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 16th November 2018

Our stay was lovely as it was a birthday celebration food staff room and location was also nice we both enjoyed our stay and o have recommended this hotel to family and friends.

A guest said...

67%
80%
60%
60%

Stayed 10th November 2018

Gorgeous hotel but under going refurb at the moment which is not made clear on thr website. The spa is dirty and extremley busy and the changing rooms are small and cramped and again dirty. Dinner was rushed even thou food is lovely! Breakfast was awful very very greasy and all self service not what you would expect from a 4 star spa.

A guest said...

67%
80%
60%
60%

Stayed 10th November 2018

Gorgeous hotel but under going refurb at the moment which is not made clear on thr website. The spa is dirty and extremley busy and the changing rooms are small and cramped and again dirty. Dinner was rushed even thou food is lovely! Breakfast was awful very very greasy and all self service not what you would expect from a 4 star spa.

Victor Sessions said...

94%
80%
100%
100%

Stayed 27th October 2018

Good food. Rooms being refurbished back to former glory. Recommended.

samantha greenall said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th October 2018

What can I say other than amazing. Me and my daughter enjoyed are stay at the hotel the spa facilities where good the room had everything we needed and spotless the meal we had was fantastic and the breakfast was also fantastic thank you for a lovely stay hopefully we will be back soon x

gloria washbourn said...

80%
80%
80%
80%

Stayed 27th September 2018

After chambermaid had been we noticed our used glasses where still by the bed and didnt notice until we woke up for our morning drink that the milk hadnt been replaced so no morning drink for us

Heather Newton said...

97%
90%
100%
100%

Stayed 26th September 2018

This was a lovely couple of days away with friends. The hotel was lovely. Food wonderful. Staff very friendly.

anthony johnston said...

90%
90%
100%
80%

Stayed 28th August 2018

lovely place..peaceful and relaxing

Chris Smith said...

84%
80%
90%
80%

Stayed 22nd August 2018

All very good, situation and service especially.

Zan Sayani said...

87%
70%
90%
100%

Stayed 10th August 2018

We had a wonderful stay at Shrigley Hall, the food was great and the staff were fantastic. We had a DBB deal and the only downside were the supplements for certain items on the menu. Overall a great stay and would definitely visit again.

catherine mckenzie said...

100%
100%
100%
100%

Stayed 15th August 2018

I stayed on a my hotels deal. Exceptional value, room was good. Food was fantastic and staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed my stay that mych am taking my partner bk on bank holiday monday....

jane collins said...

90%
70%
100%
100%

Stayed 5th August 2018

Had an amazing stay with the other half. The Spa facilities were lovely, the 3 course meal was delicious and the staff were so friendly whilst remaining professional. Lottie served us at dinner and she was great. Our was a little tired looking but it was spotless and very comfortable but we weren’t expecting one of the deluxe rooms at £130 for all of the above. Breakfast was good to with plenty of choice. We will definitely be back especially at this price.

John Naylor said...

64%
60%
70%
60%

Stayed 3rd August 2018

Not a hotel for the faint hearted! Two night stay, first night room next to the lift shaft, wedding party revellers meant it was in use up to 3:30 am and had the effect of Chinese water torture on us. This room was poor [score4] next morning we got a move to a much better room [score8] Staff were friendly and helpful but nothing could compensate for the dreadful layout of the hotel once you got past the grand old house. Breakfast was only moderate, completely self service and limited choice. Dinner was much better albeit a limited menu. Would I return, only if a choose a room in advance and their wasn't a wedding in sight